Did any of ye comic book guys watch Sandman yet? I started reading it last week (free on Kindle Unlimited as I mentioned before) and it's really cool. Couldn't resist watching the first episode of the show after which seems like it will be a bit of fun too. Comics/graphic novels work so well on a tablet with that comixology app, zooming in and out of panels is really nice.
    yeah it's class.
    I think we spoke about it a few weeks ago.
    A really good adaption.

I would think someone with a black belt in the likes of judo or a wrestling expert would demolish the average person who's likely to be involved in a real world fight.
      Yup. Two style that involved full contact competition. In both cases grappling.
      Random wrestling highlight reel. And this is against other elite wrestlers, not some random scrote.

While you are probably right isn’t a black belt a relatively achievable thing for people? As in, there are multiple grades of black belt, i.e you could be ‘7th black belt’ or something like that.

Whereas the general connotation (and my long held belief) is that black belt = master?
      It varies widely between different styles. In some a black belt is relatively easy to achieve in a year or two of casual training. Kids getting black belts in a few years etc. Generally they tend towards aesthetic arts, rather combat based.

A judo black belt is usually earned through competition. Considered second hardest to achieve. There’s no way to get a black belt without being reasonable skilled at throwing people.
      There are up to 10 Dans (grades), but they are mainly academic. An Olympian could be a first Dan black belt.

I would think someone with a black belt in the likes of judo or a wrestling expert would demolish the average person who's likely to be involved in a real world fight.
        Learning how to fall properly from judo probably saved my life in a bike accident. I never got past being a yellow belt.

Being able to bring an opponent off balance and throw them or choke them quickly has to be useful in a fight scenario.

yeah it's class.
          I think we spoke about it a few weeks ago.
          A really good adaption.
          Would it be worth reading the source material before watching the show?
          I held off on AGOT until I had gotten through books, was glad I did. Especially with what became if it when they ran out of pages. Offt

While you are probably right isn’t a black belt a relatively achievable thing for people? As in, there are multiple grades of black belt, i.e you could be ‘7th black belt’ or something like that.

Whereas the general connotation (and my long held belief) is that black belt = master?
            It really depends on the style.
            I made national headlines (the sunday world counts!) by being the youngest black belt in ireland at one time (shameless brag), I started at 2 and a half. I was 15/16.
            I think there are black belts now that haven't made their communion in some disciplines.

Maybe in a 1 v 1 where opponent hasn’t got the jump on you and isn’t armed with a blade pi resorts to eye gouging/biting - even in sparring there a rules that do not apply in real world violence.
              of course on a lot of real world situations your opponent will have some scripted mates ready to dance on your head while you are locking in an arm bar etc.

Would it be worth reading the source material before watching the show?
                I held off on AGOT until I had gotten through books, was glad I did. Especially with what became if it when they ran out of pages. Offt
                Eh...I don't think so, although you might appreciate some subtleties you don't NEED to.
                You might be best served enjoying season one then binging before the next one.
                Hob's story in particular is fun to see on page

Maybe in a 1 v 1 where opponent hasn’t got the jump on you and isn’t armed with a blade pi resorts to eye gouging/biting - even in sparring there a rules that do not apply in real world violence.
                  of course on a lot of real world situations your opponent will have some scripted mates ready to dance on your head while you are locking in an arm bar etc.
                  The best self defence is avoidance.
                  But just because something doesn’t make you invincible in all situations isn’t the same as it being “completely useless”. The lack of rules goes both ways.
                  Somebody with no training has even less chance in those spots. But being able to put somebody on the ground could be the difference between getting out of there before the mates show up and being danced on in a scuffle.
                  Last edited by Mellor; 29-08-22, 13:35.

I call Horseshit on this. Anybody who has some self defence training is better prepared to deal with an aggressor than they might otherwise be.

Eh...I don't think so, although you might appreciate some subtleties you don't NEED to.
                      You might be best served enjoying season one then binging before the next one.
                      Hob's story in particular is fun to see on page
                      It’s been on my radar for a while. The show is just speeding things up. Either that or From Hell

I used have a black belt in TKD which I'd happily admit wouldn't be much good in a street fight (although I suspect I'd be a lot better at not getting killed than if I had never done it).

I used to roll my eyes even as a child when people used to say to me 'yeah well what would you do if some lad hit you in the back of the head with a brick' and I'd just say 'I would probably die, what would you do'. Glad to get to unexpectedly relive that vibe 20 years later.

I used have a black belt in TKD which I'd happily admit wouldn't be much good in a street fight (although I suspect I'd be a lot better at not getting killed than if I had never done it).

I used to roll my eyes even as a child when people used to say to me 'yeah well what would you do if some lad hit you in the back of the head with a brick' and I'd just say 'I would probably die, what would you do'. Glad to get to unexpectedly relive that vibe 20 years later.
                            Not as bad as the lads who think they are Bruce Lee because they’ve done martial arts. Don’t pretend there aren’t a load of lads out there marketing these martial arts as self defence. Lived with a guy who was into heavily into Krav Maga that tilted me beyond belief with his spoofing

There is one thing that is important that you learn or you SHOULD be learning when doing self defence classes and this is (as Mellor alluded to) fight avoidance. It’s entirely possible to confidently dissuade an aggressor from attacking you by your demeanour. A ill-disciplined exponent might simply be waiting for the aggression to escalate so he she can put the situation to bed . or simply be a reactor. However the Disciplined exponent will quickly assess the situation , try to curb any escalation and if not possible quickly plan an exit . The Exit might include downing an opponent as a last resort.
                              In todays world you have to be very careful, when meeting an aggressor always check the surrounds whilst keeping a calm demeanour. If you are alone , the weakest point of exit isn’t as the myth goes, hitting the biggest chap in the room. That’s just stupid. The strat should be hitting the point of exit and getting out of there. If however you need to stand your ground for whatever reason, do not engage in any stupid head to head stuff, you might as well have an X on your body, back away and keep side on . Then strike hard and fast in certain areas. I think my earlier point about being used to taking a few hits does stand to you. It’s a long time since I was involved in the sport but it’s not to be dismissed so easily as there are more teachings in it than katas and high kicks. The hint is in the name Self DEFENCE. Discipline . Remember the reason you learn self defence is so you DON’T have to fight.

Also street fighter is another myth. Pound for pound , a trained fighter will beat a non trained fighter.

Your flatmate sounds ill trained . Dont judge a sport by its arseholes (like you do with Rugby)

[Goalpost Image]

“These martial arts” =/= All martial arts

There are tons of spoofers out there. Compliant partners, almost cult like delusions. See below.
                                  But a bit silly to group the below with full contact styles.

13K likes, 1,181 comments - mcdojolife on August 25, 2022: "No hand throws ➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖ @rdx_sports (Martial Arts Gear) 10% off ..."

Quick case study.

When I started in my current job , we were out for a few beers in Bray. One of our group was a real drunken idiot. At the end of the night I saw him across the road arguing with 3 blokes. Seemed reasonable chaps from where I was standing. Anyway he singled one out and was boxer posing for fisticuffs. I was watching and crossed the road. The other 2 said. This is just him starting it pointing to our drunken idiot. I nodded , hey I’m only here to break it up , he is being a knob . Anyway the twit ignored me and the other bloke simply punched him on the nose and it’s instabled. Quite comical really. I said, ok that’s enough and I escorted the drunken twit away . The punch sobered him up quickly. The bloke he was trying to fight was obviously trained and was very calm in his manner and told druken twit to get the fk away. My point is the had the other guy not been disciplined, the situation could have got nasty. As it was , our twit got a bloody nose and deserved it. For me as an observer really I could see who was trained and who wasn’t . The training stopped the fight imo

All this talk of fights etc bringing back some memories.

Inner city scumbags armed with bars v me and a mate and 2 girlfriends. 5 versus 2 and we got stuck into the scumbag filth.
                                      They only have a go when they have to at min 2 to 1.
                                      Fought them off with pure viciousness. At one stage I had one if the bars and swinging at some scumbags head (missed)
                                      Only realised I had a cut on my face when a bouncer refused entry due to the bleeding.

Wasnt the first time either. Had another with a larger gang of scumbags. Remember in that one my mate was brought to the ground and there were like 4 around him. I was pinned against a wall rope a dope style defence.
                                      They got his leather jacket but he was saying that in the melee where they were kind of swarming him he had one guy sort of pinned down with him.and he was jabbing him over and over in his eye. Hope he blinded the scum.

One on one they wouldnt have a chance.

Once the adrenalin releases you it's not too bad.

In situations like that you get the boot in first hard.
                                      Theres no deescalation or way out with those scum.

The bars weren't particularly heavy ..kind of like a curly wurly metal wrapped in white plastic

It’s been on my radar for a while. The show is just speeding things up. Either that or From Hell
                                        I saw the show without reading the comics. Found it very enjoyable, I might have a look at the comics out of curiosity but I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything.

Irish Rory haters are a sorry bunch of cnuts.
                                          Fucking Rory man.

I'm a lover

Watching a guy bring a portable ramp to let someone in a wheelchair off the train.

Seems amazingly backwards in this day and age.

I'm a lover
                                                Marital arts ? Now thats discipline.

20 years tomorrow.

Jesus.

Thought I was running bad last week.
                                                    last night and today was another level completely.
                                                    Painstakingly built a BR from 21/2 weeks ago to 5.5X
                                                    60% of that wiped out.
                                                    Losing 90% of hands to sickening outdraws or inescapable coolers. Real feeling of unreality to it.
                                                    Had a ridiculous nu
                                                    Berlin of preflop monsters either trashed on a shit flop or hit and get fkd. Can't count the AAxx hands.
                                                    Player pops in to table after me doing 5 buying... instantly raises ..I repop with kkxx insta gets it in with A4710 badugi flops the nuts, holds and fucks off instantly, to be replaced with another numpty who does exactly the same manoeuvre with a BOB v double suited QQ910, wins and again fucks off instantly.
                                                    Then its flop NFD and OE and of course its top set exactly.

Energy market fucked so was hoping to supplement my meager income.

I know....move up levels!

(Right whinger that Dinekes)

I'll be back though

Seems like Ukraine may have just launched its counter-offensive in the south, centred on Kherson. It'll be very interesting to see how their offensive goes, in scale and tactics, and then how the RuSSians respond.
                                                      Early reports seem to confirm that this is a major operation and Ukrainian forces are advancing in several directions. Chances of large numbers of Russian troops being encircled west of the Dnieper river with no escape routes.

I think this would be a great time to resurrect the old BBV prayer.

One Time.

Always loved this one.

Yep....standard stuff another 60% drop same story.

Deicides to pack it in after I lost with AAk10 (nut hearts)

Flop was AQ9 ..2 hearts

Bet flop ...call.....turn is a black 10 (gulp)....bet anyway...call
                                                          river bo pairage and no heart....he bets small....crying call

His hand.....kJ34 unsuited

Last edited by dinekes; 30-08-22, 01:58.

Flop was AQ9 ..2 hearts

Have you tried Razz

Flop was AQ9 ..2 hearts

I am NOT tempted back to play Omaha anyway. You are bringing back horrofic memories. I came to the conclusion it was ME that was rigged .

Can't beat the swongs in Omaha.
                                                                Stake dependent, if you are lead into on the river, you are rarely ahead.
                                                                Pre flop action? positions?
                                                                Pot size flop?
                                                                Why bet turn?
                                                                River call is dependent on your turn action...

But I do get the heartbreak

Can't beat the swongs in Omaha.
                                                                  Stake dependent, if you are lead into on the river, you are rarely ahead.
                                                                  Pre flop action? positions?
                                                                  Pot size flop?
                                                                  Why bet turn?
                                                                  River call is dependent on your turn action...

But I do get the heartbreak
                                                                  Raise pre in position. Just 2 of us to flop (rare in this game)
                                                                  About 60% bet on flop or so.
                                                                  Bet turn as even if reraised here I can call comfortably as not pressuring stack too much at this point.
                                                                  Villain had been caught bluffing before a few times though can't remember the exact hands.

Thinking about it now I'm leaning towards a fold.

Stakes aren't that high as I'm starting from.scratch again and just moving between 3 levels but had built a nice roll percentage increase wise playing small games. The volatility is insane.

I'm aware of some of the mistakes I'm making.
                                                                  Not getting enough value from marginal hands is one.
                                                                  Probably playing a bit too much from.blinds also.
                                                                  Tilt - definitely feeling it now and again and its certainly cost me in a few calls where I snapped with second best.
                                                                  Playing for too long and not locking up a win.(had a few opportunities yesterday to get out with a double up and just and just chill for a bit but kept at it)

Was very frustrating hence the moany post. Im sure noone wants to hear bad beat stories as we've all had/have them so appreciate the indulgence. Sometimes you just need an outlet to vent. It's not big money at all but it's a huge setback to the progress I was making.- which means BR management is another issue to work on

So going for a bit of a hike and will tackle it again later with the above in mind.

I'll try and restrain myself if I get one outered

Have you tried Razz
                                                                    Never played it! Good value in it?

dinekes you should purchase a PLO bundle and check what mistakes you might be making: https://bbzpoker.com/product/plo-bundle/

A fella that does coaching for the group I’m part of is the guy who had the back & forth with the current WSOP ME champ over an apparent 3% swap so 300K worth.

All very amicable, clearly some sort of miscommunication/misremembering with neither recalling the details or having any record written down.
                                                                      You can tell from the back & forth that it’s all genuine.

Apparently someone confronted Jorstad but the guy claiming the stake had no knowledge of it which I’d tend to believe.

Must be a particularly sick beat.

Been working since January on our new site. Bit the bullet a couple of months back and got a really cool Dutch dev team involved.

Launched today, really proud of it..

dinekes you should purchase a PLO bundle and check what mistakes you might be making: https://bbzpoker.com/product/plo-bundle/

A fella that does coaching for the group I’m part of is the guy who had the back & forth with the current WSOP ME champ over an apparent 3% swap so 300K worth.

All very amicable, clearly some sort of miscommunication/misremembering with neither recalling the details or having any record written down.

Apparently someone confronted Jorstad but the guy claiming the stake had no knowledge of it which I’d tend to believe.

Hadn’t heard of that. Dodgy behaviour is par for the course so nothing would surprise me. Had a Google there…

Someone confronted him?

Jørstad appears to have come under some pressure to make good on the supposed swap, not only from Theologis, but from at least one other player, an unidentified “clearly intoxicated Irish fellow” who approached Jørstad at a cash game in Cyprus and stated something like, “Pay the man his money, pay the man his money. You know what I’m talking about, pay him his 3%,” in an aggressive and threatening manner.
                                                                          As I said, know nothing about it other than what I just googled. But it sounds a bit mad. It seams that both agree on the below;
                                                                          Before the main event we had only met twice, and we have never swapped in anything else.
                                                                          • I have no recollection of swapping with him.
                                                                          • I did not have it written down.
                                                                          • He did not have it written down.
                                                                          • We had nothing about it in our chat.
                                                                          • For every other swap during WSOP I immediately wrote it down in my own document + confirmed in chats. I have to assume this is routine on his part too.
                                                                          • Alex did not remember when or where we had this swap convo, or any other details about it.
                                                                          That's obviously written by Jorstad's. But the texts from Theologis clearly back it up. It just seams really awkward. Not remembering where or how you swapped 3% seems a bit odd. But I also don't think he is intentionally lying, as he would just was "we swapped at [insert time they met]".

I think these four options are the most likely. With 3+4 >>>>>1+2

That's a good idea, used to watch loads of vids years ago on the game and talk about hands etc. Never to old to learn!
                                                                            I think If I deal with the current leaks and just manage myself better it will be a good start and build in the technical analysis as I go. Thanks

Hadn’t heard of that. Dodgy behaviour is par for the course so nothing would surprise me. Had a Google there…

Someone confronted him?

As I said, know nothing about it other than what I just googled. But it sounds a bit mad. It seams that both agree on the below;
                                                                              Before the main event we had only met twice, and we have never swapped in anything else.
                                                                              • I have no recollection of swapping with him.
                                                                              • I did not have it written down.
                                                                              • He did not have it written down.
                                                                              • We had nothing about it in our chat.
                                                                              • For every other swap during WSOP I immediately wrote it down in my own document + confirmed in chats. I have to assume this is routine on his part too.
                                                                              • Alex did not remember when or where we had this swap convo, or any other details about it.
                                                                              That's obviously written by Jorstad's. But the texts from Theologis clearly back it up. It just seams really awkward. Not remembering where or how you swapped 3% seems a bit odd. But I also don't think he is intentionally lying, as he would just was "we swapped at [insert time they met]".

I think these four options are the most likely. With 3+4 >>>>>1+2

Funny that I read almost verbatim what you shared and thought I totally glossed over the Irish bit but Pokernews omitted it: https://www.pokernews.com/news/2022/...stad-41964.htm

Nothing mentioned on the channel so like you it’s just something I came across.

Seems like the type of thing where he swapped 3% with someone while in close proximity to Jorstad or with Jorstad himself while a few people were a night out.

Pads covers it, he seems like a decent guy too, feels like nobody is lying, obviously hard situation for Pwndidi more than anyone but Jorstad doesn’t want the negative publicity either.

Been working since January on our new site. Bit the bullet a couple of months back and got a really cool Dutch dev team involved.

www.smartshade.ie
                                                                                Looks great .good work

Who is the drunk Irish guy?

www.smartshade.ie
                                                                                    Looks fantastic. Good man Conor.

Who is the drunk Irish guy?
                                                                                      Wasn't me phew

The other mad story about Jorstad which he told on the Berkey podcast recently (Guy who won the main event the previous posts are talking about) is that he lost most of his net worth a few weeks before the main event. He had 7 figures in Luna when it crashed and went to zero. He had it all loaned out in short-term yields within the Luna ecosystem where he couldn't access it for a period of time so couldn't rescue a penny and he lost the lot prior to the world series.
                                                                                        Last edited by Opr; 30-08-22, 15:40.

www.smartshade.ie

it’s rubbish
                                                                                          no pictures of the Kaisers gaff

it’s rubbish
                                                                                            no pictures of the Kaisers gaff
                                                                                            Might do that.
                                                                                            Would be free advertising when he Streisands it

There was a game streamed on youtube last Friday on the Hustler Casino live channel on youtube that is a real glimpse behind the curtain of what some of these private games must be like with some huge whales at the table, no pros allowed, and incredibly high stakes. Alan Keating who dropped over a million in the streamer game always sitting in these games with huge stacks and a vpip > 70%. He has become a real enigma in the poker world of late as he shows up in these massive games without a care in the world for money it seems.

The game was just mental with John Robert Bellande in the game drinking until he was passed out at the table asleep between hands after drinking two bottles of wine and a load of shots somehow also winning nearly a million. Some rapper dude in the game, Mikki who sat with 500k, claims to be banned from all casinos in vegas for beating Baccarat while not being able to do simple pot odds at the table. Seeming him get interviewed between hands was some of the funniest shit where he talked about his strategy being to bloat pots out of a position!

After Bellande left the game I think about 1 am which was about 10 hours into the game they continued on for another 8 until 9 in the morning. Keating was hallucinating towards the end and fully thought he has a flush at one point. They had a 35k straddle on towards the end of the night. The whole thing is absolutely bonkers and hammers home the point it really is all about the games you can get into these days.

This was the very last hand of the night.

Keating really drives the action and is very fun to watch. This is him in the below picture. His demeanor never changes at the table whether he is up or down a million.

rcj6khtuquk91.jpg?width=960&crop=smart&auto=webp&s=799b28f5f4f3d5cb41e42e75e715ec99e59fc673.jpg
                                                                                              Last edited by Opr; 30-08-22, 17:44.

See dinekes,that's how you take a beating. ^^^

Mikhail Gorbachev dead.

Comrade Collie probably says it's about 40 years too late.

Mikhail Gorbachev dead.

What an Ad!

Mikhail Gorbachev dead.

Though I'm probably one of the few who bothered to read 'Perestroika' when it came out. Seemed at the time that it was written by a committee, though could have been from the US or USSR.

www.smartshade.ie
                                                                                                        Thats a spot-on website. wp.

One small thing. Most of the product pages at the bottom where it says 'contact us' it then has a 'let's connect' link right underneath it, but the 'let's connect' link is missing from this page: https://www.smartshade.ie/products/honeycomb-blinds/

See dinekes,that's how you take a beating. ^^^
                                                                                                            "Ah you lost again honey bun, you see my 2 pair beats your 3 of a kind. Now let's see maybe you could dispense with the thong theres a good girl'

Mikhail Gorbachev dead.

Not to worry Collie Billy Connolly's still going strong

One small thing. Most of the product pages at the bottom where it says 'contact us' it then has a 'let's connect' link right underneath it, but the 'let's connect' link is missing from this page: https://www.smartshade.ie/products/honeycomb-blinds/
                                                                                                                Brilliant, cheers Hitch, I'll get that fixed.

Guessing airport queues have improved by now? Have flight at 6am ew

If one had to choose between a 5 year fixed mortgage rate and a 10 year rate which is 0.3% higher than the 5 year rate, which is the better choice do we think? Obviously hindsight is the only way to know for sure, but still.

I’d probably be thinking about it primarily from the point of view of headspace rather than financial.

A 0.3% bump probably equates to around half a monthly repayment extra per year?

I’d be pretty risk averse anyway but also wouldn’t want to be thinking about it in 3-4 years if interest rates continued to rise. Also at the same time it wouldn’t be something I’d kicking myself for having locked in so I would probably lock it in for 10 years.

Ya, I'm not able to switch now because my wife is on a career break and with the kids and other property I jointly own, we're not meeting the thresholds they apply, so I'm having to just switch rate internally in BOI who don't have very good rates generally. 3.3% for 10 year rate now isn't terrible though. I'm also pretty risk averse.

Guessing airport queues have improved by now? Have flight at 6am ew
                                                                                                                          absolutely no problem whatsoever - I spent 3x security time queuing for coffee