If you want a cow to come over just lie down and they will come over to you, nosey bastards.

I'll take 2%, ye both get 49% so then no-one has over 50%, and I'll play you both off against each other.

btw was in meeting an interesting startup yesterday where the main guy was saying he's just hiring IADT people at the moment as they have best design tech skills in the country. He himself was Trinity background so wasn't some favouritism thing.
        Nothing could come between us. We'll happily take your money.
        You are the CEO. Chief Entertainment Officer.

I'll take 2%, ye both get 49% so then no-one has over 50%, and I'll play you both off against each other.

btw was in meeting an interesting startup yesterday where the main guy was saying he's just hiring IADT people at the moment as they have best design tech skills in the country. He himself was Trinity background so wasn't some favouritism thing.
            You can be Chairman.

Guy in charge of chairs.
            CEO and Junior Vice Presidents.
            Let's create a role for young Mick.

Originally posted by Lord Finkel View Post
              Chicago Bulls obv
              This deserves way more love

If you want a cow to come over just lie down and they will come over to you, nosey bastards.
              Yep, used to be a huge problem for British security forces in the north. THey would be lying in ambush in some farm, checking out a suspect house, and cows would just stroll up and start staring down at them.

...quick Betting question...mate of mine placed a bet with Boyle sports last night in the j league football...the bet won, but they said there was match fixing so can't pay out...is it allowed, I'm sure it Is but thought I'd confirm...and will they pay ou if it's shown to be not corrupt...

You need to change to a ltd and pay yourself as a company director. You'll pay regular paye/prsi/usc and get the benefits that come with it.
                  I am and have done.
                  Ha, nice one, was under the impression I wasnt eligible.
                  Every day is a school day

Boom! 90k research grant landed, safe until the end of 2015 and that brings me into contract of indefinite duration country. Delighted.

Great news!

What's the topic?

Great news!

What's the topic?
                          Protective layers to stop silicon oxidising when it's used to split water under sunlight.

Nice of them to save your budget gift until the day after in fairness
                              I thought I was doing well picking up a tenner a month for the kids

Protective layers to stop silicon oxidising when it's used to split water under sunlight.
                                Probably should have just gone with "science"

Great. I hate when my silicon oxidises like that.

Highly ambitious shout, but anyone who can sort me out with 2-3 tickets to Scotland Vs Ireland game next month it would be much appreciated.
                                    On sale on the Scottish FA website for the Scottish ends, probably safe enough.
                                    90 minute queue to get into the ticket site (link on this page)

Got onto it eventually. £35 a ticket, limited availability. Could only get 3 for some reason.
                                    Last edited by ArmaniJeans; 15-10-14, 16:20.

Any chance you could just try nickel and then pocket the 90k?

Just used a calculator to see if 8 divides evenly into 52. Slightly impressed that modern tech has even taken away ability to do the multiplication tables.
                                          Don't leave us hanging..

Any chance you could just try nickel and then pocket the 90k?
                                            Regular reader of 'Science' mag are you?! They only managed 80 hours or something rubbish. They need to last 15 years. Manganese is where its at.

Just used a calculator to see if 8 divides evenly into 52. Slightly impressed that modern tech has even taken away ability to do the multiplication tables.
                                              I see this every day, bonus marks if you start using fingers or moving your lips.

Interesting.

If you need any characterisation, etc along the way we have most of the gear that would conceivably be needed.

Interesting.

If you need any characterisation, etc along the way we have most of the gear that would conceivably be needed.
                                                  Cool. Do you have a webpage with a list of techniques somewhere?

Somebody please take 180

Someone should just go after him and post 181 for all of his posts

My UPC/wifi has been bolloxed for some time now, constant disconnects so I am tethering off the phone mostly - which I don't mind if not for:

A: My phone battery being a sap
                                                          B: Paying for a Useless/unused service @53e a month (Tv+internet).

tl,dr: What are TV options available to someone in Dublin, in an apartment (Can't get a sat dish), is it still possible to get that free to air tv shit?

The taoiseach and plenty of FG td's heckle ML constantly and the CC never stops them. whatever about SF's recent proposals (and even I think it's getting bizarre) The CC is ridiculously terrible when it comes to applying Standing Order's against opposition TD's vs. FG ones.
                                                            Do you watch Dail tv or something?

You are genuinely one of the few people who cares. It's not like anything worthwhile is ever said in the Dail anyway.

What is graphene and how can I make $$$$ out of it? Science grad working with me was hyperventilating with excitement over it.

it's two fingers hitch!

My UPC/wifi has been bolloxed for some time now, constant disconnects so I am tethering off the phone mostly - which I don't mind if not for:

tl,dr: What are TV options available to someone in Dublin, in an apartment (Can't get a sat dish), is it still possible to get that free to air tv shit?
                                                                Have you asked them? i asked them about my net, they said the cable at the wall may be minutely lose, I turned it fractionally and no issues since. If not they will just send you an engineer.

Do you watch Dail tv or something?

You are genuinely one of the few people who cares. It's not like anything worthwhile is ever said in the Dail anyway.
                                                                  I know it means little in the grand scheme of things, but someone who is obviously biased who then gets uppity when called on it is annoying.

What is graphene and how can I make $$$$ out of it? Science grad working with me was hyperventilating with excitement over it.
                                                                    Selotape on a lump of pencil lead.

Take off selotape.

Dissolve the plastic.

Wahey graphene.

Sell it to the Japanese or something.

dads know everything

Nexus 6 available for pre-order starting in late October. Been waiting for this since my nexus 5 was stolen... YESHHH!

I know it means little in the grand scheme of things, but someone who is obviously biased who then gets uppity when called on it is annoying.
                                                                          Who was the best Ceann Comhairle in your opinion?

3220 mAh battery, nice

Multiple users for phones. If you forget your phone, you still can call any of your friends (or access any of your messages, photos etc.) by simply logging into another Android phone running Lollipop
                                                                            ooh

Last edited by Denny Crane; 15-10-14, 19:26.

Any price rumours?

Not much cheaper than the new iphone going by the looks of things. ~$650 in the US.

It could be one of a few problems with your router. Their could be loads of competing wifi networks nearby causing interference (most likely as your in an apartment) or a faulty router. Out of curiosity, does every device drop off completely or is it just your laptop?

Download the wifi analyzer app to your phone. Once you run a scan, pick a new wifi channel for your router. Pick one that is not occupied if possible. If most are occupied pick the one that has the weakest signal to compete with. Loads of tutorials online for this. If you need help with the router settings/login, feel free to shoot me a PM.

If that doesn't improve things, best bet is to call UPC and demand/ask nicely for a new router.

Any price rumours?
                                                                                    New approach it seems.

Google’s new Nexus 6 smartphone, Nexus 9 tablet and Nexus Player set-top box are priced slightly below, or in line with, competing devices from Apple.

At 5.9 inches diagonally, the Nexus 6 is larger than Apple’s new iPhone 6 Plus, which measures 5.5 inches. It will sell for $649, compared with $749 for the iPhone 6 Plus. Last year, Google introduced the Nexus 5 at $349.

Mr. Pichai said the goal of Nexus products is not to sell lots of devices, but to provide a “roadmap” to help other Android device makers, such as Samsung Electronics Co. , develop similar products.

Nexus 6 available for pre-order starting in late October. Been waiting for this since my nexus 5 was stolen... YESHHH!
                                                                                      No pricing yet and it's expected that it'll be quite a bit dearer than a normal Nexus phone, especially as they are not discontinuing the 5.

Edit: seems there are prices, but not good ones sadly, although I wasn't going to buy it anyhow. IT does look like fantastic phone in terms of spec though.
                                                                                      Last edited by 6starpool; 15-10-14, 19:21.

No pricing yet and it's expected that it'll be quite a bit dearer than a normal Nexus phone, especially as they are not discontinuing the 5.

Edit: seems there are prices, but not good ones sadly, although I wasn't going to buy it anyhow. IT does look like fantastic phone in terms of spec though.
                                                                                        Should have a 16 man heads up for $40 a pop and winner gets a brand new phone :P

You could just win Us all a ton of cash and we will buy them

Judging by this week... No, no I could not.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 15-10-14, 20:20. Reason: my=me

It's a two dimensional sheet of carbon which is far stronger than steel and far more conductive than most metals. If you could deposit it controllably and manipulate it, it would revolutionise microelectronics. Currently though, most of it is made by sticking a piece of sellotape on a piece of pencil lead and ripping it off.
                                                                                                The EU are fucking boatloads of money at it, and it's one of two flagship projects of the Horizon2020 initiative, along with the Human Brain Project

Nexus 7 (2012): RIP due to a French drinking incident in June 2013
                                                                                                  It ain't RIP, its re-incarnated. Still going strong.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 15-10-14, 20:24.

It's a two dimensional sheet of carbon which is far stronger than steel and far more conductive than most metals. If you could deposit it controllably and manipulate it, it would revolutionise microelectronics. Currently though, most of it is made by sticking a piece of sellotape on a piece of pencil lead and ripping it off.
                                                                                                        The EU are fucking boatloads of money at it, and it's one of two flagship projects of the Horizon2020 initiative, along with the Human Brain Project
                                                                                                        yes, yes

I don't really care what it is, or understand. It's the money bit I want to know about. This geek in work was adamant it would revolutionise everything.

We're still working our way through those Jim Al-Kalili BBC4 shows you recommended. He's a top man for the explaining. Current series is Atom - almost nearly finally get the big bang theory. His electromagnetics one is next. Such a class set of shows.
                                                                                                          Hmm...can't imagine there's an easy way to explain electromagnetism. Actually haven't watched that one, but will do soon. Serious BBC4 backlog on the Sky+ at the moment. What a channel.

Nice bit on the Pokerstars blog bout Daragh Davey taking down Player of the Year and Q&A with "The Firm"

yes, yes

I don't really care what it is, or understand. It's the money bit I want to know about. This geek in work was adamant it would revolutionise everything.
                                                                                                              OK, you need to figure out how to make a graphene transistor so supersede silicon based ones, set up a semiconductor company that has several billion to invest in fabrication facilities and then put Intel out of business.
                                                                                                              I can look into trying to make the transistor work for you if you have a few million to throw in DCU's direction

Quick Raoul ... counter-offer with chef's table at Chapter One
                                                                                                                  nah, fuck him.

I'm still bitter over Coffee or GTFO

Sons Nexus7 stopped charging last night, tried a different charger and still the same, no lightning bolt on the battery icon, it is not drained, about 40% still so i have it off for the moment.

A quick Google says either the battery is fubar or its the USB connector, this seems a tad loose.

Ill open it tomorrow and have a gander but anyone any experience with this issue ?

Got an email from 123.ie, car insurance is up shortly, this year is exactly 40% more expensive that last year it seems, jumped from 392.80 to 549.23.

Shower of robbing cunts if they expect me to pay that much.

nah, fuck him.

I'm still bitter over Coffee or GTFO
                                                                                                                        Actually my friend's brother has the coffee van that works the Clontarf circuit. Usually down at the wooden bridge afaik. Think I prefer my warm office tbh.

Got an email from 123.ie, car insurance is up shortly, this year is exactly 40% more expensive that last year it seems, jumped from 392.80 to 549.23.

Shower of robbing cunts if they expect me to pay that much.
                                                                                                                          nononsense wanted double last year's rate for my midlife crisis Z3. Went elsewhere for only 20% more. Seems all of the premium's are way up.