Originally posted by Fonkey View Post
    Thought the best horse won the race tbh. Twiston-Davies gave The New One a better ride than McCoy gave MTOY!!
    Forget about what T D did on TNO at the last..... how was ANYTHING he done on TNO better than McCoy's ride on the winner???

Don't underestimate these 2............ they will be to the forefront in the CH
    D15 CASINO, Mulhuddart Village (opp Blanchardstown shopping centre)

[QUOTE=westlife;768386]Forget about what T D did on TNO at the last..... how was ANYTHING he done on TNO better than McCoy's ride on the winner???

Don't underestimate these 2............ they will be to the forefront in the CH[,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

our C?

No pace in the race, dont think there was a lot td could have done. Still fancy the new one for ch

Originally posted by siucra1 View Post

our C?
          I the horse but OC is one of the worst value bets for all of Cheltenham at this stage imo.

Got strong word on red road in the first in limerick tomorrow from one of the connections last week,(if the meeting goes ahead),should go off at a much shorter price than the morning price.

Originally posted by amberleaf View Post
              Got strong word on red road in the first in limerick tomorrow from one of the connections last week,(if the meeting goes ahead),should go off at a much shorter price than the morning price.
              Both irish meetings get the nod & 9/2 the best out there for red road,so just a beer money e/w the best i can muster up given the heavy going and that i was talking to the chap over a week ago,still fairly hopeful of a good run at least.

Spent some time last night & this morning looking at the paddy power steeplechase which is off at 2.55 leopardstown,with the pin landing on Heaney @ 20/1 which could be a little value and ticks lots of boxes in the profile,and with boyles paying 5 places at 1/4 the odds,worth a little e/w nibble imo.

Originally posted by westlife View Post
                Forget about what T D did on TNO at the last..... how was ANYTHING he done on TNO better than McCoy's ride on the winner???

Don't underestimate these 2............ they will be to the forefront in the CH
                Knowing that Ruby ran the finishing burst out of MTOY at Cheltenham McCoy allowed the same thing to happen again, thought he was tactically outrode by TD. Kicked on when McCoy was a couple of lenghts down. Just my own opinion on the race!!

Originally posted by amberleaf View Post
                  Red road NR at limerick

Hopefully the going was the reason,one for the tracker all the same.

Lookout Now Limerick 2.35

Panther Claw in the PP Chase Leop.

Hasn't exactly been an inspiring couple of days racing has it? Poor SS

We'll take Jacksonlady ew at 50/1 in the big chase.

Hearing it's a heart problem with SS, hope not

PAnther Claw and Home Farm v the field

My Daughter is minding Home Farm at the races today

Would Willie not get into trouble for saying on TV that they took the other horse out in order to let Rockyaboya get in to it

Dont think so but is probably skirting etiquette a little there.

PAnther Claw and Home Farm v the field

My Daughter is minding Home Farm at the races today
                                Fair play to her is she working in Arthur Moores yard?.

Could have seen a future monster in No More Heroes in the last. (obv still not retired!).

Its less working there than providing free labour!
                                  She is doing the leaving this year so she's not working a lot of hours but she rides work a couple of times a week and goes to the races when they are busy. Beats me paying for her to keep a pony or to go to riding classes

Box ticking machine spat out vintage star for a e/w poke for the welsh national @ 12/1 with 5 places paid...do grand ted.

On Your Eoin runs in the bumper in Leopardstown. Just remember it from GAB's trip report to Noel Meades. 4/1 with some firms

Bobs Worth actually looked to accelerate there at then end.

On Your Eoin runs in the bumper in Leopardstown. Just remember it from GAB's trip report to Noel Meades. 4/1 with some firms
                                          Waiting on this for a nice double

Checking out tomorrow's card for Leops - such a shame JJ's race has 7 runners

Hurricane Fly some price tomorrow

Checking out tomorrow's card for Leops - such a shame JJ's race has 7 runners
                                                Oh ye of little faith.

Very excited about tomorrow. Obviously Upsie has looked like an airplane in her three runs to date, albeit an airplane that doesn't jump particularly well, she is according to the handicapper a clear 8 lb better mare than Jennies who only gets 3 in the conditions. Uticaire could be anything having hacked up in a classy looking maiden hurdle after 5 easy bumper wins in France, I'm told that EOL has very high hopes for her and I'm sure they will be looking to find out just how good she is tomorrow. Theater bird has the potential to improve again from an impressive hurdling debut at clonmel and Caoimhes Delight is a seasoned performer for whom a place in this race may will be worth as much as anything she does on the racetrack in future. the remaining runners will also be working hard to pick up any spare black type that might be gained should anything go wrong with the principals.
                                                So with no non triers and some serious aspirations and reputations on the line its going to be the toughest task Jennies Jewel has had to face yet. Even the handicapper himself will admit that the mark Upsie has is quite speculative at this stage and the only horse in the race that has truly earned their mark is Jennies and if she can once more run to her mark Upsie and the rest will have to put in a genuine 140+ performance to beat her.

One Time.

GL Strewel

Small trixie on Bright New Dawn, Jennies Jewel and Our Conor to get me out of it for the week. Dug my own grave in fairness, The New One and Defy Logic should really have been my only 2 bets so far for the week.

Hon the Fly only one champ, pure class!

Jennies beats the 2 Mullins runners and is still just 3rd. Still a great run from being under pressure a long way out.

Originally posted by wicklowp View Post
                                                          Jennies beats the 2 Mullins runners and is still just 3rd. Still a great run from being under pressure a long way out.
                                                          Very game performance from Jennies and an excellent ride from Cooper on the winner, I reckon its near a 7lb swing with Our Conor not having his services this year.

Rofl

Thought JJ lost her chance with slow jumping. OC just mown down by an aeroplane.

Danny Mullins rode an excellent race there, horse wasn't good enough

Originally posted by Walter Mitty View Post
                                                                  Danny Mullins rode an excellent race there, horse wasn't good enough
                                                                  Meant moreso in general than today, I don't rate him at all and think he is short of the top tier, whereas Cooper is one of the very very best even at this early stage.

Rofl
                                                                    That's insightful stuff, maybe you should have a blog!

Triumph maybe wasn't that good, has anyone really boosted the form. The real winner is BCB getting rid for a few bob before he was found out

That Theatre Bird in the mares hurdle was no fluke. Nice future for that one. Glad to see Jennies Jewel guts it out past Upsie.

Thawing out now after a good day's racing. Some headwind in the home straight to battle into. Didn't come close to a winner all day until got Value at Risk @ 9\4 in the last to get me out of it.

Hurricane Fly showed champion class, got huge applause from the stands which Ruby uncharacteristically milked. He wins that race 9 out of 10 times, just that good and the best by far since Istabraq. GAB almost tipped up the dream 25\1 winner to start the day, great sweat with a lengthy enquiry but, in the words of Shane MacGowan: "fuck the stewards, a trip to Lourdes, would give the auld fuckers a power of sight". V sweated blood on that one!

JJ was game as always but paid the price for poor jumping. Did well to get third after absolutely clattering the first. Still a mare to be proud of.

Bright New Dawn a big disappointment for me, jumped markedly right all the way. Russell also rode an 'interesting' race on Rockdown. Duly noted.

Watched the ryanair back a few times at this stage,seems a little strange to see Jezki bigger with some firms than our conor for the ch,6/1 both with pp.

A very enjoyable day at the track for me. I had a few close calls to a big score between a 25/1 and 18/1 e/w shouts both claiming 2nd and Value at Risk delivering a short price win at the end.

Great to see Strewel sharing the parade ring with all the great and the good and just a pity JJ didn't have her best race today. Mixed feelings re Our Conor you want to see it win and yet you feel it was great business by GAB and co selling when they did. It's like negotiating a great money chop/redistribution before the FT of a tournie. Obviously you'd still like to win the tournie but there are mixed feelings about it.

I tried to look the part but was quickly revealed as a total n00b punter by GABs female companion when she started talking about trainers and which horses had been showing good form. Maybe wearing the racing cap was a mistake!!

there is a €66,005 Pick 6 rollover to Punchestown tomorrow. If you RT/Follow this tweet from @thetotecom you could win €32 credit for your chance to win it all.

https://twitter.com/thetotecom/statu...85332096233473
                                                                                Won this but didn't see it in time, thank you kindly for giving me another shot

How did it go Gab, I deffo would not have had the last leg winner.

word doing the rounds that Davy Russell has been given the sack by Gigginstown. Anybody seeking my uncensored views on this particular subject best find me somewhere serving a nice bottle of nice red.
                                                                                    Wowsers. Any particular flashpoint (without being indiscreet)?

Hope Cooper gets the job.

I'd say Cooper is 1/100 to get it if DNR has been dispatched.
                                                                                      Probably a short priced Fav but Jason Maguire would also have to be in the reckoning.

A thought; does the retained jockey thing really work when you have your horses spread over so many yards with so many disparate training styles?

I'd be more a fan of the traditional stable jockey approach rather than jetting in the No 1 for the big day.

A thought; does the retained jockey thing really work when you have your horses spread over so many yards with so many disparate training styles?

I'd be more a fan of the traditional stable jockey approach rather than jetting in the No 1 for the big day.
                                                                                          I agree. It works only for the connections that has him retained. Everyone else has a pain in the balls id say. Take Meade/Carbury for example. Carbury is like a punk bitch now having to step aside so often he must feel like an apprentice.

Wowsers. Any particular flashpoint (without being indiscreet)?
                                                                                            GAB had a quiet word with Eddie O'Leary after the Bright New Dawn debacle on Sunday IMO

I'd say Cooper is 1/100 to get it if DNR has been dispatched.
                                                                                              Hearing Townends name being bandied about as well?

No podcast this week what gives?? Any fancies for Cheltenham or at home tomorrow?

Cheltenham is going to be a punting nightmare today

CheltenhamRacecourse ‏@CheltenhamRaces 1m
                                                                                                  There will be five fences omitted on the Chase course today due to standing water on the course.

We will see how my busted up bookie talk works out now I suppose.. Will be laying bets on how many winning rides Russell has for 2014 to 2015 season,now that he's not on machines, roll up roll up.

set a line so
                                                                                                      Think it'll be about 60 just off the top of my head. In work now but will let you know later.

Me and Arry the Dog enjoyed the day of a lifetime back in 2004, well a day in my lifetime, probably just a normal day for Big Arry.
                                                                                                        Free Online Library: Findlay shares pounds 1.3m bonus.(Sports) by "The Racing Post (London, England)"; Sports and fitness

Harry talks about going to Australia for 3.5 weeks. He said he took £37,000 with him and only because he had won it in Kempton or Sandown that day before he left. He says he won £4,500 punting over there and he returned home with £500. If that is not the definition of a legend then I don't know what is.
                                                                                                          Its mental shit though. Great to watch alright but how the hell is he even alive at this stage. The highs and low must be outrageous.

I think the thing to him is that he doesn't carry pressure around in him. Shit happens, life moves on. He doesn't spend tomorrow wondering about what happened today or what might happen the day after. Great personal freedom in that type of mindset. That video is old, could you imagine what he was like a few years ago when he was driving a tank of about £15m? A guy moved in with me a few weeks ago that used to work for him in london doing some running and what not - crazy stories.

I got a phonecall from him the week before Christmas. I am meeting him in 4 weeks time and will probably end up spending a good few hours with him.
                                                                                                            Deadly, do up a tr on that if you wouldn't mind.

Ya I have a friend who has an attitude like that. Annoying as fuck but funny at the same time. He used to borrow money off us to go drinking every night and when we confronted him his response was "but what am I supposed to do, stay at home" and he was dead serious.

Btw, how did he get to the 15m in the first place, hit a monster bet or something? only really know of him from his time with Nicholls/Denman.

I think the thing to him is that he doesn't carry pressure around in him. Shit happens, life moves on. He doesn't spend tomorrow wondering about what happened today or what might happen the day after. Great personal freedom in that type of mindset. That video is old, could you imagine what he was like a few years ago when he was driving a tank of about £15m? A guy moved in with me a few weeks ago that used to work for him in london doing some running and what not - crazy stories.

I got a phonecall from him the week before Christmas. I am meeting him in 4 weeks time and will probably end up spending a good few hours with him.
                                                                                                              In fairness I'd say there's a good chance he will take one look at you and decide that you're a cunt, plus he'll tell you that you are one.

Cooper gets the Gigginstown gig.

In fairness I'd say there's a good chance he will take one look at you and decide that you're a cunt, plus he'll tell you that you are one.
                                                                                                                  Reckon they'll be a lot of cunts around the place if the vote on oxford greyhound stadium goes the wrong way next week.

A DECISION on whether the Oxford Stadium can be flattened for homes to be built there will be made next month.

I'd have Frontier Fighter as an odds on shot for the 2:10 at Southwell today. In his last race on this surface himself and Southwell royalty Dubai Hills stretched 5 lengths clear of a very good field by track standards only for FF to be beaten by a neck at the finish. While the quality of the performance wasn't completely lost on the handicapper who did slap 5lbs on for the 2nd place that day, I still think he'd have to drop quite a distance below that level to not win here today. I'd avail of the 6/4 or slightly bigger exchange prices.
                                                                                                                    Last edited by The Situation; 05-01-14, 10:48.

I'd have Frontier Fighter as an odds on shot for the 2:10 at Southwell today. In his last race on this surface himself and Southwell royalty Dubai Hills stretched 5 lengths clear of a very good field by track standards only for FF to be beaten by a neck at the finish. While the quality of the performance wasn't completely lost on the handicapper who did slap 5lbs on for the 2nd place that day, I still think he'd have to drop quite a distance below that level to not win here today. I'd avail of the 6/4 or slightly bigger exchange prices.
                                                                                                                      Excellent tip. Got him at 9/4 so many thanks. Feel free to throw more over my way...
                                                                                                                      Last edited by pokerhand; 05-01-14, 14:18.

Well that went a long way to recuperating xmas debauchery. Whoever was laying that bigger than 2's needs their head examined.

Also this is well worth the read on the upcoming Dubai Carnival.

http://t.co/XUCQZD17mC