You don’t think he choked?
    Yeah, I do think he choked. He fell apart where lads were banging in birdies over the last 7-8 holes and on the easiest course of the tour. It's got the highest birdie % conversion from the fairway. Let's hope we get this version of Rahm for the Ryder Cup.

Colin Morikawa with an all time choke job in the PGA this weekend.
      That duffed chip on the Par 5 is probably the worst golf shot I've ever seen a professional hit. I'd be embarrassed doing that and I play off a phone number handicap.

That can only be mental. It's Jean Van de Velde levels of awful.

That duffed chip on the Par 5 is probably the worst golf shot I've ever seen a professional hit. I'd be embarrassed doing that and I play off a phone number handicap.

That can only be mental. It's Jean Van de Velde levels of awful.
        Actually not even close to the worst ive see by a pro. It was a high tarrif he tried instead of simply playing it safe. Actually Rahm ironically hit a dreadful shot in the round but got very lucky . Jean Van De V let the occasion get the better of him whilst Morikowa got windy due to Rahms surge. Rahm hit 10 under - remarkable really considering he bogeyed the 1st

Emmet was it you who bought an electric car imported from the UK through a 3rd party? Do they still operate?
          In the midst of a deep dark car based rabbit hole atm and the car isn’t even for me.

I just realised that the EV option is currently ruled out for us I don’t have that to look through but I think if I was going down that route, MG seems like relative value.

Given EV is off the table, it’s hard to know what to do. I’m not sure non plug in is worth the extra so looking at low mileage used petrol and reassess in a couple of years.

We've an Athens trip for April. Are we mad to think we can find a few days wandering around Santorini interesting? Had heard that Athens itself has become shockingly rough over the years. Plus I still haven't got over the almost-audible boos we got from the kids in Rome this time last year, when I suggested to the kids we were going inside the Colosseum. Can't imagine the Parthenon will get a much better reception.

The summer trip is going to be a shocker - two fucking weeks in Florida. Sweating our way through packed theme parks while avoiding alligators and Republicans. Clearly not my idea.

Admittingly, this advice is coming from somebody without kids, but I'm not sure how great Santorini is for kids.

I was there in May last year and I absolutely loved it but the overwhelming majority of people I saw there was couples. Again, maybe I just wasn't in the kid friendly zones, if they exist.

Maybe a boat cruise around the Caldera and a day at the beach will keep them occupied but after that I'm out of ideas.

Having a wander around the towns/island in general is defo worth doing but whether that would hold any interest with the kids is debatable.

I'd do a bit of research before I pulled the trigger if I was you,

Admittingly, this advice is coming from somebody without kids, but I'm not sure how great Santorini is for kids.

I was there in May last year and I absolutely loved it but the overwhelming majority of people I saw there was couples. Again, maybe I just wasn't in the kid friendly zones, if they exist.

Maybe a boat cruise around the Caldera and a day at the beach will keep them occupied but after that I'm out of ideas.

Having a wander around the towns/island in general is defo worth doing but whether that would hold any interest with the kids is debatable.

I'd do a bit of research before I pulled the trigger if I was you,
              Thanks! Actually I was rather thinking that to be honest, how long will rows of nice-looking buildings hold their attention. The outstanding success of our Madrid visit was The Selfie Museum so they are well and truly lost to the past.

Did you write a TR on Madrid? Thinking of making it the 2023 Halloween Former Imperial Capital Duke family city break.

Plenty to do medium to large-sized kidwise? We have friends there so assume they can point us in the right direction.

Red lemonade. Yay or Nay?
                  I realise I'm 3 days late replying, but shur lookit.

I haven't had red lemonade for donkeys years. Was never really a thing in our house either. The few times I did have it though for it fine. Never enters my head to buy red lemonade though.

Did you write a TR on Madrid? Thinking of making it the 2023 Halloween Former Imperial Capital Duke family city break.

Plenty to do medium to large-sized kidwise? We have friends there so assume they can point us in the right direction.
                    Oh most definitely. You'll get a little hint of summer even around that time of the year. Action-packed city with kids. Selfie Museum. Some flamenco dancing (we went to this one, has a great rating, deeply fascinating - giving a bit of the history). Avoid the theme park. Spent most of the time wandering around nibbling on tapas (this food market is amazing, apparently three Michelin star chefs in their serving up tapas, everything was class). Retiro park is class, loads to do in there. Its on many lists alongside Berlin as the two most family-friendly cities in Europe for a weekend break. There's a well-recommended day trip, that we didn't end up doing as the trains were all booked out (apparently its where all the locals go on weekend day trips) - to Toledo.
                    Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 09-01-23, 15:40.

I realise I'm 3 days late replying, but shur lookit.

I haven't had red lemonade for donkeys years. Was never really a thing in our house either. The few times I did have it though for it fine. Never enters my head to buy red lemonade though.
                      Are you even a Man of the Weshtat all, at all?

Oh most definitely. You'll get a little hint of summer even around that time of the year. Action-packed city with kids. Selfie Museum. Some flamenco dancing (we went to this one, has a great rating, deeply fascinating - giving a bit of the history). Avoid the theme park. Spent most of the time wandering around nibbling on tapas (this food market is amazing, apparently three Michelin star chefs in their serving up tapas, everything was class). Retiro park is class, loads to do in there. Its on many lists alongside Berlin as the two most family-friendly cities in Europe for a weekend break. There's a well-recommended day trip, that we didn't end up doing as the trains were all booked out (apparently its where all the locals go on weekend day trips) - to Toledo.
                        Yeah, think I am sold. Could always do Paris, or indeed London, either but I feel the more mega-cities are either for doing something really specific (like a show or a match) and not so suited to the aimless wandering.

Are you even a Man of the Weshtat all, at all?
                          We're a different breed in the north wesht to those Mayo and Galway types. But we also don't associate with those mad eejits in Donegal.

Watched Triangle of sadness today

Latest film from Ostlund, a director i love since force majeure. This latest film won the palme d'or last year. A satire of the super rich which imo falls a bit short. Whilst there are some truly great moments during the film, at 2h30m, it's overly long and doesn't live up to expectations. Enjoyable but slightly Disappointing.

We're a different breed in the north wesht to those Mayo and Galway types. But we also don't associate with those mad eejits in Donegal.
                              Not sure you can afford this attempted level of regional exclusivity

Watched 1st episode of Tulsa King last night, looks excellent.

Not sure you can afford this attempted level of regional exclusivity
                                  Next you'll be lumping Sligo in with Roscommon, and I'm not having that type of mess acting.

In the midst of a deep dark car based rabbit hole atm and the car isn’t even for me.

I just realised that the EV option is currently ruled out for us I don’t have that to look through but I think if I was going down that route, MG seems like relative value.

Given EV is off the table, it’s hard to know what to do. I’m not sure non plug in is worth the extra so looking at low mileage used petrol and reassess in a couple of years.
                                    Get a luxobarge. Few threads on boards about them.
                                    Fuck Greta. You may need to pay the tax quarterly or cry/have a stiff drink paying annually.

Is it one big trip a week putting you off an ev or what?
                                    Heard good things about the MG alright.

Think I'll be driving my diesel for anothe few years, doesn't move much these days with WFH/ me riding the motorbike to SETU most days.

Neighbour has a GR Corolla hybrid. 2L petrol, it's a beast. Near 55mpg. Rapid.

Going to Seville / Jerez (Hair-ez) in April.
                                      Any craic there?

Next you'll be lumping Sligo in with Roscommon, and I'm not having that type of mess acting.
                                        Roscommon is underrated imo. Easily as good as Sligo but without the hipster wankers in surf gear.

I had to read about Morikawa's blow-up today and watched some of the clips to see what happened.

Below I hadn't paid too much attention to the below at the time but now I think of it as relevant enough to post. They were talking about Morikawa on the live feed on Saturday being a bit of a technical enigma. Very interesting from my limited club golfer's opinion at least. He's got this flat bowed wrist which never budges. This gives him incredibly tight face control on all full shots and one of the most consistent shot shapes on tour. A laser-like baby fade. It's probably the reason his ball striking is envied by all players.

The bowed wrist is brilliant for driving down into the turf on irons and from the tee. It forces his hands and shaft ahead of the ball, pushing the leading edge into the turf. However, once he gets into short-game territory this is a challenge. Meaning it's easier to have chunks and experience inconsistent results. Most short-game techniques deliver the hands and shaft perpendicular over the club so the leading edge doesn't dig. Wedges are designed to work this way. For Morikawa, he needs to then move his body, arms, etc in a non-standard manner that compensates for the sub-optimal setup. Of course, he's one of the best in the world and still figures out how to make it work. IIRC the commentator mentioned Olazabal's weak chipping grip or cross-handed like Matt Fitzpatrick. So as this specific discussion closes out Morikawa and Scheffler have to hit the same 30-40yd pitch shot. They literally put the commentator's curse on him and he hit a mediocre one that came up a bit short. Scheffler with a more traditional grip proceeds to smoothly clip it in close (he has other swing eccentricities but not noticeable on a pitch). They showed the side on view and you can see the clear difference in Morikawa's pitch with the hands and wrist pressed forward. Scheffler had the more traditional perpendicular delivery. He was still pissing home at this point and it was merely a footnote at the time.

Was fascinating to hear that one of the best in the world has an apparently obvious fundamental deficiency by default. They also referenced Tiger telling Morikawa that he needed more shots (to become a true great). Recently Morikawa has been working with a new short-game specialist coach so I'm sure he's going to improve in the future. On Sunday the bunker was a brain fart as that is meat and drink to any pro on a decent uphill lie. The chunked pitch is literally the worst place for him to be at that time and he was retreating into his head I'm sure. A pitch with a killer false front/slop that's all carry. He then spun an 80yd wedge off the green and took 3 more to get it done. It's not good enough for any top pro tbf.

Disclaimer: I actually know fuck all and have an 11 handicap but found this interesting nonetheless.

My takeaway is that save for Tiger, even the best players have swing/technique quirks. Everyone has their own swing and it really is a game for everybody.

Any craic there?
                                            Perfect timing, before it gets too hot. Went in May before and it was fairly beastly.

Go to a bullfight if you can. Tapas obv. This will sound weird, but if there's a religious procession on they are great events (and more like a fiesta than a solemn event) - the Nazarenos.

My favourite memory of Seville was the 2005 CL final. Liverpool were playing AC Milan. Mrs D3 had taken the initiative and booked a flamenco show for us to go to. I got some vino into her over the course of some tapas and persuaded her that watching the match in some cosy bar would be a better option. Lo and behold, the very first place we happened upon was the Real Betis supporters bar. We went in and had a great night despite our collective inability to understand each other (Mrs D3 tried to tell them her brothers supported Liverpool, they decided this meant that she was from Liverpool) and we didn't buy a drink all night, ending about 3am with many chants of 'Raaaaaaafaaaaaaa Beneeeeeeeeeeetezzzzzzz'. Solid evening. Not much sightseeing was done the following day.

Johnny Rotten and PIL in the final 6 of the Irish Eurovision entries. It's not April 1st.
                                              Wild Youth and Johnny Rotten among Eurovision hopefuls (rte.ie)

Raoul is a bull fight wanker .

Johnny Rotten and PIL in the final 6 of the Irish Eurovision entries. It's not April 1st.
                                                  May the road rise with you - may the road...

A love song for his wife of 40 years who is now deep in the throes of alzheimers, and based on one of their fondest joint memories. For shame AJ, for shame. Have a heart.

AJ probably also wrote an irate letter to Walt Disney complaining that the ending of Bambi needed more of an upbeat-pop feel

Madrid vetoed by the selection committee. Might go for Lisbon instead so.

Watched Triangle of sadness today

Latest film from Ostlund, a director i love since force majeure. This latest film won the palme d'or last year. A satire of the super rich which imo falls a bit short. Whilst there are some truly great moments during the film, at 2h30m, it's overly long and doesn't live up to expectations. Enjoyable but slightly Disappointing.
                                                          I enjoyed it; I thought the third section was very enjoyable. The second dragged a bit and wasn't that funny. You are definitely right that it could have done with some editing. I have a real soft spot for the guy who played the shit merchant. he is amazing in the pusher trilogies.

I watched it, the Northman & Ex Machina all in the same week, all four-star films IMO - the triangle of sadness just about a four, Northman a solid four and Ex-Machina a strong four. Maybe I need more stars!

I was just listening to this cross over he did with Afrika Bambaataa

I only drink at parties etc, and not that much - 1 or 2 drinks, and often none, though had a good bit yesterday. Maybe drunk twice a year? Have had to ask people to stop giving me gin, it just piles up. Few last night were on alcohol free G&T's. GF never drinks, most my family never drink, hear younger generation don't drink as much now? Good few friends would have cans at home all the time still though.
                                                              My friends girlfriend has decided to be vegan, which may work out to be awkward, as his favorite pastime is too eat himself into a meat coma.

what's dating like as a vegan? Do people tend towards fellow vegans?

My friends girlfriend has decided to be vegan, which may work out to be awkward, as his favorite pastime is too eat himself into a meat coma.

. A girl i work with is an insufferable Vegan to the point where she deserves a kick in the Vagine. I really pity her friends eyc. To use a Raoul vernacular- A real Geebag.

Tell us about the on/off girlfriend Lao. Always encouraged by tales of older gents sustaining a romantic life.

My Mam and Dad were quite young when my Mam died, with both being 55. They had been together for over 30 years and did everything together so when she died, it was a massive hole in his life. Probably about a year to a year and a half later, he started going to what I can only describe as social nights for widows and widowers. Makes sense, as in that situation pretty much all your family and friends are hitched as are their friends so you have to look in the right places I guess.

Anyway, not long later, we got introduced to Doris* Some family members thought it was a bit too soon to be moving on and while I could see their point to an extent, I was also very aware that after every family gathering, me and my siblings all went home to our respective partner/husband/girlfriend where as my Dad went home to an empty house so it wasn't fair on him to not get on and live his life.

Unfortunately, nobody likes Doris and I mean nobody (except my Dad). Not me, not my sisters, not my nieces and nephews, not my Dad's siblings and not my Dad's friends - Nobody. And it's not an issue of her replacing my mother or anything like that, we all just don't think she is a nice person. She is super passive aggressive, she acts stupid but is far from it. She has done some shitty stuff that I won't get into here but we've put up with it for this long as they seem happy most of the time. I say most of the time as there was periods where they'd fall out, often for months (see her shitty stuff referenced above) but she'd always find a way to weasel her way back in - None of us can get our head around it but they've known each other for around 20 years at this point so I can't see it changing now.

Even though I don't think she is in anyway good for him, it is company and companionship for him and at 79, that is important, especially as due to his health, he doesn't have the same social life that he used to have.

The slightly bizarre thing is that they would do lots together, holidays, nights out, etc - everything a normal couple would do but they never committed to move in together which to me was always a red flag. I mean, surely that comes up within a 20 year span?

*Doris is not her real name. No idea why I picked that name, just came into my head.
                                                                  Last edited by Lao Lao; 09-01-23, 19:23.

Could be the best of both worlds - live separately but get together as you feel like? Also possibly fearing familial awkwardness over 'moving a replacement woman into the house'?
                                                                    I've come across a few widows\widowers whose relationships follow that pattern.

I thought Clanbrassil was always highly rated (esp here). I went there with a group for a tasting menu recently and it wasn't great. Miles behind Mr Fox. Not holding up after changing staff?
                                                                      I haven't been since Grainne O'Keefe (former head chef) left. Have been to her new place, Mae, a few times and that is top quality so maybe it's a changing of the guard that has standards dropping.

Strange though as it's owned by the same guys that own Bastible which recently picked up a star. I was in Bastible on Saturday night and food was excellent.

I'm getting this installed tomorrow
                                                                        Home & Dry Ireland. Mould & Condensation Removal. Does your home or property suffer from condensation, mildew or black mould? Do some rooms, especially bedrooms, smell musty or damp? We have the solution to your black mould and condensation problems.

The condensation on windows is shocking in Mia's bedroom so bad that mould is all over her blind and wall.

I know of two people who went with this chap And could not believe the difference the next day and wished they found it sooner. One girl was telling me her son had awful sinus trouble which has completely cleared up since she got it installed and funnily enough Mia stuffers terrible with her own sinuses so hopefully it will be worth the money.

Be Great to not have to go in every morning and not have to suck up the water!!

So he came highly recommended with fantastic results inc a money back guarantee And a five year warranty .

I'll keep ye posted anyway!
                                                                        Needs a service every five years for around 100 e

Not sure what Compass club is, but you definitely want the breakfast!
                                                                          This convinced the wife anyway
                                                                          Many people ask are club level benefits at the various Disney hotels such as Newport Bay worth the money when visiting Disneyland Paris. During our last trip to Disneyland Paris we had the chance to experience the Compass Club whilst staying at the Newport Bay hotel. If you are considering a stay at club level…

Any craic there?
                                                                            MotoGP? Lucky duck.

Seville is a good one for bar hopping, nice tapas and beer, just stay away from the bars/restaurants directly around the cathedral.

Jerez-see the dancing horses

If you have a bit of spare time Granada to see the Alhambra is worth the trip, Cadiz is also good, day in both is enough.

Da mudder said if it wins it will be another rotten song for Ireland. She never fails to out corny me . I missed Dad jokes growing up , she filled the void well. legend .

I'm getting this installed tomorrow
                                                                                Home & Dry Ireland. Mould & Condensation Removal. Does your home or property suffer from condensation, mildew or black mould? Do some rooms, especially bedrooms, smell musty or damp? We have the solution to your black mould and condensation problems.

The condensation on windows is shocking in Mia's bedroom so bad that mould is all over her blind and wall.

I know of two people who went with this chap And could not believe the difference the next day and wished they found it sooner. One girl was telling me her son had awful sinus trouble which has completely cleared up since she got it installed and funnily enough Mia stuffers terrible with her own sinuses so hopefully it will be worth the money.

Be Great to not have to go in every morning and not have to suck up the water!!

So he came highly recommended with fantastic results inc a money back guarantee And a five year warranty .

I'll keep ye posted anyway!
                                                                                Needs a service every five years for around 100 e
                                                                                oh. we've got a mould problem too. How much does it cost?

Did someone here recommend Martinhal Sagres in Portugal before?

I've levelled up my Chinese by adding a weekly one-to-one class on top of the regular group class, as I'm off to Beijing in July. First one-on-one class tonight and I was genuinely nervous on the drive over thinking I might just have forgotten literally everything. But ... managed to hold an hour of conversation (a dull enough conversation presumably), reading Chinese characters off slides and turning them into words in my head. Amazing how everything just sits in your head in a jumble and then when called upon just organises itself into something that makes sense. The big issue now is vocabulary - I've about 200 words to my name, which I know by character and pinyin, but need to massively ramp that up. Read somewhere that the average person in everyday conversation uses a range of 950 words (that's viewed as the minimum word count needed for unstilted conversation in any language), so going to try to add on 50 words a week now that I have a general mental system of the language. With this one-on-one class, the actual class, the two apps I use, am thinking I should be 'approximately conversational' by July.

Got a Seamus Heaney book for Christmas. We forget his perceptive insights for the simplists things .
                                                                                      They should read one each day at 6pm instead of the Angelus .

I've levelled up my Chinese by adding a weekly one-to-one class on top of the regular group class, as I'm off to Beijing in July. First one-on-one class tonight and I was genuinely nervous on the drive over thinking I might just have forgotten literally everything. But ... managed to hold an hour of conversation (a dull enough conversation presumably), reading Chinese characters off slides and turning them into words in my head. Amazing how everything just sits in your head in a jumble and then when called upon just organises itself into something that makes sense. The big issue now is vocabulary - I've about 200 words to my name, which I know by character and pinyin, but need to massively ramp that up. Read somewhere that the average person in everyday conversation uses a range of 950 words (that's viewed as the minimum word count needed for unstilted conversation in any language), so going to try to add on 50 words a week now that I have a general mental system of the language. With this one-on-one class, the actual class, the two apps I use, am thinking I should be 'approximately conversational' by July.
                                                                                        Quoting for wtf. Best wishes .

Languages, I suspect, are surprisingly easy.

There is a healthy mix of both kinds really. How it works out for your friends will really depend on the people, there are plenty of couples like that that are fine and plenty that it causes a problem in.

My friend is about to marry a meat and potatoes man who will barely even look at a vegan meal. He loves the food but doesn't want to. They often eat out separately as well as together. Good few friends are in each type of relationship. My last girlfriend wasn't vegan but extremely accommodating.

I'd say people ideally go for another vegan if they can, as their core values will likely be similar, but it's generally not a dealbreaker when they like somebody, it's hard enough to find high compatibility and it's a numbers game so you don't get everything. In general dating for me has been very easy as a man as there are a lot of vegan girls and non vegan girls admire it, I've never had to hit on a girl. Whereas for vegan women there is less of a pool and often a mans identity or masculinity can be more tied to meat.

I'Read somewhere that the average person in everyday conversation uses a range of 950 words (that's viewed as the minimum word count needed for unstilted conversation in any language), so going to try to add on 50 words a week now that I have a general mental system of the language. With this one-on-one class, the actual class, the two apps I use, am thinking I should be 'approximately conversational' by July.
                                                                                              Incredible to watch No1 Granddaughter who turned 4 today switch seamlessly form English to Italian.
                                                                                              Accent is an amazing part of it , her English is proper posh North London picked up in preschool and not a hint of her bogger father or Italian accented Mother, when she switches to Italian her voice changes completely to what I would have considered an outrageously comic caricature of and Italian accent... but its not its just the way Italian children speak. Apparently when she landed in Italian preschool in September she was speaking Italian with a London accent but that disappeared after just a couple of weeks. The ability of children's brains is stupendous!

No 2 Granddaughter at 18 months already communicates way more with her hands than she does with words and I'm a bit afraid that she won't get as strong a grounding in English because she'll only be getting it at home but we'll see.

Incredible to watch No1 Granddaughter who turned 4 today switch seamlessly form English to Italian.
                                                                                                Accent is an amazing part of it , her English is proper posh North London picked up in preschool and not a hint of her bogger father or Italian accented Mother, when she switches to Italian her voice changes completely to what I would have considered an outrageously comic caricature of and Italian accent... but its not its just the way Italian children speak. Apparently when she landed in Italian preschool in September she was speaking Italian with a London accent but that disappeared after just a couple of weeks. The ability of children's brains is stupendous!

No 2 Granddaughter at 18 months already communicates way more with her hands than she does with words and I'm a bit afraid that she won't get as strong a grounding in English because she'll only be getting it at home but we'll see.
                                                                                                Kid language acquisition is just phenomenal! Saw it with our own daughter - first in St Petersburg, picked up fluent Russian in a month, quickly forgotten, then French in a month or so. I'd speculate kids could pick up any number of languages before the age of about six.

2023 satellites off to a good start. Played one for ACOP in February and got there. 1st satellite, 1 bullet. If only it was always that easy lol

I'd say people ideally go for another vegan if they can, as their core values will likely be similar, but it's generally not a dealbreaker when they like somebody, it's hard enough to find high compatibility and it's a numbers game so you don't get everything. In general dating for me has been very easy as a man as there are a lot of vegan girls and non vegan girls admire it, I've never had to hit on a girl. Whereas for vegan women there is less of a pool and often a mans identity or masculinity can be more tied to meat.
                                                                                                    Yeah I figured it would be something like that.

Yeah, think I am sold. Could always do Paris, or indeed London, either but I feel the more mega-cities are either for doing something really specific (like a show or a match) and not so suited to the aimless wandering.
                                                                                                      I'll throw a vote in for Lisbon.
                                                                                                      Very family friendly, loads to do and great food

Madrid vetoed by the selection committee. Might go for Lisbon instead so.

All 70s stoned and still amazing . Never sat this clip before.

1100

Have you checked your vents?

People tend to stuff newspaper into them to stop the draught, check the previous owners haven't done that.

2023 satellites off to a good start. Played one for ACOP in February and got there. 1st satellite, 1 bullet. If only it was always that easy lol
                                                                                                                I thought you were sarcastically referring to the failure of the UK satellite launch last night first.

Did someone here recommend Martinhal Sagres in Portugal before?
                                                                                                                  Sagres is a nice part of the Algarve and quiet but it's quite far from everything. You'll need to hire a car also as public transport is very poor. It's 90 mins by car from the airport or 3-4 hours over a couple buses or trains. However if it's a family break and you're not planning on too much travel or exploring then I'm sure you'll find Sagres to be fine.

I stayed in Lagos a few years back. On reflection it is probably as far west from the airport as I'd consider basing myself in future.

Sagres is a nice part of the Algarve and quiet but it's quite far from everything. You'll need to hire a car also as public transport is very poor. It's 90 mins by car from the airport or 3-4 hours over a couple buses or trains. However if it's a family break and you're not planning on too much travel or exploring then I'm sure you'll find Sagres to be fine.

I stayed in Lagos a few years back. On reflection it is probably as far west from the airport as I'd consider basing myself in future.
                                                                                                                    Thanks for the info. We're trying to plan a week away with our small boy who will be just under two at the time, so main priority is that wherever we go is really well set up to do some of the parenting heavy lifting for the week! I'm pretty sure someone here gave this place the old 7 thumbs up before but not sure whether they had younger or older kids. It looks very nice but being 5* it's on the higher side pricewise and as you said the distance from the airport is not ideal.

Myself and my wife did a 5* all inclusive in Mexico for two weeks a few years ago and I was fit to blow my brains out by the end of it, but I think I could probably get over being confined to the resort in this case provided there would be kids clubs and babysitters so I can go for dinner and beer as I wish. M

Not sure you'll get much in terms of kids club craic for a sub 2-year old? I'm currently holiday shopping as well. Have been looking at the 5* all-inclusive stuff, but I'm wary of resorts as I'm not a 'sit around' type of person in the slightest. She wants to do 10 days minimum but unless there was other stuff around I think I'd go scatty. The cruise last year was the absolute perfect balance of relaxing and doing stuff, with constant changes of scenery, and my kids are old enough now where we would give them the run of the ship, but probably couldn't do that in a resort or whatever. Shame cruises are now 2x last year's price!

Had slipped my mind that I need 8 of my holidays for Rugby WC adventures so might hold off until.closer the time.

16 y/o is having the life of Reilly anyway. Came home last night all happy that someone had dropped out of the school trip to Paris and she had a spot. So €700 forked over for that. She's going to Paris in March, NYC in May with Mrs D3, Gaeltacht in June, Croatia in July.

Might hold fire on further trips in 2023 just as a matter of principle.

As part of my research last night I did pick up that TAP airfares are crazy cheap (like 50-60% of Ryanair), but that they have awful ratings from their customers.

Surely couldn't be too bad if you're flying direct off season. Anyone ever used them?