People claiming that this photo is faked are actually the pinnacle of pathetic conspiracy theorists. The independent is hardly a paragon of unbiased reporting but they're not gonna mess about with something like this!

He does seem to be missing a foot

What do they do in junior infants then? Seems like they'll end up doing the same thing again.
        Seems to be mainly socialisation! Oh and everything is phonetic now which can take getting used to for parents.

Probably better off waiting till the kids are older to send to school especially from a sporting point of view will always have the advantage. Most boys in the big football towns in USA are held back a year before they hit high school.
          Fucking hell. Would you do this? Can't think of a more selfish approach.

Gwan the Fly

Some performance by Hurricane Fly there, especially as he stepped on the second-last. Inis Meain one time for a decent double plz.

Anyone on here play QuizUp? Can you request who to play on it or anything? Pretty addictive.
                You can through Facebook & Google plus afair.

Fucking hell. Would you do this? Can't think of a more selfish approach.
                  How is giving your kid every possible advantage selfish?

Seems to be mainly socialisation! Oh and everything is phonetic now which can take getting used to for parents.
                    It is hard to help them for sure. The little rhymes for each letter and the actions. So different from when my older two started school and they are only 12 and 13.

Our little one is enjoying learning her letters though and now tries to identify letters in everything she sees.

When it comes to kids starting I think just turned 4 is way to young. In Scotland you don't have that problem as the cut-off is mid February. I started myself when I was 4 and turned 5 the following month. My sister was born in April so she was 5 when she started and one of the older kids in the year. It is a decent enough system and children who are born just afterwards sit a little test to see if they are actually able.

The sex of the child is another factor in determining whether you send your kid to school or not. There are a lot of mums who feel a girl at the near cut-off age should go into school where as a boy will be kept behind to start the following year.

I was lucky that my son was born beginning of October and was a perfect age for starting school just before his 5th birthday.

Our eldest daughter is four in march and everyone we have talked to in the education field has advised to leave her till September 2016 before starting school which will make her five 1/2.
                      She is doing the free year this year and we first sent her to a playschool at seventeen months. She was also in a daycare in New York for 10 months which was run by Columbians so she understands Spanish quite well.
                      What I am trying to say is that she has been well socialised but the reason for everyone saying to leave her till she is over five is for social reasons.
                      Tbh I could see it this year when she started the free year she walked in like she owned the classroom whereas the other boys and girls clung furiously to their parents legs and some still do even after two 1/2 months.
                      We are still debating it but it looks like we will leave her the extra year.

Our little one is enjoying learning her letters though and now tries to identify letters in everything she sees.
                          It's a nightmare that it's all cursive letters she's learning, so she keeps telling me 'That's not how you do it' so i need to learn them myself!

If you're holding a four year old back from school so he'll have a biological advantage when playing sport, you're not doing it for the kid's benefit, you're doing it for your own.

Hitch I think there may be a way around that birthdate problem, I'll check it out and get back to you.

IMO...Start them in preschool as soon as you can but don't start them in School too young. If you can swing it give them an extra year in primary by doing 4th or 5th a second time.
                                Transition year is great for a lot of kids but for a large minority, I'd guess about 40%, it is a complete waste of time that would be much better spent in a year out from college.

Originally posted by RD3
                                Not the done thing to have kids turning up who can do long division, read Shakespeare, speak fluent Mandarin etc - teachers really hate it.
                                Thats not really true, they love it but it creates a problem for them that they have small number who start school between 48 and 60 months having have been read to and are ready for school but there are always a cohort that are barely toilet trained, hiding soothers in their bags, having a tiny vocabulary and would never have even seen a book in their life. Unfortunately what tends to happen is that the Shakspeare reading kids have to spend more time fending for themselves than anyone likes.

Mr Murphy insisted it was a peaceful protest but called into question the actions of Gardai in their treatment of protestors.
                                  Yea its those awful Guards fault and the Rabble Rousers bear no responsibility

The lads playing in this Georgia game are in the classic no-win situation. Doesn't help that it's a pile of steaming poo thus far.

That is slander, cunt. What are my options?

You're full of awful nonsense Kayroo. Awful, awful nonsense.
                                      You'd need to speak to a good lawyer. As I think is quite obvious I don't know any.

Anyone on here play QuizUp? Can you request who to play on it or anything? Pretty addictive.
                                        I play a bit, Level84 in GK, I started off playing against people I know but now mostly just play whoever comes up at random.

The very few shinners who have a clue will merge with FF in opposition in the next Dail and dump Grizzliy and whatever other murderers and thugs remain, they will be first isolated and then dumped. The new party will continue to pretend to be socialists just as they were in Berties day.

Holding a kid back in 4th or 5th class (or primary/secondary school/school generally) would be utterly demoralising and cruel.

Because needing a child to be "good" at sports may not be helpful to them in their development as a person? Same with being "clever" etc. I cannot overstate the importance of the effects of promoting a growth versus a fixed mindset. Here is a short description of it:

The psychologist Carol Dweck's describes her research findings in her book Mindset. Now it's a pretty crap book, and she's an annoying person, but it's worth it for the first few chapters. It is actually the one book I would like to give to all parents who think they are doing a good thing by praising in certain things.

Actually on that point, it is still a cultural reality that most people, especially parents, think that promoting self-esteem by praising being good at things and having good qualities is a positive thing. It isn't, we know this. In fact the psychologist whose work started this all off Roy Baumeister deeply regrets his earlier work which popularised this idea, because it was wrong, and the research shows that it is wrong.

So praising certain qualities in a child can be like sticking a pin in a butterfly, it is fixed and static, and then is worthy of praise if it successful goodness of the quality holds to be true or shame if it does not, or threatens to not.

So if you want to praise something in order to cultivate growth orientated tendencies which will stand to a child in their own life then praise effort rather than ability, learning rather than intelligence, and confidence that they can improve at things if they apply themselves, and overcome challenges by risking failure.

It is the child (and adult) who sees their abilities as static who is afraid to take the risk of failure, as that then shows up their essential lack of ability or goodness in that domain. But those who view themselves more dynamically will not collapse at failure or shy away from the possibility of it, because they are moving in a direction, not stuck on a pin. Failure for them then is just a bump on the road, not a shameful revelation of lack of ability or worth.

This is how to give a child every possible advantage, not trying to stack the deck so that they are good at sports.

You'd need to speak to a good lawyer. As I think is quite obvious I don't know any.
                                              Self belief m8.

Yea its those awful Guards fault and the Rabble Rousers bear no responsibility
                                                Is there any evidence from the video that it was a protester or a guard that threw the object .

Holding a kid back in 4th or 5th class (or primary/secondary school/school generally) would be utterly demoralising and cruel.
                                                  Its really not. The main thing it allows at that stage is for them to be working well within their ability rather than having to be flat out to keep up.

If its a problem of how their peers react well frankly the childs outlook is already completely in thrall to what a gang of 9 and 10 year olds think then you are already in deep trouble.

Self belief m8.
                                                    It's over rated. Crushing self doubt has worked for me so far

Its really not. The main thing it allows at that stage is for them to be working well within their ability rather than having to be flat out to keep up.

If its a problem of how their peers react well frankly the childs outlook is already completely in thrall to what a gang of 9 and 10 year olds think then you are already in deep trouble.
                                                          Majority of kids would hate you for splitting them fron the friends they spent the last few years making.

Also kids are little cunts so they will give them a hard time for staying back, which isn't something you'd wanna bring on your own kid unless it's necessary

Update.

Persuaded the wife who was up town to go for a 100 piece 6+ jigsaw.

My god she's such a pushy parent.
                                                            Didn't think anyone used the "up town " phrase in Dublin haha

It's over rated. Crushing self doubt has worked for me so far
                                                              Coke & hookers it is then m8.

Outliers worth a read.

also +1 to what hotspur was saying. If a kid draws a picture you should say "great work, well done" not "that's a brilliant picture"

Good read on this topic imo:

Guys you managed to drown out an important message here. Did luckforsome get pizza or chinese? Will we ever know???
                                                                      ...I am back to answer this...In the end I went with Chinese...house special curry with chips and portion of salt and chilli chicken pieces...actually had to text someone to decide for me...nothing worse than when you literally can't decide on something stupid...glad someone got back to me, otherwise it would have been an empty stomach and a banana...

I can only apologise on behalf of everyone here. It's not often we can say this, but the BBV let you down.

Satisficing.

Back, and to the left... back, and to the left... back, and to the left.

If as rumours suggest it turns out hes a shinner MaryLou will need to be getting her baps out in the Dail to get that off the front pages

Originally posted by Cuchulainn1 View Post
                                                                                Our eldest daughter is four in march and everyone we have talked to in the education field has advised to leave her till September 2016 before starting school which will make her five 1/2.
                                                                                She is doing the free year this year and we first sent her to a playschool at seventeen months. She was also in a daycare in New York for 10 months which was run by Columbians so she understands Spanish quite well.
                                                                                What I am trying to say is that she has been well socialised but the reason for everyone saying to leave her till she is over five is for social reasons.
                                                                                Tbh I could see it this year when she started the free year she walked in like she owned the classroom whereas the other boys and girls clung furiously to their parents legs and some still do even after two 1/2 months.
                                                                                We are still debating it but it looks like we will leave her the extra year.
                                                                                Of course they are saying to keep her for another year. Less work for them. A 5.5 kid is so much easier to manage than a 4.5 kid.

Send her this year. She will most likely be grand from what you are saying above and won't be the youngest in the class. If on the off chance it doesn't work out you can hold her back later. You can't do the reverse if you wait another year.

Anyone here watched Alpha House with John Goodman? Any good?

I can only apologise on behalf of everyone here. It's not often we can say this, but the BBV let you down.
                                                                                    ...I accept your apology on behalf of the BBV...I'm pretty sure I will always be indebted to all of you for the listening you have done with my relationship shite...

u ok m8

Anyone here watched Alpha House with John Goodman? Any good?
                                                                                        Top class IMO

Ah Jasus, are you out of the rearing game that long ?

It would want to be a very "different" 8/9 year old to look at his parents decision to hold him back from going on to the next class with his friends as really the right thing to do in the long term.

Would you get up outa that !

Old heads on young shoulders, cant be done.

u ok m8
                                                                                            ...yup...battling obsessions and all its glory...she hasn't a clue ha...

lol m8 n1

,otherwise it would have been an empty stomach and a banana...
                                                                                                .....If your stomach was empty......what were you planning to do........ with the banana?.............

Sickening clash of heads in the Wales Belgium match, Mertens looked unconscious mid air

Downloaded a simple app recently (called 'been') where you just keep track of what countries you've been to. Seems its 8% of the world (31% of Europe). That's a serious country deficit. Just 22 countries. And that includes getting four countries for UK/NI. And yet it seemed a high number of countries before actually counting them.

What would be about average for someone at the upper end of his mid-thirties, would you say?
                                                                                                        I'd say that's well above average

.....If your stomach was empty......what were you planning to do........ with the banana?.............
                                                                                                          ...ha...that came out wrong...I would have eaten the banana but it wouldn't have filled me...and if I didn't want the banana, freeze it for an hour and I'd have a clean prostate the next morning...

...please...stop...

Think I'm round about the 20 country mark atm. Unlikely to increase any time soon, but I definitely plan to do this cruise as soon as the kids can fend for themselves.
                                                                                                                A few people I've spoken to see it as a terrible cop-out way to see the world, but it suits my risk averse comfort loving personality perfectly.

Its such a bizarre thing. Like a writing nervous tic
                                                                                                                    kind of liken it to your aversion to using the first person when posting!

Wonder if maybe it used to be, but not so much anymore given that Ryanair will bring you to 30 countries for next to nothing.

17 countries outside UK/NI/Ire over 37 years doesn't seem much
                                                                                                                        I'm only around 13 or 14 outside of UK and Ireland. I thought it'd be higher, but it isn't. I have travelled a lot within those countries though and a lot of miles.