Can I just ask by the way, why in the name of jaysus was Bruton sent to Jobstown given the current landscape? It's almost like they wanted something like this to happen.
        Wowzers did you really just say that

Shocking ageism. That's the woman of the year ye are talking about there and not some frail auld wan in need of help.

If you want to see elderly in distress head down to your local nursing home or casualty any night of the week.

They are on the rise but...

A short song from one of Woody's radio broadcasts. (1940's?)Featured in this performance are:*Woody of course-guitar and voc.*the great SONNY TERRY on harmon...

Wowzers did you really just say that
                Yes I did!! Fascists! Scumbags! Murderers!!

Shocking Joe, shocking!

Can I just ask by the way, why in the name of jaysus was Bruton sent to Jobstown given the current landscape? It's almost like they wanted something like this to happen.
                  If she (or anyone from the government) doesn't go to this sort of gig then aren't they faced with tweets, headlines and fb statuses about how "a record 50 of Jobstowns finest young people graduated from this course, yet no-one from the out of touch government turned up this year, shows how marginalised Tallaght is and ignored by tptb."
                  Kind of puts the government in a no-win position, not necessarily surprising at this late stage of a Dail I suppose.

I get this sort image of HH and RD going for a congratulatory 'lunch' with their peers after some BBV debates. Wrong I know but I cant stop the voices images....[IMG][/IMG]

A bit of facism might be what this country needs.
                          100 years almost of independence what have we achieved mass emmigration barring a patch in the late 90s early 2000s, a country ruled by the catholic church with abuse of many of the most vulnerable helped by a state complient in every way possible.
                          Now we have a mountain of debt and the same gombeen career politicans at the helm.

You serious?

Those are all valid cases.

... but so is trapping someone in her car, thugs surrounding her, and giving every intent of doing violence.

Its not a case of 'well at least I'm not the gal in the nursing home, so I should be happy'.
                                  Do you really think she was in real danger with all the police, some of then armed, standing next to to her?

"Woman of the year has to rearrange schedule due to protest" probably wouldn't have the same ring to it on Twitter though.

There's 40% left of this gov's time, no? Could be wrong. Thought it was two years left.
                                        Feb 2011 last election so 45 months completed out of a very maximum of 60 so only 25% left.
                                        Seeing as we are in the 31st Dail in 90 years this is likely one of the longest serving governments already.

Would you like to be in the same situation, wombat of the year?
                                          Nope. That's why I don't spend most of my time being a gigantic sanctimonious geebag!

Can I just say...

^^^ imo
                                                  I'll stick with geebag if it's all the same to you, although I can understand how her anti social welfare fraud rhetoric might have had you creaming your gown.

I wonder why I'm not into politics? Seems like a great old thing to have a ruck over.

Any fans of Hozier here? CHD? He's a Bray man. Very bluesy and gospely. Here's a blast from his recently released debut album...

I wonder why I'm not into politics? Seems like a great old thing to have a ruck over.

Any fans of Hozier here? CHD? He's a Bray man. Very bluesy and gospely. Here's a blast from his recently released debut album...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5nMwel-DL5w
                                                        Apparently was at sessions with him a few times. The picture I have of him is a very quiet dude who used play drinking games with us. I'm told that is him but genuinely can't picture him properly. The lil bro knows him.

He is a seriously talented man imo, wish I got to know him.

Also, it should be noted that I do not remember him for taking a guitar out at sessions. Take that on board, guitarists.

You let Raoul troll you way too easily there Lloyd. I expect better.
                                                          Masterful restraint by the big man. I had assumed the combination of Alan Shatter and tasty breakfast pastries would ignite the touchpaper to a good rant.

LL can live wherever he likes. Even if it is the kind of place that is the antithesis of all he allegedly holds dear.
                                                          RD3 does not troll.

Kayroo, why do you go all like ''Oh Lloyd I love how you debate, answer these questions... oh you didn't answer them but that is ok I don't think you should cause its so bad the spot you are in. I love how you answer questions though oh wait here is more questions, wait Lloyd don't answer them, but here is more. I love debating with you will you suck my... oh you would love SF in power wouldn't you yeah, wait don't answer that''

It is like you are all in training for debate class.

I just can't help but think every time Kayroo 'debates' with Lloyd he's restraining himself with some relaxation technique like: "Serenity now", forcing himself to 'be nice' every time he posts. Feels like he's holding back the mouth foam in every post

Browsing BBC i player and see The Fall season 2 has started. Dont know if any you guys here have watched it but imho it was/is pretty impressive

I just can't help but think every time Kayroo 'debates' with Lloyd he's restraining himself with some relaxation technique like: "Serenity now", forcing himself to 'be nice' every time he posts. Feels like he's holding back the mouth foam in every post
                                                                I think he wants Lloyds plum m8.

I'm in Kinsale at the weekend. Is Fishy Fishy a must or just another place?
                                                                  A must. Get the lobster thermidor.
                                                                  Thanks to these posts i booked a hotel in Kinsale next sat night and will hopefully be eating lobster in fishy fishy.

Did you go ST ?

Jesus Christ. Mark Hunt...

Aw

Serious ear ripping, blood spewing gif to do the rounds tomorrow. Horrible stuff. Womens MMA!

I didn't see any bouts but did hear it was a bit "shitty".

Serious ear ripping, blood spewing gif to do the rounds tomorrow. Horrible stuff. Womens MMA!
                                                                            Or now. Blood squirting and flesh hanging pic and gif.

Image

GIF -

I didn't see any bouts but did hear it was a bit "shitty".
                                                                              Twas a good card but the main event was as frustrating as reading an Irish Water debate.

Also fascism tends to cut populations due to gassing the undesirables
                                                                                Interestingly this is not true. The Nazis encouraged breeding like rabbits.

Pretty sure the population of Germany in 1945 >>>the 1939 population. Although a lot of this was probably due to forced displacement of ethnic Germans from the East, Moravia, Bohemia etc.

<ends history lesson>

Twas a good card but the main event was as frustrating as reading an Irish Water debate.
                                                                                  Ah we had a good time last night. I'm sure LL is chuckling over it as he downs his Starbucks frappucino this morning. While reading some Rupert Murdock publication no doubt.

Just played my first poker tournament in LA. 120 ish players and 17 get paid. Heartbroken to get knocked out in 19th. absolutely gut wrenching...

Moment of total honesty it is so:

Lloyd debates like a child and so I feel like the only way to get him to stay even remotely on track is to treat him like one. If he starts to feel on the wrong side of anything he starts bleating about ad hominem attacks or sarkiness or anything he can to deflect from the fact that his position is fundamentally indefensible.

He dresses it up well of course. He is genuinely a smart guy from what I can tell. I don't get angry in debates with Lloyd. I spend too much of my time having to argue with the absolute fringe lunatics in our society to be even slightly perturbed by a champagne socialist like Lloyd. (I mean in work, not in this thread. Although CHD obv)

Mostly I've reached the point where I find it amusing. Sinn Fein have this week shown utter disrespect and disregard for the democratic will of our State in more ways than one. They have one or two very capable Deputies but they are an empty shell of a party on a substantive basis. None of their stated policies make the slightest bit of sense. They are pursuing an electoral strategy that they followed 100 years ago of simply opposing everything (and even then they flip-flopped on Irish Water). Sinn Fein may well be the governing party of this country one day, but for now they are a complete joke except nobody is laughing.

What's remarkable is that it has taken this long for us to see this type of backlash from the section of society that feels disenfranchised.
                                                                                        What do they want?

Very magnanimous of Paul Murphy to let her go in the end, good chap.

Seems trainer Dessie Hughes has passed away aged 71.
                                                                                            Very sad RIP.

...BBV help needed as always...I've spent the last 15 minutes debating whether to order Chinese or Pizza...And I am fucking starving so need to have a decision made, but cant make it myself...First response please...
                                                                                              Guys you managed to drown out an important message here. Did luckforsome get pizza or chinese? Will we ever know???

No water in jobstown this morning

Too funny:http://www.thejournal.ie/water-jobstown-1782847-Nov2014
                                                                                                  Last edited by eamonhonda; 16-11-14, 12:43.

No water in jobstown this morning
                                                                                                    Not even for grande Moccachinos? The humanity.

Update.

Got a 60 piece one this morning. She's nearly finished it in a few minutes. We're going to be bankrupted through jigsaws, but Oxford eta is now 9, maybe 8.
                                                                                                        What age is your kid now HH? (I'm thinking ~4 so probably going to school next Sept?).

Stretching back to when we were on boards.ie, the thread has always generally aligned thinking on topics and been quite self congratulatory on how intelligent and logical we all are. There is also - as there is in any community - admiration that flows towards certain members on the basis that they are professionally successful, etc and therefore worthy of respect. That's okay it's natural.

Cardshark can't abide my opinions on football and tennis, he reckons I'm a drooling retard as far as the topics are concerned.
                                                                                                          Kayroo et al think SF are a dangerous bad joke of a political party and can't understand how anyone could support them.
                                                                                                          Emmet and others HATE my rugby views, and consider it an affront that a Leinster man could favour Munster, etc.

I'm not unaware of these views, but you just believe what you believe at the end of the day. As my training log may attest to, I'm a little stubborn and determined so lots of people disagreeing with me makes no real odds to what I think.

I'm also not unaware of the condescension from certain quarters in recent times. 'Lloyd is a smart guy'; 'I'd genuinely like your opinion on this'; 'I wonder does Lloyd know some of the thanks his posts receive are ironic', lol. Good stuff. I'm not really that smart actually nor have I ever claimed to be.

So Glyn, Shane, Keith, Reggie, etc: go fuck yourselves. And to paraphrase Al Pacino's character in Scent of a Woman: Noel, if you're out there, fuck you too. Not that I actually mean 'fuck you', people see things differently in life. If I met any of you on the street I'd shake your hand and say hello (Tony bashes me as bad as anyone on here but he'll be able to attest to that). If these topics were brought up in person my views would be the same. My circle of friends frequently don't agree with me either.

I'm going to be on here for a long time to come (whatever length of time the site remains around anyway). Your disappointment / disagreement on these topics is noted. The debate is becoming too personal however and I'm guilty of that also. There is no need to 'win' these arguments and I know I'm not the only one who makes sure to pop in here when important events occur to see what the take is. The discussion has to be fun though and no one ever wants an echo chamber.

That should be more than enough on me for one year I would think.

3.25. No the stupid school system won't let her go next year as she'll just be 4 on Sept 2nd next year. Think that means she's a day too late.
                                                                                                              Back in the day she could just skip the first day and join on second. Whether it's the same now I dunno. You may have to teach her the letter A yourself so she doesn't fall behind.

5 not the done thing these days anyhow?

Back in the day she could just skip the first day and join on second. Whether it's the same now I dunno. You may have to teach her the letter A yourself so she doesn't fall behind.

5 not the done thing these days anyhow?
                                                                                                                Nah, 4. Nearly all kids will have a year of preschool under their belts at that stage via the ECCE anyway. Our youngest is two months older than HH's and I'd be happy to have her in now.

Not the done thing to have kids turning up who can do long division, read Shakespeare, speak fluent Mandarin etc - teachers really hate it.

3.25. No the stupid school system won't let her go next year as she'll just be 4 on Sept 2nd next year. Think that means she's a day too late.
                                                                                                                  Works out well for you at third level though, for lots of reasons you wouldn't really want her to just turn 17 and be starting college the same day.

Also she will have an age advantage through every year of school, perfect for everything from sport to education to fighting.

Works out well for you at third level though, for lots of reasons you wouldn't really want her to just turn 17 and be starting college the same day.

Also she will have an age advantage through every year of school, perfect for everything from sport to education to fighting.
                                                                                                                    Everyone now seems to do the transition year thing anyhow so they would be 18 anyhow.

Probably better off waiting till the kids are older to send to school especially from a sporting point of view will always have the advantage. Most boys in the big football towns in USA are held back a year before they hit high school.

He dresses it up well of course. He is genuinely a smart guy from what I can tell. I don't get angry in debates with Lloyd. I spend too much of my time having to argue with the absolute fringe lunatics in our society to be even slightly perturbed by a champagne socialist like Lloyd. (I mean in work, not in this thread. Although CHD obv)
                                                                                                                        That is slander, cunt. What are my options?

You're full of awful nonsense Kayroo. Awful, awful nonsense.

Anyone on here play QuizUp? Can you request who to play on it or anything? Pretty addictive.