Originally posted by dobman88 View Post
    Yikes! I've watched many a show/movie on your recommendation. Why the hate for Ray Donovan? I love it. Interested in your opinion because you keep up to date on tv shows and the like.
    Just found it terribly boring with a shitty story and terrible characters.

Originally posted by iSnow View Post
      Mother of God I've gotta put in another 24 hour shift.
      Any of you fine people know anyone suitable for this job?
      Just the man I'd say

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVZkHGAd_t0

Is it 'Man Utd was' or 'Man Utd were' e.g. "when Man Utd was/were on the front foot."

Can both be used at different times? Like in the above example, Man Utd reads as 'they' (so were is correct), but what about times when it reads most like 'the club' e.g. 'Man Utd was top of the league that day'
        In US English they treat such company names as singular, so they would never say "Google have bought the moon", it would always be "Google has bought the moon".

But British English is different and the use of the plural for companies is very common. Strictly speaking one ought to use the plural when referring to the people in the company as a group rather than when referring to the single legal entity.

So when you say "Man United are a mid table club, lol", you are kind of referring to all of the people who make up Man United. But you would say "Man United has risen in share price (if it were a public company)". Edit: this is a shit example as the "has" refers to share price not Man Utd, but can't be bothered to come up with a new one.

This distinction between referring to a group as a thing and a group as the people in it is something we do implicitly, and a little puzzling when you try to be explicit about the grammatical rule underlying it.

So you are right that both can be used at different times.
        Last edited by hotspur; 22-08-14, 00:20.

In US English they treat such company names as singular, so they would never say "Google have bought the moon", it would always be "Google has bought the moon".

But British English is different and the use of the plural for companies is very common. Strictly speaking one ought to use the plural when referring to the people in the company as a group rather than when referring to the single legal entity.

So when you say "Man United are a mid table club, lol", you are kind of referring to all of the people who make up Man United. But you would say "Man United has risen in share price (if it were a public company)".

This distinction between referring to a group as a thing and a group as the people in it is something we do implicitly, and a little puzzling when you try to be explicit about the grammatical rule underlying it.

So you are right that both can be used at different times.
          Cheers. I thought the 'rule' may have been has/was, but it just didn't sound right when you were referring (effectively) to the players.

The "Look Busy" tab is a laugh.
            Yeah I used to get caught looking at recruitment sites in work. It's just a gimmick really.

Originally posted by dobman88 View Post
              Yikes! I've watched many a show/movie on your recommendation. Why the hate for Ray Donovan? I love it. Interested in your opinion because you keep up to date on tv shows and the like.
              I watch Ray Donovan. I enjoy Ray Donovan. But Ray Donovan is not a good show. I only watch it because I find Liev Schreiber to be hypnotic to look at.

Also I'm gonna weigh in on CHD's side (this has nothing to do with DannyDiamond as such, just the form of the argument). Saying someone's grand because they haven't done anything personally to you is a very self absorbed perspective, lacking in empathy and ethical maturity.

I would rather someone said "I like this guy, he may have been a scumbag to others, but I don't care about that." That to me is more honest than saying "He is an okay guy". It's only cognitive dissonance causing that. The truth is 1) I like him 2) He's been a scumbag to others 3) This is hard to psychologically resolve 4) So one way my brain will do it is to tell me that he isn't *really* a scumbag because...5) I don't like and have friends who are scumbags.

Again, I want to reiterate I'm not saying anything about DannyDiamond.

Originally posted by iSnow View Post
                Mother of God I've gotta put in another 24 hour shift.
                Any of you fine people know anyone suitable for this job?
                Jeez I would hate that job. Reads to me ( I may be way off ) you get to know and work at keeping ppl happy as you bleed as much as you can from them.

I watch Ray Donovan. I enjoy Ray Donovan. But Ray Donovan is not a good show. I only watch it because I find Liev Schreiber to be hypnotic to look at.

Also I'm gonna weigh in on CHD's side (this has nothing to do with DannyDiamond as such, just the form of the argument). Saying someone's grand because they haven't done anything personally to you is a very self absorbed perspective, lacking in empathy and ethical maturity.

I would rather someone said "I like this guy, he may have been a scumbag to others, but I don't care about that." That to me is more honest than saying "He is an okay guy". It's only cognitive dissonance causing that. The truth is 1) I like him 2) He's been a scumbag to others 3) This is hard to psychologically resolve 4) So one way my brain will do it is to tell me that he isn't *really* a scumbag because...5) I don't like and have friends who are scumbags.

fwiw, my mentality is also very much 'he may be a scumbag to others, but I realise that and am willing to put up with it in certain circumstances', just in case that wasn't clear in my other posts. It's definitely not a case of convincing myself he's actually a salt of the earth human being.

I just think some people limit themselves and their friends/acquaintances/pals/mates because a particular person isn't perfect. This is more about small personality traits, and less about massive personality defects (being a murderer, gambling addict, cleptomaniac etc.), but I think technically speaking, it can be applied to both.

If you take a less extreme example of someone who is ridiculously tight with money; so much so that they'd take ethically questionable steps to get out of parting with money. This person could seriously annoy and bother you with their actions. Some people would basically decide they don't want to put up with this carry-on anymore and just cut the person out of their life completely and want no interaction with them whatsoever. I'd be of a different mentality, I wouldn't mind interacting with this person in certain circumstances, so long as I'm comfortable and happy with the specific situation. I'd make sure not to put myself in a situation where their flaws could effect me, but I wouldn't feel the need to make a black-and-white decision of either putting up with them or cutting them out of my life completely.

and also, none of what I've said is specifically relevant to DannyDiamond, I don't think I even know him.

We must play open face again or settle up, I believe theres a new pinapple version or something, have fallen behind.

Jeez I would hate that job. Reads to me ( I may be way off ) you get to know and work at keeping ppl happy as you bleed as much as you can from them.
                      Bit like working in a casino i guess.
                      Even if many of the staff in certain places look like there their? dog died that morning.

Did you ever have the job as a fishing guide ghillie?
                        Bobbing along and getting paid for it.

Watching this documentary on Film 4 http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0181288/, fecking hilarious

We must play open face again or settle up, I believe theres a new pinapple version or something, have fallen behind.
                            Bit like working in a casino i guess.
                            Even if many of the staff in certain places look like there their? dog died that morning.
                            Watching this documentary on Film 4 http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0181288/, fecking hilarious
                            Are these posts about Danny Diamond?

No, have taken ppl out and not charged for petrol/tackle hire etc. Also when sea fishing I have a circle of ppl whom I bring up to 10 fillets (1lb-4lb each fillet) of Cod/Pollack for free. Fish which wont survive returned and I dont want them wasted. I obv keep a few for myself. I never considered being a ghillie ( have a few friends who do) as I want to fish when I want and although I like taking some ppl out being on your own is my happy place.

You'd want to be stoned reading some of the stuff of here, it can't be like this every night, is it?? A fella would be half afraid to say anything without been scrutinised, good night all!!

Originally posted by TheImprover View Post
                                  You'd want to be stoned reading some of the stuff of in here, it can't be like this every night, is it?? A fella would be half afraid to say anything without been being scrutinised, good night all!!
                                  g'nite

I'm just joking by the way, I'm not that much of an asshole. I hope.

I know that, I get your humour but some are just up there own holes, well they come across that way anyway, right defo good night this time, and leave my words alone

Originally posted by TheImprover View Post
                                        I know that, I get your humour but some are just up there own holes, well they come across that way anyway, right defo good night this time, and leave my words alone
                                        I won't even go their

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news...-30526016.html

I've met this one (she was quite slow logically at the time and I was practically facepalming in front of her)
                                          Surely if a man is pro-choice they don't need to be told to "know your place". They are already trying to support women who are in an absolutely horrible position. How can a man be supportive to his partner if they are being influenced by a women with the attitude that your man should "know his place". It's like she doesn't want the support and is playing the womb card because of her own experiences.
                                          I'm sorry but when someone is on your side of the debate you don't insult their intelligence by coming out with that bullshit rhetoric.

Good morning BBV. On the bus for the long journey home with three kids. Not looking forward to this at all..

ITS FRIDAY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXdIK1xgfFk

Sigh, on a bus to Donegal and some Scottish bint is letting her brood run amok whilst she types away on her iPhone.

GET OFF NOW!!!! Dey has re Ebola virus up there.

Think there was even people on here who sent their money to a bank that went bankrupt in Belgium as a result.
                                                    Which bank was that HH?

I love it when HH and RDIII go for each other.
                                                      Favour GAB. Would you have a look at the field for the Curragh 4.20 tomorrow and let me know how you would price it?

I had Ebola this morning.

Ebola cornflakes

The final field of runners wont be in for it until 10.30am - will have a look then. Suspect it will be a small field of runners.
                                                            Thanks a mill. Nothing too exciting, just saw the top one win in Naas and was fairly impressed.

Oh you were in Glasgow too then

And I don't do apple products either lol

Gascoigne has really been through the mill to look like that at 47. Suppose the pics caught him after a big binge so he isn't going to be looking his best, but still...
                                                                    It's the shit plastic surgery and ott botox that makes him look that bad. Don't get me wrong, alcohol has aged him terribly, but the weirdness and wrongness of it all comes from the knife and needles.

ah the memories

07-08-11, 21:11
                                                                      Just to be clear: are you saying Keytrade went bust and everyone lost their money?

Bus to Stranraer, ferry, then on to Donegal? Ouch!
                                                                        A huffy teenage girl, a know it all almost 12 year old boy and a four year old hyper girl. I am sure you can appreciate my pain lol.

Almost at cairnryan now, the two ferry companies moved there. Six miles less of a journey. Been up since before 6, no one has eaten or drank a thing. Can't wait to get on the boat now for breakfast.

Poor Raoul doesn't get much use out of those eek smilies anymore.
                                                                          Last edited by Denny Crane; 22-08-14, 08:40.

I love it when HH and RDIII go for each other.
                                                                              Meh. It's not really going for each other as such. Usual scenario is that HH jumps into the argument du jour (Gaza, IRA etc ) and either makes up facts or just posts troll-tastic nonsense like last night. When this is pointed out, he goes into deflection mode per last night's effort.

If this is the standard of academic 'debate' he aspires to, it's hardly surprising he's not successful in any of these myriad job applications he's forever making.
                                                                              Last edited by Raoul Duke III; 22-08-14, 08:36.

Ah now, lets not regress to stupidity. You know that didn't happen. Their parent group had to be bailed out though. The bailouts of Irish banks being awkwardly the reason why you pushed poor Kev in his crumbling housing estate to invest his savings in a safe overseas bank that, err, needed to be bailed out.
                                                                                Back away cautiously there Hitch!

You said they went 'bankrupt'. That didn't happen. But you deflected attention away from your ridiculous argument on the IRA, so well played I suppose. Keep it up.

Zod hasn't been on here enough lately, .
                                                                                      I haven't gone away, you know.

If a bank is unable to survive without emergency gov funding its essentially bankrupt. It was awkward though to have the misfortune to pick as safe one of the small percentage of overseas banks at that time that needed to be bailed out ala Irish banks.
                                                                                        Keytrade did not go bankrupt. Your dedication to pushing this line is admirable though. Especially in the context of totally unrelated discussions.

Nice use of the word 'essentially' btw, I was expecting 'technically'.

Good piece by Fintan O'Toole on Albert today. I had forgotten about a lot of this.

The Reynolds-Goodman nexus was sinister to say the least.

That's pretty much what everyone else has been saying too.
                                                                                              ah, I'm not particularly original in my opinions of him
                                                                                              He aided and abetted the two biggest crooks to hold political office in this country
                                                                                              Most of that was pre 1992 (with some of it post 1994).

Probably didn't have great political instincts.
                                                                                              He certainly wasn't the most cunning, the most devious of them all but They may not have been terrible either.

yeah the job hunt is a bit tough, essentially I'm applying a year too early for the types of jobs I want. No harm testing the water though as should give a good bit of practice come next May..
                                                                                                Interesting strategy. So all those posts musing about what it would be like to live in Paris, Llubjana, Adelaide, Netherlands etc were just daydreams? Because you never expected to get the jobs anyway?

No harm in dreams I suppose.

ah, I'm not particularly original in my opinions of him

Most of that was pre 1992 (with some of it post 1994).

He certainly wasn't the most cunning, the most devious of them all but They may not have been terrible either.
                                                                                                  Have a read of that FO'T article and let us know what you think.

Quite a good article. O'Toole can be hit an miss but I think that's an interesting view of the Goodman link.

Would be very interesting to know what Fintan isn't putting in that article also, and for what reasons.

I'll explain next week but for now. Gah!!!!

nicest places to have coffee in dublin city centre?

Surely if a man is pro-choice they don't need to be told to "know your place". They are already trying to support women who are in an absolutely horrible position. How can a man be supportive to his partner if they are being influenced by a women with the attitude that your man should "know his place". It's like she doesn't want the support and is playing the womb card because of her own experiences.
                                                                                                            I'm sorry but when someone is on your side of the debate you don't insult their intelligence by coming out with that bullshit rhetoric.
                                                                                                            That's just the tip of the iceberg. Feminism is supposed to be an equality movement, but these people genuinely believe that a man's place in it is only to act as a cheerleader. that is should be driven entirely by women. So what you've got is an equality movement that is actively discouraging an entire class of people from participating.

The worst part about this particular incident is that nobody is talking about repealing the 8th Amendment anymore. The whole media conversation has been driven away from issues of bodily control and straight back to the standard position of "Those pro-choice nutballs are as bad as the pro-lifers LOL". I had real hope for some genuine progress until this moment.

I'm seriously convinced at this point that feminism's greatest enemy is women.

Hitch as you well know in these BBV slagging fests, "If you're explaining your losing". Just go on the attack as usual. Point to the big impact you've had on reducing PTSBs losses for example...

Yeah the hitchslap has been disappointing so far.

Hitch as you well know in these BBV slagging fests, "If you're explaining your losing". Just go on the attack as usual. Point to the big impact you've had on reducing PTSBs losses for example...
                                                                                                                  V you bollix!

I had a good day's worth of taunting Hitch to look forward to there.

Amazon are selling the chromecast for £18 now to compete with currys, currys are €29 here.

That's just the tip of the iceberg. Feminism is supposed to be an equality movement, but these people genuinely believe that a man's place in it is only to act as a cheerleader. that is should be driven entirely by women. So what you've got is an equality movement that is actively discouraging an entire class of people from participating.

The worst part about this particular incident is that nobody is talking about repealing the 8th Amendment anymore. The whole media conversation has been driven away from issues of bodily control and straight back to the standard position of "Those pro-choice nutballs are as bad as the pro-lifers LOL". I had real hope for some genuine progress until this moment.

I'm seriously convinced at this point that feminism's greatest enemy is women.

Actually, you're missing the point, to a certain degree.

"know your place" doesn't mean "just be a cheerleader". It's more to do with using your platform as a man to promote women's voices (particularly in the case of the pro-choice movement) not to talk over them, or try to convince them of the illigitimacy of their experiences based on a study you sort of read a while ago that doesn't agree with their views.

It's not about being silent, nor is it about being second class in the movement, it's about acknowledging that their experiences will never be our experiences and their voices should be heard above ours. We as men will never have an issue having our opinions considered. Women, not so much.

the only reason that this is unfortunately becoming the main talking point is that people are not ready to ask themselves why they are uncomfortable with the notion of an angry black woman displaying her anger.

Some men in the movement are taking offence because they are looking for credit for being so "right on", yet don't realise when they are perpetuating the conditions that women feel oppressed by.

Doing a course in womens studies will not give you the experience of being a woman.

edited to add: Lets not forget the role Youth Defence and other assorted racists have in stirring the pot on this.
                                                                                                                          Last edited by Zod; 22-08-14, 09:57.