Cant believe how hard it is to find anyone in the left who is in favour of property and water taxes.
    You called?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0XlptOyY57E#t=142

I'd imagine your mental ability to stay on the left will deteriorate somewhat when you finish your training and start getting the decent dollars.
          Ha shite misread his post that he said anybody left instead of anybody in the left! I'm very much to the centre. Centre right if anything

You skim read patient charts too?

Obviously, he is a Doctor.

A boring weekend sometimes is just wonderful!, no callers. just me and Mia and the candles lighting and big turf fire . the simple things really are the best!

That's the issue though. Low earners pay almost no tax here, whereas in almost every other EU country they are asked to contribute something. E.g. 25% of income in France, Netherlands (I think). Currently if you earn €20k here you pay almost nothing in tax, but that's quite unfair really, if you get an equal share of the benefits. Well, the rest of Europe thinks so anyway. That was the OECD thinking - there should be a greater contribution from people who currently don't pay enough, hence, USC and water charge for low paid, and the property tax on wealth.

It's very much a philosophical position that people who earn over say €33k should pay for everyone else.
                    Isn't it quite simplistic and false to start comparing countries in that way?

Like the social services in France are hugely better than here I would guess. If you want to collect more tax to improve this then that is a different argument. Reading this we don't pay a disproportionate amount of tax compared to the rest of Europe over 33k we just collect less. Wrong?

Cant believe how hard it is to find anyone in the left who is in favour of property and water taxes.
                      Basically in favour but like usual they seem to be going about in the worst possible way. Water charges should be equally acceptable to plastic bag charges but if it's true that pipes could have been fully upgraded for the money spent then it's just crazy. Electronic voting seemed like a great idea too. No issues whatsoever with property tax.

Andyfb and strewelp: we are as one re water charges etc. I think one has to be alive on this earth a certain time, with a functioning brain, plus (ideally) a personality which does not automatically go into gimp mode when faced with alternate ideas and suggestions - to accept that sometimes - just sometimes - the boring, nonsensical, uncool ideas posited by "the powers that be" might make sense. Fwiw, I agree with whoever it was earlier that made the point that paul murphy and sinead cusack's grandson (son?) are making edits of themselves again and again - sayings like "if you want to know me, come and live with me" and "it takes one to know one " come to mind. Wankers.

We actually do have to look at other countries in this case. How come other European countries ask everyone to contribute to social services, but here its primarily the €33k+? How come nearly every other country has property tax, water charges, but here its asking people to pay for something that's their godgiven right? How come the tax rate on high earners here is one of the highest in Europe, when those high earners are probably the most mobile and can move to another country and earn their money there? (as we see is hugely the case with Irish-educated doctors).
                              I would guess that one of the major problems is trying to enact these reforms in times of austerity which has been caused to a large degree by the mismanagment of the country. People are still angry but never really got to vent about this. How much of the debt was borrowed to refinance the banks? 80 billion plus? People are fucking sick and tired of hearing about having to pay their fair share when the reality is that looking at the interest repayments it is clear what is crippling the country. It isn't low wage earner not paying their fair share but the fact we need to make up massive amounts of money to pay that loan. Rightly or wrongly that is how people feel. You have people in this thread pontificating about social welfare cuts while working within an industry which failed and has got propped up by the tax payer. If people felt that taxes where going towards paying for things like water I don't think it would be a problem. No one is saying it directly but these groundswells of support are because people feel stuff like Irish water is just making up the shortfall for paying the interest on loans to the bailout.

Last edited by Opr; 02-11-14, 00:33.

The low taxes for low earners is literally the best thing about the Irish tax system. It's the one thing the PDs did that was good for Ireland.

If they were protesting the USC it would be hard to argue with them.

Why would the Breeders Cup allow a decrepit old man in a bad wig who cannot sing a note mangle their national anthem

#WhoTheFuck is Richie Sambora

It does break social cohesion though. One group of society feels they are paying for everything and not getting enough (something which is absolutely not true). Another group of society feels that the key decisions are being made by the paying group who are in with the political classes. That's not good for a society. Actually its what has ruined the UK - the constant group-against-group strife.

Hopefully what emerges from the rise of the good socialist politicians is someone decent on the centre (given that we have no right) will also emerge so we can have some decent political debates about these things. Leo / Simon Harris have some potential there. No-one from FF. I'd say though that every sinew of the FG oldguard will push for Simon Coveney to be at the fore due to him being the absolute oldguard in slightly younger clothing. And so falleth the centre to the extreme left due to dumbassery.
                                        Had a rant at Simon Harris about the bus timetable that he fucked up. He attempted to fix it and has fixed a couple of routes.

Kind of like when he was my prefect in school and I bullied him into saying he didn't see me.

Will be a corrupted people pleasing cunt by the next GE. He's like Dick Roche 2.0 .

If you look closely over Peter Wrights shoulder, you will see Simon Harris.

Stockpiling his election posters years ago still pays off today.

The next step is for everyone who has protested to simply not pay. Game over, the government will be broken on the issue.

Too many sheep. Baaaa.

People should have been protesting about how Boardwalk Empire ended, not water. Jeez.

In order to vote left do you not have to believe that a government bureaucracy is better at spending money than you are?

The low taxes for low earners is literally the best thing about the Irish tax system. It's the one thing the PDs did that was good for Ireland.
                                                What counts as low earnings? 51% @ 33k is fairly obscene.

7/8% USC, .75% of your pension, but it's a couple of euro a week on water that has people in the streets, lol etc.

It does break social cohesion though. One group of society feels they are paying for everything and not getting enough (something which is absolutely not true).
                                                As far as I can tell I get footpaths and law and order for my taxes, feels like lunacy to stay here.

Originally posted by Mickey Rosa View Post
                                                  Sinn Fein top of tomorrow's Sindo poll, time to book a ticket out of here.
                                                  You wouldn't book a ticket out of here if we got into power. You'd merely moan and wave your hands about leaving.

Which is a good thing mind- the sign of a mature state.

Too many sheep. Baaaa.

People should have been protesting about how Boardwalk Empire ended, not water. Jeez.
                                                    I'd say a non payment rate of ~10% would be enough to kill it. That's too much processing for a court / collections system and a multitude of compelling family stories of poor families cut off by IW.

You wouldn't book a ticket out of here if we got into power. You'd merely moan and wave your hands about leaving.

Sindo polls are mainly about filling columns tbf.

I'd say a non payment rate of ~10% would be enough to kill it. That's too much processing for a court / collections system and a multitude of compelling family stories of poor families cut off by IW.
                                                        Come year two that rate still won't be enough to kill it imo but I'm a football drooler.

51% on 33k Couple of quid a week is why people are on the street.

The Sun are looking for a headline writer.

Piss off, where were ye lefty cunts when the Property Tax came in (5 x the water charges?). Nowhere coz the majority of your bretheren didn't even notice it. Why was that I wonder??
                                                            Go fuck off.

'If we got into power'. Christ, you're not talking about Munster winning the Heineken cup here.

SF economic policies (though that seems too lofty a word to use) are fucking moronic.

One quick example.

At the height of the recession hospital consultants salaries were cut by a third to just over 100k per year. This was less than SF were advocating with their usual economic sophistication of "Burka burka burka nobody needs to earn 100k per year." So what's happening now? Consultant positions aren't being filled (80% unfilled last year, many didn't attract a single application.) Locums fill many of the positions at three to five times the salary but ultimately no real responsibilities. Nobody wants to take the positions earning one third of what everyone else is on with the added bonus of responsibility. Waiting lists are longer than ever because there's nobody to see them. SF plan to fix the problem? You guessed it, the ever populist nonsense of cutting salaries further.

Mickey Rosa may or may not leave but a continued drain of hospital consultants would entirely fuck up an already poor health system.

Leaving aside all that, how anyone could countenance voting for a party with a leader covering up child abusers and a TD who picked up garda killers on their prison release is fucking beyond me.

meant to say this few days back about breaking bad

Season 4 episode 13, in reality what is the likelihood that the neighbour actually has the key to the front door in all fairness. Skyler changed the locks not so long ago and walt wouldn't know if the neighbour had a key really and probably no hope. Not having it so I'm not

meant to say this few days back about breaking bad

Season 4 episode 13, in reality what is the likelihood that the neighbour actually has the key to the front door in all fairness. Skyler changed the locks not so long ago and walt wouldn't know if the neighbour had a key really and probably no hope. Not having it so I'm not
                                                                  Breaking Bad
                                                                  This is actually explained in Season 5 episode 6

Sindo polls are mainly about filling columns tbf.

Polls in general are often nonsense, totally agree there. The Irish Times / MRBI poll is somewhat half worthy of taking notice of. The next edition will be interesting as an indicator of what damage has been done to SF by the recent scandal.

Piss off, where were ye lefty cunts when the Property Tax came in (5 x the water charges?). Nowhere coz the majority of your bretheren didn't even notice it. Why was that I wonder??
                                                                    Go fuck off.
                                                                    Wonderful erudite descriptive posting. Kudos!!

Originally posted by NiceandcoolTrig View Post
                                                                    'If we got into power'. Christ, you're not talking about Munster winning the Heineken cup here.

SF economic policies (though that seems too lofty a word to use) are fucking moronic.

One quick example.

At the height of the recession hospital consultants salaries were cut by a third to just over 100k per year. This was less than SF were advocating with their usual economic sophistication of "Burka burka burka nobody needs to earn 100k per year." So what's happening now? Consultant positions aren't being filled (80% unfilled last year, many didn't attract a single application.) Locums fill many of the positions at three to five times the salary but ultimately no real responsibilities. Nobody wants to take the positions earning one third of what everyone else is on with the added bonus of responsibility. Waiting lists are longer than ever because there's nobody to see them. SF plan to fix the problem? You guessed it, the ever populist nonsense of cutting salaries further.

Mickey Rosa may or may not leave but a continued drain of hospital consultants would entirely fuck up an already poor health system.

Leaving aside all that, how anyone could countenance voting for a party with a leader covering up child abusers and a TD who picked up garda killers on their prison release is fucking beyond me.
                                                                    And beyond you it shall stay I guess. Mad world eh?

Come year two that rate still won't be enough to kill it imo but I'm a football drooler.
                                                                      You're not a drooler Chadley. I think if you have 10% year one and it becomes clear that those who aren't paying aren't suffering consequences the non payment rate will grow year two and so on.

This charge depends on compliance ultimately. I think where the squeal point lies is absolutely debatable (and a relatively interesting debate), but its existence is not arguable.

Breaking Bad
                                                                        This is actually explained in Season 5 episode 6
                                                                        Nice one! Must rewatch that one now as obviously missed it. Yeah this show is just class.

Only one other thing bugged me and that was actually tiny so that's good! Can't wait to rewatch it in 6 months when I forget it all again.
                                                                        Last edited by mdoug; 02-11-14, 08:25.

Not true. I assume you just made this up.

Originally posted by NiceandcoolTrig View Post
                                                                              He kinda is.
                                                                              Popular support for Fascism usually relies on the same kind of base emotional unthinking response that people invest in heavily marketed sports teams that have no connection to their community.

You're not a drooler Chadley. I think if you have 10% year one and it becomes clear that those who aren't paying aren't suffering consequences the non payment rate will grow year two and so on.

This charge depends on compliance ultimately. I think where the squeal point lies is absolutely debatable (and a relatively interesting debate), but its existence is not arguable.
                                                                                Not true. I assume you just made this up.
                                                                                What are your thoughts on the second part above? What non payment rate would be an issue iyo? As I say, I think it's a genuinely interesting question.

He kinda is.
                                                                                Popular support for Fascism usually relies on the same kind of base emotional unthinking response that people invest in heavily marketed sports teams that have no connection to their community.
                                                                                Yeah I'm clearly drooling over my keyboard here.

That said, in between uncontrollable drool outpours I posted at length during the summer about how the media / political "attack" strategy doesn't work with SF. We've had two full weeks of full on nonsense in the media directed at Adams and SF and their poll support seems to have increased inspite of same.

This thread is a small scale version of actual political to and fro. Everyone comes in here, posts at me and high fives each other. In the Dail and the media there has been a veritable Echo chamber the past two weeks. But it doesn't work I'm afraid.

Was in the bookies yesterday and two water warriors came in, put their can't pay won't pay signs in the corner and punted for about an hour.

In fairness one of them at least availed of the free water on offer.

That said, in between uncontrollable drool outpours I posted at length during the summer about how the media / political "attack" strategy doesn't work with SF. We've had two full weeks of full on nonsense in the media directed at Adams and SF and their poll support seems to have increased inspite of same.
                                                                                    Is it safe to assume nothing that's happened recently has altered your view of Gerry or SF? Can I ask why?

With regards to 10% of people not paying causing the system to collapse. As far as I was told 90% of people who attend A&E don't pay the basic 100 euro charge. The service still hasn't been withdrawn though

I am one of those, never paid it. But I always had the attitude: They cant turn me away the next time.

Has anyone watched Constantine? Its quite good so far. I think Ryan is doing a good job so far. Its a bit weird with the Welsh accent over scouse but I can deal with that.
                                                                                          Going to let a couple episodes build up and then jump into it, heard the first episode wasn't great but positive about your summation on it.

This should have gotten more

Going to let a couple episodes build up and then jump into it, heard the first episode wasn't great but positive about your summation on it.
                                                                                                  Its not far off Supernatural really. Catiel's appearance is a nod to Hellblazer's original getup anyway.

Small spoiler about the first episode, if you've read up on the show though you'll know it:

The issue with the 1st episode is how poorly handled the change of lead female was. Basically Liv was panned in the test viewings. In the leaked pilot she stays on. However after the test screenings she was binned. So they wrote her out and we get a new female lead - Zed. Zed>Liv for sure but terribly handled.

Beyond that issue I think the show has some promise. For me it comes down to how dark the network will let the show go.

What counts as low earnings? 51% @ 33k is fairly obscene.
                                                                                                    LOL. Do you even know anyone who earns 12-15k/annum?

Bord Gais Theatre has The Mousetrap coming up mid-November btw. Been meaning to go to that play since reading as a kid in the Guinness Book of Records that it was the longest running play of all time in the West End. What a stupid thing to have stuck in the head from the oodles of brilliant facts introduced by that book before we had internet.
                                                                                                      Interested, expensive enough.
                                                                                                      Reddit thread on highly distasteful jokes.

Samples:

Costume I saw on reddit:

Ending up in the emporium casino in temple bar last night, let me tell you...it was not like the sporting emporium, jesus christ haha

Thinking of going to a CV consultant (e.g. this one), in advance of the big career move onslaught from April next year. Wonder if its worth it? I'd say so much on a CV is things the job seeker want to say rather than thinking about what the prospective employers want to hear.
                                                                                                          Well obviously I would do it for free for you but since it is an academic cv and not one for a standard job where targets, stats and successes are what people want I don't know if it should be totally different.

I presume that your research and what you got published is more important than what you actually do day to day but could be tottally wrong so not sure how it would be formatted.

If you go down the route of getting a guy like this involved I would check if he does do academic cvs and his success rates etc.

I had thought you were getting interviews with what you have now so is it interview technique and practice you need.

Big question is are you just avoiding the pain in the arse job of doing it yourself.

Either way happy to have a look for you if you think it would be useful but check he does work in your sector and has the starts to back it up before paying
                                                                                                          Last edited by RichieM; 02-11-14, 13:38.

Sinn Fein's numbers are really really soft. They're too variable to not be. One more scandal and they are back to Labour type numbers.

Also think at the next election we will see a "Gilmore for Taoiseach" effect in Sinn Fein. People are happy to say they'll vote for them but the second it appears as if they might actually get somewhere the numbers will have a serious readjustment. Expect to see (assuming there are no more scandals) Sinn Fein peak in the polls about 3 weeks out and then nose dive down into 12-14% territory when people get second thoughts.

Also they will be absolutely hammered by Fianna Fail and Labour for the next year. Not like they have previously. I expect it to get really focused and issue specific. Labour are coming at their left (which is hard considering how many fringe left leaning candidates are out there occupying the left) and Fianna Fail from the right.

20 seats is likely a pipe dream for them to be honest. Expect their vote to be really weakened by independent locals.
                                                                                                            Are you sticking with this, because I think you and the people who continually agree with this sentiment are wrong?
                                                                                                            So I'd be happy to take the overs on a '+-19.5 seats for SF next GE' bet?

LOL. Do you even know anyone who earns 12-15k/annum?
                                                                                                              Yes?

Edit: that's what traders start at in my company after their initial internship. Not sure what that has to do with the higher rate kicking in at the average industrial wage though.
                                                                                                              Last edited by Denny Crane; 02-11-14, 14:06.

I mentioned here a while back that I was thinking of starting Babylon 5. I'm now in season 4 and while it is awfully dated in places with some hammy acting it is a story that is improving all the time and really gripping with less and less filler episodes as it goes on.

For anyone who likes scifi and is willing to forgive the flaws above (and a slow start I thought) it really is worth a watch if you haven't seen it.

Irish water = bad
                                                                                                                  Pay rises for staff there = bad
                                                                                                                  Unions = good
                                                                                                                  Pay rises for Irish water staff negotiated by unions

Which way will the bearded left go over all this?

I'm lost at the suggestion that if 10% of people don't pay their bill that we (the 90%) should bow down to their wishes and stop charging?

Doesn't seem very democratic.

What a fucking thick fucking cunt!! A fantastic first half gone to shit! Two stupid yellows. Fuck sake.

I'm lost at the suggestion that if 10% of people don't pay their bill that we (the 90%) should bow down to their wishes and stop charging?

Doesn't seem very democratic.
                                                                                                                        I was thinking yesterday that a Waterford Whisper article about millions of people not protesting against water charges would have been apt.

Lol, two stone wallers turned down on their own pitch. Hate refs who bottle decisions after a big call earlier in a match.