One sexy feature of the PS pension is if the grade you retired on gets a pay rise your pension gets the same pro rata pay rise.

Signed up to tinder for my Dutch holiday next week. But forgot to change the location and its showing me a limited, but hot, selection of local chicks who have clicked like. Love this modern mode of immediate gratification.
      ​​​​
      Edit: I paid for the 'platinum' edition that shows people who liked you without you liking them. An absolute abonimation of the original tinder principles.
      Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 03-08-22, 22:20.

Signed up to tinder for my Dutch holiday next week. But forgot to change the location and its showing me a limited, but hot, selection of local chicks who have clicked like. Love this modern mode of immediate gratification.
        ​​​​
        Edit: I paid for the 'platinum' edition that shows people who liked you without you liking them. An absolute abonimation of the original tinder principles.
        the company is struggling to make enough money to justify their outlandish valuation -

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com...w/93316317.cms

Great example of a great idea, ok business but crazy valuation - it's basically a commodity at this point

One sexy feature of the PS pension is if the grade you retired on gets a pay rise your pension gets the same pro rata pay rise.
          Must have been some party times for PS retirees back in the benchmarking era.

This Alex Jones thing is stunning. His lawyer obv intentionally leaked that. Jan 6 committee are apparently requesting the data. Juicy stuff.

How early am I leaving for an 8.40 flight to London tomorrow.

presume 2 hrs is plenty now

This Alex Jones thing is stunning. His lawyer obv intentionally leaked that. Jan 6 committee are apparently requesting the data. Juicy stuff.
                Risks being disbarred if that's the case though right? The fact he sent medical records too would indicate incompetence, which should probably lead to being disbarred too.

It's beautiful watching it unfold though

Risks being disbarred if that's the case though right? The fact he sent medical records too would indicate incompetence, which should probably lead to being disbarred too.

It's beautiful watching it unfold though

Hoping he saw enough stuff to sink Trump and patriotically fell on his sword.

Not quite an NBA team but Bob has bought a lower league Spanish football team

My new number 2 in work headed home for a holiday last week as his mate was getting married - Home is Beirut.

He arrived back in the office this week with a present for me of two bottles of Chateau Musar.

Future holiday requests for travelling home will most certainly be approved

Not quite an NBA team but Bob has bought a lower league Spanish football team
                        He swung a huge job with the Cuban’s Mavericks that time, so much so that apparently he had more power than the GM Donnie Nelson at the time.
                        He would have been a well respected GM as well.
                        Apparently the final straw was the tension he had with Luka Doncic who is arguably the biggest name in the sport under 30 yo.
                        Even to have got to a point where he had enough influence to piss off both of them is incredible.

I always thought Sam Hinkie who was GM of the Sixers during the height of his popularity would have brought him in as he was a real contrarian, very analytical etc.

Ah Jaysus , what'll i do abou me penshun?

One good thing about the wimmin winning the Euros .

Its now acceptable to go watch wimmins footie in the open as opposed to doing me back in peering/ perving through the bushes .

One good thing about the wimmin winning the Euros .

Its now acceptable to go watch wimmins footie in the open as opposed to doing me back in peering/ perving through the bushes .
                              All waxed these days Solks.

Can confirm.

Paedos .

Paedos .
                                    Grass on the pitch, play ball.

Lads what the term used when a customer stays with a higher tariff instead of switching.
                                      Lethargy, complacency? Static??

Lads what the term used when a customer stays with a higher tariff instead of switching.
                                        Inertia is what I'd go with.

Is that the same for the women who still have penises? Asking for a friend

@sp; there is a new Slough House\Slow Horses book out. Enjoy!

Don't think I've laughed as much at a book series since the wonderful Backstrom books.

Inflation

Stumbled across this today. 40 years ago now. Strange there hasn't been a full review.

Stayflation

Don't think I've laughed as much at a book series since the wonderful Backstrom books.
                                                    In the middle of it at the moment and I'm loving it. There are few interesting shifts in style that seem to be working out well. I had been sceptical bout the casting of Lamb in the the TV series but I hear every line of his in my head clearly in the voice of Gary Oldman.

Loved these lines , you just need to just replace 'Sparrow' with 'Cummins'

fjxEPlN.png

Inertia is what I'd go with.
                                                      Thanks, it's a good definition of the situation.
                                                      Pretty much it's just easier staying where you are.

Has anyone bothered with the TV series?

"Dinner in America" is a fun little movie.

...Hi all... Setting up this seasons FPL as after 10 successful years, IAGO has decided to hang up the coat as master of ceremonies... No changes to money/rules, just to the bank details and revolut ;)... 1. Main league- €30 per entry- Less than 30 runners, pay 3 top, more than 30 runners pay 4. 2. There is a H2H league

... Hi all, final chance to enter this seasons Fantasy premier league... PM for details or just post in the above link...

Has anyone bothered with the TV series?
                                                              I enjoyed it at about a 7/10 level. The books are far better.

If only I could read.

Audiobooks obv.

Yep. Papergirls is decent enough.

^^^ another recent book adaptation

Last Chance Saloon for what, exactly?

Your friends lost youthful self?

Pray for zut

Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To...
                                                                            Going to Burnt City next Friday.

Asking for a friend - is that suitable for a date? Or would there be a more suitable immersive play.

I badly messed up the Naples. We were meant to go to Capri, but for a variety of reasons that didn't happen.

She's now in Cambridge (suggesting that intellectual brightness isn't strongly correlated with life brightness), and I feel this is last chance saloon.
                                                                            whilst it is brilliant, there is no talking and you will more than likely get separated following different story arcs or characters, although at the same time you'll be happy to find each other after

Pray for zut
                                                                              Now the fancy kitchen and expensive wine habit makes sense.

According to any old movie I ever watched, we just have to bake a hacksaw into a pink cake and ship it over to Mountjoy on visiting day.

In fairness, that's about the only way to pay maintenance bills!

whilst it is brilliant, there is no talking and you will more than likely get separated following different story arcs or characters, although at the same time you'll be happy to find each other after
                                                                                  Ah? That doesn't seem like the best setup for bonding.

In fairness, that's about the only way to pay maintenance bills!
                                                                                    Is that advice for the future HH?

Ah? That doesn't seem like the best setup for bonding.
                                                                                      You thinking a double date would be better ?

Fascinating is maybe a better word than interesting.

Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To...
                                                                                          Eek. Possibly. It can only end badly.
                                                                                          Maybe your friend should start thinking with the head attached to his neck.

If the other head overrides that, then grand but at least the first head can say he warned the other one.

Shows how good they got it when youd need 6.6 million in a private pension to match and the limit is 2 million, which 99% don't reach.
                                                                                            I read that 6.6m number in the article above. Doesn’t sound right though. Even after lump sum, there would be ~5m in the pot, at 4% that’s 200k a year.
                                                                                            Very rough numbers, but at around twice the above something is off.

What does a 2mil max pension pay out?

I also agree with Denny that 4% is very conservative. The relevant study was probably looking at a much longer retirement period.People are working longer, at a faster that than living longer

What does a 2mil max pension pay out?
                                                                                              Assuming you ARF it and work off the 4% rule () - 500k tax free lump sum and 60k income.

Is that what the DCU heads are calling it now?

'Had a great coffee this morning, Jaysis 'twas mighty altogether.'
                                                                                                'Me too. A smooth Brazilian grind.'
                                                                                                'You're some man.'

Assuming you ARF it and work off the 4% rule () - 500k tax free lump sum and 60k income.
                                                                                                  That’s exactly what I was thinking. So 100k “only” needs 3.3m, not the 6.6m the article claimed.

Would be interested to see how many years survival 4% is based off. I expect 30+. And I’d probably want to be more aggressive in my spending in my 60s compared to 90s. Although I dint fully follow some of the Irish pension rules around salary. Oz system is simply. 10.5% pension is legal min, increasing to 12 over next few years. Top up for tax breaks as you approach retirement age.

The article is probably based on the cost of buying an annuity. Which would, without doing some maths, make the 6.6m sound kinda reasonable.

Foreign Policy produce mini-series every so often on different topics, some have grown legs like I-Spy which is interviews with ex-spies describing a specific mission.

They have another which they recently released called The Catch about global fish industry. This mainly focuses on squid near Peru but the discussion is about wider fishing industry and it could well turn into a longer running food sustainability podcast.

It’s only 3hrs over 6 episodes and I thought quite a few people here might like it for different reasons.
                                                                                                      The next time you order up some calamari, stop for a minute and think. Where does this actually come from? This summer, Foreign Policy is partnering with the Walton Family Foundation to bring you a new podcast: The Catch. Each episode offers a behind-the-scenes look at the current state of global fi…

Just subbed to I-spy, that sounds fascinating.

Cheers.

A few weeks ago I tried to eat ghost pepper chicken wings and couldn't even finish it one.

Last night I nailed a hot wing challenge. Other guys didn't even get half way through.

Never give up on your dreams.

I'll have to find more competitions. Be the Huck Seed of hot wings.

The article is probably based on the cost of buying an annuity. Which would, without doing some maths, make the 6.6m sound kinda reasonable.
                                                                                                            No idea what annuity rates would be but 2% seems absolutely terrible, if retiring at any sort of normal age. If retiring at 40, maybe.

A few weeks ago I tried to eat ghost pepper chicken wings and couldn't even finish it one.

Last night I nailed a hot wing challenge. Other guys didn't even get half way through.

Get Ballymaloe hot relish and put it on Everyrhing. It will take a brave Knight skilled with a sword to stop you terrorizing the villagers with your fiery breath .

I'm out , so my quest today is to seek out another jar.

Sounds like the prospect of a prop bet with self proclaimed "wing King", Iuckforsome

No idea what annuity rates would be but 2% seems absolutely terrible, if retiring at any sort of normal age. If retiring at 40, maybe.
                                                                                                                  They are terrible.

Feels like those options exist because they benefit the seller.

Where’s the lump sum coke and hookers option

Legacy customer

Left a storage box with all my computing stuff in our kitchen before we went on holidays and builder/ electrician came in to do the rewire. Deliberately left it inside rather than in the shed where we put most things.
                                                                                                                        Now nowhere to be found (nothing else missing). I'll have to spend ~1k to replace. Monitors, docking station, headset, peripherals etc

Q: How do I play with the tradesfolk? My suspicion is they just fucked it in the skip. I'd like to tell them it's coming off their fees.
                                                                                                                        Or just suck it up.

Feels like those options exist because they benefit the seller.

Where’s the lump sum coke and hookers option
                                                                                                                          It's a reflection of the interest rate environment.

Maybe annuities will become a thing again if rates keep going up to historically normal levels. V can tell us more.