Are you sure I wasn't calling you a donkey
    Quite sure, I never won a Derby.

No, you said it in person
      No you must be mistaken, I like the horse, backed him to win his Derby and Champion Stakes

Twiston Davis's Listen Boy expected to at least make the frame in the last at Chepstow

No you must be mistaken, I like the horse, backed him to win his Derby and Champion Stakes
          What you said was something like "blah blah drool new approach drool blah shit derby winner blah blah I love backing favourites blah blah".

Nothing to do with Winston. The horse was all at sea coming down the hill into the dip and just like his disappointment in Epsom earlier this year the horse just doesn't handle an undulating track.
            Horse slightly misses the break ( from a middle draw) and Winston decides to track the near side runners. Just inside the three marker he then decides to go back to switch and track the horses in the centre of the track... no clear run there...and with a furlong and a half to go!... he then decides to switch him back, 8 horse widths to the near side rail, to be then stone cold last (8 lenths off the leader) inside the final furlong. Finishes 2 for 1 to be beaten a touch over a length!!

I also believe you can not compare a track with a 'dip' like Newmarket to Epsom and a 'camber'. The horse was never "all at sea". He traveled beautifully for the entire race, doing exactly what his jockey asked him to do at every stage of the race, but the exaggerated switching has cost him position and many lengths.

Just watched it again... even worse!
            D15 CASINO, Mulhuddart Village (opp Blanchardstown shopping centre)

I posted Wading in 4.25 and Perenial in the 5.00 in the BBV earlier
              Lol, backed these, legged it home turned on the tv, saw that the racing was on c4 and the race was just starting, was convinced I had backed bannock, watched it win, then checked and saw I had actually backed wading and was fmling, then noticed the winnings in my account and eventually noticed I was watching c4+1.

feck fell asleep , did they both win?, oh dear lolme

1st one won

down under - 3.15 punchestown, got a call about this last night (few hours ago), guy in the yard said he's working well at home, racing off a feather weight with casey on board, said its worth a few small quid each way as hes a big price and not really running against much

Originally posted by healwayscallsmedonkey View Post
                      down under - 3.15 punchestown, got a call about this last night (few hours ago), guy in the yard said he's working well at home, racing off a feather weight with casey on board, said its worth a few small quid each way as hes a big price and not really running against much
                      priced up @ 12/1 with most of the firms(fav is 6/1)

Munsaab 315 at punch meant to be a Good thing.4/1

I'm clueless on horses, but a good friend who knows his stuff gave me this tip today..
                          Magical speedlift in the 5pm in Brighton..6/1

Also was on about Tigers tail (I think) running in Kempton as an each way bet.
                          "Ne jamais perdre sa passsionne...ou s'en, éloigner vite!!!!..EC

Originally posted by ciarraithuaidh View Post
                            I'm clueless on horses, but a good friend who knows his stuff gave me this tip today..
                            Magical speedlift in the 5pm in Brighton..6/1

Also was on about Tigers tail (I think) running in Kempton as an each way bet.
                            on @ 10/1 with boyles go us

another furlong and we were in the money
                              the horse went out to 12-1 on paddys and infairness came close to getting up there

Think Hills distance special on Frankel is a biggun. Evs that he wins by two lengths or more.

I'll be taking the Excelebration in a match bet with the French filly, both around the same price. Think this thing is the real deal bit Frankel doesn't count, he's a freak

stunning view 2morrow (sat)in cork,might be of intrest

Ridic excited about today's card. My selections:

Banimpire 3.00 Ascot e/w 10/1
                                      Frankel by 2 lenghts or more 3.35 Ascot (1/1)
                                      Nathaniel 4.10 Ascot 7/1

Gogogogo!

Nathaniel 4.10 Ascot 7/1

Gogogogo!
                                        Cant wait myself, Frankel is awesome to watch

Nathaniel 4.10 Ascot 7/1

Gogogogo!
                                          Don't fancy Nathaniel at all, can't see the drop back in trip suiting, especially coupled with the quick enough ground. I've generally thought So You Think has been over hyped so far this season but 5/2 is a good price today I reckon. The French horse could be a big danger.

Anyway not a punting card, all about Frankel.

Don't fancy Nathaniel at all, can't see the drop back in trip suiting, especially coupled with the quick enough ground. I've generally thought So You Think has been over hyped so far this season but 5/2 is a good price today I reckon. The French horse could be a big danger.

Anyway not a punting card, all about Frankel.
                                            Don't see too much evidence that the 10f will be a big negative, he pushed Frankel really close over 8, albeit on soft, think the King Edward win showed he's capable of winning a strong race at this distance, he was flying from a long way out. Lightly raced and a chance he's still on the improve.

2 big bets today is all
                                              A nice sum on frankel and so you think double @4/1
                                              and then a safety bet on nathaniel to win @7/1

and one small enough lucky 15 for the laugh

shall join you on banimpire too for shits and giggles, only other bets are footy related

2 big bets today is all
                                                A nice sum on frankel and so you think double @4/1
                                                and then a safety bet on nathaniel to win @7/1

and one small enough lucky 15 for the laugh

shall join you on banimpire too for shits and giggles, only other bets are footy related
                                                fmllllllll
                                                my ONLY save of the day was listening to the betfair commentators and putting €10 on cirque des aigles instead of nathanial as I had so much relying on so you think with the double poised and single bets also made. Big enough loss but thankfully not as big as it could have been - betting done now!!

So with the jump season underway, who are the horses(aside from the obvious) we should be watching out for/ people are excited about seeing this year?

Personally can't wait to see Solwhit tackle the fences this year, always thought he'd the potential to be a quality chaser. Obv no guaranteed he'll make the transition from hurdles but his jumping ability would give you a lot of hope.

So with the jump season underway, who are the horses(aside from the obvious) we should be watching out for/ people are excited about seeing this year?

Personally can't wait to see Solwhit tackle the fences this year, always thought he'd the potential to be a quality chaser. Obv no guaranteed he'll make the transition from hurdles but his jumping ability would give you a lot of hope.
                                                    He stayed hurdling to long imo. They obv didn't see him as a chaser but because he is just below the highest level over hurdles they thought they would have a crack. You see that a lot, horses who spend too long (by 2 long i mean 3 seasons) over the smaller obstacles never make it into top class chasers.

All the best chasers have a novice hurdling campaign and maybe one more season and then go chasing.

Although Solwhit is still fairly young I'd be surprised if he amounted to anything over fences.

I'm looking forward to Al Ferof, Hidden Cyclone in the novice chasing division.

He stayed hurdling to long imo. They obv didn't see him as a chaser but because he is just below the highest level over hurdles they thought they would have a crack. You see that a lot, horses who spend too long (by 2 long i mean 3 seasons) over the smaller obstacles never make it into top class chasers.

All the best chasers have a novice hurdling campaign and maybe one more season and then go chasing.

Although Solwhit is still fairly young I'd be surprised if he amounted to anything over fences.

I'm looking forward to Al Ferof, Hidden Cyclone in the novice chasing division.
                                                      Sizing Europe did alright for himself

I mean Solwhit won 3 group ones in the 09-10 season so it was hardly an easy decision to send him chasing last season on the back of that hurdling success but I'm sure it was always the medium-long term plan and not a just a reaction to Hurricane fly dominating that division.

Sizing Europe did alright for himself

I mean Solwhit won 3 group ones in the 09-10 season so it was hardly an easy decision to send him chasing last season on the back of that hurdling success but I'm sure it was always the medium-long term plan and not a just a reaction to Hurricane fly dominating that division.
                                                        Didn't SE only have one season in open company hurdling? Either way there is always an exception. It's defo not a route to success.

Oh yea - Hurricane, what about our Soldatino bets? Am I a winner?
                                                        Soldatino

Got a mate to back them for me so here goes.

Champion Chase - Ghizao 20/1 - His form around Cheltenham is very good, evidently his favorite course however I think just as importantly he needs some dig in the ground to be seen at his best. He twice beat Captain Chris with dig in the ground and based on the way this race is going to cut up I think he is the one to be with. I just dont see alot of depth in this race and with SE being sent the GC route yet again (almost certainly going to revert) this prize looks like a sitting duck. I expect him to run in the race and start at mid single figures, if the ground is softer I expect him to start shorter. Pretty much a fantastic back to trade opportunity.

Gold Cup - Quito De La Roque 25/1 - it is impossible not to like everything about this horse. He just kept on giving last season. I am no fan of Long Run and despite the ratings post race I said it would prove to be one of the worst gold cups in recent history. If I take LR out of it then you can take your pick of several horses. I think this fella has the best profile of any horse going that route. He jumps well, seems to handle all ground and is a pretty uncomplicated ride. Hopefully he will be out in Down Royal in a few weeks time and be a 12/1 poke after that run.

No unusual for me to disagree and someday I'll be right.

Ghizao is not top class. I can't see him starting anywhere near a single figure price for any race at the festival. Nicholls apparently doesn't think he is that goof either and there was no confidence in him going into the Arkle. Can't find a race for him tbh

I agree on everything you say about Quito de la Rogue but you couldn't be more wrong about Long Run. He's a monster. A proper equine monster.

Dont really feel qualified to comment but was last years Gold Cup not all about Long Run being too young and the old guard being too old? So should that not mean that Long Run should potentially develop into a monster as he reaches the ideal age for a Gold Cup winner?

I personally think that one half of that is certainly correct. (oldies over the hill). The other half is open for debate imo. LR was racing and jumping since it was 3 and despite being a 6yo was a 2nd season chaser having his 10th start over fences or his 18th start over jumps in total. The age stat is certainly getting distorted in recent times through the influx of french breds. I mean there almost has to be some degree of cointegration between age and jumping experience.
                                                              While i do believe that Long Run is now the real deal, ill admit it may be because of the lack of challengers, and with the memory of his RSA Chase and PP Gold Cup runs will stick with me. I thought his biggest challenger would be Diamond Harry who didnt even turn up

Compared with Denman (who smashed the RSA, and then destroyed the Hennessy Gold cup field under top weight and i believe had it not been for the heart problems could have been the best staying chaser of our time) then maybe the hype is a bit much over Long Run, this season will tell.

Long Run is a machine.

He'll end up challenging Kauto as the best horse ever to set foot on a track.
                                                                Think he will mop up Grade 1s for the next four seasons if he stays injury free.

Long Run is a machine.

He'll end up challenging Kauto as the best horse ever to set foot on a track.
                                                                  Think he will mop up Grade 1s for the next four seasons if he stays injury free.
                                                                  omg are u serious kauto star was some horse but will never be as highly thought of as best mate! fact

Originally posted by Donk Magnet View Post
                                                                    omg are u serious kauto star was some horse but will never be as highly thought of as best mate! fact
                                                                    But Kauto Star was better than Best Mate?

not imo and i know alot that would agree with me.

Good jesus you people need a shot of reality about Long Run. How has the form of his Gold Cup worked out? Il save you the hassle of looking. In so far as we can assess it is working out pure shite. He is assessed at 182 based on his defeat of two greats of the game who are gone past it. That assesment is flawed.
                                                                        Yes he beat two horses on the downgrade but it was still a serious performance as was his King George win, yes his rating probably is a little high as I thought Imperial Commanders was last year for the same reason but he cant do anymore than win impressively.

You really are clueless if you think Best Mate was in the same league as Kauto Star and I was a huge Best Mate fan.

prob wrong place for this but it is a "horse race " of a kind sean gallagher is generally 4/7 8/13 everywhere but is 9/4 on boyles,,, value ???

Originally posted by butter View Post
                                                                            prob wrong place for this but it is a "horse race " of a kind sean gallagher is generally 4/7 8/13 everywhere but is 9/4 on boyles,,, value ???
                                                                            The page I am looking at says 1/2

Yes he beat two horses on the downgrade but it was still a serious performance as was his King George win, yes his rating probably is a little high as I thought Imperial Commanders was last year for the same reason but he cant do anymore than win impressively.

You really are clueless if you think Best Mate was in the same league as Kauto Star and I was a huge Best Mate fan.
                                                                              think your wrong here best mate had 22 runs 14 wins 7 2nds and p/u and died in his last race 3 gold cups and prob would have been 4 only for a burst blood vessel in 05.

Ever hear of official ratings

yes and best mate prob would have been rated alot higher only he was so lightly raced

How do you work that out?

Stay out of this you flat racing nancy boy

He was obviously very consistent and a very good three mile chaser but Kauto has beaten better horses, had better performances and is far more versatile as regards trip and ground.

Hes the best horse I have seen or am likely to see, Best Mate would be doing well to get into my top ten from the past ten years.

any thoughts on the racing post trophy tomorrow? fencing looked very good when he scooted home in newbury and camelot has the pedigree as is likely to improve, not a race to be backing for me but very interesting all the same .. there's such a big difference in prices with different firms for the fav. Camelot is evens with Will Hill and Vict Chandlers but 13/8 with ladbrokes but generally 11/8, while fencing is generally around the 11/4 mark. Looking forward to seeing masterminded also...

Don't think the O'Brien horses should be as far apart in the betting, think Camelot is too short and Learn too big so I've bet accordingly. The future form of the Leop maiden that learn smashed is very strong. Whether the step up to 8 f is ideal I'm not certain but he's the value at 16/1 in the race imo.
                                                                                            Last edited by The Situation; 21-10-11, 10:47.

Don't think the O'Brien horses should be as far apart in the betting, think Camelot is too short and Learn too big so I've bet accordingly. The future form of the Leop maiden that learn smashed is very strong. Whether the step up to 8 f is ideal I'm not certain but he's the value at 16/1 in the race imo.
                                                                                              out of galileo so the mile shouldnt be too much concern, 16/1 is a mad price for a good horse, just see him finding 1 too good, was looking at the full card for tomorrow and am going to back my old friend hazelrigg in the sprint handicap, just gonna go small on trader jack in 2.20 in newbury today and leave it i think, nothing really taking my fancy, do you fancy anything today situation?

Nope nothing today. Gimmeabreak seemed bullish about the reaper in the 5f race at Dundalk tonight though.

was told today to have a nibble e/w on timeless call in the 8.30 dundalk

3.45 Clonmel tomorrow, PP have put Paddy Pub in at 14/1. This is a major rick, he should be half the price. Advise taking some 14's if you can get it.
                                                                                                    into 11's now. still worth a nibble?

One of the rare times I got on at the price tipped and not a much shorter one! Come on Paddy!!

id not put you off completely but dont be going mad. Like at the end of the day even at 7's he is a big priced horse that was available at much bigger. I am not saying that this lad is gone by but I would rate him as a cracking EW proposition. I think the jolly is far too short as he just wont go on this ground, if this is the case then there has to be value elsewhere in the book. To me the value was Paddy Pub at 14's
                                                                                                        Backed him a few times last year, most recently the lexus(?) in leop when he was 4th e/w at 16/1. Cheers for spotting this, will put a few quid on him.

into 10/1 now,did the insure bet,3 places @ 8/1

PP and Laddies have cut him to 8/1. I am fairly hopeful now that we are on a live one, and not just one that needs a cobweb buster before the Troytown.
                                                                                                            Do you think the value is gone at 9/1.

sweet shock could be a danger to us,cagey nuff falla here!,2nd here today before romping home at naas an sat would suit nicely!
                                                                                                              Last edited by amberleaf; 27-10-11, 11:21.

PP and Laddies have cut him to 8/1. I am fairly hopeful now that we are on a live one, and not just one that needs a cobweb buster before the Troytown.
                                                                                                                He's ran reasonably well before after a layoff and yard has knocked in a few winners over the past month so you'd be hopeful about fitness.

Is the ground too soft for Elliots one in the 4.15? Seemed to have plenty in hand winning lto. Price looked large to me but suppose the lack of money for him is a bad sign.

groody hill 3.15 wexford,had this one on my "nag me" list,has gone to evens,a little skinny but won very nicely in p/town last week.could be 6lbs better off here,worth a small bet but nothing mad

came in @ 11/8
                                                                                                                  Last edited by amberleaf; 01-11-11, 09:41.

Is it all about Ghizao today? Seems to hold all the aces re weight advantage, likely fitness, time of year, Tom Segal seal of approval...

Is that the horse running in Exeter at 2.50? If so GAB backed him for the Syndicate this morning...

And the fact Medermit is carrying a good few of my euros probably helps Ghizao

Is that the horse running in Exeter at 2.50? If so GAB backed him for the Syndicate this morning...
                                                                                                                          So it is, he was bigging the horse up for success this season a few weeks back ITT too. Although his syndicate jinx is giving me 2nd thoughts now