Its actually hard to take him serious (serious as a grown-up comic) as that Kenan and Kel thing is just so ingrained, and he doesn't look substantially different than he did as a kid.

That cleared it all up , cheers lads.

Ha! Same here, have zero idea who any of those names mentioned are.

I feel it's my duty to read the Tax Defaulters List so can shame anyone I know who is named.

The Storyville interview with Gorbachev on BBC4 now is fascinating, incredible moment when he becomes a bit reticent when it's put to him about Russian democracy dying the day Putin took over from Yeltsin. He manages to say nothing and say everything he needs to.

Absolutely deranged scenes in England - pathetic behaviour from the grovelling crowds- sad to see
              assume knives will be out from Charles down the line anyway

some great stuff in marina hydes latest:
              Unfortunately, we are only a few days into the official mourning period, and various tests are being failed. The man in Edinburgh was slammed down on to the pavement by two members of the public who appeared keen to go further. Instead of arresting him for his words, perhaps it would have been better for the police to speak to the two guys who physically floored him?

This isolated incident, in police parlance, is not an isolated incident. In Oxford, a man was arrested then de-arrested for shouting “Who elected him?” at the local proclamation of the new king. In Westminster, a police officer was filmed demanding the details of a man who had held up a blank sheet of paper. The man (a barrister) asked what would have happened if he’d written “Not My King” on it, at which point the officer requested his details, “because you said you were going to write stuff on it that may offend people around the King … it may offend someone.” Hmmm. Thank you, PC Brains. The idea that the UK is a cradle of free speech is one of those comforting stories the country likes to tell itself, when all manner of things from the libel laws to teachers being hounded to the Daily Mail devoting its entire front page to outrage that a comedian mocked Liz Truss says differently.

This must be the stupidest commercial 'tribute' to the Queen.
                They are plannng to close down for the day of the funeral, even people who are in the middle of a holiday will be fecked out for the day.

Whoever made that decision really needs his head examined.

Our Friends in the North - Wikipedia is being shown by BBC4 over the next few Wednesdays, first 3 episodes tonight.

Find myself, unusually, at a completely loose end in Tralee this evening. Any suggestions as to how to pass the time? Currently scheduled a pub, grub and a book while watching the football but as a non-drinker it's not really grabbing me as a good use of a free evening.

Fenit is definitely worth a visit if the weather holds up. Pretty sure our senior team are training this evening ahead of vital championship match at the weekend which should be an open session if you wanted to stroll up for a look. It's walking distance from the town centre - V92 PY2C. I'll post again if anything else comes to mind. Most of the best stuff around here is outdoorsy particularly for a non-drinker so the evenings drawing in and the weather would be working against you.

Where are you looking at for food?

Fenit is definitely worth a visit if the weather holds up. Pretty sure our senior team are training this evening ahead of vital championship match at the weekend which should be an open session if you wanted to stroll up for a look. It's walking distance from the town centre - V92 PY2C. I'll post again if anything else comes to mind. Most of the best stuff around here is outdoorsy particularly for a non-drinker so the evenings drawing in and the weather would be working against you.

Where are you looking at for food?
                              I don't even know what I am looking to do to be honest. If there was some good local spot for music (hard to imagine on a Wednesday) or similar I would happily go there. As a last resort I'd find a game of cards. I like the idea of strolling down to O'Rahilly's to watch some training, might give that a go.

Anywhere particularly good for food?

Go on a big walk/hike . Dont speak to locals, if you have to, disguise your accent but limit replues to 'Ok sooo' .

Magnus beginning to look like a sore loser although there is a touch of Michelle Smith about Niemann.

I don't even know what I am looking to do to be honest. If there was some good local spot for music (hard to imagine on a Wednesday) or similar I would happily go there. As a last resort I'd find a game of cards. I like the idea of strolling down to O'Rahilly's to watch some training, might give that a go.

The name of the casino in Tralee is called Oceans casino and is to be avoided at all costs. I would only recommend going there if you are looking to get fleeced.

Of all the places to be stuck and not drinking though. Tralee. Jaysus. Bear Grylls has been in nicer spots. Bad break.

Sean Óg's will trad music for sure. I would be surprised if other bars around the place don't too e.g. Paddy Mac's, Bailey's Corner. The Courtyard in Benner's hotel does pizzas and is a nice spot to pass a bit of time with a book although might be a bit cold this evening. Nicest little bar to find a corner in for a chill is Jack Mac's which is only across the road from the courthouse if that's where you are.

The food scene here is pretty crap - people like early bird specials where you get big portions and massive glasses of wine at low prices. The food in the clubhouse ('the Klub' - shudder) is actually very decent as pub grub goes if you are up there anyway. Recently we have had ok meals in Chez Christophe (courthouse adjacent), Cassidy's, Bella Bia & Toba. Grand but nothing special. Best food around is probably either in Ballygarry hotel or the Tankard which does great seafood on the way to Fenit.

I think the card club are notorious for over-raking so best avoided.

Of all the places to be stuck and not drinking though. Tralee. Jaysus. Bear Grylls has been in nicer spots. Bad break.
                                          Killarney, home to the world's greatest inferiority complex thinly disguised as a superiority complex. Sad.

Killarney folk have that inferiority complex alright. Luckily, I'm not from there.

I actually thought Gneeveguilla was a lot closer to it than it is now that I look at the map.

Since I don't drink I wouldn't be averse to taking a spin down to Killarney if there was something worth doing. Any suggestions there?

Again, when you're not drinking, you're limited. 2 good drinking towns but not a whole pile else.

If you've got your hiking gear, Torc mountain can be done in 90mins to 2 hours. Round trip from the upper car park. Or Strickeen which is in the Gap of Dunloe, about 90mins from Kate Kearneys car park and back. Both have a we'll worn track and railway sleepers on Torc so impossible to go wrong.

Card club only has tourneys on Friday according to their Facebook page. I'm not aware of anywhere, even a pub, doing a midweek game apart from a place in Killorglin on Thursday nights.

Not sure how warm it is there at the moment but do you swim? Keane mentioned Fenit and that would be gorgeous for a dip.

Go to the airport and get zuut to fly down for a chat.

@Kayroo

Is it worth a detour to Lisdoonvarna?

Budget is looking quite nice thanks to all the corporation tax income.

Looks like the amount you can earn tax-free will be €18,000. Then the 40% rate will only kick in at €39,000. That's really starting to look decent.

In the low-tax UK - you start paying your 20% at £12,000, and 40% at £50,000. So with our new rates we won't be substantially different to that. They pay 20% more on the £6,000 between £12,000 and £18,000, and we pay 20% more on the £11,000 between £39,000 and £50,000. Plus they have ferocious council and water bills on top.

Bit of a push really. That's very different to a few years ago when it was substantially less tax in the UK. Although I've no idea if our USC/PRSI makes a difference, can't remember if they have something similar. But, for longer-term prospects you'd have to be betting on Ireland to close that gap substantially. I mention this just because my brother-in-law from the North keeps tut-tutting about how low tax is in the UK.

A two-income household. Both earning €40,000 each. You'd see about a €1,500 increase in after-tax income - about a 2.5% increase in the previous after-tax income. That seems to be quite something.

Ha! Same here, have zero idea who any of those names mentioned are.
                                                            Zendaya is the young black actress from Dune. Kenan was a kids show from the 90s. Covering a few generations.

But the actual reason I posted it was the a reference to the DiCaprio dumps his girlfriends when they turn 25 stats there were posted here last week. Don't think the who was important

When I was there, I took a spin out to Killarney. But that was to browse the phenomenal whiskey selection at the Celtic Whiskey Bar - hardly a selling point. (highly recoment to the rest of ye though).
                                                              Can compare to the places Keane mentioned for food. But I had some extremely good seafood in The Oyster Tavern. On the way to Fenit also, in Spa, so closer to Tralee. Maybe Keane could advice if the others are better. But in general, going for seafood near a fishing port is nearly always a good bet.

But the actual reason I posted it was the a reference to the DiCaprio dumps his girlfriends when they turn 25 stats there were posted here last week. Don't think the who was important

We stayed in Rossbeigh a few weeks ago and ate in Jack’s in Cromane which was great.

If you’re going to venture as far as Killarney from Tralee, I’d recommend popping out there instead. I think Glenbeigh/Rossbeigh is a lovely spot.

In the low-tax UK - you start paying your 20% at £12,000, and 40% at £50,000. So with our new rates we won't be substantially different to that. They pay 20% more on the £6,000 between £12,000 and £18,000, and we pay 20% more on the £11,000 between £39,000 and £50,000. Plus they have ferocious council and water bills on top.
                                                                    Bit of a push really.
                                                                    Irish brackets clearly better for lower incomes. Breakeven at 44-45k. But that's obviously ignoring the value of different currencies.
                                                                    Always felt the 2 bracket tax system in Ireland (and the UK) is pretty harsh. On $40k USD it's around 18%. But I suppose the flip side is it climbs higher.
                                                                    THe poor lads earning a million+

Looks like the amount you can earn tax-free will be €18,000. Then the 40% rate will only kick in at €39,000. That's really starting to look decent.

Bit of a push really. That's very different to a few years ago when it was substantially less tax in the UK. Although I've no idea if our USC/PRSI makes a difference, can't remember if they have something similar. But, for longer-term prospects you'd have to be betting on Ireland to close that gap substantially. I mention this just because my brother-in-law from the North keeps tut-tutting about how low tax is in the UK.
                                                                      Quite nice in the short term for sure. The nature of vote buying give away budgets I guess. It's the last thing we need really and will likely fuel inflation.

Would be nice if we:

-Broadened the tax base to reduce our overreliance on corporation tax.
                                                                      -Targeted short team cost of living supports. Should be means tested in some way. Difficult I know coz you want to get supports out fast. Blanket supports to households with the highest rate of deposits in Europe not making sense.
                                                                      - Started to take the pensions time bomb seriously.
                                                                      - Kept a lid on public sector pay.
                                                                      - Factored in the real long term cost of health plans and climate\energy reform.
                                                                      - Stuck to agreed long term plans, spending rules and targets.

When I was there, I took a spin out to Killarney. But that was to browse the phenomenal whiskey selection at the Celtic Whiskey Bar - hardly a selling point. (highly recoment to the rest of ye though).
                                                                        Can compare to the places Keane mentioned for food. But I had some extremely good seafood in The Oyster Tavern. On the way to Fenit also, in Spa, so closer to Tralee. Maybe Keane could advice if the others are better. But in general, going for seafood near a fishing port is nearly always a good bet.
                                                                        Delighted to hear you had a good experience in the Oyster. I know the owner very well and I would be in there a lot. I've stopped recommending it in recent times because I found it quite hit and miss for a while but it's an incredibly beloved and popular establishment. The decor is amazing, it feels like something out of a mobster movie in the early 90s. The bar is always hopping too.

Quite nice in the short term for sure. The nature of vote buying give away budgets I guess. It's the last thing we need really and will likely fuel inflation.

Would be nice if we:

-Broadened the tax base to reduce our overreliance on corporation tax.
                                                                          -Targeted short team cost of living supports. Should be means tested in some way. Difficult I know coz you want to get supports out fast. Blanket supports to households with the highest rate of deposits in Europe not making sense.
                                                                          - Started to take the pensions time bomb seriously.
                                                                          - Kept a lid on public sector pay.
                                                                          - Factored in the real long term cost of health plans and climate\energy reform.
                                                                          - Stuck to agreed long term plans, spending rules and targets.

whooooah. lets not get crazy here. I wouldn't be able to take the time out to respond to this message if I had to rush out to my second job in the local chippers to make ends meet.

Can't imagine its a giveaway budget, given we are not even halfway through the election term. More that there is a sense that there needs to be something serious done about cost of living.

For cost of living supports - the perceived logic (I think correct) is that means testing takes ages to work out, costs more than is saved, and tends to be unfair at the margin. Plus, I suppose the government has a reasonable eye on the fact that they shouldn't just be giving breaks to poorer people who will never vote for them, but need to give something to their middle class base also - and indeed that makes sense.

Think there's a reasonably large ramp up in infrastructure also underway, and that goes some way to address a fair few of the other points. Better infrastructure allows a lot more development, which increases the population, which supports the tax base, the future health system and pensions, due to more young people who pay tax to support the elderly. We could probably though be vastly more ambitious on infrastructure. Its such an obvious win.

Not really disagreeing with you, just proferring some counter-interpretations.

Irish brackets clearly better for lower incomes. Breakeven at 44-45k. But that's obviously ignoring the value of different currencies.
                                                                            Always felt the 2 bracket tax system in Ireland (and the UK) is pretty harsh. On $40k USD it's around 18%. But I suppose the flip side is it climbs higher.
                                                                            THe poor lads earning a million+
                                                                            The increase in corporation tax is allowing us, a bit to diversify away from our traditional reliance on income tax and VAT. So it might continue to improve. I suppose we need a decade to know how reactive the tax take is to economic slowdowns, etc. But if it shows some stability, we could well transition into a reasonably low income tax economy.

Looks like the amount you can earn tax-free will be €18,000. Then the 40% rate will only kick in at €39,000. That's really starting to look decent
                                                                              Surprised to see you falling into this trap (the '40% rate'). It's 40% PAYE + PRSI +USC.

So more like 50%+ in taxes. Yay.

Surprised to see you falling into this trap (the '40% rate'). It's 40% PAYE + PRSI +USC.

So more like 50%+ in taxes. Yay.
                                                                                pfft I think in terms of 64% marginal tax rather than 51% due to the public sector addition of 13% pension and levy. But they mention in the article that they will move the USC also a fair bit, so I might be allowed away with it on this occasion.

Its a rather decent move though, overall? Especially for families with young kids as a new €200 childcare credit kicks in this year, to be increased to €400 next year. Thats also tied to a freezing of childcare costs, so it will be pure savings. Its proper 'help for families'. Might even make people less deadly scared of being able to afford children and increase the birth rate a bit.

Some might say that we are moving towards the socialist utopia we have long dreamed of.

Except, based on the posts today, those living in Tralee wanting to experience nightlife.
                                                                                  Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 14-09-22, 17:14.

It’s the start of the push to get voted back into power

Lovely! Lets hope they keep it up.

As a government they haven't done too bad. Covid outcomes very decent here, most people decently well protected economically when companies were about to collapse during covid. Now big moves on cost of living. There's a lot of countries worse off. Don't think SF are all that bad, but they do seem to focus more on who they won't help, while the current gov seems to be willing to do decent enough things for everyone.

Its not really clear that spending will have a huge effect on inflation. Most inflation has been in imported goods: given that we import about 80% of what we consume. So more domestic spending shouldn't really have much of an impact on the price of imported goods. It might have some effect on domestic services, but really those have already increased in price by 10% already, so this is just helping people to catch up with the loss in spending power.

Our Friends in the North - Wikipedia is being shown by BBC4 over the next few Wednesdays, first 3 episodes tonight.
                                                                                          Can't overstate how good this is but... LOL and FFS ... at putting it on at 10pm and running to 1.35am on a Wednesday. Idiots. I suppose I could seek out a DVD ... but I was kinda buzzed to think I'd be watching it at the same time as thousands of other people.

Fabulous..

Some might say that we are moving towards the socialist utopia we have long dreamed of.
                                                                                              Man, that's a boring dream. And 1962 says hello.

Delighted to hear you had a good experience in the Oyster. I know the owner very well and I would be in there a lot. I've stopped recommending it in recent times because I found it quite hit and miss for a while but it's an incredibly beloved and popular establishment. The decor is amazing, it feels like something out of a mobster movie in the early 90s. The bar is always hopping too.
                                                                                                Were you ever in the place just over the road? They have a deli downstairs and a restaurant upstairs. Think we ate there three times in a week, it was so good.

Spa Seafood yeah. I think the restaurant has been closed for ages, I only sat in there once years and years ago but people were saying it was too small a space to be worthwhile. They do takeaway out of the downstairs and they absolutely print money. I haven't had it in a while now but when we moved back down first if you rang them at 7pm they wouldn't even take your order as they had too many orders in to fulfill before closing already. The food is insane quality. It's a pity the restaurant isn't there anymore as that would definitely be a place you would have no trouble recommending. The West End in Fenit is another place that does really good seafood.

We really are in no position to slag the UK

Blame Pat Spillane
                                                                                                      he said Tallaght is great

Seems like a fine country to have that level of connection between politicians and ordinary everyday activities.

Keane - does your family pub do food? How is the menu decided, do you know? Just whatever the person in the kitchen knows what to do, or is a bit of research gone into it? Remember in the UK it being a big thing to get menu consultants

Not sure what you wanted Leo to do, walk off and says sorry your entertainment is shit?
                                                                                                            presumably he's there to say whoop whoop another 100 jobs created.

Keane - does your family pub do food? How is the menu decided, do you know? Just whatever the person in the kitchen knows what to do, or is a bit of research gone into it? Remember in the UK it being a big thing to get menu consultants
                                                                                                              We don't have a family pub. My mom had the lease on a pub for a year a long time ago but that was almost for the craic at the time - maybe that's what you're remembering? No other pub connection in the family.

Not sure what you wanted Leo to do, walk off and says sorry your entertainment is shit?
                                                                                                                presumably he's there to say whoop whoop another 100 jobs created.
                                                                                                                Don't think Leo was there.

Err, the other fella then.

My point still stands. Taoiseach isn't in charge of entertainment there is he?

Edit, it's not exactly Boris hiding in an industrial fridge levels of awkwardness?
                                                                                                                  Last edited by Micknail; 15-09-22, 12:34.

Somewhere in Tallaght .

Hi Anto, thats a cool black eye ya have there. Where did you get it?

Anto: Pennys

We don't have a family pub. My mom had the lease on a pub for a year a long time ago but that was almost for the craic at the time - maybe that's what you're remembering? No other pub connection in the family.
                                                                                                                      ah! Maybe I am remembering that.

Makes forking out a fortune for (face value) Laver Cup tickets almost seem cheap now!