Has Poker Lost the Social Aspect?

Just talking to my Grandad who played the Christy Smith game last night. Aside from the fact that its very upsetting to hear how ill Christy is he made another interesting point.

He hasn't played live in a good while and he just mentioned what a difference there is at the tables from the time that he would have played (for about 50 years in Dublin and all over the world). Obviously a lot of the players have changed in the Fitz so not everyone recognised him, but he mentioned that at least 7 out of 9 players were watching movies etc while he was playing at the table.

One of the great things about poker is the social aspect, and its the social aspect that kept punters like my Grandad coming back to play again and again over the years (he was never a winning player but built up great friendships over the years through poker). He mentioned that he managed to strike up a conversation with one player at his table and that because of that he had a good night overall, but it was only by chance that he happened to know this player from years gone by.

Are we, as poker players, just becoming a dry bunch of sh1ts or is it just people in general that are becoming like this? I know Neil Channing wrote an article on this a few months back, be interested to know what people on here think?

If you're a recreational player are you put off by the fact that there's hardly any banter or conversation at the table any more? Do you play less frequently because of this?
    If you're a pro/ serious player are you guilty of wearing the head phones every night and not interacting with those around you, ensuring everyone has an entertaining night?

I think we all have a duty to make poker an entertaining night whether you win, lose or draw. Let's bring a bit of fun and social interaction back into the game.

Cheers,
    Stephen.
    International Poker Open 2017 online satellites available on GG Poker. Visit www.internationalpokeropen.ie for more details.

The IPO is one of Europe's biggest, longest running and most enjoyable live poker festivals with huge prize-pools every year.

I play less because I can't be bothered any more, not because it's less social than it was 10 years ago when I started playing, although it certainly is. It was one of the things that drew me in at the start I think, but on it's own it's not really a factor for me personally on whether I play or not any more. I'm sure for others though it may be a factor, but like everything else, each generation of players think it was better in their day.

Normally if you have booze at the table, the craic is great.

Yeah, I always played for the social aspect, don't mistake that for not wanting to win - I paid for a lot of university with winnings, but without the social aspect it was meaningless to me. After my home game ended, because I moved county, I didn't really want to play any more, I'd only ever want to play a game like that. Few cans, bit of money on the line and a good laugh. It wasnt even much, 25e buy in and low stakes cash after but having a laugh was what made it worthwhile. Not bothered playing with some dude in sunglasses watching a film. Boring.

It's boring and the players are annoying.

Feck off, I have only played with you a couple of times.

the players are annoying.

We had to find a high stool for icky to see his cards on the table.

I think it's a sign of the times we live in Stephen. With all the tablets and smart phones around these days, a lot of people seem to socialise more online than in a live setting, as well as being able to access movies, sports and music as well as online poker/betting.
                    Life in general is probably less social with people paying more attention to their screens than anything else.
                    http://www.pokerinireland.net/

Any game i play becomes a social event wether they like it or not

Originally posted by ACE REPORTER View Post
                        I think it's a sign of the times we live in Stephen. With all the tablets and smart phones around these days, a lot of people seem to socialise more online than in a live setting, as well as being able to access movies, sports and music as well as online poker/betting.
                        Life in general is probably less social with people paying more attention to their screens than anything else.
                        no danger of that happening with you mick

best phone ever ha ha

Lots of casinos in Berlin dont allow you to use tablets, or phones at the table, demograph is usually much older, and more of what I guess is classed as banter at the tables. I dont see it as an option here as instead of losing the guys who miss the social element youll just lose the younger guys who have a low tolerance/comfort level for having to interact socially.
                              That said I know what table is more value and Id prefer to be sat at.

Hi Stephen,

I 100% agree with you're Grandfathers statement.

But this isn't a poker problem, I notice it last week when travelling to London. Everyone was constantly on their Ipad's or Phones etc.

I've always found a friendly table to be more profitable and a lot of the great players will tell you this. Also, you can't watch a movie and pick up on everything going on at the table.

If a dealer as to ask a player to act due to him being on a devise, I feel it's very insulting to the other players at the table. A penalty should be involved as its slowing down the game.

I agree that there's a large use of tablets and smart phones etc lately but I dont think thats the issue. Personally when I play in a large tournament I would happily sit not talking to anyone as for me its an opportunity to make profit and not to socialise. If I play in my local club where I know a lot of the locals then Im far more talkative as I know how a lot of them play. But if im sitting with a table full of people talking that I dont really know discussing hands etc I tend to listen just because it gives me the opportunity to listen to something they said in relation to hands and try and exploit it in later hands.

However would I rather there be no social aspect in the game absolutely not. But I for one would be guilty of being anti social in certain formats and I think the ipad/smart phone phenomenon is just an easy way for those who dont wish to socialise to avoid it

Hi Stephen

I agree I played on Friday and the table I was on there was no banter on it guys on iPads and phones yesterday I played Larry's game in Balbriggan the table I was on we all were looking for headphones on it as one guy on the table was very lively with a lot of intake of drink on him. I run pub games and the banter is good when they have a drink or 2 taken. I played cash in the IPO on the Sunday and the people I was on was really brilliant with loads of joking and banter on it.

Originally posted by drive56 View Post
                                      I agree that there's a large use of tablets and smart phones etc lately but I dont think thats the issue. Personally when I play in a large tournament I would happily sit not talking to anyone as for me its an opportunity to make profit and not to socialise. If I play in my local club where I know a lot of the locals then Im far more talkative as I know how a lot of them play. But if im sitting with a table full of people talking that I dont really know discussing hands etc I tend to listen just because it gives me the opportunity to listen to something they said in relation to hands and try and exploit it in later hands.

However would I rather there be no social aspect in the game absolutely not. But I for one would be guilty of being anti social in certain formats and I think the ipad/smart phone phenomenon is just an easy way for those who dont wish to socialise to avoid it
                                      Yeah i agree with pretty much all of this. I've always been one to take part in conversation if it's a friendly table and it's people i know. If not, i'l gladly play for hours on end without saying a word to anyway. At a recent game i played up the north where i knew less than half a dozen people, i barely spoke a word to anyone for the whole 2 days, bar with a neighbour or Mick McCloskey who was at my table for a couple of hours. I much prefer to stay in 'game mode' and keep an eye on what's going on around me. If it's pub game, then sound, have a couple of pints and go with the banter, but generally if it's a €50 or €100+ buyin, then i prefer to keep socialising to a minimum and while still being magnanimous and trying not to come across as a cnut.

Originally posted by Ollie View Post

I've always found a friendly table to be more profitable and a lot of the great players will tell you this. Also, you can't watch a movie and pick up on everything going on at the table.
                                      I've noticed this a lot with you Ollie. You are a master at chatting at the table, throwing the banter around, being friendly with everyone and then at the same time, hoovering up chips and 3bet/4 betting your new 'friends' because you obviously have it and wouldn't be bluffing them. It's a ruthless streak that you have and that's essential but i feel i lack it which is also i reason that i don't do aswel at friendly tables as i do when i'm an unkown.

Too many smart phones and smart punters who criticize other players every move and boast how good they are, at least online you can mute the fkrs

[QUOTE=karpov33;764735]Too many smart phones and smart punters who criticize other players every move and boast how good they are, at least online you can mute the fkrs[/

+ 1. Yes it's the monster ego's that tilt me and their expectation to win 100% of hands they get involved in

I would really enjoy the crack and banter with most regs in Fitz 5/6 years ago, these days I would be more than happy if none of those every penny's a prisoner drool bags never uttered a word to me at the table.

Poker in Vegas is still usually a great experience. I love that you can end up talking to anyone and most love that your Irish. When you add drunken games into the mix it makes it even better. It is the only part of poker that I am still excited about.

I had a conversation with Leslie that night.
                                                Admitedly he'd just cracked my Jacks with sh1t
                                                but he didn't seem to enjoy the "banter".

I dont chat as I am shite at conversations unless its one to one with a few drinks maybe, strangely i do remember chatting to both dad and grandad of stephen's at tables.

They have a rare talent of making you feel comfortable whilst taking your money but I did enjoy the banter and was appreciated

BTW they both so proud of stephen and said so which was heart warming to hear in the hard souls of poker

I love chatting on tables right up until it becomes a discussion of the cards themselves.

There's still tons of craic to be had in poker, especially in Ireland. Most players take their headphones out when the banter starts flowing. If it doesn't exist then it doesn't hurt to try and drive it yourself. Either that or hope for a table change as soon as possible lol.

Fact of the matter is that most players know how to play these days, and playing live poker correctly is boring as fuck. Back in the days when any suited cards were good enough to see a flop with, the game itself provided more than anough entertainment for everyone. I quite often read my Kindle while waiting for a playable hand if there's no chat at the table. I don't see anything wrong with it as long as you can still follow the game and are willing to put it down when a conversation gets going.

I stopped playing about a year ago. I used to enjoy going in to the fitz/jackpot, sometimes on my own. The abuse I took from players after they took a beat was horrific. I was physically threatened in the jackpot in a cash game. I'd be fairly quiet at the tables and usually would only speak when spoken to.

I think the general Dublin poker community are decent people but it's the arsehole minority dickhead loud mouth prick that ruins it for most people, me anyway. Nothing worse than sitting at a table with one of these. I'd rather turn my headphones up and ignore everyone.

Online too the difference is huge. 5/6/7 years ago the chat boxes were fluid. Nowadays people play so many tables at a time, there's no chat at all, and there's a whole lot less "play" too (at full ring cash especially) with the majority only waiting for premiums. Load of old arse IMO. I've pretty much retired from online play now.

Live wise, I play recreationally now in the pub leagues mainly. Can be great banter and the chance to make a few quid too and pay for your nights out. Casinos generally bore me to distraction, especially if you can't have a social beer.

Poker in Vegas is still usually a great experience. I love that you can end up talking to anyone and most love that your Irish. When you add drunken games into the mix it makes it even better. It is the only part of poker that I am still excited about.
                                                            Cash tables in Vegas still retain the craic of old,while the 1/2 spread is a lot softer than at home.Separate the drinking from playing,and a grand few weeks can be had every time.

Have to say in JP's €1k game yesterday there seemed to be plenty of banter going on.

I guess a lot of people probably knew each other somewhat though (although very few were regulars there)

Have to say in JP's €1k game yesterday there seemed to be plenty of banter going on.

I guess a lot of people probably knew each other somewhat though (although very few were regulars there)
                                                                I liked that about JP's place when I was there in August, first time there, knew nobody only JP and everyone was chatting away at the tables. We have the same atmosphere in Connie's place here in Killarney, even when new players come in we welcome them and chat away.

Completely different experience in the Fitz then, went there cos the girlfriend wanted to visit a casino and I was watching the cash tables for a while, nobody chatting except a couple of lads criticising other players. That might not happen all the time but after seeing that I wouldn't go back to play poker, just a visit for the table games with herself for a laugh.

I definitely prefer to have a small chat about football, movies, whatever. Breaks up the time between hands.

Very enjoyable game good crack even with the stakes so high was nice to meet you dice great reporting/ blogging mind you every time you were at my table I was up to my neck in it.