Planning to spend a bit of time today working out how microwaves actually work. Know surprisingly little about them. There's a reddit thread on it today but misses out on a lot of basics.

E.g. if it says microwave at 900 and your microwave has max 850 how do you adjust. If you put two things in instead of one how do you adjust time? What does defrost actually mean? How does a microwave actually work?

If you have any other questions please add, and i'll do up a FAQ afterwards.

Today is the day we master the microwave.
        How long would it take you to microwave the part of your brain that you are wasting by reading about microwaves today?

Find it baffling how alot of humans can't use basic things.

Must find and repost my microtea ppdt. I was killing it that day

Did you ever get the toaster you were selling shares for. Dig up that thread please

I don't have a microwave, miss having one at times

They heat shit really quickly from the inside out.

Nut worst way to "cook" anything.

Gimme a machine that cools shit down really quickly and I'll be impressed.

Like a freezer

Maybe have a think about how to make this happen over a nice glass of milk from the ...
                            You call that quick?

This is the future hitch. I ain't got time to wait 30mins.I need my milk cold in seconds.

Like a freezer
                              No. A freezer freezes things. Slowly.

I think you should microwave stuff today and record them for ipb hitch. Microwaving a cd is maddddd

Either that or make your own micro-freezer video. Just record yourself putting icecream into the microwave and then at the end just rewind the entire video and put it on youtube and make monies, simples. Be grand yo!

A blast freezer is what you are after there, or icecubes.

Heading out to do the great north run this morning.
                                          Beautiful day for it perfect weather.
                                          Haven't been this pschyed about anything I a long time.
                                          Hopefully I can stay in one piece and get around, not trying to do a time so I'll just try to enjoy it.

I've a link in my sig of anyone feels like helping me raise a few quid for the hospice.

Clearly Hitch needs a bigger microwave...

Gas canister of liquid nitrogen?

With my microwave bed, I get a full night's sleep in 4 minutes.

Some good experiments you can do with a microwave. .

Will it microwave? Christmas Lights: http://youtu.be/86hWvTPCGsQ

Microwave 250 Watt 220 Volt Lightbulb Beast!!!: http://youtu.be/8XQZW9NTQAY

only discovered vegemite very recently but it is very lovely and addictive

That looks like the worst food in the world.

Strewelpeter on BBC 1.

Was looking back through previous hurling finals, it seems wiki have already decided who wins today Look at the winning/losing captain in the list of finals section.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_...ionship_finals

You call that quick?

This is the future hitch. I ain't got time to wait 30mins.I need my milk cold in seconds.
                                                              Wrap item in wet cloth, it will go cold 10 times caster.

Wet paper towel ftw. They freeze super quick.

It works great for beers.

Originally posted by Mickey Rosa View Post
                                                                    Hope Hitch didn't get the life savings on a No vote in the Scottish Referendum.
                                                                    Why? I really don't think the Yes will get the majority on the 18th

Microwave handy for softening butter.

Why? I really don't think the Yes will get the majority on the 18th
                                                                        Because even if they do, and I wouldn't be quiet as confident, the opinion polling shows that it's not as much of a lock as was perceived so the price he would have taken the other day wouldn't have represented the odds accurately.

Wow, this is fucking excellent. Really kicks in from 1:03

Strewelpeter on BBC 1.
                                                                            Mo Farah won. Unlucky, Strewel.

FYI Hitch

I'm actually interested to hear what you discover though. I only read the first question in that reddit thread but I had no idea of the answer.

I had some microwavable mash potato yesterday - the type where you pierce the film lid and put it in the microwave. It said to cook for 3.5 mins, but I only wanted 1/3 of the food. Obviously 3.5 mins is for the whole container but dividing cooking time by 3 seemed to be over compensating though. Safe to say I had no idea what to do.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 07-09-14, 12:49. Reason: fcking spelling

Clearly a massive desire out there for microwave knowledge that Chinglish instruction books just don't satisfy. Might take a while though - i want this to be your ultimate guide to microwaves; the type of post link that you pass on to your kids with hushed deference as they leave the house for the first time.
                                                                                  We've a fairly decent Microwave, and in the manual it says it's perfectly safe to use tin foil while microwaving as long as it doesn't took the sides. Bare that in mind while doing your studies, because i still don't trust it tbh!

Heading out to do the great north run this morning.
                                                                                    Beautiful day for it perfect weather.
                                                                                    Haven't been this pschyed about anything I a long time.
                                                                                    Hopefully I can stay in one piece and get around, not trying to do a time so I'll just try to enjoy it.

I've a link in my sig of anyone feels like helping me raise a few quid for the hospice.
                                                                                    Best of luck with it.

For the benefit of everyone else, I work in the same business park as Tony and have ran into him a couple of times over the last year or so with him pounding the pavements with a purpose on his lunch hour, headphones on. Fair play for getting this far.

don't open the door of the microwave when it's on, the microwaves are the second-most leading cause of water cancer after fluoride.

Finished in 2:07

Just a bit too slow on the long hill around 15 so hit exactly 2 hours for 20k but you wouldn't want to be trying to set times on a day like that there is a lot of running around people etc.

It's some event I never saw anything like it.... basically it's like taking the whole crowd that are in croke park today and sending them out running through a bu s y city

cmon Tipp

I have been trying to call this match all week and i still cant make my mind up.

Some of the fouls not blown for in hurling is ridiculous.

Nice 7 team accum mug bet done on the 6pm matches to celebrate the 1st proper weekend of NFL

Meh, he is doing well to let them at it and let it flow imo. good hard hurling. great game so far.

Gona do the 5 team accum with PP. 20% extra paid if a 5+ NFL accum comes in. Las year it was money back if one leg let you down. I got about 4 weeks in a row of money back at one stage before hitting one.

Decent first half in the hurling, perfect weather for a fast flowing game.

Meh, he is doing well to let them at it and let it flow imo. good hard hurling. great game so far.
                                                                                                      Been entertaining enough game. Don't get this let it flow thing when he blatantly let didn't call a couple of frees which led directly to points. Lovely touch by Power to dink it over the keeper for his goal

Originally posted by dobman88 View Post
                                                                                                      Gona do the 5 team accum with PP. 20% extra paid if a 5+ NFL accum comes in. Las year it was money back if one leg let you down. I got about 4 weeks in a row of money back at one stage before hitting one.
                                                                                                      I expect to have no money after this week on the 20% yoke aswell.

Forde, Coleman, O'Shea, Wilson, Ward, Walters, McCarthy, Whelan, Quinn, McGeady, Keane

Who is Quinn? Kind of regret taking the 11/8 now

Stephen Quinn from Hull. He is a hard worker.

It's not the worst team. Would prefer Wilson at LB though.

Best of luck to finkle lining out at center forward for kk.
                                                                                                              Up for tipp.

Forde, Coleman, O'Shea, Wilson, Ward, Walters, McCarthy, Whelan, Quinn, McGeady, Keane
                                                                                                                  Not a bad team at all, decent experience there. Obviosuly still left wanting in some positions, but not bad at all.

Will Walters start up front with Keane with Quinn on the wing?

Would like to have watched the build up but sticking with the hurling til full time.

Not a bad team at all, decent experience there. Obviosuly still left wanting in some positions, but not bad at all.

Will Walters start up front with Keane with Quinn on the wing?

Would like to have watched the build up but sticking with the hurling til full time.
                                                                                                                    I'd guess McGeady one wing, Walters the other and a 3 man mid

[QUOTE=ghostface;834852]Some of the fouls not blown for in hurling is ridiculous.

Nice 7 team accum mug bet done on the 6pm matches to celebrate the 1st proper weekend of NFL [/QUOTE.

Could not disagree more. Perfectly refreeing, not a playgroup there who would want it different. Unrealbstandard.

Just the 12 team myself, easy game

I'd guess McGeady one wing, Walters the other and a 3 man mid
                                                                                                                          Yeah 4-5-1 with Quinn in the hole I hope.