my last big set of exams are tomorrow and saturday. After that have a viva in April and thats it but after sat im 90% there. Gonna do Intern year here but after that I'm nearly sure I'l head off to Aus or NZ
    Just what they need in oz another paddy wearing a gaa jersey with lobster sun burn
    good luck though.

Shower of shortsighted NIMBY cuntbags!

I've a OnePlus One invite if anyone needs it - not sure why my first invite only arrived today, ages after I bought the phone!

Yes please. Thoughts on the phone?

I'll take it if one one else wants it.

Really need a new phone. Current one on its last legs.

Events, dear boy, events.

If the economy continues on the current path, then the next goverment is a guaranteed FG+X (either Lab, FF or possibly some right-ish Indos). But if some form of 'events' result in a serious dip, then all bets are off. Not that unlikely either given the current sogginess in Euroland.

In a 160 seat next Dail, say you had:

50 FG
              30 FF
              5 LAB
              35 SF
              40 assorted headers

mix those numbers around a bit and there's scope for all sorts.
              My point stands I think. Despite the improvements in the meta-story for at least the last year, the drop in unemployment, the relative non-austerity of the budget, people still protested vigorously over a proportionately small amount of money.

Each of the 100k who marched of late possibly represented five more who would have voted against establishment and for various wings of the protest Mafia.

Now the issue is over people will retreat to old ways, ie acceptance of the necessity for the disliked austerity that has already been imposed. so by wining, the protest lobby loses out, unless they get gifted with another similar issue over the next two years.

If SF did get in...Their style of government would be akin to those who rang joe Duffy complaining that consultants got paid too much "cut their wages by 50K Joe. 100K is plenty and if they dont like it they can leave" Yeah how did that work out for you
                It's already happened IMO
                The prospect of them getting into a position where they might possibly be in coalition negotiations has Enda pandering to the dumbest most illogical and incoherent protests since the bin charges ones.

40 assorted headers

How many off them are there already?

Was at the Ethiopian mmuseum earlier.

Bit of a shambles of a place but the exhibition of hominid fossils is amazing.

I couldn't believe my ears when I overheard an American woman turn to her husband when they arrived at the first case ..."gosh that looks very old"

people who are coming from the RD3 and DennyCrane school of Laissez faire capitalism who really believe that taxes should really only be used to fund the military and thats about it but there are also good arguments from the other side.
                      Oi! That's a gross misrepresentation.

I don't think we should have a military at all.
                      +1. 1bn a year so the Min for Def can send off toys abroad.

I'm anti-tax because I hate waste. Lloyd is an unusual socialist in that he actually wants to pay more tax most usually just want it to come from other people; but that still leaves him in position where he thinks the government is better at spending his money than he himself is.

It's a given that the quid pro quo nature of democracy is going to lead to wanton waste. People love their clientelism and brokerage because they're too myopic to realise the cost. It's great that X did Y for you, but when it happens in every community in every constituency the result is a massive negative for all. Tax is a leech on the productive economy. Should the gov taxing profitable enterprises in order to support greyhounds/horse racing/RTE/IMMA (@ €83.70 per visitor)/or that Aosdána nonsense at 17k a head/and what ever pet project exists for the next minister. We could take a scythe to the public service tomorrow without a noticeable decline in services to the public. We've a ludicrous set of allowances, benefits, tax breaks that do little except keep admin staff in the job. Shut down the Dept of Social Protection tomorrow, roll it into the Revenue Commissioners and implement a negative income tax. We'd save a fortune.
                      Last edited by Denny Crane; 20-11-14, 12:25.

40 assorted headers

How many off them are there already?
                        29, although quite a few of them were elected under the FG and Lab franchises. I'm including AAA\PBP\SP here as they're too small.

And never mind that I get taxed to the hilt for working 12 hour days while the guys I went to school with who are on their third attempt at art college are on the streets because God forbid they'd have to pay for their water!

@Sp

What was that thing with the dips you were eating yesterday?

+1. 1bn a year so the Min for Def can send off toys abroad.

I'm anti-tax because I hate waste. Lloyd is an unusual socialist in that he actually wants to pay more tax most usually just want it to come from other people; but that still leaves him in position where he thinks the government is better at spending his money than he himself is.

It's a given that the quid pro quo nature of democracy is going to lead to wanton waste. People love their clientelism and brokerage because they're too myopic to realise the cost. It's great that X did Y for you, but when it happens in every community in every constituency the result is a massive negative for all. Tax is a leech on the productive economy. Should the gov taxing profitable enterprises in order to support greyhounds/horse racing/RTE/IMMA (@ €83.70 per visitor)/or that Aosdána nonsense at 17k a head/and what ever pet project exists for the next minister. We could take a scythe to the public service tomorrow without a noticeable decline in services to the public. We've a ludicrous set of allowances, benefits, tax breaks that do little except keep admin staff in the job. Shut down the Dept of Social Protection tomorrow, roll it into the Revenue Commissioners and implement a negative income tax. We'd save a fortune.
                              See i agree with everything you've just said and that's why I'm happy to see the government getting a good kicking, they had a mandate to go in and mow down public service wasters and blame it all on FF when they were elected and they blew it. IW was set up in the same spirit, as I said I'm happy to pay for water if it's done right, Iw has been a gravy train clusterfuck from start to finish.

@TV Repair experts (SP?).

I have this LG LED TV since Jan 2013 (so gone past initial 1 year warranty)
                                Discover LG 42LB580V. Click for pictures, reviews, and tech specs for the LG 42" LB580V LG Smart TV.

When I switch it on the picture often goes off after about 5 seconds, sometimes but not always preceded by an initial darkening of the picture.
                                Sound continues as normal.

I then have to switch it off and on again and hope it works next time. Can sometimes take 30 or 40 onoffs before the picture stays, other times it can go 3 or 4 weeks without this problem, such that I naievely believe the problem has gone away before it then returns.

Ideas, or anyone experienced the same?

Well Shane, the current gov won't be giving you any of that and, really, the more Austrian / Anarcho Capitalist one's outlook becomes the more you enter hard Communist territory on the scale of what is likely to be implemented in a western democratic nation.

Oddly enough, I would take a chainsaw to the PS too. I hate the way successive gives have allowed admin workers to be lumped in with doctors / Gards / firemen / nurses / etc when it comes to it. Administrative workers all across the PS should be analysed on the basis of productivity and restructuring / performance improvement plans / efficiency initiatives should reign down from the sky. And for evermore Admin workers should be assessed and dealt with at a completely seperate negotiating table.

The argument that 'yeah this gov is weak but the other shower would be worse' doesn't wash. FG have ridden the dragon FF allowed to emerge from the cave and most of the policies that are truly theirs are tributes to cronyism and incompetence. I will not be happy until those responsible for Jobsbridge are out on their ear. Whatever about the alternatives, incompetence needs to be punished.

As your Twitter link highlighted last night, on all ends of the political spectrum people are forced into bed with parties that represent a small fraction of their actual views. However, if you're doing it then so will I. I disagree with SF and the SP on a thousand things but they're closest just like FG will be closest for you.

Just try not to ride a horse so high when I do it please.

Discover LG 42LB580V. Click for pictures, reviews, and tech specs for the LG 42" LB580V LG Smart TV.

When I switch it on the picture often goes off after about 5 seconds, sometimes but not always preceded by an initial darkening of the picture.

I then have to switch it off and on again and hope it works next time. Can sometimes take 30 or 40 onoffs before the picture stays, other times it can go 3 or 4 weeks without this problem, such that I naievely believe the problem has gone away before it then returns.

Could be a dodgy capacitor, temperature fluctuations can affect thei behaviour. tv repairmen would be scarce on the ground nowadays, still fresh enough to chance your arm with who you bought it off.

Yes please. Thoughts on the phone?
                                      Sent you the details there; it's a fantastic phone, amazing specs for the price and just nice to use. I've had one or two technical problems but nothing I couldn't sort with access to the internet's deep well of knowledge!

Originally posted by Xeyboy View Post
                                      I'll take it if one one else wants it.

Really need a new phone. Current one on its last legs.
                                      Sent on an invite as well; turns out I was sent three of them.

So I've one more invite if anyone is interested? I think you should only ask if you are genuinely going to buy the phone, as otherwise I'd like to 'give back' to the thread on boards where I got my invite from.

i thought under EU law, all electronics are automatically covered for 2 years? (google says EU directive in question is 1999/44/EC). basically fight the fight with the retailer if you still have the receipt.

Feck the Newlands upgrade anyway, how the hell am I supposed to catch up with the bbv in the mornings.

Seriously though, wow.
                                          My daughter was coming over it for the first time at 7AM this morning and the radio just happened to be playing the perfect accompaniment

video, sharing, camera phone, video phone, free, upload

@Sp

What was that thing with the dips you were eating yesterday?
                                            Its called Teff
                                            ITs a kind of tiny little grass seed that they mill into a flour and ferment for a couple of days in water and yeast and then cook on on a griddle into a c.70cm pancake. It has a lovely kind of bitter lemony fermented taste off it.
                                            The dips were a vegan mixture of various spiced lentil and veggie bits and pieces. One of the lentils that tasted of horseradish and the veggies were the best of them.
                                            There are lots of other options , you pick six from a huge menu, I just pointed to what the people at the nest table were having and said I'll have that!

You eat it with your hands, no cutlery provided but there are hand basins along one wall.
                                            I was planning on bringing my colleagues and a few local guys to the same place this evening but a feckin sales type person has landed and is insisting on spending about 30x what I would have by going to a 5 star hotel instead.

I would expect that a small restaurant that did it well and cheaply could do very well in Dublin.

I'm lucky enough not to have had the back off a TV in anger for probably 15 years so I'm completely out of touch with them.
                                                There is very little done on them in terms of service anymore, it seems that there are only panel jockeys these days and because of that I'd find out who the distributor for LG is in Ireland and ask them who they use if they don't do repairs themselves.

I'd always try tapping it reasonably hard in a few different spots just to see if the problem could be a dry joint or loose connection but I know that they are increasingly rare.

Get LG help & customer support with our range of user guides, video tutorials, software downloads and more. Our customer service experts are here to help.

there is an irish number to call on this page.

Sent you the details there; it's a fantastic phone, amazing specs for the price and just nice to use. I've had one or two technical problems but nothing I couldn't sort with access to the internet's deep well of knowledge!

Sent on an invite as well; turns out I was sent three of them.
                                                    I was dead keen to get one but after all the faffing about to try and buy one and the the more I read about it the more aware I became of the series of issues people have been having I gave up and went for the HTC M8.

Delighted with it so far runs like a dream. The camera is maybe a bit complicated to use but the output is class. Whats most surprising to me is how excellent the blink feed stream thing they have going is. I thought I'd be deleting it immediately when I saw it but I clicked a couple of buttons and now I have a very usable digest of twitter G+ and various news feeds without a touch.

Was a bit panicked this morning as had to be on a panel in front of a few hundred traders and wannabee traders, had no prep done and didn't quite understand the questions that were likely to be asked.

Emailed the questions to DennyCrane and he gets back a few minutes later with some key points. Three key market things that happened in the last week or so.

Absolute lifesaver!

Got the impression they sounded ridiculously pertinent when woven into the general fabric of an investor psychology.

As always with all these events, am awaiting to see the video footage to discover if it actually went as well as it seems.

tl;dr if you're in a last minute panic situation; email Denny. pms to Icky is so last month
                                                        You came across well Hitch, a lot of head nodding would be only observation lol italian fella i had trouble understanding his accent

i thought under EU law, all electronics are automatically covered for 2 years? (google says EU directive in question is 1999/44/EC). basically fight the fight with the retailer if you still have the receipt.
                                                              Yep, companies often say 1 year but I mention this and they cave.

I was dead keen to get one but after all the faffing about to try and buy one and the the more I read about it the more aware I became of the series of issues people have been having I gave up and went for the HTC M8.

Delighted with it so far runs like a dream. The camera is maybe a bit complicated to use but the output is class. Whats most surprising to me is how excellent the blink feed stream thing they have going is. I thought I'd be deleting it immediately when I saw it but I clicked a couple of buttons and now I have a very usable digest of twitter G+ and various news feeds without a touch.

HTC M8 sounds like the one for me.

@LSB You see this?

Link

Spoke to mark briefly, impressive alright,no BS. Gave u a good mention to declan as well you can watch yourself on YouTube later, did Denny ship you that report you referenced? If so you owe him a drink that came off very well.

@LSB You see this?

Link
                                                                        ha, class! No I had not!

Toffee cake for me.

Just had a picnic bar

What is for the main event?

I'm thinking pasta, chicken maybe a bitta bacon.

Two ring donuts and tea.
                                                                                Had the same for breakfast.

Popcorn malteasers & large coke. Cinema dinner!

What is for the main event?

I'm thinking pasta, chicken maybe a bitta bacon.
                                                                                    Not sure yet. The Mrs is taking care of dinner. I will give her a buzz and get back to you.

Pasta sounds good.

Update: Mrs is in her Mother's so choice of Chesse and Onion Quiche or Sausages Croquette Potatoes and Beans
                                                                                    Last edited by elbows; 20-11-14, 16:28.

Not sure yet. The Mrs is taking care of dinner. I will give her a buzz and get back to you.

Pasta sounds good.
                                                                                      Tell her hi m8 ta.

Look forward to the response.

EDIT - Sausages would be my pick m8
                                                                                      Last edited by CHDad; 20-11-14, 16:33.

Stew for me, at its best on day 2

Popcorn malteasers & large coke. Cinema dinner!
                                                                                          What are you going to see

Stew for me, at its best on day 2
                                                                                            Ta Eamo m8. Gis the recipe m8.

Chicken veg chicken stock and herbs pal. Added half a packet of soup to thicken her up

How did you cook it m8

What are you going to see
                                                                                                  The Rigster spoke. And I listened. Nightcrawler.

Went to Interstellar last night in the isense.

A lot of good films out at the moment.

How did you cook it m8
                                                                                                      Big pot sham

Money back gtd if you don't enjoy it sir.

He'll still be down the cost of popcorn maltesers and coke.

Nice scam though for a cinema.

1. Refund if unhappy on any movie to get the big crowds in
                                                                                                            2. Put on any old crap
                                                                                                            3. Rake in the real cash on the €50 popcorn
                                                                                                            The last few weeks, we've taken the kids to the cinema in Derry. The 11.40 show is £1.50 per person and the standard cinema meal (med drink/popcorn and either dairy milk/fruit pastilles) is £2.95 a head. That price is standard in the cinema and not just for the early showing either. Great price tbf

Thats a great price tbf. Same 11am kids deal is €6.50 per person to see the show, plus maybe another €6 per person for the meal deal.
                                                                                                                That's a great price tbf.

tbf tbf

m8

Whatever about the alternatives, incompetence needs to be punished.
                                                                                                                      Surely on the absolutely burning issue the government were elected on (restoring economic sovereignty), the government gets a very solid 8\10?

IW has been a shitstorm but it's largely an irrelevance.

It's always disappointing to get a new bank card and it looks te exact same as the old one it's replacing, only newer looking obviously.