Get a babysitter and tell Mrs DP to bring one of her friends. Otherwise they'll both have a shit night.

Don't watch as much football as I used to, even less so anything to do with a Scottish team. I flicked on the Celtic v Real Madrid game in the background while catching up on some work emails. Fuck me what a great start to it and I don't remember seeing any Celtic team play such beautiful, expansive, dynamic football. I hope they can maintain that level of intensity but their technical ability is well up there to be competitive in Europe.

Let them go DP .Busy with work? . WP WP . Peace .

Also you can threaten the child with another Garth gig if she doesnt behave. I see no downside except the unlikely event she likes the gig and your house is besieged by GB shite

Get a babysitter and tell Mrs DP to bring one of her friends. Otherwise they'll both have a shit night.
          1 billion percent this. I can't quite imagine how painful that would be for both of them. Its almost disrespectful to Garth.

Hope Celtic lose all their games badly(and rangers too). RTEwasting their pick showing these games, Scottie football doesn’t deserve any team in champs leaugue - let alone 2

The countdown is now on to the launch of the new Facebook VR premium headset. If this is done right it could really signal the potential of VR.
              You’ve been signalling the potential of VR for years now- still a niche deeply unimpressive load of balls just like I called it

Yeah I'm still waiting for a review of the tiny home treadmill, that I was expecting to become unusable after about 20 hours of use. Thank fuck you aren't escooting around the place anyway

I have suggested that...

The missus won tickets to garth Brooks for Friday.. She's planning to bring our 6 year old....
                    ... hold it right there. Not the kind of show anyone would be proud to say was their first ever.

Six y-o won't remember and won't care and your missus will be scundered with the boredom/pestering etc... and unless you have an 'in and out' plan... well... forget it

(eg. a direct Dublin bus to your front door from every exit at Croke Park basically, without that I wouldn't bother entertaining it).

Do what Raoul suggested. Get a baby sitter and let her enjoy it with a friend.

Hope Celtic lose all their games badly(and rangers too). RTEwasting their pick showing these games, Scottie football doesn’t deserve any team in champs leaugue - let alone 2
                      Lol... stick to fucking with rugby MG. Or sucking up to golf. Or hockey.

Or whatever it is you're pinning your mast to these days. Hard to argue there was at least entertaining sport there.
                      Last edited by BennyHiFi; 06-09-22, 21:19.

And finally tonight... Bjork's new single/video. Crazy and beautiful.

Anyone remember the name of the swanky hotel + casino in Slovenia that hosted a big poker event a few years ago?
                          If 13 years is "a few years" then it was the Grand Casino in Ljubljana. Assuming it was the old EMOP you're referring to.

Was out for a stroll and someone, exceedingly hot in an exotic way, comes up and asks for an address, as she is lost. Turns out she got off her bus stop far too many stops late. It took about ten minutes to ascertain this, due to her woeful English. The good news is that she is here to learn English, so hopefully this will become a problem of decreasing significance.

I say I'll walk her towards her place. Turns out she's from Mongolia. A profession of Russian teacher there. Which stopped being the lucrative position it used to be due to, eh, circumstances.

So off we go on our twenty minute jaunt. Along the way, I'm trying to give her exit points from the walk, as its quite dark out and I'm think she might be uncomfortable. So occasionally I'll point out the way to go from here or there, to give her the chance to go 'oh brill, I'll take it from here, cheers'. Which is rather hopeful, as the English is definitely an awful challenge at this stage in her learning journey. But she keeps nodding me on. As in, I'd point out the way and she'd look expectantly for me to lead the way.

So eventually we get to the start of her estate and I'm there going 'well, you know the way from here!', with a laugh as if, how could you not. And, and I don't think I'm imagining this, she seemed disappointed. As if she was going to invite me in or something. We ended up swapping numbers anyway. I wonder if I'm just oozing pheromones or something at the moment and its perhaps a medical issue.

If that requires ultra-bight red LEDs, then yes.
                              Any suggestion for a good primer of how the rapid changes in LED tech over the last 10 years came about?

Scottie football doesn’t deserve any team in champs leaugue - let alone 2
                                Curious phrasing - UEFA don't just dole out the spots because they like Scotland - the places (1 automatic, 1 through qualifiers) are there because of the performance of the Scottish teams over the previous 5 seasons. They've recently done better than some of the leagues (e.g., Serbia, Greece, Switzerland) who used to have that 1+1 allocation.
                                If Scotland doesn't 'deserve' the places after winning them, then who does?

Anyone remember the name of the swanky hotel + casino in Slovenia that hosted a big poker event a few years ago?
                                  Might also be Nova Gorica.
                                  Picturesque little spot next to the Italian border.

@DP.
                                    Send MiseryGuts to Garth Brooks with the 6 year old.
                                    At least then he'll be entitled to moan.

On 2nd thoughts the poor child will probably end up in therapy for years.

Was out for a stroll and someone, exceedingly hot in an exotic way, comes up and asks for an address, as she is lost. Turns out she got off her bus stop far too many stops late. It took about ten minutes to ascertain this, due to her woeful English. The good news is that she is here to learn English, so hopefully this will become a problem of decreasing significance.

I say I'll walk her towards her place. Turns out she's from Mongolia. A profession of Russian teacher there. Which stopped being the lucrative position it used to be due to, eh, circumstances.

So off we go on our twenty minute jaunt. Along the way, I'm trying to give her exit points from the walk, as its quite dark out and I'm think she might be uncomfortable. So occasionally I'll point out the way to go from here or there, to give her the chance to go 'oh brill, I'll take it from here, cheers'. Which is rather hopeful, as the English is definitely an awful challenge at this stage in her learning journey. But she keeps nodding me on. As in, I'd point out the way and she'd look expectantly for me to lead the way.

So eventually we get to the start of her estate and I'm there going 'well, you know the way from here!', with a laugh as if, how could you not. And, and I don't think I'm imagining this, she seemed disappointed. As if she was going to invite me in or something. We ended up swapping numbers anyway. I wonder if I'm just oozing pheromones or something at the moment and its perhaps a medical issue.
                                      She gave you the recognition codes and led you to the safe house.

Moscow Centre will be disappointed with their recruit. Don't drink any tea.

Jesus, if you thought the Boris cabinet was odd....

Known a few people from Mongolia over the years and they tend to be odd as fuck. It's a country that has almost no connections to the outside world.

Hitch you are either oozing pheromones or its Walter Mitty syndrome. Either way im jealous . Very Jealous .

Seems as though the Ukrainian forces are making advances in the east as well as the south now. Good news all round.

Long lines of Russian prisoners marching into captivity would be a wonderful thing to see on the news...

Any suggestion for a good primer of how the rapid changes in LED tech over the last 10 years came about?
                                                I've spent the last 20 years working on transistors, I just said yes when FB came knocking....so if you find one, please send it on

This one might answer a few of your questions: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/...lpor.202100427

I'm mostly going to be working on improving brightness, which is hindered by defects (particularly at internal interfaces) that essentially make the current die away before it can produce any light. It's almost the same problem that transistors had which made it difficult to keep increasing processor speed.

@DP.
                                                  Send MiseryGuts to Garth Brooks with the 6 year old.
                                                  At least then he'll be entitled to moan.

On 2nd thoughts the poor child will probably end up in therapy for years.
                                                  Why would you assume the 6yo is male?

Talking of assumptions, I'm assuming the 'he' in question here is PSV/MG, not DPs little female pigeon.

DeadPolly has decreed that DeadPigeon is going to see Garth Brooks and that 'it will be fine"
                                                      After many fruitess attempts at reason, DeadParrot is happy to sit back and see how it pans out and will heroically keep the "i told you so"s to a minimum.
                                                      Sadly, I am of the sex that lacks the ability to store this kind of ammunition until such time as it could be most beneficial

Jesus, if you thought the Boris cabinet was odd....
                                                          Listen without limits, with BBC Sounds. Catch the latest music tracks, discover binge-worthy podcasts, or listen to radio shows – all whenever you want

2:23:00

"But I also have to remind you nick that the majority of healthcare is actually delivered through primary care, through our doctors, through our dentists, through chiropractors, all those other supports that is there not just through hospitals"

She's gonna be a gift that keeps coming.
                                                          Serious Biffo vibes

I'd assumed that MiseryGuts is male. Whatever gender he/she/it identifies as
                                                            he/she/it certainly does enough moaning.

Talking of assumptions, I'm assuming the 'he' in question here is PSV/MG, not DPs little female pigeon.
                                                              Did you just assume PSV's gender?

Chelsea still seem pleasingly ready to sack managers at the drop of a hat.

I'd assumed that MiseryGuts is male. Whatever gender he/she/it identifies as
                                                                  he/she/it certainly does enough moaning.
                                                                  You’d have a case of I was posting on the rainbow , lollipops and positivity thread.
                                                                  as it is me and the lad posting all the poker bad beats (dinekes?)are the only people making on topic posts in this thread

Curious phrasing - UEFA don't just dole out the spots because they like Scotland - the places (1 automatic, 1 through qualifiers) are there because of the performance of the Scottish teams over the previous 5 seasons. They've recently done better than some of the leagues (e.g., Serbia, Greece, Switzerland) who used to have that 1+1 allocation.
                                                                    If Scotland doesn't 'deserve' the places after winning them, then who does?
                                                                    You know what I mean- least competitive leaugue in Europe- last wine by a non old firm team over 35 years ago

If Putin's rhetoric today is an accurate gauge of how the war is going for RuSSia, then it must be going extremely shit on the battlefields.

Liking what Scholz is saying too. If there's one type of problem you would back Germany to solve, it's an engineering one.

If Putin's rhetoric today is an accurate gauge of how the war is going for RuSSia, then it must be going extremely shit on the battlefields.

Liking what Scholz is saying too. If there's one type of problem you would back Germany to solve, it's an engineering one.
                                                                        Not a geopolitical nerd. What are you implying here? They're struggling so bad he's gonna stop the pipeline and the country's main source of income. Only way to stop the eu/us military support of Ukraine?

You know what I mean- least competitive leaugue in Europe- last wine by a non old firm team over 35 years ago
                                                                          But that's kind of irrelevant to how many places they get. All UEFA can do is come up with a fair formula to decide places based on the medium-term performance of clubs in each league. The actual competitiveness of each individual league doesn't matter. That's an internal Scottish football issue.

Arguably it's to the credit of Celtic/Rangers that they've managed to get the Scotland co-efficient to a Top 10 ranking whilst having to do the heavy lifting on their own.

Not a geopolitical nerd. What are you implying here? They're struggling so bad he's gonna stop the pipeline and the country's main source of income. Only way to stop the eu/us military support of Ukraine?
                                                                            RuSSia has gone, in the space of a week or so, to declaring outright energy war on the West (that includes all of us). The taps are turned off. This is good - it clarifies for the feeble-minded who hadn't realised this before now that RuSSia is 100%, incontrovertibly our enemy and we can focus on defeating them via all the economic means we have at our disposal. Other allies can go further and help defeat them via weapons\training for the UAF.

Now RuSSia can't win this one. They may cause some short-term pain and dislocation but a unified West has the economic firepower to overcome that and the Germans are signalling very strongly that they are quite happy to cut RuSSian energy out of their economy for good.

It increasingly looks like it can't win on the Ukrainian battlefield either.

All Mad Vlad's ranting and raving can't conceal the fact of how badly they are losing. This is the end of the beginning.

Did you just assume PSV's gender?
                                                                              it may have changed since the last time I saw him/her/them, fair comment.

Known a few people from Mongolia over the years and they tend to be odd as fuck. It's a country that has almost no connections to the outside world.
                                                                                Listening to a Podcast on Mongolian Wrestling once, aka Bokh. I think that alone qualifies them as pretty odd.

I think I could get on board with a rating system where the oddness of countries are ranked based on their native grappling style. I might not have work out all the kinks, but so far it's 100% Hitch aligned.

Mongol_Bokh5_sKnwa0J.jpg

RuSSia has gone, in the space of a week or so, to declaring outright energy war on the West (that includes all of us). The taps are turned off. This is good - it clarifies for the feeble-minded who hadn't realised this before now that RuSSia is 100%, incontrovertibly our enemy and we can focus on defeating them via all the economic means we have at our disposal. Other allies can go further and help defeat them via weapons\training for the UAF.

Now RuSSia can't win this one. They may cause some short-term pain and dislocation but a unified West has the economic firepower to overcome that and the Germans are signalling very strongly that they are quite happy to cut RuSSian energy out of their economy for good.

It increasingly looks like it can't win on the Ukrainian battlefield either.

All Mad Vlad's ranting and raving can't conceal the fact of how badly they are losing. This is the end of the beginning.
                                                                                  You made the point yesterday regarding European unity. I think that’s clearly true but I also worry about how long that unity can last if faced with a difficult winter or two.
                                                                                  We are clearly in a democratic recession globally and there are enough indicators across Europe to suggest that there are Putin sympathisers waiting in the wings.

Putin has a lack of accountability, time and as a result the ability to change course whenever he wishes. It appears to me that he may view this as the most opportune time to put the squeeze on Europe but he can quite easily pivot if it gets too much.

They have cash flows now because the sanctions aren’t impacting their bottom dollar with the EU already rolling back some details of the oil embargo at the end of the year.

The real pain for Russia won’t be for another couple of years when the semi-conductors they need for manufacturing and other tech aren’t available but that’s still some time before the tangible impact is felt.
                                                                                  Those sectors are suffering massively already with production in Trucks etc down 50% or so but if the people are supported then it’s most likely fine on the ground for many.

I think I’m probably a little more pessimistic about the EU position given we just haven’t seen what will happen over the next few months as pressure mounts on governments.

Are you assuming that Dinekes is a rainbow/lollipop/positive?

Won an I Pad in an online comp with Avantcard. Also entered a load of comps on Sky VIP - maybe Sat Nav can do a shimmy on those too.

Hearing a lot more about potential blackouts in recent days. Previously i had passed it off as almost doomsday like - as in, fairly unlikely to happen.

But recent talk has it as being almost inevitable.

Is this the case?

I'd almost be tempted to go to Garth just to observe the DP experience. This is a worse family decision than that time I was thinking of moving the family to Bray.

Odds on deadpigeon turning out emo or goth in her formative years, after being forced to see garth Brooks as a toddler, have gone up a hundred fold

Attempting (unsuccessfully) to qualify for a live even online atm. Noticed that one player who won a seat continues to play the satellite. Out of interest i got onto PP to see if cash can be taken in lieu of a seat and they fairly abruptly told me no.

So what's this person's gig? Do they just not know the rules or are PP likely to fold and give the person cash or something if they did happen to win 2 tickets?

Attempting (unsuccessfully) to qualify for a live even online atm. Noticed that one player who won a seat continues to play the satellite. Out of interest i got onto PP to see if cash can be taken in lieu of a seat and they fairly abruptly told me no.

So what's this person's gig? Do they just not know the rules or are PP likely to fold and give the person cash or something if they did happen to win 2 tickets?
                                                                                                Is it an event with multiple day 1s? If so, 2nd ticket can be used for alternative day 1.

Feck it yes. Should have thought of that

You know those full length puffa coats that look like sleeping bags..............

Hearing a lot more about potential blackouts in recent days. Previously i had passed it off as almost doomsday like - as in, fairly unlikely to happen.

But recent talk has it as being almost inevitable.

Is this the case?
                                                                                                      Once they mentioned it in almost in passing as a potential possibility a few months ago .I figured it was a dead cert.

Must get torch/lamp, power bank and gas hob

Might stock up on canned goods and toilet paper while I'm.at it.

And of course guns...lots of guns!

Are you assuming that Dinekes is a rainbow/lollipop/positive?
                                                                                                        Don't drag me into it Jaysus!

Whatever way we slice it, we didn't think through the effect of energy sanctions. It was a completely dumbass move, not least as it has had zero effect on the sanctioned country. Even improved their sanctioned energy revenue. The US, by contrast, who led on sanctions, only sanctioned things that didn't really affect them. We cut off our own faces, while helping Putin to buy a new palace.

We're going to see the impact in elections across Europe, with rightwing loons getting into power on the back of this. Italy being the first example. Orban is probably untouchable for a generation as he refused to cut off the energy of his country.

There was someone telling me the other day that this would have all been wargamed by the brightest minds in the EU, before any sanction was implemented.

There's not a chance in hell it was wargamed that the energy sanctions would wipe 10%+ off household income in the EU, and actually increase the energy revenue of the sanctioned country.

The advantage of being in a set of democracies is that we can call awful decisions as awful decisions and not risk being thrown out of the window of a very tall building.

I'm surprised there's not more outrage tbh. People seem to almost be overwhelmed by stress.

There was someone telling me the other day that this would have all been wargamed by the brightest minds in the EU, before any sanction was implemented.

There's not a chance in hell it was wargamed that the energy sanctions would wipe 10%+ off household income in the EU, and actually increase the energy revenue of the sanctioned country.

The advantage of being in a set of democracies is that we can call awful decisions as awful decisions and not risk being thrown out of the window of a very tall building.

I'm surprised there's not more outrage tbh. People seem to almost be overwhelmed by stress.
                                                                                                              We are at war with RuSSia. This is the cost.

Speaking of mad stuff, how would you like to be the White House staffer who has to ring up one of France, Israel, the UK or India to explain that Trump stole the top secret detail of your country's nuclear defences and left them lying around his country club. And that you have no idea if they've been compromised.

We have a pretty huge machine at work that draws enough juice to power a small housing estate. There's been 3x separate instances of it going down due to power outages in the last month or so. Always over weekend. Now there could be something faulty on site but it's a bit coincidental. There's talk of trying to get the plant on some priority power supply that runs the hospital and essential services.

Wasn't impressed arriving in this Monday morning to an offline IT infrastructure. Normally we'd have monitoring to alert but we're in the middle of splitting from parent company. So compeletely new email tenant, app deployment etc. We were between systems, vendors and a million fire fighting tasks. Mental last month and glad that the worst of it is dealt with.

Speaking of mad stuff, how would you like to be the White House staffer who has to ring up one of France, Israel, the UK or India to explain that Trump stole the top secret detail of your country's nuclear defences and left them lying around his country club. And that you have no idea if they've been compromised.
                                                                                                                    Please let it be Israel.

They tend to take this kind of shit personally.

Attempting (unsuccessfully) to qualify for a live even online atm.
                                                                                                                      Well.... that's just changed nicely for the better.

We are at war with RuSSia. This is the cost.
                                                                                                                        More like the cost of mind boggling EU naivety on energy security strategy. If the likes of Trump can identify the glaring vulnerabilities you know you are in trouble. Germany's radical knee jerk eschewing of nuclear was a farce.

Ursula saying today our best response to Vlad will be to turn down the power a little. Embarrassing. If that was an option we should have been doing it already.

I never thought that in my lifetime we would reach a point where we couldn't power our homes and businesses. The stuff of apocalyptic conspiracy theories. Wait until banks and data centres power down for even a minute.

Well.... that's just changed nicely for the better.
                                                                                                                          Is it Killarney?

Mate of mine won a few packages and they just gave him the 500 for hotel in cash cos they're short on rooms and said he could sell any unused tickets to another player.

Also, wp.