Originally posted by iSnow View Post
    With the greatest of respect I really hope to prove you wrong. IM shitting myself and have put most of my eggs into this basket so failure is not an option. Must organise a horsehead elite night when I get settled.
    Sorry I had an edit to that ready that didn't get through.

Believe me I hope I'm wrong too. I just have a huge down on small retail investments that is running strong these days.

What you have to know is that if you are to be the one in twenty that gets beyond the level of earning a small income you are going to have to put in an inhuman level of dedication and effort.
    Very best wishes for it. Is it in Mullingar? I'm in the town regularly enough I'll look forward to trying it out.
    FWIW I do think a posh burger place that is able attract a broad crowd has a decent chance of beating the odds.

Under the casino in Mullingar. Want to do seafood,pasta,pimped pizza kinda stuff with high end cocktails. Don't think the locals are ready for fine dining so gonna have a relaxed feel to it. Any suggestions for names?
      The beginning of your surname

Alpha

Incorporate the symbol on everything!

The beginning of your surname

Alpha

Incorporate the symbol on everything!
        Yeah better than 'plumpeynut or gtfo'

Seven shades of shite. Wp RDIII. Solid contribution to my vocab. TyTy.

Ugh, here goes nothing...

Don't for a moment think you'll be getting an easy ride from IPB reviewers. We cannot be bought.

*A free mojito would probably do it.

Ugh, here goes nothing...
                Best of luck, let me know when it opens.

How long is the lease?

I''m getting married quite close to there and will pop in when we are down that way

Uncle Rob's Family Feedbag.

Best of luck with it, will definitely call in on the spin home to Sligo one evening.

Best of luck, let me know when it opens.
                          Dry run Monday, cant talk, no sleep

I''m getting married quite close to there and will pop in when we are down that way
                            Catering?! Help a brother out :P

Best of luck with it, I'm sure it's the last thing you'd want to do but reading a log on this adventure would be fascinating.

I subscribed to this one on a US bbq shack and it's great.
                              For at least ten years, that's all I've heard from friends and family. You should open a restaurant! It would be awesome! We would eat there every day! Yeah, right. Well, for the past two years or so, opening either a BBQ joint or buying a bar was in the back of my mind, but with running my...

Bang up a couple of pictures of the place to give us all a look.

Best of luck with it, I'm sure it's the last thing you'd want to do but reading a log on this adventure would be fascinating.

I subscribed to this one on a US bbq shack and it's great.
                                  http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...61123&page=108
                                  Ugh, had a dream two nights ago that plasters let me down.
                                  Went into psycho mode ready to ring them only to realise they had
                                  Finished on Sat afternoon. Will make a few notes and prob get around to it eventually

Oh yeah crazy fact but all the successful front of house candidates are female...weird

Bang up a couple of pictures of the place to give us all a look.

Backfire potential....meh

You should have a tea/coffee menu to offer your patrons at the end of their meal. The cover of this menu should read "Tea, Coffee or GTFO?" in honour of IPB.

iSnow let us know when it's open... I for one will make the travel down out of the high society area known as dublin and go to the hellish holes of rural westmeath!

anything to support an Fellow IPB'er shipping some Loots!!

iSnow let us know when it's open... I for one will make the travel down out of the high society area known as dublin and go to the hellish holes of rural westmeath!

anything to support an Fellow IPB'er shipping some Loots!!
                                              Someone should organise an IPB night out there in next couple of weeks.

Def we'll reck the gaff!! credit card roulette against isnow for the bill!!

Lol. Quote of the afternoon "oh yeah a fucking wine licence...get back to you on that"

In all seriousness, do whatever you have to do to get some effusive Menupages and Tripadvisor reviews lined up in the first few days. Then try and get some of the knob jockeys who review for a living down to you. Tullio etc.

Lol. Quote of the afternoon "oh yeah a fucking wine licence...get back to you on that"
                                                      Don't worry I'll be in soon to wreck heads and post pics here.

Catering?! Help a brother out :P
                                                        It'll be meat only

Don't worry I'll be in soon to wreck heads and post pics here.
                                                          Don't worry buddy. Have Tara and Natasha in cleaning tomorrow for
                                                          Your viewing pleasure...and they gonna be dusty

Who do you see as the competition btw?

Not being smart at all but pretty much every cunt.
                                                              I've got a five hour window daily to compete for bums on seats.
                                                              Every arse counts

Fill up slack hours with other stuff, cookery lessons seem popular. Coffee morning maybe for local groups to get your profile up. Paying rent and rates 24/7 might as well make use of it.

Would really suggest looking into the likes of a 'Disco Brunch' as is done in the likes of Coppinger Row the odd Sunday. If you going for the high end cocktails etc it could be right up your ally.

Sells out well in advance normally.

Restaurant Name: Dinner by Heston

Location: Knightsbridge, London

Website: www.dinnerbyheston.com

Price Range: (from 1 to 5 €€€€€) £££££

Review:

Got to London early enough at around 4pm and checked into a guesthouse in Chelsea, which was about a 20 minute walk from the Mandarin Oriental which is where the restaurant was. I was starving so I went for a KFC because dinner wasn’t until 9…quite a juxtaposition of dining experiences if I do say so myself.
                                                                    Got to the hotel about 15 minutes before dinner and had a quick G&T in the bar which was filled with what I can only assume were oligarchs who became obscenely rich while stepping on the skulls of the poor, drinking Dom like it was 7up.
                                                                    The restaurant itself is very casual, with no tablecloths or any of that jazz and first experiences with the staff were fantastic. They were super professional and made you feel really welcome in a way that didn’t seem like they did this every day. They genuinely seemed honoured that we came over from Ireland just to eat there. After a few minutes a service manager came over and said ‘Howayiz, I’m from Carlow, I’ll show yiz around the kitchen when ye’er finished’ which was really nice.
                                                                    For starters I had their signature dish called Meat Fruit, which is a perfectly constructed mandarin but its filled with the smoothest tastiest chicken liver and foie gras parfait that you can imagine. I actually felt bad cutting into it. My mrs had roast marrowbone with snails and anchovies and she said it was amazing…I was too busy in food heaven to care, really.

For main I had 24 hour cooked pork belly, with something called Robert sauce and a load of other things that I can’t remember or probably couldn’t even identify, but again it was should have been illegal it tasted so good. She had the pigeon and her sentiments were similar. I wanted to try the famous triple cooked chips but they said that the fries that ordinarily come as a side are single cooked but that because we came all the way they’d make an exception. They were far nice than the ones I tried to make at home obv.

For desert I had the Tipsy Cake, which has to be ordered when you’re ordering your starter as it takes an hour to make apparently. It’s some kind of sponge covered in booze and syrup, and comes with spit roasted pineapple on the side. By this stage my tastebuds couldn’t take any more. It was so rich and so good. We both had to decline the liquid nitrogen ice cream because of the sensory overload.
                                                                    I had a couple of glasses of whatever they recommended to accompany my dishes and she was on the dry because she was preggers.
                                                                    The Irish chap gave us the tour of the kitchen at the end which was a nice little touch. Overall it came to about £190 which is savage value, considering the terrible meal I had in L’ecrivain a couple of weeks ago was more expensive…A Michelin star restaurant sending out a pot of plain boiled baby potatoes as a side, gimme a break.
                                                                    Anyway, can’t recommend it enough.

Not being smart at all but pretty much every cunt.
                                                                      I've got a five hour window daily to compete for bums on seats.
                                                                      Every arse counts
                                                                      Have you a lunch time plan? There were always plenty of bums on seats for the €10 3 course deal with the previous establishment. However you need a lot of bums at a tenner a pop to pay the bills! Evening times were a struggle for them I guess. Are you doing a take away service?

That's what put the last lads on the road but will be offering
                                                                        Something after the dust settles.3 course for a tenner...really?
                                                                        [PHP][/PHP]

[PHP][/PHP]
                                                                          3 courses for a tenner? That's cheaper than rats with curry sauce they are serving on Moore St. I'd stay away from anywhere that cheap tbh.

[PHP][/PHP]
                                                                            Originally posted by Mickey Rosa View Post
                                                                            3 courses for a tenner? That's cheaper than rats with curry sauce they are serving on Moore St. I'd stay away from anywhere that cheap tbh.
                                                                            Yeah lunch time you could get "Three courses". Three being a bit of a stretch. Two courses + tea/coffee or a mineral I should have said.

I could be a little off as its some time since I ate there but I think this is what they had on offer.

Starter:
                                                                            - Choice of Garlic Bread (from pizza oven - awesome), soup of the day, sometimes a special.

Main
                                                                            - Coice of Small steak (minute?) + huge baked potato, any pizza (12"), pasta alfredo (tagliatelle or pork tortellini), Fish of the day, Special of the day, some vegetarian dish.

It actually was excellent value and I'd often head there on a Friday instead of a sambo/café lunch considering it only cost a couple of quid extra. It was too cheap to be profitable.

Restaurant Name: Dinner by Heston

Location: Knightsbridge, London

Website: www.dinnerbyheston.com

Price Range: (from 1 to 5 €€€€€) £££££

Review:

Got to London early enough at around 4pm and checked into a guesthouse in Chelsea, which was about a 20 minute walk from the Mandarin Oriental which is where the restaurant was. I was starving so I went for a KFC because dinner wasn’t until 9…quite a juxtaposition of dining experiences if I do say so myself.
                                                                              They could be a bit sharper about changing the menu from time to time, I posted a review in here about 2 years ago where I had the exact same dishes!

http://www.irishpokerboards.com/foru...&postcount=239

Yeah lunch time you could get "Three courses". Three being a bit of a stretch. Two courses + tea/coffee or a mineral I should have said.

I could be a little off as its some time since I ate there but I think this is what they had on offer.

Starter:
                                                                                - Choice of Garlic Bread (from pizza oven - awesome), soup of the day, sometimes a special.

Main
                                                                                - Coice of Small steak (minute?) + huge baked potato, any pizza (12"), pasta alfredo (tagliatelle or pork tortellini), Fish of the day, Special of the day, some vegetarian dish.

It actually was excellent value and I'd often head there on a Friday instead of a sambo/café lunch considering it only cost a couple of quid extra. It was too cheap to be
                                                                                Hi Richie,
                                                                                Fuck off.
                                                                                Thanks Richie

Villa bianca in hamstead village excellent

suggestions for restaurants in London for Royal Ascot week please? Group of 6, 4 & 2 on different nights.
                                                                                    Recently I really enjoyed a little place in Soho IonaPaul recommended last year called Arbutus

For people who cannot find a suitable personalised number plate at DVLA’s auction site, the next best option is to buy the plate from a name plate or car dealer. If you are intimidated at the prospect of dealing with them, don’t be.

suggestions for restaurants in London for Royal Ascot week please? Group of 6, 4 & 2 on different nights.
                                                                                      Moro!

Gaucho grill for group of 6,galvin at Windows for table of 4 and le gavroche for 2

One for the foodies. If you were given a blank canvass unit in which to open a restaurant of your choice.What style of restaurant (food,decor,service) would you choose? Location is midlands town.
                                                                                          FML this has been the toughest week of my life.
                                                                                          Just on the way into a 12 hour shift.
                                                                                          If the girls weren't so hot I would have jumped ship already.

FML this has been the toughest week of my life.
                                                                                            Just on the way into a 12 hour shift.
                                                                                            If the girls weren't so hot I would have jumped ship already.
                                                                                            It is a tough life. Very busy. What are you doing each day?

Start at 11 until 11pm then a scoop or two.

Recently I really enjoyed a little place in Soho IonaPaul recommended last year called Arbutus

http://www.arbutusrestaurant.co.uk/
                                                                                                Main course and a carafe of wine 10£, wut!

Start at 11 until 11pm then a scoop or two.
                                                                                                  I mean what is your role

Bit of everything really but Manager I guess. Be careful what you wish for and all that.

Week two and 91 for dinner tonight. Everyone gets paid this month...

The Wild Goose in Ranelagh is somewhere between 'mediocre' and 'very poor'. Avoid imo.

We did learn that their goose comes from Hungary which was rather strange but possibly explained the lack of flavour.

Unworthy of further review.

Week two and 91 for dinner tonight. Everyone gets paid this month...
                                                                                                          What did you call it in the end?

This, trying to tell the missus about it and "new restaurant beside a casino that a guy I know online owns" isnt helping

Went to Vintage Kitchen (beside Mulligan's of poolbeg st) last night.

Got the haddock, samphire and chorizo chowder for starters.
                                                                                                              I'm a huge chowder fan anyway so hard to fault, huge portion size and came out piping hot.
                                                                                                              Perhaps a tad salty to some tastes but I loved it.

Went for the Striploin for the main. Was given the option of a cote de boeuf cut they'd gotten in that morning but stuck to my guns.
                                                                                                              Like my steaks medium and definitely came to the table medium rare in the very centre.
                                                                                                              Needn't of worried though, by the time it had rested on the plate another minute it was perfect.
                                                                                                              Was in butcher grill last week and this was a far better steak.

Brought a bottle of cote de Rhone with me (It's BYOW) and was too stuffed for desert so total came to 32 for me and same for the gf. Absolutely outrageous value imo.
                                                                                                              Place is cramped but there's a cool vibe and got a good bit of banter out of the staff.
                                                                                                              Definitely the best value for money I've had in ages.

My recommendation would be to bring a date, pull a bottle of vino out of your coat, into mulligan's after, then stroke your imaginary beard in the taxi back to hers for being so god damn smooth.

Originally posted by Loopz View Post
                                                                                                                What did you call it in the end?
                                                                                                                Rusty spoon...not my idea.
                                                                                                                After four weeks straight working 12 hour a day off Im taking the week
                                                                                                                Off. Ive learned so much about how a professional
                                                                                                                Setup should be executed and will definitely look forward to letting the other
                                                                                                                Partners ger their hands dirty. Some epic stories involving hustling wine suppliers,
                                                                                                                Cop raid, the angry priest, those Latvian bitches and their sexual harassment
                                                                                                                and Count Tornado. Heading back to the recruitment on Monday. Need a job? Call Rob

Partners ger their hands dirty. Some epic stories involving hustling wine suppliers,
                                                                                                                  and Count Tornado. Heading back to the recruitment on Monday. Need a job? Call Rob
                                                                                                                  I hope you do catering/ hospitality better than you do poetry. Doesn't even rhyme for crying out loud ! Good luck anyway

Ah shite I dropped into Mullingar for lunch last Friday and though you were that steakhouse as it was beside some casino and had sign in window looking for staff. As it happens it doesn't do lunch so ended up going to the newbury. Swipe their beef and veg pie it was excellent pity the mash, carrots and cabbage were rotten.

Originally posted by Loopz View Post
                                                                                                                      Ah shite I dropped into Mullingar for lunch last Friday and though you were that steakhouse as it was beside some casino and had sign in window looking for staff. As it happens it doesn't do lunch so ended up going to the newbury. Swipe their beef and veg pie it was excellent pity the mash, carrots and cabbage were rotten.
                                                                                                                      Sorry man were not open for lunch at the moment. Trying to perfect dinner service first before trying lunch. Will post pics location details after weekend.

£270 for 2 mains and a cheeseboard?

You sure that's right, doesn't look to expensive on the menu however can't find the wine.

I always thought grass fed >>>> corn fed?