Like FM I'm thinking something similar.
    I'm mid twenties working a decent ish job and have no mortgage. I'm thinking of applying for the 2 year Canada visa in Jan, well I will apply either way. Work 12 months here and just go in Jan 2016 with herself. Perhaps a month or two in South America first.
    Thinking 20 months of work and travel in Canada, then one big road trip through the US.

Any reason for me not to do this? All I can think of is my job but I will be working for the rest of my life. I think in 5 years down the line if I don't go it will be a regret.

How bad will it look on my CV that I went to college, worked for a year, went OZ 12 months, worked a few years then went Canada 2 years? Too many gaps?
    I have the exact same timeline, except I have a year in Vietnam between your two years working at home and Canada. (currently in Canada FWIW)

I wouldn't worry about it. All the gaps mean is that you are unlikely to go up a level in whatever industry you are in and will have to 'do your time' again. It won't have any real affect on you getting a job. It certainly hasn't for me in any country I've been in, or at home.

GO FOR IT. You'll never ever regret going.

Bollix switching back from late to early nights. Got into the bad habit of 2am sleeps recently, and trying to get back to the epically refreshing and productive 10pm - 5am sleeps. Been lying in bed for four hours now with no luck. Finished a book on economics writing styles - guaranteed snoozefest you'd think. No luck. Read the constitution with no success. Finally reading the new John Grisham, and fair fcks to him but his long descent into even worst mediocrity is finally paying dividends for the wannabe sleeper. Thank you Mr Grisham.
      Welcome to my world, switching nights to days can be a cunt.

it takes some balls to show a doctor your testicles

...What exactly do you do in the airport out of curiosity, does it ever get you to travel or you based fully in airport...
          ..oh, and what restaurants would be open at about 5am in T1...I've a 7:00 flight and hoping I'd grab a decent brekkie before flying, chances?...

...What exactly do you do in the airport out of curiosity, does it ever get you to travel or you based fully in airport...
            ..oh, and what restaurants would be open at about 5am in T1...I've a 7:00 flight and hoping I'd grab a decent brekkie before flying, chances?...
            I barely leave the cave we call our office unfortunately. I work in operations, what exactly I do would take a long time to explain!

Everything will be open by 5am, whether they do a decent breakfast or not is another story. McDonald's bacon egg mcmuffin meal is what you need

How can you knee yourself in the balls?

Set the TV to come on as an alarm in the hotel this morning. What do I wake up to? BBC World news programme are talking about the Poxy Irish water charges FFS!
                The attacks on Joan Burton being reported right alongside the Synagouge killings, Hong Kong and North Korean concentration camps

Just looking at reviews of Interstellar on IMDB as it seems to be a real love it or hate it thing but I did have to laugh at this review. Contains lots of spoilers and by someone who hated it by the way - a lot.

Near the beginning of the movie a family gets a flat tire in the dust-bowl corn fields of any mid-western alternate reality. The dad is played by Mud and in his alternate world he hangs a 90 and does like SEVENTY through the corn without the slightest bump, all the while deftly hacking his laptop to commandeer a nearby drone.

After stealing the drone, Mud decides that he must leave his kids to prove to their uppity teacher that NASA really did go to the Moon. He is chosen by Alfred to blast off with Catwoman in a reasonably 20th century 3-stage rocket that will eventually dock with an incredibly advanced 22nd century space station/rocket-ship. After leaving Earth, they need no longer adhere to primitive Earth technology. Now they can do anything that already ever happened on Star Trek, including Cryo-Sleep.

When they wake up feeling refreshed they head for a cool wormhole that Stanley and Alfred told them about. They are hoping to find a new planet for all the okies to go to, at least that's Plan A. There is a Plan B but it's sub PC and is not going to work for Mud who is all about hurrying on up back to Earth so he can save everyone.

Gotta say more here about Mud's robot chum as he is remarkable with a fingerprint smeared body consisting of multiple swinging HVAC ducts that can navigate through zero gravity, run across boulder fields, and even walk on water, not to mention rescue damsels while carrying on charming banter with a voice socially engineered to be annoying.

After they go through the wormhole they go to a waterworld where the laws of physics need not apply. Each hour they spend is equal to 17 years on Earth. Where's Einstein when you need him? The whole planet is covered with 3 feet of water which is fortunate since Catwoman can't swim.

Back on Earth, the dispossessed are aging rapidly with their old-school monster trucks and other quaint artifacts of 20th century dust-bowl Arkansas. Mud's kids get growed up and environmentally challenged, but it's really about how Mud abandoned them.

Eventually Mud and Catwoman go to a really crappy planet that seems even worse than dust-bowl earth, yet they feel hopeful that they might move their famblys there, perhaps down under the frozen ammonia glaciers. They find a sinister guy who looks like Matt Damon's dad who gets all evil and blows stuff up. Mud decides that he's gonna take the tin man and fly into the near-bye black hole that is just 14 billion light years away.

Mudbot knows in his crazy-brilliant, hillbilly-sage way, that if he just makes a B-line through the B-hole he is going to pop the cherry. With Hans Zimmer in the house Mud trips his way through the five-dimensional space. After an abbreviated acid trip (Thanks Kubrick, thanks Trumbull) Mud skips the room with the old man and starts floating around in an empty library. He peers through the stacks at his past-life capers while pondering the tangled twists which makes him feel real sad and then he feels real mad and yells at his little daughter who can't even hear him. If only he could communicate using just his sheer acting....

Meanwhile, Mud's grown-up daughter on Earth also feels sad and mad and she tells her brother to Argo F himself for not joining her in her cave. She doesn't like the air quality either so she torches her bro's corn crop. Harsh. Then she starts moping around in the old family library, the very same one that Mud is trapped behind the stacks in, except Muds library is made by humans from the future. At least that's what the robot said. Suddenly while pondering a wristwatch big daughter has an epiphany and realizes that all you really need is… …. wait for it…. Gravity!

Lots of good opportunities to cry here, what with Mud screaming at the little and big version of his daughter and having epiphanies right and left. Something (no idea what) clicks and Mud tells the robot to get binary and convert the 'quantum data' into Morse code so that he can power-emote it to the wristwatch that daughter is trippin on. Wait, did she just hallucinate? or did the little minute hand start jiggling around? It did do a jiggly wiggly and the jiggles are obviously coded gravity-signal wiggles coming through the black-hole bookshelf world from her crazy hick-savant dad.

Well that about wraps it up. Needless to say,... big daughter trans-codes the Quantum Jiggles into FORTRAN code and saves the world or at least makes it a lot less dusty and so that people get to go to Hawaii again.

Years later the big daughter becomes really ancient daughter and cryo-naps in the hope of seeing Mud again. Darned if some of the freshly quantum jiggled peoples don't figure out how to make space rockets again and they even find Mud just in time so that he can come back and be ignored by everybody he saved. Apparently the robot ran off with catwoman so ancient daughter wakes up and figures it is just so much easier to go to Saturn with her tube and her hospital Bed. A bunch of other family members go with her just for convenience sake and they all gather around her bed. When Mud comes in they decide to walk out en masse without even glancing at Mud even though he is their great gran-pappy and saved the world and discovered quantum gravity love.

More sweet, sweet tears as dad and daughter commiserate. After an appropriate interval daughter wisely tells daddy to go and enjoy his youth, steal a spaceship, and try and win catwoman back from the swinging robot.
                  I loved the movie but had a good lol at that all the same - top notch

...BAH!...was hoping to read "it happens to all of us don't worry"...the thoughts of getting it checked is both embarrassing and nerve wracking...the only plus side, 99% sure it's not an std, and if it is then its there too long to worry about...
                    ...would anyone that has said testicle issues know if it's something you can get checked straight away or would there be a specialist and appointment only...
                    Had something similar last year. Popped down the GP and got checked out. Confirmed something not to worry about. Just go down ASAP you'll only be worrying about it otherwise. 99% of the time you're grand; the other 1% of the time the earlier you get seen to makes all the difference.

Eamo me aul flower, I am flying to Philly Friday morning. Only remembered to renew my ESTA this moment. If I get the application done now will I be alright?

Getting checked for something like that really isn't a big deal, would be a mistake to put it off.

Nokia with the new ipad

Eamo me aul flower, I am flying to Philly Friday morning. Only remembered to renew my ESTA this moment. If I get the application done now will I be alright?
                              ...you, myself and Honda are confirmed so far for 5:00am Friday morning brekkie...who else is flying?...

It comes through almost instantly now so you'll be grand Lloyd. Business or pleasure?

What way is this 100 water rebate thing supposed to work? Is it a tax credit or just a discount for registering?

Don't think it can be a tax credit as they are no longer looking for PPS numbers.

I thought it was to be a one off payment through the social welfare system.

...you, myself and Honda are confirmed so far for 5:00am Friday morning brekkie...who else is flying?...
                                          I'll be flying to Amsterdam that day but should be in the airport a bit later, around 11am I think.

Also cut someones hair the other day who had hair plugs. Jesus Christ they were bad looking. It was like ants were trapped in his head and tried kicking their way out but died and got stuck.

Don't think it can be a tax credit as they are no longer looking for PPS numbers.
                                              I thought it was to be a one off payment through the social welfare system.
                                              We'll find out soon enough I guess. I'm sure it'll be a bit of a fudge either way.

I'll be flying to Amsterdam that day but should be in the airport a bit later, around 11am I think.
                                                Was just at the sinterklaas parade there, pretty funny racist tradition. All the white people painted black with big red lips and earrings, and if you are bold sinterklaas will take you to Spain...and you'll come back black. The little black dudes, zwarte piet, skate around and give out delicious ginger biscuits, some climb buildings, whilst racist santa gets a boat along the canals and then rides his horse through the city.

Great day out for the family!

Was just at the sinterklaas parade there, pretty funny racist tradition. All the white people painted black with big red lips and earrings, and if you are bold sinterklaas will take you to Spain...and you'll come back black. The little black dudes, zwarte piet, skate around and give out delicious ginger biscuits, some climb buildings, whilst racist santa gets a boat along the canals and then rides his horse through the city.

Sounds a lot more interesting than anything we do here for Christmas. Anything else over there you can recommend. Will be staying near the Vondelpark, haven't been to Amsterdam in a few years.

Its not racist at all despite all the trouble going over it at the moment.

Stuffed after a fantastic lunch
                                                      I can understand why the foodies are all going mad for teff, its very good stuff

Last edited by Strewelpeter; 19-11-14, 12:28.

I thought I heard someone say they will still need one pps number per household to allow the credit.

I still haven't heard anything approaching a coherent argument against giving them a pps number. I keep asking people why they are upset about it and they will start on about privacy etc. but I don't understand that connection and if security is the issue for them why do they give the number to Doctors, Dentists, Pharmacists etc.
                                                        I also would have thought that having Irish Water using peoples state services ID number would indicate the kind of strong coupling with the state that would rule out any possibility of privatisation

Yeah plenty of people do it in the airport before their flight, takes like half hour to process you'll be grand!

I'd imagine thats vastly more painful than trying to sleep a few hours earlier! You're hardly planning to keep up nights indefinitely?
                                                          Dunno really, kinda like the shift work but will see what happens

sinterklaas parade is amazing.
                                                            First time I saw it I had no idea what was going on and was out of my gourd.
                                                            Santa on a white horse with a huge dong, minstrels absailing out of buildings and throwing biscuits around scared the shit outta me.
                                                            I may have cowered under a hail of mini ginger snaps much to the amusement of surrounding children.
                                                            Seeing a black dude in blackface was also a confusing sight.

10/10 would highly recommend attendance at some stage.

I thought I heard someone say they will still need one pps number per household to allow the credit.

I still haven't heard anything approaching a coherent argument against giving them a pps number. I keep asking people why they are upset about it and they will start on about privacy etc. but I don't understand that connection and if security is the issue for them why do they give the number to Doctors, Dentists, Pharmacists etc.
                                                              I also would have thought that having Irish Water using peoples state services ID number would indicate the kind of strong coupling with the state that would rule out any possibility of privatisation
                                                              I don't see how you can draw that conclusion tbh.
                                                              The main fear of handing over PPS numbers is what happens when/if IWS is sold on.

Interested to hear now what people thinking now that metering has been all but abandoned for the next 3 years

Conservation is out the window and it won't generate anywhere near enough money to improve infrastructure without a lot of money from general taxation (which, funnily enough, means that we now will be "paying twice" for water).

Lollipop seems like a nice improvement to android so far, it may be my imagination but the keyboard and touch in general seem to have come on a lot. However the option to add chrome tabs to previous apps is peculiar, and gmail assuming control of other email accounts is invasive.
                                                                I am not convinced so far. My phone updated couple of days ago and my Nexus 7 last night. So far my tablet is having charging problems worse than they were and it keeps crashing in apps like FB and some games.

(Just googled my problem and it seems the 2012 Nexus 7 can not handle the update and the same problems I have been having are reported. It is so laggy it is almost unusable. The auto rotate takes a while to kick in as well )

I don't like how chrome is working on my Nexus 5 though as I had all my tabs there and went between them easily enough. It has also screwed up my sleep sounds app by changing the sounds and it freaks me out! Been using the app a long time and never had this and both nights since I updated to Lollipop it has happened.

I quite like the email change though and gives me all my accounts in including my different folders in hotmail and both my gmail accounts.

I also used to be able to restart my tablet or go into aeroplane mode from pressing the power button. Now I only get the choice to power off. The phone is the same but I couldn't restart from the menu any, just the two choices.

I am not sold on it and hope the glitches that are showing so far are sported out pronto.
                                                                Last edited by MrsFlushdraw; 19-11-14, 14:42. Reason: Googled since

Be careful if you fall asleep while on a trip to Bangkok. Not only will they steal your money, but they steal your genitals too

I ate a "macrobiotic meal" while I was in Amsterdam, I have never felt so good after eating something, not even close. It's like ginseng cubed, get in on the ground floor.

Sounds a lot more interesting than anything we do here for Christmas. Anything else over there you can recommend. Will be staying near the Vondelpark, haven't been to Amsterdam in a few years.
                                                                        Oh depends what you are interested in, check out iamsterdam for whats going on when you are there. Vondelpark is pretty much in the centre. I suggest renting a bike and using it to get everywhere, so much better than anything else. For normal things to do there are hundreds of museums, literally. Anne Franks house etc. There are tons of gigs. There are always things like light festivals, jazz + japanese + film etc festivals on. Lots of markets, old world war marktets etc.

The light festival is on thursday

There are loads of squats with 3 course meals for a few euro, and things like cinema and ping pong and random shite on in them, great craic. For instance every tuesday there is a meal and pingpong on. For the ping pong everybody plays at once running around the table, when you miss you sit out and watch the rest of the people while drinking, drinks there are very cheap.
                                                                        It's a place where you can google what to do and there is loads on.

I don't see how you can draw that conclusion tbh.
                                                                        The main fear of handing over PPS numbers is what happens when/if IWS is sold on.

Interested to hear now what people thinking now that metering has been all but abandoned for the next 3 years

Conservation is out the window and it won't generate anywhere near enough money to improve infrastructure without a lot of money from general taxation (which, funnily enough, means that we now will be "paying twice" for water).
                                                                        Without the conservation aspect and metering I shall be out protesting.

sinterklaas parade is amazing.
                                                                        First time I saw it I had no idea what was going on and was out of my gourd.
                                                                        Santa on a white horse with a huge dong, minstrels absailing out of buildings and throwing biscuits around scared the shit outta me.
                                                                        I may have cowered under a hail of mini ginger snaps much to the amusement of surrounding children.
                                                                        Seeing a black dude in blackface was also a confusing sight.

10/10 would highly recommend attendance at some stage.
                                                                        Ah it was hilarious, most people have no idea what is happening, it was just by chance we found it was on. Little black bastards stole my hat and filled it with biscuits.
                                                                        Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 19-11-14, 15:14.

Fair play to the protesters for ensuring that my house with four well paid professionals - including an ESB worker for 50% off electricity - can now happily run the washing machine 15 times a week for the same price as a couple too broke to own a washing machine who hand wash once a week.

I love how poor people in concrete council estates are now subsidizing the landed gentry running sprinkler systems on their manor flower beds.

Slow clap, honestly.

What could possibly happen from a private company having people's PPS numbers?

Everyone with a bank account has already handed over their PPS to a private company, as its required under money laundering prevention.
                                                                            Yeah very odd tbh, tons of private companies already have your PPS number.

@Mrs Fd you can change the chrome tabs back to normal instead of them being added into your previous apps.

50% off the leccy is a fairly sensational staff discount.

Yeah it's sweet

Fair play to the protesters for ensuring that my house with four well paid professionals - including an ESB worker for 50% off electricity - can now happily run the washing machine 15 times a week for the same price as a couple too broke to own a washing machine who hand wash once a week.

I love how poor people in concrete council estates are now subsidizing the landed gentry running sprinkler systems on their manor flower beds.

Slow clap, honestly.
                                                                                  Mob rule in action, depressing isn't it, well you'd better be getting used to it.

I think its great news, I can continue to keep my taps running during the frosty nights to stop the pipes outside freezing. €500 to bury them deeper and insulate that I won't have to spend and I can also postpone spending another couple of hundred connecting water butts to the gutters to have water for the garden in the summer. I'll definitely not be bothered going any further with investigating putting in a proper grey water system.
                                                                                  Instead I'll just keep pissing away my basic human right to water.

Everybody are going to have to pay less to superquango ......... yippee!

Bunch of spineless gimps

Another aspect of this I love is wondering how long it will take the myopic idiots celebrating this as some sort of victory for the little guy to realise that they're paying for my extra rinse cycles and start letting the tap run while they're brushing their teeth so they get their money's worth.

The system works.

What's been really interesting is how quickly and widely information (particularly misinformation) about Irish Water has spread on Facebook. So-called daily papers were often days behind on many of the breaking stories happening on social media. Meanwhile our government has showed an astonishing lack of awareness of what was being said about them, seemingly relying on the papers to give them the lowdown. It's been a big wakeup call for all involved.

So do we still get the water tax credit announced in the budget or is that gone/rolled into this 100 euro "conservation grant"?

Slow clap, honestly.
                                                                                              We are a peculiar bunch tbf

Be careful if you fall asleep while on a trip to Bangkok. Not only will they steal your money, but they steal your genitals too
                                                                                                You nearly got me.

Posting again on the off chance someone can help. Looking for 1 or 2 tickets for the Australia match on Saturday. Any help appreciated!

This always cracks me up, where's my Irish Food Joe?

...BAH!...was hoping to read "it happens to all of us don't worry"...the thoughts of getting it checked is both embarrassing and nerve wracking...the only plus side, 99% sure it's not an std, and if it is then its there too long to worry about...
                                                                                                      ...would anyone that has said testicle issues know if it's something you can get checked straight away or would there be a specialist and appointment only...
                                                                                                      go get it seen its really not a big deal at all and nothing to be embarrassed about.

For future reference if a question here starts with "should I get this seen to...." the answer is always yes

Jimmies rustled in this thread I see.

Do you see it as a victory Lloyd?
                                                                                                          Is it simply a case of less €= a win?

To everyone else;
                                                                                                          What does the back peddling on
                                                                                                          PPS
                                                                                                          Price
                                                                                                          Payment terms
                                                                                                          Metering
                                                                                                          Mean to the original arguments for this in the first place.
                                                                                                          100s of millions have been pissed away and in we are no approaching a solution where IWS as an entity seems unnessesary if its just going to be a flat yearly charge.

Was "we wont pay the full amount" the chant?

.The capped charges will be in place until 1 January 2019 with legislation to allow for capped charges to continue after 2019.

Households with either water or sewage only will pay 50% of the charges.

Those with meters who use less will get a once off rebate.

The starting date for the charges is 1 January and bills will be charged from April next year.

If a householder fails to register they will receive a default bill for €260 a year.

They will also not be entitled to the €100 Water Conservation Grant.

People now have until 2 February to register.

Households in group water schemes who register will also be eligible for the conservation grant.

PPS Numbers will not be required for registration and Irish Water will delete any numbers it has already received.

There will be penalties for those who do not pay after a year or enter into a payment plan.

A single adult household will face a €30 penalty and €60 will apply to other households.

Legislation will be introduced allowing landlords to deduct unpaid water charges from tenants' deposits if necessary.

Minister Kelly said the Government needed to listen to the people and take stock.

He said he believes the Government has done that.

He also said job advertisements for a new board combining Irish Water with its parent company Ervia will be publicised from tomorrow.

Minister Kelly said it will provide for "stronger governance and improved setting of strategic objectives".

He said the Government will be establishing a new public/bill-payers forum to advise Irish Water on service expectations and provide valuable feedback on investment priorities.

Mr Kelly pointed out that more than 20,000 people are on "boil water" notices
                                                                                                              2019..what a clusterfuck

Am I missing something? In what way does the Water Conservation Grant promote Water Conservation?

One of the relatively highest costs for provision in the EU was an issue. PPS numbers were an issue. So there are items here I like. The fundamental structure of IW, its guaranteed semi state status, etc - those things still need to be addressed.

However I think it's important to take stock and reflect. The smart kids on this thread told us the protests would have no effect. Registration or payment intentions were irrelevabt as the majority wanted it. It was law and the courts were solid. So I'm confused? Why is the gov rolling back? Are protests...effective? Surely not!!

Mob rule in action, depressing isn't it, well you'd better be getting used to it.

I think its great news, I can continue to keep my taps running during the frosty nights to stop the pipes outside freezing. €500 to bury them deeper and insulate that I won't have to spend and I can also postpone spending another couple of hundred connecting water butts to the gutters to have water for the garden in the summer. I'll definitely not be bothered going any further with investigating putting in a proper grey water system.
                                                                                                                    Great news for me as well. During the summer I power washed my cobblelocks with a high powered washer that I rented from a hire shop.
                                                                                                                    Took about 30k litres of water to do it and was planning on doing it only every 2/3 from now on but with this good news it looks like it will be done twice a year now till 2019!
                                                                                                                    Hopefully petrol prices don't rise much though as the petrol alone to run bad boy cost about €50!

Am I missing something? In what way does the Water Conservation Grant promote Water Conservation?
                                                                                                                      The government doesn't give a fuck about conservation. But it needs to pay lip service to supporters of the charges who liked to argue that point.

Ipb where people spend 5 years passing and moaning about gombeenism and the servility of the Irish people then as soon as they show some backbone out come the jackboots.

I'm thoroughly enjoying watching kenny and Co get a kicking and I registered for iw and am not against paying in principle. Thankfully some people out there were not as lazy as me and now here we are. Don't mind if it costs me a bit more in the long run if it means cunts like rabbitte and kenny feel a bit of fear out on the street.
                                                                                                                          Last edited by Guest; 19-11-14, 17:54.