Actually did that today - reestimated the rebuild costs, and they were indeed quite a bit over what the insurance rebuild cost is for. Insurance is up for renewal at the moment, so rang them and only cost a tenner extra a year to go from being 85% insured to 100% insured.

Simple table here to calculate it: https://scsi.ie/consumer/build/house...ld-calculator/ just need your house square metre size and type of house it is and multiple it out.
    Mine is 12k to 15k over the calculator, so looks like valuer did a good job.

Kinda come full circle on the queen thing. The whole queue thing is stupid. And we wouldn't do it because its stupid. But it is also glorious stupid. Almost an endearing feature of a nation. Better stop now as I'm at risk of complimenting those bastards.
      IPB Royal Correspondent reporting! Live from the imperial capital.

I walked up towards Tate Modern on the south bank this morning and THE QUEUE was still going strong. Anyone in it had been shuffling along since midnight at least. Despite this, they all seemed remarkably good humoured. The waiter at breakfast did say he'd been talking to the cops and there had been quite a few medical issues in the crowd overnight. I'd estimate THE QUEUE is ~95% white, and looks to be pretty middle class. Quite a few military medals, regimental ties etc on display. Ironically 95% of the stewards are non-white, which probably says something too. No real emotional hum coming off THE QUEUE, just a dignified solemnity.

So yeah, we're Irish and it's basically our mission in life to mock the Brits but this is weirdly impressive to see in the flesh. She obviously symbolised something important to them and they are commemorating her in style.

Will report further.

View looking towards Blackfriars at about 9am.
      20220917_091633.jpg

You’ve been watching too much sky news
        its pathetic
        Can’t think of a single Irish persons death that would cause the level of dribble we are seeing in the uk for even 1 day and that is a great thing. What a bunch of embarrassing cabbages
        The monarchy means alot to alot of people over there. It does here also. I don't particularly get it myself but if people want to queue to see a 96 year old woman who was queen for 70 years, so what?

It's certainly a historic moment. What we are seeing happen has never happened in most of our lives. Not often we can say that. 95% of people have never seen a different monarch to her, have never seen the pomp etc of a monarchical funeral. I've watched quite a bit of it over the last few days. A lot of it is dribble as you say, such as the constant watch of the hearse driving to Edinburgh but hey ho.

Mine is 12k to 15k over the calculator, so looks like valuer did a good job.
          Same for the one we're trying to buy. Good valuer or valuer who has that table and just added 15k to make it look like they weren't using that table?

New 'Grand Tour' trip just landed on Prime Video. Meant to be amazing. Those lads on their global trips are epic TV.

The monarchy means alot to alot of people over there. It does here also. I don't particularly get it myself but if people want to queue to see a 96 year old woman who was queen for 70 years, so what?

It's certainly a historic moment. What we are seeing happen has never happened in most of our lives. Not often we can say that. 95% of people have never seen a different monarch to her, have never seen the pomp etc of a monarchical funeral. I've watched quite a bit of it over the last few days. A lot of it is dribble as you say, such as the constant watch of the hearse driving to Edinburgh but hey ho.
              Got me looking at stats, it’s 86.4 %

I think most are filing by the coffin to make sure the words of the song are right
                lizzy in the box,lizzy in the box

i might be wrong

I think most are filing by the coffin to make sure the words of the song are right
                  lizzy in the box,lizzy in the box

i might be wrong
                  They only see the box though

They can play
                    What’s in the box while they are there

You'd be a fool to think we are any less idiotic than our neighbors.
                      We Lose our shit over nonsense like a scruffy football pitch, or a coked up twerp in a Christmas jumper playing with kids

Lead lined too. So even superman with his x-ray vision can't see anything.

A link to the past when Britain was an economic super power, helped unite Europe to stop fascism and was respected around the globe.

The same type of patriotism/sense of self that the Brexit mob managed to twist so completely.

New 'Grand Tour' trip just landed on Prime Video. Meant to be amazing. Those lads on their global trips are epic TV.
                            It's tired and repetitive.
                            Not their best, and I'd be a fan generally.

​​​​​​Staged and scripted beyond belief.
                            Ok obviously except for the accident

Flat earthers are slightly below monarchists in my order of imbeciles.

In 1979 we had a traffic jam that ran solid from Portlaoise to the Phoenix Park to see the Pope.

He was still alive at the time…

That was a cracking SA v Arg match there, how the Argies let that go at the end? Must be so frustrating to be their coach

You'd be a fool to think we are any less idiotic than our neighbors.
                                      We Lose our shit over nonsense like a scruffy football pitch, or a coked up twerp in a Christmas jumper playing with kids
                                      gtfo
                                      You are definitely a John Bullshite artist .

Those cunts demanding respect from nations they disrespected in every way possible.wtf. what a dunderhead comparison . The shite going on over there is puke inducing .

Can report they're still at it as we tottered back down the south bank from the National Theatre. THE QUEUE has developed a life and a logic all of its own. It might actually be more talked about than ER herself.

Cops everywhere btw. Must be double triple overtime for the Old Bill.

It's tired and repetitive.
                                          Not their best, and I'd be a fan generally.

​​​​​​Staged and scripted beyond belief.
                                          Ok obviously except for the accident
                                          Unfortunately you are right. Pity really.

Must have had ten people ask us today 'what do you think of all this?'. They're fully aware it's mad.

One taxi driver did say he thinks Charles 'is a wanker but I can say that to you because you're Irish'.

Getting too much help for an interview I have on Wednesday / Thursday. Its like everyone I've made a decent connection with over the years has come together to help me get the new job, in terms of advice, prep. Its a literal team of people. Two poor fuckers are even going to listen to my proposed presentation on Monday and waste maybe two hours of their lives. Ugh. Am a bit nervous about letting people down. Wednesday is a presentation of a research study (Thursday is the interview itself) and I simply haven't been able to finish it, I'm stuck on a particularly difficult testing part and can't seem to find a suitable solution knowing there's a few people on the interview panel who are going to be looking for ways to say I fucked up.

It'll be grand

Crack open a bottle of wine the evening before .maybe pop down to the pub for a couple of swift pints

What could possibly go wrong!

THE QUEUE looks a lot worse this morning, plenty of people looking really fatigued and grey. Quite a few young kids in the line too which doesn't seem like responsible parenting. Loads of Salvation Army types handing out hot drinks water and there must have been a big blanket handout too.

Situation normal.

We ordered Chinese from a local takeaway (we won't name them) went to pick it up and as I was driving home, heard the bags rustling and moving!!

I thought what on earth is that? Has something got in the bag?

I thought I could see a little pair of eyes peering out.

I was driving so pulled over, I leaned forward, picked up the bag, put it on the passenger seat and there it was again, more rustling and little eyes looking out behind the beef curry!

I thought its got to be a rat or a mouse or something, so I carefully pulled the bag down ...

And there it was ...

... !!
                                                    A Peeking Duck

It was quite cringe inducing watching middle aged people in Stetsons fighting in the City Centre last night. Apparently a disagreement as to which side of the Liffey was Smithfields . Lolculchies . The fresh air was punched quite a bit

Probably more entertaining than Canelo vs GGG to be fair.

Raoul have you made it to the top of the queue yet ? Remember no selfies

Anyone still working at any of the Irish bookies? I'm looking for sponsorship for an e-sports event. PM me if so.

Raoul have you made it to the top of the queue yet ? Remember no selfies
                                                              I tried the priority boarding queue but it didn't work out.

Back in our republic thankfully but that was certainly a historical sight to behold. I imagine they all heave a big sigh tonight and back to normal service tomorrow.

Horror show. Not for the squeamish.

I’m not getting the same warm and fuzzies the Irish media is telling me to feel re Charles embarrassing Jeffrey donaldson

much as I love to see unionists humiliated it takes some fucking neck from Charlie to humiliate just about democratically elected representatives.
                                                                  can’t wait for the tide to urn, won’t take long, I reckon a few days max before the Queen is in the ground before the press start turning on him
                                                                  I do get the feeling this is the last grand show tolerated by the public and media.
                                                                  Especially as Charlie probably hasn't got 20+ years left in him for him to seep into the public consciousness.

I do get the feeling this is the last grand show tolerated by the public and media.
                                                                    Especially as Charlie probably hasn't got 20+ years left in him for him to seep into the public consciousness.
                                                                    Coronation next spring/summer will probably be another big deal. And it can obviously be a more upbeat affair with colour, music, celebration, parties etc. Though just a long weekend rather than a 10 day affair.

He looks a lot more kingly now than he did as a younger man with big ears and fairly crippling social anxiety.

After two weeks of mourning we have a clear winner

they must be dying for a cup of tay all the same, fair play to the young lads who were doing the coffin carrying duties as they all looked scared shitless but managed to get the job done.

Italian tv giving it full coverage as well, I guess there's no cycling on today

He’s waited so long for the gig. He’ll sleep for a month after all this I bet. A distant relative died over the weekend in blightly. A man given 2 months to live 12 years ago. If anyone should have been made king it was this fellow. He was a cross between Victor Meldrew and Victor Meldrew. In fact he was his doppelganger. Similarly he was an amusing chap also . He frequented a lot of guest houses in the UK as he liked his weekends away. Some of his trip reports were akin to the best episodes of One Foot..
                                                                              I think King Charlie will fk the whole shebang up. He was kept away from it for so long and now he’s an eccentric pensioner with shiny new things. His unfettered crankiness will shine through for sure and every broadsheet will resemble the News of the World in it’s tatty pomp. Long Live the King. The Class divide in the UK will come to a head in the next few years. The King will be needed to quieten the nation. Ermm, I can’t use this, take it away , take it away. Also something dodgy about William. (I’ve heard that before)

Italian tv giving it full coverage as well, I guess there's no cycling on today
                                                                                I find it kinda hilarious that its on Sky Sports

A man who has a flunky squeeze his toothpaste on to his toothbrush is not the King for the times coming in the UK

Actually did that today - reestimated the rebuild costs, and they were indeed quite a bit over what the insurance rebuild cost is for. Insurance is up for renewal at the moment, so rang them and only cost a tenner extra a year to go from being 85% insured to 100% insured.

Simple table here to calculate it: https://scsi.ie/consumer/build/house...ld-calculator/ just need your house square metre size and type of house it is and multiple it out.
                                                                                    slightly late reply as I haven’t been on.
                                                                                    But calculators are famously useless. They are a product of the insurance industry notorious for undervaluing rebuild costs.
                                                                                    It’s basically a sq.m rate right? Take a look at the rate for Dublin and ask if you could build a new house for that price? And bear in mind that full rebuild costs are usually higher than new build costs on a green site.

they must be dying for a cup of tay all the same, fair play to the young lads who were doing the coffin carrying duties as they all looked scared shitless but managed to get the job done.
                                                                                      Remember carrying my Grannies coffin from the bottom of the hill in Ringsend to the church on a really wet day (tradition for anyone who lived there) and my foot slipping. Don’t know how the coffin wasn’t dropped.

slightly late reply as I haven’t been on.
                                                                                        But calculators are famously useless. They are a product of the insurance industry notorious for undervaluing rebuild costs.
                                                                                        It’s basically a sq.m rate right? Take a look at the rate for Dublin and ask if you could build a new house for that price? And bear in mind that full rebuild costs are usually higher than new build costs on a green site.
                                                                                        Yeah - just sqm rate to be multiplied by the size of your house. I was just using it as the insurance industry uses it. Would it maybe be worth just adding an extra €50k on top. It said €230k for our place, so i wouldn't mind erring on the side of caution.

These UK stats are just mad.

korrupt kip of a country

I read a critique of that article yesterday after it went viral. It was mainly coming at it from the US perspective that the narrative of US is a poor society is pretty inaccurate.

Middle class is doing quite well but not shown and what is a little funny from the view if you look closely is that the US figures are actually only up to 2019 while lots of the other figures are 2020.

FT data is proprietary too and some other data has US doing better too.I thought an interesting one was that when accounting for adjusted disposable income which basically accounts for US healthcare expenditure, the US apparently comes out further ahead than EU.

Loads of soft measures like house space, car ownership, meat consumption among others indicating that lots more Americans than the article suggests doing well.

Major issues of poverty for many but I think the idea of “Poor society with a few rich people” seems like a misrepresentation.

filedata/fetch?id=1725090&d=1663616486&type=thumb
                                                                                              Last edited by Solksjaer!; 19-09-22, 19:43.

I read a critique of that article yesterday after it went viral. It was mainly coming at it from the US perspective that the narrative of US is a poor society is pretty inaccurate.

Middle class is doing quite well but not shown and what is a little funny from the view if you look closely is that the US figures are actually only up to 2019 while lots of the other figures are 2020.

FT data is proprietary too and some other data has US doing better too.I thought an interesting one was that when accounting for adjusted disposable income which basically accounts for US healthcare expenditure, the US apparently comes out further ahead than EU.

Loads of soft measures like house space, car ownership, meat consumption among others indicating that lots more Americans than the article suggests doing well.

Major issues of poverty for many but I think the idea of “Poor society with a few rich people” seems like a misrepresentation.
                                                                                                That may be the case, and you've read it more than me, but Murdoch seems a fairly spot-on analyst. And without wanting to pick a small bit of what you said, I'm not sure those three measures are great. House space is a function of available space, but probably because people tend to live quite separated from each other. And people tend to get more life satisfaction from living together. Car ownership is probably a function of need to own a car for long commutes. I'd imagine there are very few people in Europe that can't afford to own a car, but rather they don't have to own a car, because they have more convenient forms of transport. And meat-eating also - that's a strange one. Once again, I think a lot of Europeans choose not to eat meat out of a position of privilege, rather than poverty.

Plus Europe probably eats far more fish than the US, which is probably a better protein than meat.

That may be the case, and you've read it more than me, but Murdoch seems a fairly spot-on analyst. And without wanting to pick a small bit of what you said, I'm not sure those three measures are great. House space is a function of available space, but probably because people tend to live quite separated from each other. And people tend to get more life satisfaction from living together. Car ownership is probably a function of need to own a car for long commutes. I'd imagine there are very few people in Europe that can't afford to own a car, but rather they don't have to own a car, because they have more convenient forms of transport. And meat-eating also - that's a strange one. Once again, I think a lot of Europeans choose not to eat meat out of a position of privilege, rather than poverty.

I agree with you, they’re not things I’d lean on at all. I feel they’re the type of measures that indicate progress in by-gone years for many developed countries.
                                                                                                    Arguably more expensive to eat well as a vegan now than anything else.

I think it was more the headline that drew some ire rather than a critique of what he highlights is going at the extremes. Most people didn’t appear to argue with that.
                                                                                                    Like you said, he seems very good so I have no doubt, he was very aware that he’d get some criticism of the headline. Seems like a good use of somewhat sensationalist headline to disseminate info on a pretty flawed system.

Isn't US life expectancy falling? Surely that should be a stat that is top of the pile.

Feral Ballyfermot scumbags. Some clips of the dopes . Looked ike the whole neighbourhood was acting up

That's about 5 minutes from me mams house.
                                                                                                            I'd like to say it's a new thing....

That's about 5 minutes from me mams house.
                                                                                                              I'd like to say it's a new thing....
                                                                                                              What was going on?

Celebrating passing their driving test by the looks of it

Isn't US life expectancy falling? Surely that should be a stat that is top of the pile.
                                                                                                                  Am...... global pandemic ..... aahhh.

somewhat:
                                                                                                                    This year’s life expectancy figure is 0.9 years lower than last year’s. Covid-19 accounted for about half of the decline, and a category encompassing accidents and unintentional injuries is responsible for another 16%. That category includes overdoses; in fact, about half of the unintentional injury deaths in this analysis were due to overdoses.

somewhat:
                                                                                                                      Getting out of the Safari truck in Ballyfermot for daring up close picture probably accounted for some deaths also

"Ballyfermot has one patrol car it shares with Clondalkin"
                                                                                                                        WTaF

Big Putin speech incoming. No doubt some plan even more cunning than the current one.
                                                                                                                          Would imagine:
                                                                                                                          1. speeding up integration of occupied Ukraine into Russia, with rigged referenda.
                                                                                                                          2. because then Ukraine would be 'attacking Russia'
                                                                                                                          3. some steps towards mobilization to replace all the tens of thousands already killed