Couple means two. Few means a small number more than two, but often considered to mean three.

At least that's what I was always taught.

I remember seeing some thread on boards years ago where a person was complaining that when you ask for a 'couple' in a shop in Ireland, the shopkeeper inevitably asks how many.
    You've been wrong before though

Unless you are a teacher, in which case you pwned me

You've been wrong before though

Unless you are a teacher, in which case you pwned me
      as in, during my life, my teachers always taught me that was correct?

Nut allergy flight girl. Part Deux

What the fck - the whole airplane has to not eat nuts because of your precious? How about just not eating the nuts / bringing a bit of food on board?
        I'm more interested in the allergy specialist, definite market for viewing who else has booked the flight and seeing what they can help you with. Oh i can fix my ipad and get an eye test on the 3:30.

Nut allergy flight girl. Part Deux

What the fck - the whole airplane has to not eat nuts because of your precious? How about just not eating the nuts / bringing a bit of food on board?
          Was on the flight from Prestwick to Derry and got some munchies for the trip. Had a packet of nuts and a snickers bat. Next the tannoy came on to tell us to refrain from eating any nut products. So typical of my luck

Spent today writing a 2,000 word 4-page epic. Sent it off with the cv and then reread the original email. Rather than the 3/4 pages I'd thought it said, it actually said 'a couple of pages' of a cover letter. There's varying opinions on the meaning of 'a couple of', some people say it means 2, others that it means a few (maybe 3/4). Which ones right, or are they both right?
            2=Couple
            3=Few
            4= narcissistic cunt

QQ

Is there anyway to find out when a web page was last updated or published? I mean without admin access.

QQ

Is there anyway to find out when a web page was last updated or published? I mean without admin access.
                Rightclick-Inspect Element- Scroll down

Originally posted by dobman88 View Post
                  So what's your latest creation then?
                  The Dole Roll. It's awesome

Class!

Want to buy a bicycle. Know nothing about bikes and just want something to do a few miles on a few days a week. Don't want to spend much so looking at buying second hand.

I see something like this on Donedeal: http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-...r-sell/7395608

Any easy way to tell if a bike is in decent nick or is shit?
                      I'd stay away from this due to the advertisers choice of words, the price and the fact that they chose to photograph it from the wrong side. (Should always be taken from the side with gears and chain) If you spot any more just post them and I'll have a gawk. I build bikes and motorbikes from scratch.

Originally posted by iSnow View Post
                        The Dole Roll. It's awesome
                        When do the royalties start?

Wednesday mornings after opening. Also exploring the thought of a €1 sausage roll called the skanger banger

Should probably sort my access to the forum now tbh.

I will give one more golden idea free of charge.

Has anyone successfully extended their wife range? Our doesn't reach the kitchen. Running wires isn't really an option.

So much potential...

Originally posted by dobman88 View Post
                                  So what's your latest creation then?
                                  I will put you down for 3.

Get rid straight away HJ. If a wife can't reach the kitchen you need a new one. Or maybe cut her wire or lengthen it so she can reach it?

nah, mine is shite in the kitchen, but she's great with the kids.

Yeah I was gonna marry some fucker and decided against it and have a few candidates on the go ATM. She reached the kitchen alright but just wasn't performing in that respect. The wires thing seems a little inhumane but each to their own I guess. Polygamy is really underrated IMO.

What's the story with bringing food on flights? Specifically fish oil tablets and glutamine? Presume the fish oil is fine in a plastic container but the glutamine is in glass and I would think that carrying a quantity of white powder in a plastic bag might not be the wisest move. Are you meant to fill out a form before or anything?

Sounds like that present at the wedding worked out well.

These an option?

I will put you down for 3.

Haha. That's actually pretty cool

Fark. Started with 2 pages from a previous application then edited and expanded it. Lets hope the aussies are into their narcissistic cunts.
                                                    Aussies are narcissistic cunts.

You're a lock.

So the visa finally came today. In two weeks from today I will be jetting out to LA for a couple of years. The last few weeks have been mind numbing awful with the stress and preparation for the move. All flights and temporary accommodation have been sorted. I will be kicking off the move with a couple of nights in New York before moving onto LA and Hollywood .

Now that the majority of the paperwork and planning is done I can now sit back and dream of the adventures that await. Only time will tell if the move will represent "Fear and Loathing in LA" factor of my life or "Californication" .

However it works out, I am really looking forward to it now and am loving the fact that it is in a great location within handy reach of San Francisco, Las Veges, Mexico, etc...

LA Baby

I'd do anything to move to San Francisco

I asked the same in here a while back and somebody recommended downloading Wifi Analyser, it's an android app, if you're on iOS I'm sure there's something similar.

Open it in the kitchen and it will show how strong your signal is compared to your neighbours, you might be competing with a stronger signal on the same channel. I was, (in my livng room) I switched channels and it improved.

I still need something like Emmet posted though, as my signal still isn't great, but it's better than what it was.

So the visa finally came today. In two weeks from today I will be jetting out to LA for a couple of years. The last few weeks have been mind numbing awful with the stress and preparation for the move. All flights and temporary accommodation have been sorted. I will be kicking off the move with a couple of nights in New York before moving onto LA and Hollywood .

Now that the majority of the paperwork and planning is done I can now sit back and dream of the adventures that await. Only time will tell if the move will represent "Fear and Loathing in LA" factor of my life or "Californication" .

However it works out, I am really looking forward to it now and am loving the fact that it is in a great location within handy reach of San Francisco, Las Veges, Mexico, etc...

LA Baby
                                                              Mind me asking what you do? What kind of visa did you get and did you organise it yourself through an immigration lawyer or was it sponsored through work or something?

Thought Collie was the only one here.

I'd stay away from this due to the advertisers choice of words, the price and the fact that they chose to photograph it from the wrong side. (Should always be taken from the side with gears and chain) If you spot any more just post them and I'll have a gawk. I build bikes and motorbikes from scratch.
                                                                  Cheers.

Saw this http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-...r-sale/7516670 but after clicking onto it, isn't it the same fucking bike!

What do you think of this? http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-...n-bike/7309179

Cheers.

Saw this http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-...r-sale/7516670 but after clicking onto it, isn't it the same fucking bike!

What do you think of this? http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-...n-bike/7309179
                                                                    Second one looks ok but small amount of rust on shaft and possibly chain. Offer €80, settle for €90. Would love to see saddle but if it's gay/shit you can buy another for €20

Mind me asking what you do? What kind of visa did you get and did you organise it yourself through an immigration lawyer or was it sponsored through work or something?
                                                                      Not at all, sadly the answer is not all that exciting though. I am an accountant and got an L1 visa which was sponsored by work.

Yeah, they look great actually.

Get the Hola extension
                                                                          Currently watching MOTD thanks to this Tony, much appreciated.

Yeah, they look great actually.
                                                                            I had them years and years ago when we had dial up lol I put a computer desk on the landing and plugged one into my room. cant remember the way they worked that time but they deffo did the job and that is the same brand.

Get rid straight away HJ. If a wife can't reach the kitchen you need a new one. Or maybe cut her wire or lengthen it so she can reach it?
                                                                              What i can't understand is why the wire isn't originating from the kitchen, who designed this house?

What's the story with bringing food on flights? Specifically fish oil tablets and glutamine? Presume the fish oil is fine in a plastic container but the glutamine is in glass and I would think that carrying a quantity of white powder in a plastic bag might not be the wisest move. Are you meant to fill out a form before or anything?
                                                                                Check in your bag.

Meh. Friend of mine living over there at the moment (since 2011), and one of the lads and I visited at the end of 2012. The lad I was with had just finished a PHD in Computer Science specializing in recommend-er systems and was therefore in demand, so he was going to interviews and considering moving over there. His conclusion was a round 'no', and I'd have to agree.

If you earn a quarter of a million quid a year then San Fran could very well be awesome. I wouldn't fancy it on < $100k a year though. You'd be faced with a choice of pokey accommodation in a rough area or living across the bay on a BART ride from downtown San Fran. The work culture is oppressive and work social scenes are intense. 'Networking' is king and making real connections with people is apparently much harder than it is here.

It is still undoubtedly beautiful and cool of course, but quality of life is a lot about the little practical things imo - things that are very easy to take for granted in Dublin.

Talk about bursting his bubble...

Ah yeah, I wouldn't have put that much thought into.it obviously but I lived there for four months when I was 21 and it was the greatest city ever.

I lived there for a few years in my 20s, just after the bursting of the dotcom bubble - it's a really great city and for the most part very welcoming to Irish people and somewhere that's relatively easy to adjust to from our pace of life.

One thing that Lloyd said I would definitely agree with, you'd want to be making at least average dough over there (probably $60k and above?) to enjoy a decent standard of living; but sure London and Dublin (to some respects) aren't very different, I never understand how people who aren't making well over the average wage bother to live in bigger cities, doesn't make too much sense to me when they could move to somewhere smaller (Galway or Limerick or wherever), earn something similar and see their cash stretch much further.

Apparently you are meant to look at her bum

The Pinkprint Available now! http://smarturl.it/NickiPinkprntDlxExiTBuy Now!Nicki Minaj "Anaconda" is available for download now!Device Aware: http://smartur...

I never understand how people who aren't making well over the average wage bother to live in bigger cities, doesn't make too much sense to me when they could move to somewhere smaller (Galway or Limerick or wherever), earn something similar and see their cash stretch much further.
                                                                                          Sleeping in shop doorways and eating rats in Dublin > richest man in Limerick.

Lots of things are great when you're 21 because you're 21 and are happy so long as you have beer money and a roof over your head. When I think about 'quality of life' now as a 30 year old I think about things I didn't give two fucks about ten years ago. I certainly would have lost any desire to scrape by just to be where its happening.

One thing that Lloyd said I would definitely agree with, you'd want to be making at least average dough over there (probably $60k and above?) to enjoy a decent standard of living; but sure London and Dublin (to some respects) aren't very different, I never understand how people who aren't making well over the average wage bother to live in bigger cities, doesn't make too much sense to me when they could move to somewhere smaller (Galway or Limerick or wherever), earn something similar and see their cash stretch much further.
                                                                                            Totally agree. I suppose it is slightly more complex than that as it is easier to get a job in Dublin than it would be in Limerick. But people lock themselves in a vicious cycle around this stuff all too easily. I couldn't imagine going back to ~€30k a year living here. Hopefully it never comes up!

Weather has never been a factor for me which is also a factor in this stuff. For some people the likes of Australia, etc will always have a huge allure just because they value hitting the beach on the regular and are genuinely a happier person if the sun is shining. So yeah.

Apparently you are meant to look at her bum

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDZX4ooRsWs
                                                                                                Fantastic video. Song is dreadful though. Here's a better song:

What if Michael Bay had directed Up?

Explosions are A̶d̶v̶e̶n̶t̶u̶r̶e̶ ̶i̶s̶ out there.

Presenter forgot the rule about always appearing in control even if something goes wrong.
                                                                                                    Hilariously awkward gaffe on Ireland's Lotto, August 2014

Lots of things are great when you're 21 because you're 21 and are happy so long as you have beer money and a roof over your head. When I think about 'quality of life' now as a 30 year old I think about things I didn't give two fucks about ten years ago. I certainly would have lost any desire to scrape by just to be where its happening.
                                                                                                      Thats owlfella thinking. I'm not ready for that yet. I could easily go for a year of pretending the real world doesnt exist.

London is sitting there waiting for you with open arms if escape is your thing / the thing you're looking for.

With all the ice bucket malarkey for ALS figured I'd recommend a documentary, not sure if mentioned before but you should check out "Jason Becker: Not Dead Yet". Great documentary and you find out much more than you do with random people throwing ice over their heads

should attach a preview I guess
                                                                                                          Official trailer for the new documentary feature film 'Jason Becker: Not Dead Yet'. The DVD is available now from www.JasonBeckerMovie.comArchival footage su...
                                                                                                          Last edited by mdoug; 20-08-14, 22:14.

Talk about bursting his bubble...
                                                                                                            Made your meatloaf earlier, was ok.

The doom and gloom in the Manchester United thread on boards warms the cockles of my heart.

Going to be such a fun season.

Why would ya bother

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QD8pWLO0Smo

I agree if you're on less than 30k it makes more sense to live outside Dublin.

Similarly, is there any good argument to work in Dublin over London? Generally speaking, the culture and weather are similar. Would living expenses be that different? It just seems like a no-brainer when you have the option of working in a city of 1 million or a city of 8 million.

(obviously plenty of generalizations above)

Made your meatloaf earlier, was ok.

Found it nice for a change. I'm sure you can add different ingredients to it, yours looks a lot better than mine lol at least it didn't fall apart. What's your secret lol?

Apparently Dublin is better than London but both are a bit shit.

Malky Mackay the racist manager... Some muppet

MATT LAWTON - SPECIAL INVESTIGATION: Malky Mackay and Iain Moody have been reported to the FA and accused of being racist, sexist and homophobic in a shocking series of text messages.

The former Cardiff and Watford boss is the No.1 choice at Selhurst Park but having been set to take over the goalposts have now shifted

LA Baby
                                                                                                                          Good luck man. We applied for US visas for a few years back around 98-2002 and finally got sick of waiting and went to Germany.
                                                                                                                          Do you have a job and a vehicle sorted out there? Let me know if you are interested in looking at leasing one out there. It's very difficult (almost impossible) to get a lease there with no credit history and it's also difficult to get insurance too. Our company has a branch who work with expats and immigrants, we can sort out a lease or purchase and insurance too. Leasing makes more sense though.