Bit of a strange one this. I was flicking through stations this morning and chanced upon a wildlife programme on BBC2. Now I don't normally watch wildlife programmes for some reason, even though I did as a kid.

But this captivated me as the moment I switched on happened to be extraordinarily beautiful as it showed wild turkeys playing with a deer fawn and a squirrel. The cinematography was splendid.

It's in the same vein as the guy who lived with grizzly bears and whatnot. This is about a biologist guy who lived alone with wild turkeys from their hatching for a year. It's called My Life as a Turkey.

It's on BBCiPlayer:

If it doesn't sound like your cup of tea then I still recommend watching from somewhere in the 39 min mark for a couple of minutes.

Not a formality here IMO. Wolves have every reason to play this like a cup final.

Looking nervy in front of goal...

Not a formality here IMO. Wolves have every reason to play this like a cup final.
          Fancy making a bet?

c'mon satnav get the pics from lastnight up

Man City now have it in their own hands. Wow.
              What do they have in their own hands?

If they win their remaining games they will win the league. Same is true of United of course, and indeed they can draw the derby. But it's a big swing from needing United to drop points to randomers.

They don't really have anything in their own hands then?

,I look like a fuckin porn star in it
                    Poor Garda didnt know what was happening !!

They don't really have anything in their own hands then?
                      Are you unfamiliar with the phrase?

Its use in sport has never meant that they have a title in their hands, it means that their future is in their own hands. As in they do not have to rely on results outside of their own in order to capture a title.

Well it technically isn't in their hands as they could win all their remaining games and still lose on GD. Very unlikely giving current goal differences but all the same.

I'm familiar with the phrase but I did ask.

Bit of a strange one this. I was flicking through stations this morning and chanced upon a wildlife programme on BBC2. Now I don't normally watch wildlife programmes for some reason, even though I did as a kid.

But this captivated me as the moment I switched on happened to be extraordinarily beautiful as it showed wild turkeys playing with a deer fawn and a squirrel. The cinematography was splendid.

It's in the same vein as the guy who lived with grizzly bears and whatnot. This is about a biologist guy who lived alone with wild turkeys from their hatching for a year. It's called My Life as a Turkey.

It's on BBCiPlayer:

If it doesn't sound like your cup of tea then I still recommend watching from somewhere in the 39 min mark for a couple of minutes.
                            Watched this too this morning, by accident, and it was really amazing.

Basically, guy gets a bucket full of wild turkey eggs from some friend,incubates them untill they hatch,and because he's the first thing the chicks see, they think he's their mother.
                            Some brilliant filming, and well worth a watch.

shocking when people dont realise you are taking the piss.

If anyone is familiar with the same poster, guy would start a row with himself...lol

Well it technically isn't in their hands as they could win all their remaining games and still lose on GD. Very unlikely giving current goal differences but all the same.
                                Well surely it is also in their hands to have a better goal difference aswell???

shocking when people dont realise you are taking the piss.

If anyone is familiar with the same poster, guy would start a row with himself...lol
                                  You're trolling the gardening forum?

Gnoming

@Keane: We still on for this

I'll find out the exact date that reg opens before the end of the month because it will sell out pretty quickly.

Poor Livepool

sigh, It's expected at this stage.

Well surely it is also in their hands to have a better goal difference aswell???
                                            That has me philosophically rethinking the whole issue of "in your own hands".

Let's switch sports and time frames for simplicity. You are playing a tennis match against someone, is it in your own hands whether you win the match?

So what do we mean by "in your own hands"?

I have been taking it to mean that whether you win or lose depends on what you do. But the result of a match is a product of interdependence of the behaviour of both players. Every amazing shot can theoretically be answered with an equally or even more amazing response.

So there seems like a contradiction at play. On the one hand it seems intuitive that it is in the hands of each player whether they win or lose, but on the other hand one cannot abstract any player's individual behaviour and say that it is sufficient for success.

It may be a problem of language and conceptualising it, but I am coming over to the idea that actually it is on neither player's hands to win. In the sense that their individual behaviour cannot guarantee success.

Now this depends on how we define behaviour. If we define the unit of behaviour as "winning a point" or "winning a game or set" then it would appear that it is in their own hands.

If we define behaviour more specifically in terms of a particular shot then I suppose there must be a temporal element to it. Do we describe the shot after we have seen the response to it or before that? As in do we say that a shot could not be returned based on the shot itself or based on a combination of the shot and the response.

I guess we could define a shot as being "impossible to hit back". Assuming we are being realistic about the movement abilities of the other player, then that is a description which could be valid and is a property of the shot itself rather than saying anything meaningful about the functional deficit of the response.

But even that brings up the issue of the pre-shot positioning of the other player, which is affected by a variety of variables both personal and situational - did they *have* to be where they were standing to hit back the last shot? Does this mean that we cannot really take a single shot as a pure unit of analysis abstracted from past shots?

Hmm, I am coming to a point of realising that I have to come to terms with the inherent limits of the game in question. Tennis too is too complex.

Let's invent a stupid game where two people have to try to beat the other by simultaneously picking the highest number. This seems to highlight the contradiction most clearly.

Is it in your own hands to win this game?

I think here it is clear her without the confusing complexity of variables of other games that the problem is the language of "in your own hands".

If we rephrase it as a prospective question "Does your sole behaviour determine the outcome of this game?" then the answer is no. The outcome is determined by the relationship between the two variables of number choice, nothing more of which we may say in advance of it actually occurring. So it is indeterminate. Winning this game in not in your own hands.

Adding complexity to the game up to the level of a football match where each team reacts to the behaviour of the other does not fundamentally change the underlying a priori indeterminacy of it.

So Caf was entirely correct in questioning my statement that man City have it in their own hands. I assume this is what you were getting at

c'mon satnav get the pics from lastnight up
                                              Eh ...... No lol

Poor Garda didnt know what was happening !!

Let's switch sports and time frames for simplicity. You are playing a tennis match against someone, is it in your own hands whether you win the match?

I have been taking it to mean that whether you win or lose depends on what you do. But the result of a match is a product of interdependence of the behaviour of both players. Every amazing shot can theoretically be answered with an equally or even more amazing response.

So there seems like a contradiction at play. On the one hand it seems intuitive that it is in the hands of each player whether they win or lose, but on the other hand one cannot abstract any player's individual behaviour and say that it is sufficient for success.

It may be a problem of language and conceptualising it, but I am coming over to the idea that actually it is on neither player's hands to win. In the sense that their individual behaviour cannot guarantee success.

Now this depends on how we define behaviour. If we define the unit of behaviour as "winning a point" or "winning a game or set" then it would appear that it is in their own hands.

If we define behaviour more specifically in terms of a particular shot then I suppose there must be a temporal element to it. Do we describe the shot after we have seen the response to it or before that? As in do we say that a shot could not be returned based on the shot itself or based on a combination of the shot and the response.

I guess we could define a shot as being "impossible to hit back". Assuming we are being realistic about the movement abilities of the other player, then that is a description which could be valid and is a property of the shot itself rather than saying anything meaningful about the functional deficit of the response.

But even that brings up the issue of the pre-shot positioning of the other player, which is affected by a variety of variables both personal and situational - did they *have* to be where they were standing to hit back the last shot? Does this mean that we cannot really take a single shot as a pure unit of analysis abstracted from past shots?

Hmm, I am coming to a point of realising that I have to come to terms with the inherent limits of the game in question. Tennis too is too complex.

Let's invent a stupid game where two people have to try to beat the other by simultaneously picking the highest number. This seems to highlight the contradiction most clearly.

I think here it is clear her without the confusing complexity of variables of other games that the problem is the language of "in your own hands".

If we rephrase it as a prospective question "Does your sole behaviour determine the outcome of this game?" then the answer is no. The outcome is determined by the relationship between the two variables of number choice, nothing more of which we may say in advance of it actually occurring. So it is indeterminate. Winning this game in not in your own hands.

Adding complexity to the game up to the level of a football match where each team reacts to the behaviour of the other does not fundamentally change the underlying a priori indeterminacy of it.

So Caf was entirely correct in questioning my statement that man City have it in their own hands. I assume this is what you were getting at
                                                My god you talk some horse manure and have way too much fcukin time on ur hands

real madrid/parma/udinese and west brom accum 262/1 FUCK YOU UDINESE!!!!

Nice result for Woy after the Liverpool fans treated him so disgracefully.

Eh ...... No lol

Where did ye go in the end?

Geoffs and Cystals.

Me and a few mates are thinking of going to Dublin the may bank holiday weekend for a session and some poker. Hopefully be there early on Friday and leave Monday , what games would ye suggest to play . Is there any early game on a Saturday that we would be able to head out after.

Geoffs and Cystals.
                                                            Crystals? the place next to Geoff's is it? any good?

Originally posted by Trigger View Post
                                                              Me and a few mates are thinking of going to Dublin the may bank holiday weekend for a session and some poker. Hopefully be there early on Friday and leave Monday , what games would ye suggest to play . Is there any early game on a Saturday that we would be able to head out after.
                                                              JP's game out in Molloys

Italian football...

The Serie A clash between Genoa and Siena was held up for 45 minutes on Sunday after home fans threw flares onto the pitch and sat on safety barriers.

Read more: http://www.dailystar.com.lb/Sports/F...#ixzz1sn188oVO
                                                                (The Daily Star :: Lebanon News :: http://www.dailystar.com.lb)

My god you talk some horse manure and have way too much fcukin time on ur hands
                                                                  Well I wrote it while watching the Man City game with the sound down and listening to this interesting behavioural genetics podcast:

So it wasn't dead time

No early game on a Saturday AFAIK. Think The Eastern Open is on that weekend, but that's a 3 day event, so might not suit, but you could probably play some cash there during the day. Tournaments on Saturday all start at 8.30, I think and the earliest on a Sunday is the Jackpot €35 FO at 7.00 or the Emporium at 7.30 €55 double chance. Think the Fitz has some self deal tournament on Sunday afternoon for about €30, not sure if it still runs though.

Crystals? the place next to Geoff's is it? any good?
                                                                      It was grand, there is a little quirky place downstairs in the nightclub , as in you go upstairs to the nightclub and then near the bar there are steps down to a little smoking area, just concrete on the floor and a few seats, but there is a DJ there playing unsual music ( not dance music, cant remember what it was, it was weird lol ) more suited to a hippy type older crowd, few people out of it I would say.

JP's game out in Molloys
                                                                        JP's game is the only afternoon game I know of. Its out in Tallaght though so if your staying in town you'd have to Luas/bus/taxi it in & out.

Played it yesterday - started at 2.30 & finished about 8.30pm but had a few extra runners due to money added. €45 f/o with 15k stack.

If your staying in town probably better off to play cash.

@Dice where did you end up last night?

My mate lost his loot on blackjack in the SE, I gave him a few €€€ which he spun up to a couple hundred then spunked it all back to the roulette table which meant no strippers

@Dice where did you end up last night?

My mate lost his loot on blackjack in the SE, I gave him a few €€€ which he spun up to a couple hundred then spunked it all back to the roulette table which meant no strippers
                                                                            With said strippers

Emporium 2nite?

With said strippers

Emporium 2nite?
                                                                              Nah can't be bothered to play, still wrecked just going to veg for the night.

A new era you say?

This will blow your mind.Do not press play.

I want to make love to that bari. Much love for Charlie and his work in general.Edit: This is from 'Nostalgia in Times Square' 1993 - Ronnie Cuber plays the ...

What Up BBV, what u up to??

That prog My Life With Turkeys was really good.

Went to have a look at it there, says its available to UK users only?

cross post

i bet on trinity to cover the spread

Tullamore forfeit at half time when losing 35-0. the spread was 41 so what happens there??

What Up BBV, what u up to??

JP's game is the only afternoon game I know of. Its out in Tallaght though so if your staying in town you'd have to Luas/bus/taxi it in & out.

Played it yesterday - started at 2.30 & finished about 8.30pm but had a few extra runners due to money added. €45 f/o with 15k stack.

If your staying in town probably better off to play cash.
                                                                                              think that weekend is the €120 FO in molloys. 30k starting stack. usually a good game

This kind of thing should be mandatory reading for every professional sportsperson. Maybe even every kid.

Is there anything like OPR for Stars.fr?

OPR..

OPR..
                                                                                                      Im an idiot!

Ken has cost himself at least three frames here. Can't beat top snooker players if you let the chances he has slip away.

I'm just bitter because I have him as part of the rounders123 suggested game format an really need him to pick up every frame he can!

cross post

i bet on trinity to cover the spread

Tullamore forfeit at half time when losing 35-0. the spread was 41 so what happens there??
                                                                                                          Probably void.

The people who bet on Tullamore -41 will be correctly expecting their money back at worst as the game was uncompleted, so don't see why the people who went +41 should expect to be paid?

Is gilliganblack around these days or any other recruitment type posters? Have been let go from work this week as turnover was down 50% on last year so its time to dust off the old CV. Anyone else that's knows of or is looking for someone to do windows based support/admin tech/engineer work please give me a pm.

It was on the cards for the last 2 weeks and had to pull out of the Irish Team Challenge as I couldn't justify going with bills coming out of my arse and the rest. Of course the lads obviously go on and ship it. I'm delighted the lads won and its a fantastic result for them.

Is gilliganblack around these days or any other recruitment type posters? Have been let go from work this week as turnover was down 50% on last year so its time to dust off the old CV. Anyone else that's knows of or is looking for someone to do windows based support/admin tech/engineer work please give me a pm.

It was on the cards for the last 2 weeks and had to pull out of the Irish Team Challenge as I couldn't justify going with bills coming out of my arse and the rest. Of course the lads obviously go on and ship it. I'm delighted the lads won and its a fantastic result for them.
                                                                                                              He operates as RichieM these days, deffo still around.

Gilligan Black is now RichieM on here

Is gilliganblack around these days
                                                                                                                  He's RichieM these days.

Probably void.

The people who bet on Tullamore -41 will be correctly expecting their money back at worst as the game was uncompleted, so don't see why the people who went +41 should expect to be paid?
                                                                                                                    yeah that would seem like the logical thing to do. Someone told me that when a team pussies out the score at that time becomes official so would it be a case where the people who bet on Tullamore -41 actually win??

Jaysus wasn't expecting 3x f5 bashing ninja 'replies. Cheers lads.

Is there an echo here

yeah that would seem like the logical thing to do. Someone told me that when a team pussies out the score at that time becomes official so would it be a case where the people who bet on Tullamore -41 actually win??
                                                                                                                          I really doubt it, hugely open to abuse.
                                                                                                                          Bet the Unders on a big spread, tell them to concede the game when the oppositon get within 7.
                                                                                                                          Be surprised if this was the way any bookies operate, though also surprised they operate a market on a sport where a team would just 'concede' like that.