GAA Betting Thread

Loughiel beat Na Piarsaigh after extra time...bookies got away with it there..I knew 5/2 was way off on them.
    "Ne jamais perdre sa passsionne...ou s'en, éloigner vite!!!!..EC

KK lead Galway 1-13 to 1-8, couple of mins into 2nd half

urrrgh Galway right back in it. 1-15 to 1-12 to KK now

KK 2-17 Gal 1-12 into the last 10 mins

What kind of team did they field ? Did you win the ticket last night havent had time to look through bbv yet ?

Pretty strong KK team which got stronger as the match went on (T Walsh and J Tyrell brought on at HT). By midway through the second half KK basically had the AI winning team on the pitch bar injuries and retirees. Final score 2-20 to 1-14 for a 9 point win. Nice shout Enda, great start to the day.

Yeah won the ticket last night despite being a 10-1 chip disadvantage starting the HU

Brilliant stuff, fair play Enda.

Waterford 1-6 Clare 1-9 latest

Pretty strong KK team which got stronger as the match went on (T Walsh and J Tyrell brought on at HT). By midway through the second half KK basically had the AI winning team on the pitch bar injuries and retirees. Final score 2-20 to 1-14 for a 9 point win. Nice shout Enda, great start to the day.

Yeah won the ticket last night despite being a 10-1 chip disadvantage starting the HU
                    Ya i saw all that i left at the break ye were even. You got in every time a slight favourite in fairness.

Originally posted by ciarraithuaidh View Post
                      Loughiel beat Na Piarsaigh after extra time...bookies got away with it there..I knew 5/2 was way off on them.
                      Seriously unlucky if you backed it, 4 points up in injury time and Na Piarsaigh get it back to level, they go on to win handy in ET then. Nice spot.

Clare 2-15 Waterford 1-8, 18 mins into second half. Looking like a great day hurling betting wise

Always delivers

Waterford with a few late goals from Martin O Neill (who looks a good prospect) to put some respectability on the scoreline

Clare 2-17 Waterford 4-9.

2 singles on KK and Clare and the double means a sweet day alright.

Any value on UCD tonight?

howd this game end last night Paudi?

Really like DCU tonight. -1 11/10 PP

Maynooth won by a goal. UCD had were down to 14 before HT.

Are DCU still in Sigerson? Might they be leaning toward fielding a weakened team?

They won well vs DIT on Wed. They normally take O Byrne very serious also. gambling on their team, but Kildare so weakened. 9 players making Kildare debuts. Now imagine the amount of players who get a chance in the run up to this stage of the competition and yet they have 9 lads making debuts.

Think if DCU full strength its super value, if not close enough to accurate

They won well vs DIT on Wed. They normally take O Byrne very serious also. gambling on their team, but Kildare so weakened. 9 players making Kildare debuts. Now imagine the amount of players who get a chance in the run up to this stage of the competition and yet they have 9 lads making debuts.

Think if DCU full strength its super value, if not close enough to accurate
                                        Fair enough,

N1 Donal

Not a great start...

0 min The start has been delayed by ten minutes due to DCU arriving late in Portlaoise.

Typical Students - Surely the Sigerson is the main priority for a uni team, why take a pre-season comp more serious than their bread and butter plus their county counterparts treat it as a warm up.

were you getting updates?

If you have twitter put either team name in the search function and you'll see updates.

0-2 DCU- Kildare 0-0 currently

Have a whole €30.50 on this. Let's go DCU!

Updates here: http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/gaa/85076/

0-8 to 0-3 Kildare ahead

Updates on Sportsnewsireland, its the nut website for GAA updates

Fook, 0-08 to 0-03

Kildare with 9 points in a row after DCU got the opening 3

Went down to it. Maynooth won by 3, UCD man send off early in 2nd half. Didn't really see incident, seems it was off the ball hit.

UCD looked poor, had no bite or determination - kicked only one high ball into full forward except Kingston was subed at that stage.

Maynooth well deserved winners, but prob wont good too much further.

10 - 4 at HT

1-12 to 0-5. Thats that so.

1-12 to 2-7. 10 mins left....

lol last minute goal wins it for DCU

3-7 to 1-12. Not enough to beat the 1pt handicap though

Clare represent a little value at 11/8 according to a lad i know he would have played them already this year. Its far from a cert obviously.

More than a little value imo, and theey will certainly be carrying my money, Clare are about 6-8 weeks ahead of all other counties in their trianing and it has shown recently, recent results against Waterford would certainly suggest Clare have a distinct edge over Limerick, home advantage for Limerick is not really an advantage at all, some of the Clare lads would have played more there than in Ennis!

Definitely agree about Clare lads, should be favs imo. Davy has been training them hard which could catch up with them later in the summer but should be good for a win on Sat night.

Also KK 8/11 v Tipp is free money imo, mortal lock of the weekend across all sports. KK at home, fielded a strong team v Galway in the Walsh Cup final and except Cody to do the same again. Also by all accounts the KK lads looked lively in the Interpro win over Munster at the weekend. With Lar gone and Eoin Kelly out of sorts this has handy home win written all over it. KK -2 with PP @ 5/4 also.

Waterford are a bit of value +3 v Cork (evs). They have been scoring highly of late, I dont think they will do much this year, but Cork havent been at much for a while now, and a lot seems to given to their tradition and the return of JBM here. This match Saturday night will probably decide the relegation spot from Division 1A

Just seen that Joe Canning is out for Galway. Adds a lot of appeal to Dublin @ 6/4

galway are in dire form right now, massive transitionary period and i didnt realise dublin were so big?? tbh, galway are missing joe, kevin hynes, andy smith and iarla tannian, thats key players for us, i think the 6/4 is massive value, hard to see where were gunna going to score from .. how are dublin fixed?

7/4 with VC

Originally posted by fumyname View Post
                                                                                galway are in dire form right now, massive transitionary period and i didnt realise dublin were so big?? tbh, galway are missing joe, kevin hynes, andy smith and iarla tannian, thats key players for us, i think the 6/4 is massive value, hard to see where were gunna going to score from .. how are dublin fixed?
                                                                                7/4 with VC
                                                                                Well Galway under new management, at home and always hard to beat in Pearse Stadium. Dublin had a v quiet pre season. Bit surprised at the prices, but still think the better bet is to jsut get the tank on Kilkenny

I've backed UCC/DCU double in the Sigerson semis this afternoon. Having seen all sides except UUJ play in this competition I would be fairly confident this double (bit over evens on PP) will come off.
                                                                                  "Ne jamais perdre sa passsionne...ou s'en, éloigner vite!!!!..EC

Antrim +4 looks decent as they always are hard to beat at home 1st game out, cant get no odds on lower division games, but Id be lumping on London v Armagh as we've 22 players missing in total, basically playing the u-21 team.

Originally posted by Marsden02 View Post
                                                                                      Antrim +4 looks decent as they always are hard to beat at home 1st game out, cant get no odds on lower division games, but Id be lumping on London v Armagh as we've 22 players missing in total, basically playing the u-21 team.
                                                                                      Antrim missing all the Loughgeil lads though who are in the All Ireland final in a few weeks time. Big hit for a team like Antrim..

Nice info on armagh, will keep an eye out for lower division odds
                                                                                      Last edited by KevIRL; 24-02-12, 09:26.

Eoin Kelly and Cummins out for Tipp, couple debutants in according to the radio

lambs to the slaughter

Originally posted by Marsden02 View Post
                                                                                            Would avoid doing Antrim this weekend. As Kev already stated we are missing the Loughgiel crew and also the team was named during the week with the defence nearly full strength but a very experimental forward line. Only one of the six forwards would be considered a regular and three of them come from lower division teams and are making there Antrim débuts. So it is hard to see were the scores are going to come from. However they will be very motivated due to some smart comment the Wexford boss made about having to play in the same league as Antrim an Laois.

Did anyone find odds on the Armagh game?

Going for a double myself Clare 6/4 Kilkenny -1 EVS

Originally posted by burkeyoa View Post
                                                                                              Would avoid doing Antrim this weekend. As Kev already stated we are missing the Loughgiel crew and also the team was named during the week with the defence nearly full strength but a very experimental forward line. Only one of the six forwards would be considered a regular and three of them come from lower division teams and are making there Antrim débuts. So it is hard to see were the scores are going to come from. However they will be very motivated due to some smart comment the Wexford boss made about having to play in the same league as Antrim an Laois.

Did anyone find odds on the Armagh game?

Going for a double myself Clare 6/4 Kilkenny -1 EVS
                                                                                              Do you follow the football team much? Any chance of a best 15 in your opinion?

Originally posted by ciarraithuaidh View Post
                                                                                                I've backed UCC/DCU double in the Sigerson semis this afternoon. Having seen all sides except UUJ play in this competition I would be fairly confident this double (bit over evens on PP) will come off.
                                                                                                UCC beaten by Galway

Any value in kk -2 @ 11/10??
                                                                                                  Was just browsing today and seen that.

Originally posted by Donk Magnet View Post
                                                                                                    Any value in kk -2 @ 11/10??
                                                                                                    Was just browsing today and seen that.
                                                                                                    Yes imo. It will be a comfortable KK win. 5-6 points at least.

Do you follow the football team much? Any chance of a best 15 in your opinion?
                                                                                                      Not to great on the football info as i am from a big hurling village so only really keep an eye out for the footballers results.

Yes imo. It will be a comfortable KK win. 5-6 points at least.
                                                                                                        Seen it and thought lumpage just needed that little push

Heading to Cork and Waterford tomorrow. Any value bets in the game?

Originally posted by A_CitizenErased View Post
                                                                                                            Heading to Cork and Waterford tomorrow. Any value bets in the game?
                                                                                                            I was thinking Waterford +3 @ evs was value, but now not so sure at all. Gonna wait for the Waterford team announcement later tonight, our injury situation is gettign worse and worse.

More than likely it will be a no bet tbh. Both teams with new managers, lot of changes personnel wise and positional. More than likely the loser of this game will be the team relegated from Div1.

I was thinking Waterford +3 @ evs was value, but now not so sure at all. Gonna wait for the Waterford team announcement later tonight, our injury situation is gettign worse and worse.

More than likely it will be a no bet tbh. Both teams with new managers, lot of changes personnel wise and positional. More than likely the loser of this game will be the team relegated from Div1.
                                                                                                              Nice one Kev. Will stick to just going and watching so.

Ive a feeling Cork will win ive no real knowledge to base it on but i really think Waterford are going to have a shit year. I think Cork at least have a fresh approach if nothing else. I obv wouldnt consider a bet on it.

Waterford team

1.Iggy
                                                                                                                  2.Stephen Daniels
                                                                                                                  3.Darragh Fives
                                                                                                                  4.Philip Mahony
                                                                                                                  5.Jamie Nagle
                                                                                                                  6.Kevin Moran
                                                                                                                  7.Declan Prender
                                                                                                                  8.Paul O'Brien
                                                                                                                  9.Steve Molumphy
                                                                                                                  10.Seamus Prender
                                                                                                                  11.Brick
                                                                                                                  12.Paudie Mahony
                                                                                                                  13.Martin O'Neill
                                                                                                                  14.Shane Walsh
                                                                                                                  15.Shane Casey

Very young and inexperienced full back line. Not at all confident with that team

IF ya can get a good price on Marin O Neill anytime or first goal, it would be worth a punt, he's scored a good few pre-season but is relatively new to the panel and some bookie's might not be aware.

Unfortunately I have to agree with Enda and fear that we are going to have a very poor year. Looking relelgation in the face, decent shout at an early exit in Munster, and draw dependant possibly out early in the qualifiers.

Hopefully I'm wrong mind

Judging by that team I reckon cork should win from anything from 4-6 points. Old man is on the county board so will ring him in the morning and ask him what he thinks.

Ha, reading the tipp gaa forum and seeing the team for the first time i reckon Kevs bet is a cert.

Is it possible to stream setanta aswell as im in a house with no setanta on the Waterford/Cork border and all panic is setting loose.

Heading to Cork game tonight so took their handicap for some interest. Should be a good game.

Ha, reading the tipp gaa forum and seeing the team for the first time i reckon Kevs bet is a cert.

Is it possible to stream setanta aswell as im in a house with no setanta on the Waterford/Cork border and all panic is setting loose.
                                                                                                                          If eircom is your isp you can watch it online