hmm there's still WWE betting available from some bookies?

http://deadspin.com/a-redditor-has-b...we-r-787445495
    No betting available anywhere at the moment. This is the guys latest post 4 hours ago

UPDATE: I have received news from my source that the script for the Main Event has been changing CONSTANTLY; and that the newest script of results are not known by anybody but a VERY select few in the company.

Breaking Bad time on Netlix

We should be shaming the idiot who was done for drink driving instead of those two in the picture.
        Who's shaming anyone?

Sitting outside the ballsbridge hotel like a boss
          What time did u leave at? Left Newport 6.30 this morning, in the office in Clontarf for 8.45. Usually leave 6.45-6.50ish and have never been up after 9.20am (all times during summer with no schools tbf).
          Covering a few other tasks today so absolutely couldn't be late, planned to leave at 6am, 6.27am ended up being grand

Can some of ye lads come up with a proper prop bet with good odds please, all this stuff seems piss easy. 5:1 to stay in a bathtub for 5 days, pffffft!
          Bath tub bet sounds right up ur alley tbh.

Who's shaming anyone?
            You know what I mean.

I've been thinking about this problem a lot recently. Is it really worth the aggro of calling people on their bullshit if they're not even going to listen anyway? Is it better to keep quiet and be put off by it all the time? I don't know the answer as the experiment's only getting started, but I've been calling people out a lot recently and all the resultant arguments have definitely darkened my mood. People really don't like to be told they're wrong.

e.g. Someone I know was talking on Facebook about how ugly Angela Merkel is, and I just had to ask what that had to do with her ability to run one of the largest economies in the world. Some words were exchanged, I have since been unfriended.

I'm sure there's a good middle ground, but I've definitely decided I have a moral obligation to call bullshit when I see it. The internet has at least taught me how to frame my arguments in a rational manner, without resorting to strawmen, ad homs etc. But you still get people who react like you've punched them in the face when you tell them they're being racist/sexist/whateverist.

Again, not entirely sure on the results but right now I'm leaning towards being better off not being friends with those kinds of people. To be continued, I guess.

I half wrote a very long post in response to this, as I think it's quite an interesting topic. To summarize my thoughts though, it's genuinely just not worth it with some people. Some people are either too stupid or too stubborn no matter how wrong, misinformed or flawed their argument is, and calling them up on this often serves no greater good, it just ends up annoying you.

As a bit of a follow-up point, you say you're leaning towards being better off not being friends with those kind of people.

I think this is a common thought process a lot of people have. I can't be 'friends' with X because of reason Y (I put 'friends' in quotes because everyone's definition of friend if different).
              I think it's perfectly fine to be friends with people with big flaws. It's very rare that you'll find a friend that's close to perfect. Having friends for different reasons leads to greater balance imo. I have lots of friends that are great fun on nights out, but I'd never have a deep/personal/important conversation with. I don't hold that against them. There's also other friends that I could have a conversation with but might have other traits that would seriously bother me. This sounds to some people like you're not being a good friend or just 'using' a friend, but I don't think it's like that. I think it's often finding a mutually beneficially balance that both friends are happy with and just rolling with that.

(also, not necessarily saying this is the point u were making btw)

I've been thinking about this problem a lot recently. Is it really worth the aggro of calling people on their bullshit if they're not even going to listen anyway? Is it better to keep quiet and be put off by it all the time? I don't know the answer as the experiment's only getting started, but I've been calling people out a lot recently and all the resultant arguments have definitely darkened my mood. People really don't like to be told they're wrong.

e.g. Someone I know was talking on Facebook about how ugly Angela Merkel is, and I just had to ask what that had to do with her ability to run one of the largest economies in the world. Some words were exchanged, I have since been unfriended.

I'm sure there's a good middle ground, but I've definitely decided I have a moral obligation to call bullshit when I see it. The internet has at least taught me how to frame my arguments in a rational manner, without resorting to strawmen, ad homs etc. But you still get people who react like you've punched them in the face when you tell them they're being racist/sexist/whateverist.

Again, not entirely sure on the results but right now I'm leaning towards being better off not being friends with those kinds of people. To be continued, I guess.

Careful, Socrates was put to death for that sort of thing.

Who's shaming anyone?
                  I'm not going to get all pedantic or angels on the head of a pin with you about it but while the tone of your post IMO reflects to some extent the unpleasant but somewhat understandable prurience in the air it also reflects the far more disturbing misogyny running at the heart of almost all comment and rehashing of the images.

If it turns out that she is underage I look forward to seeing the two scangers done for rape and every low life prick posting and photoshoping the pictures being at least investigated towards charges for child porn offences.

That girl snapped at Slane in the urinals with your man must be in an awful way this morning.

You'd feel awful for her, she looked pretty young. Needs to hold fast for the next few days and the interney machine will find something else to talk about.

the far more disturbing misogyny running at the heart of almost all comment and rehashing of the images.
                    If the positions in the picture were reversed do you think it would have any effect on the coverage?

There's a facebook page for it now and people liking/sharing the page and photo off it. If that's not shaming someone, I don't know what is.
                      People can be such bastards sometimes, it's ridiculous.

I think it's perfectly fine to be friends with people with big flaws. It's very rare that you'll find a friend that's close to perfect. Having friends for different reasons leads to greater balance imo.
                        I don't know, it depends on how you define friends and what the flaws are.
                        I mean someone who gets wasted and does stupid shit is one thing but racist homophobes or religious nuttery is another thing altogether.
                        There is a point where the doing stupid shit thing wears thin and they become a different sort of friend. But there is no room for friendship with bigots, life is just too short.
                        The really interesting question is when there is no choice, when its close family and you have to listen to their bullshit.

If the positions in the picture were reversed do you think it would have any effect on the coverage?
                          I'm sure of it.

I'm not going to get all pedantic or angels on the head of a pin with you about it but while the tone of your post IMO reflects to some extent the unpleasant but somewhat understandable prurience in the air it also reflects the far more disturbing misogyny running at the heart of almost all comment and rehashing of the images.

If it turns out that she is underage I look forward to seeing the two scangers done for rape and every low life prick posting and photoshoping the pictures being at least investigated towards charges for child porn offences.
                            Done for rape? Don't get me wrong I'd love to see the scum get some sort of sentence but can't see how you came to that.

As an advocate of the Devil.

It's simply an increase in the level of Moral Hazard.

Don't suck dick in public.

If it turns out that she is underage I look forward to seeing the two scangers done for rape
                                What if they are underage also?

Done for rape? Don't get me wrong I'd love to see the scum get some sort of sentence but can't see how you came to that.
                                  Its statutory if shes under age isn't it?

I'm sure of it.
                                    I mean in terms of who is taking the flak for the pic.

Yes it is, and apparently she is underage as well.

Well done to the Solheim Cup golfers. Spanking the hotly tipped Yanks on their home turf 18-10 was some feat. Great standard of golf played.

Originally posted by Foxy View Post
                                          Yes it is, and apparently she is underage as well.
                                          So then in effect the whole of twitter is being plastered with images of child rape, nice.

As an advocate of the Devil.

It's simply an increase in the level of Moral Hazard.

Don't suck dick in public.
                                            Yeah there is a large part of me finding it hard to get away from the fact that both the girl and the guys (assuming everyone is of an equivalent age) are equally culpable. There's no issue of being forced from the images that I wish I'd never seen (hazard of coaching a football team of 17-33 year olds is the younger lads post things on FB you'd rather not see) but absent that then both participants are equally blameworthy and as unfair as it is society still judges the woman harsher than the man in these situations.

Don't do shit in public you don't want people to see you do.

The glee with which some people are propagating the images is quite sickening but not at all surprising surely?

So then in effect the whole of twitter is being plastered with images of child rape, nice.
                                              Trivialising the term here SP.

I'm perfectly ok with describing it as statutory rape if she's underage but child rape is unnecessarily emotive surely? The guy could easily be 16 as well in which case we are making a necessary if somewhat arbitrary distinction between his act and hers

Hmmm you're right my bad.

4.—(1) In this Act “rape under section 4 ” means a sexual assault that includes—

(a) penetration (however slight) of the anus or mouth by the penis, or

Jesus. You really need to step away from the computer. Child Rape? Thats plain ridiculous.

Pretty sure from what someone pointed out on Twitter that she is with 2 different guys, unless the guy gets changed.

I mean in terms of who is taking the flak for the pic.
                                                        Currently its 'dirty slut giving a blow job in public'.
                                                        Reverse the position and its 'dirty slut legs spread getting licked out in public'.

Guy gets away relatively mildly either way.

Currently its 'dirty slut giving a blow job in public'.
                                                          Reverse the position and its 'dirty slut legs spread getting licked out in public'.

Guy gets away relatively mildly either way.
                                                          I don't think so. I think the person that's committing the act is going to come under more scrutiny regardless of gender.

Id agree with Armani here. Bird comes of worse in both situations really. Lad comes off a bit worse in second one but still no where near as bad as the girl.

Jesus. You really need to step away from the computer. Child Rape? Thats plain ridiculous.
                                                              Not really, to my eyes, no more than yourself to be honest she's a child, if she's underage as people believe she is then thats just the tabloid headline term for the legal reality.
                                                              Sure I'm sensationalising it and I'll accept Emmets point that that tends toward diminishing the value of the term. But if it makes people think for a second about what they are looking at then I've no problem with using the words.

Id agree with Armani here. Bird comes of worse in both situations really. Lad comes off a bit worse in second one but still no where near as bad as the girl.
                                                                I'm not so sure, the mentality of him and his friends is likely to something along the lines of "that chap's a hero", while the reverse would likely to something closer to Uncle Junior type ridicule.

Not really, to my eyes, no more than yourself to be honest she's a child, if she's underage as people believe she is then thats just the tabloid headline term for the legal reality.
                                                                  Sure I'm sensationalising it and I'll accept Emmets point that that tends toward diminishing the value of the term. But if it makes people think for a second about what they are looking at then I've no problem with using the words.
                                                                  Not the use of the word child thats ridiculous. Its the use of the term rape. She was pictured with two different lads and was giving both of them a blowie in public. Yes its highly likely she was wasted but I dont know how you could spin it as forced.

I dont really care what the law says regarding it. In my mind, and from the details I know about it, this isnt or wasnt rape.

Of course if she was forced to do it against her will or was not aware enough to make the decision then yes, the perpetrators, the photographer and to a lesser extent the bystanders who did nothing should rot.

Also, just to clarify, You can be wasted and still be aware enough to make the decision.

It's the top trending hashtag in Ireland now. All jokes and everything aside, we've all done things we regret that would get a laugh on twitter etc but she really should have learned her lesson after the first guy. If made it so much worse that she went and jumped her mouth onto a second guy. There's also a picture of her being fingered in the middle of a group of people (away from the toilets). It's a disgrace that it's up there and the people retweeting/posting about it should be ashamed but she still carries most of the blame imo. The internet is the internet, you can't blame it for that
                                                                      Last edited by tglynn; 19-08-13, 10:42.

Originally posted by tglynn View Post
                                                                        It's the top trending hashtag in Ireland now. All jokes and everything aside, we've all done things we regret that would get a laugh on twitter etc but she really should have learned her lesson after the first guy. If made it so much worse that she went and jumper her mouth onto a second guy. There's also a picture of her being fingered in the middle of a group of people (away from the toilets). It's a disgrace that it's up there and the people retweeting/posting about it should be ashamed but she still carries most of the blame imo. The internet is the internet, you can't blame it for that
                                                                        Hmmm that's getting into Steubenville type territory.
                                                                        Last edited by Denny Crane; 19-08-13, 10:50.

It's the top trending hashtag in Ireland now. All jokes and everything aside, we've all done things we regret that would get a laugh on twitter etc but she really should have learned her lesson after the first guy. If made it so much worse that she went and jumped her mouth onto a second guy. There's also a picture of her being fingered in the middle of a group of people (away from the toilets). It's a disgrace that it's up there and the people retweeting/posting about it should be ashamed but she still carries most of the blame imo. The internet is the internet, you can't blame it for that
                                                                          Serious?

She carries most of the blame? She is reportedly underage and she was obviously in a complete and utter hoop. No way she wasn't seriously taken advantage of here.

Hmmm that's getting into the Steubenville type territory.
                                                                            She is awake, aware and doing the 'doing'. Its not even close.

OF course she carries most of the blame, obviously the people taking the pictures etc and her friends and people who just stood by but she's the one who did it and on multiple occasions. Unless there was a gun to her head, she did the deeds. Alcohol can only do so much

I'm not so sure, the mentality of him and his friends is likely to something along the lines of "that chap's a hero", while the reverse would likely to something closer to Uncle Junior type ridicule.
                                                                                I think the issues this raises are more significant outside their immediate social circle.
                                                                                For her depending on how well her family protect her this could have an impact on many areas of her life for the rest of her youth. The harsh reality is that in the wider community in a year and two years time no one is going to be identifying the lads as being from the photo.

Maybe I'm overstating the impact it will have, after all beyond any legal age considerations it is just a matter of prurience. Its really interesting the way young people are dealing with the impact of virals and social media.
                                                                                With Roberts Mammy trending again with the LC results last week I thought it would have been a great opportunity for RTE to do a piece with her on what sort of an impact the meme has had on both of them.

OF course she carries most of the blame, obviously the people taking the pictures etc and her friends and people who just stood by but she's the one who did it and on multiple occasions. Unless there was a gun to her head, she did the deeds. Alcohol can only do so much
                                                                                  she didn't take the photos and upload them.

There is a third picture of her now, and apparently her twitter profile has been found

Drunken 17 year olds have doing this every night of the week, in clubs and at house parties for as long as I can remember. The new element is smart phones everywhere and the interwebs.

Not the use of the word child thats ridiculous. Its the use of the term rape. She was pictured with two different lads and was giving both of them a blowie in public. Yes its highly likely she was wasted but I dont know how you could spin it as forced.

I dont really care what the law says regarding it. In my mind, and from the details I know about it, this isnt or wasnt rape.

Of course if she was forced to do it against her will or was not aware enough to make the decision then yes, the perpetrators, the photographer and to a lesser extent the bystanders who did nothing should rot.
                                                                                        I hear what you are saying but consent is not a factor in statutory rape.

Drunken 17 year olds have doing this every night of the week, in clubs and at house parties for as long as I can remember. The new element is smart phones everywhere and the interwebs.
                                                                                          She's even younger than that apparently.

True. 15 year olds don't get passed around like a spliff everyday of the week though.

she didn't take the photos and upload them.
                                                                                              This an unreasonable defence.

If photos were taken in private then yes this is outrageous.

Context here people. There were 80k people at a gig. 80k people probably had 75k smartphones with cameras between them.

Feel sorry for her that she's going to be flavour of the week for this week, but if she hadn't been sucking dick in public there'd be no photos.

Originally posted by Foxy View Post
                                                                                                She's even younger than that apparently.
                                                                                                Where is this coming from?

Was just talking to a friend about it and he said. Might not be true, don't know how he knows in fairness.

If people actually went to the trouble of finding her twitter so that could torment her, then they are utterly fucked up individuals.

Regardless of who people think is to blame(if that's even the right word...), sharing the photo and contributing to her humiliation is completely reprehensible. And there's no two ways about that.

I've read on twitter she's as young as 14. One of the worst things is people tweeting things like "leave #slanegirl alone...." this includes the hash and drives more traffic there! Idiots to the highest regard

This an unreasonable defence.
                                                                                                      It's not a defence of anything. Just as the pair involved should have been smarter about their choice of location, so should the people taking and uploading photos regarding the impact of their actions.

Its the parents i feel sorry for........

If you run a porn mag or an adult channel then I'd suspect you make bloody sure to double check that everyone you feature is over the legal age as otherwise a whole heap of trouble is likely to land on you.

I don't see why the same shouldn't apply to people who upload these photos.

If you run a porn mag or an adult channel then I'd suspect you make bloody sure to double check that everyone you feature is over the legal age as otherwise a whole heap of trouble is likely to land on you.

I don't see why the same shouldn't apply to people who upload these photos.
                                                                                                            Id agree with this. I assume that could be easily legislated for as well in terms of what you upload to twitter/facebook.

Its the parents i feel sorry for........
                                                                                                              On the contrary, if this girl is a victim, her parents, brothers and sisters, family and friends hold some responsibility for allowing here to get to this point.

No way is my daughter going to Slane without a responsible adult at 14, 15 or 16.

Id agree with this. I assume that could be easily legislated for as well in terms of what you upload to twitter/facebook.
                                                                                                                It already is.

Anybody going to the Regina Spektor gig in the Olympia this evening?

Maybe she's 20 and just fancied getting langered and sucking some dick and getting fingered?

Doesn't look 14 in the standing up picture anyway.

Anybody going to the Regina Spektor gig in the Olympia this evening?
                                                                                                                      Only found out about it when I saw her post on FB, considering it.

Breaking Bad

Send him to belize gotta love saul

Can't wait for next week already pretty solid episode built up a few story lines towards the end.

Only found out about it when I saw her post on FB, considering it.
                                                                                                                          Yeah I'm heading in on my tod if you want to get a pint or something? I can't remember if I have a seat or what tbh.

Actually from what I remember of the Olympia for the Passion Pit gig it might be all seated?