Exactly, You'll fit right in with all the lads who made millions skimming the cream off the collections for the cause.
    Might need to get a few tattoos for cover though.

Our electrician has been dicking me about, not returned any calls\texts for last 2 weeks. Basically we want the reiwre done when we are away at end of July.

Went onto tradesman.ie and just got a quote for 40% of our now-ex guy's original. Goodbye former electrician.

I just made the spiciest jerk chicken.

This is too much.

I'm kinda half looking forward to a SF government and the inevitable clusterfuck implosion that would follow shortly after. It'd be like Syriza or Five Star to the power of ten.

Even better if they had to drag in loons like PBP to prop them up.
          Says the fellow fcuking off to the US

I knew the minute I posted that someone would reply ‘there isn’t any crisis in housing’. If you believe that to be the case, cool.
            You ignored my point - I didn't say there wasn't a problem, but that it isn't a uniquely Irish situation and the solution is the opposite to the approach sinn fein propose. They spend their time making sure no housing gets built currently!

Our electrician has been dicking me about, not returned any calls\texts for last 2 weeks. Basically we want the reiwre done when we are away at end of July.

Went onto tradesman.ie and just got a quote for 40% of our now-ex guy's original. Goodbye former electrician.
              Have my car in getting a few bits done since Tue

Rang him Wed and they were just getting started apparently.
              Text him today and hes back with "I'm having trouble getting a part"
              "A bit like Amber Heard then" I reply

Still no car though

Although housing is expensive in a lot of major cities, and renting, it's definitely one of the worst here. If you rent not only are you paying a ton, you're also getting really bad quality mouldy shite places in a jumped up village of a city. Not to mention there are a few hundred places to rent in the whole country. Meanwhile in somewhere like London you can walk around many of the 45,000 properties available for rent atm that are built to a much better standard, modern and a similar price. And the amenities are incomparable, even the supermarkets are much cheaper. The bang for buck isn't in the same ballpark, nor is the availability of rentals.
                Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 17-06-22, 21:13.

Mate of mine owns an appartment that they have lived in for years. Due to circumstances totally outside their control, they had to move into a bigger place that they are renting and so put their place up for rent.

Within 10 minutes of the apt being put on online, they got 195 e-mails, 14 texts messages and had another 10 missed calls. After getting 350 people contact them in the space of about an hour or so, they had to try take the ad down.

Simply not possible to go through all the messages so had to try pick out the first ten that seemed half decent and set up viewings from there.

When you have that volume of people looking to rent one place, it gives you an idea of just how fucked things are.

Might need to get a few tattoos for cover though.
                    The surname should be enough

On the Trans stuff my high level view is that we are experiencing the same thing that society went through a few decades ago with homosexuality. It’s always been there, it’s just now becoming possible for greater numbers of people to start expressing their true sense of gender fluidity.

Are there problems posed by it all? Do we need to supplement law and the infrastructure of the state to be able to assimilate it all properly? Absolutely. But there’s also a fucking cart load of bad faith arguing about the dangerous implications that stem from fear and hate.

I just think in a couple of decades there will clearly have been a right side of history to have been on. And like homosexuality, it isn’t the ‘we need to shield kids from these whacky ideas’ side.
                      I dunno , with homosexuality there wasn’t a part where kids are being encouraged to make irreversible life altering decisions re drugs and surgery (probably less so surgery but I’m sure some of the extremists would advocate for it.
                      look does it bother me much or make a difference to my life if someone with a bit of life experience wants to identify as another gender ? No.
                      Am I overly influenced by the fact that the parts of the debate I’m exposed to are the extremes - yes
                      maybe I’ll come around- some food for thought in posts today for sure

Am I overly influenced by the fact that the parts of the debate I’m exposed to are the extremes - yes
                        Nail on the head there.

I meant to respond to Wombatman and Tar this morning but my day got too hectic. Just to say thanks for calm explanation.

Reasoned calm explanation and argument is non existent. Today in here was the first time Ive experienced it.

Definitely a touch of juvenoia going on, which I've always feared and hoped I could avoid.

Anyone any tips on where to live in Boston? Or indeed any tips at all.
                          If you want to be central and maybe work are covering some of the cost, Beacon Hill and Back Bay areas are great but expensive. Think Ballsbridge equivalent type spots.

If you want a more suburb-type living I’d look west along the green line. Lived out by Boston College for a year and loved it out there. Brookline is beautiful and pretty central, ~20 mins on the T to central, no time on the bike. Chestnut Hill too is a leafy suburb a bit further out ~40 mins to Back Bay on the green line or <30 mins on the bike. Both Foxrock type equivalents. They’d be the most high-end areas and nice neighbourhoods for restaurants etc.

Fantastic city and so much to do. Kids will love it as well assuming that’s where you’re headed if your negotiations go to plan.

Cameron from Ferris Bueller's will be 66 next week.

Fuck me I'm old.

If you want to be central and maybe work are covering some of the cost, Beacon Hill and Back Bay areas are great but expensive. Think Ballsbridge equivalent type spots.

If you want a more suburb-type living I’d look west along the green line. Lived out by Boston College for a year and loved it out there. Brookline is beautiful and pretty central, ~20 mins on the T to central, no time on the bike. Chestnut Hill too is a leafy suburb a bit further out ~40 mins to Back Bay on the green line or <30 mins on the bike. Both Foxrock type equivalents. They’d be the most high-end areas and nice neighbourhoods for restaurants etc.

Fantastic city and so much to do. Kids will love it as well assuming that’s where you’re headed if your negotiations go to plan.
                              Thanks Champ - yeah, that's the destination. Colleague was trying to sell me on the South Shore, Hingham, Sciutate (sp?) etc. The Beacon Hill, Back Bay areas look lovely but crazy expensive.

Does look a cool city indeed. Need to get over there asap and start tracking down a neighbourhood and schools.

Thinking about joining the civil service

Welcome back!
                                  Hi ​​

If you're earning 100k, you're paying taxes at 52%. That isn't exactly easy street. Especially if you have a jumbo mortgage on top.
                                  For example, if I was on 50% of my salary but had bought my house in, say 1995, I'd be better off.
                                  So it's nuanced and it's generational so I don't think you can make that bald statement. Like what are FFG exactly 'doing for higher earners'? 'Taxing the fuck out of them' would be the accurate answer! It's not they are the equivalent of the GOP and are looking after higher earners to the exclusion of everyone else. Ireland has the highest Gini coefficient in the EU for a reason.
                                  I am lucky enough to say I understand that directly. But the theory has to be that FFG's approach facilitates the economic stability and prosperity that allows for that level of individual opportunity. I mean I assume that's why you are voting for them?

That we've ended up with this level of infrastructure investment (or lack thereof) as a net return from a decade-long boom is a massive stick to beat FFG with, irrespective of everything else. The value return from taxes is hard to see. But this doesn't help the status quo argument, does it?

Not a uniquely Irish problem, let's face it. It's the same in every successful country with the same economic model
                                  The unique part of the Irish equation is the seeming unwillingness to try and develop multiple tranches in the market, multiple means of affordable ownership and rent.

But nonetheless, the line of 'housing is really complex' is clearly wearing thin with ever bigger slices of the electorate.

If I was a SF man like yourself, I'd be really careful about language like this. You are setting yourselves up to fail. The entire system is fucked and the institutional resistance to change is incredibly strong.
                                  Easy prediction: SF won't 'solve the 'housing crisis'. (and neither will anyone else). Your own party leader has objected to half the new developments in her constituency FFS.
                                  SF will probably fail, but if they get in it will be on a mandate to try. And we haven't had any actual trying IMO the last few years. We've had some tinkering around the edges.

Hard truth; there are things government can't solve. It might look easy from the sidelines and it's simple to shout the odds to that effect, but it really, really isn't. SF will find that out soon enough.
                                  Another hard truth is that the government has a responsibility to play a central role in housing provision within the state. That responsibility was delegated in the 80's and 90's and there is a clear unwillingness to try and own it again. SF will succeed or fail on this specific point.

This could very well be prophetic. Although the nature of the Irish system will nudge all parties towards some form of deal.
                                  I think FF will be in the blender. And if they play it wrong and end up at the polls a second time it is armageddon. It's probably armageddon for them either way.

FG will be hoping to end up in the opposition benches on their own and they have a chance of that.

Although I think a genuine 'left vs right' choice would be a good thing in Irish politics rather than the hyper-local nonsense we have now. Call it Socialists vs Christian Democrats. Now we have a real choice...great.
                                  Agreed, and once SF have been in once the empty conversation about a conflict that ended 25 years ago will be taken off the field forever. And then it's only about policies and competence, which is where we want to be ultimately.

It'll be over by the time of the next election.
                                  I hope you're right.

This ain't a SF-only problem! Plenty of morons on all fronts (although it constantly amazes me why anyone would put themselves through the pain)
                                  I do think you've got very few people with any form of real-world managerial expertise (in fact I can't think of any) and that will hurt you in government. The Civil Service will walk rings around you
                                  It's not only a SF issue but it's a specific issue where SF have been taken to task over and over and over. It's an open goal to get right with loads of time and runway to prepare. If they get caught out on this during the election campaign then I'll be hugely discouraged.
                                  Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 18-06-22, 11:15.

I dunno , with homosexuality there wasn’t a part where kids are being encouraged to make irreversible life altering decisions re drugs and surgery (probably less so surgery but I’m sure some of the extremists would advocate for it.
                                    look does it bother me much or make a difference to my life if someone with a bit of life experience wants to identify as another gender ? No.
                                    I had to go on a journey myself on this stuff last few years. I was originally listening to Jordan Peterson and it resonated with me. But the more I listened the more I am convinced this is a natural part of the human condition that is now emerging out into the open in a broad manner, and standing against it will be proven as the wrong stance.

You ignored my point - I didn't say there wasn't a problem, but that it isn't a uniquely Irish situation and the solution is the opposite to the approach sinn fein propose. They spend their time making sure no housing gets built currently!
                                      Okay, fair enough. If SF get in on a mandate around housing they will have to take clear strides towards improving the situation or they won't be getting back in again any time soon. In that sense, what is past is prologue.

Keep Sweet Pray and Obey is beyond shocking. what evil bastards

The evilest people are always the most religious.

in the docu
                                            The ones who perpetuate it use religion as a tool. They couldnt have one righteous thought in their head to carry out such depravity. Never cursed so much watching TV . 12 year old children . I knew vaguely about it but this was jarring

Although housing is expensive in a lot of major cities, and renting, it's definitely one of the worst here. If you rent not only are you paying a ton, you're also getting really bad quality mouldy shite places in a jumped up village of a city. Not to mention there are a few hundred places to rent in the whole country. Meanwhile in somewhere like London you can walk around many of the 45,000 properties available for rent atm that are built to a much better standard, modern and a similar price. And the amenities are incomparable, even the supermarkets are much cheaper. The bang for buck isn't in the same ballpark, nor is the availability of rentals.
                                              So a place with double (close enough) the population of Ireland has more properties to rent than you find in Dublin? In other news, water is wet.

It;s obviously not solely a population thing but as long as there is 0 willingness to build up instead of out and 0 willingness for people to buy and live in apartments in Ireland the property issue is never getting solved.

Even here in a much smaller city that has built up (and indeed out) there is a significant lack of good property options at affordable prices.

Add in the fact the regulatory system and protections for landlords seem, to this layperson anyway, to be becoming increasingly adversarial and the only surprise to me is that people are surprised that there are so few options.

I was speaking at an event the other day and Ronan Lyons was talking about Irish property and demographics.

He made a few very solid points that I’ve been musing on myself that he had some specific data to articulate.
                                                • We’re not planning for any reasonable range of population growth over the next 15/20 years. Somewhere between 500k and 1.5m more folk in the next 20 years. That’s 100% a planning/govt issue.
                                                • The planning process is badly broken versus other European countries and in particular when it comes to large projects which could really change the game. We need clear criteria that these projects need to meet and once they do then they should be allowed to crack on. These projects are generally on infill sites in cities so by not having a structure like this the door is open for endless legal objections.
                                                • Vacant property tax is an illusion of a problem solver. Not enough data to do it right and even so the “vacant” stuff isn’t as much as we think as a lot is due to old folk in nursing home and/or properties slowly going through probate which wouldn’t have to pay any reasonable vacant tax anyway.
                                                • People are being forced to migrate out of Dublin. We’re almost unique in Europe for cities becoming less populated over the past decade. This is no longer about folk not being able to live and work down the country where they are originally from but about Dubs and other city folk not being able to afford to live near their families. This is the reason for major political backlash for all age groups imo.
                                                • We do not have the right mix of accommodation to meet the needs of different cohorts. We need much more student accommodation, young professional rental apartments, retirement communities for downsizers. We keep building 3/4 bed semi Ds but on his analysis we have enough of those it’s the other stuff which we are glaringly missing versus other European countries.
                                                Anyway I thought he was speaking a lot of sense.

He mentioned at one stage that he personally has a lot more confidence in the current crop of professional developers operating in the Irish market, to deliver quality projects at scale, versus 15/20 years ago but given the planning and other uncertainties he didn’t have confidence if that would matter.

I blame Ghostface

The fact that NIMBYs in Ireland can have such influence seems mad; a few dozen dedicated people can derail big projects it seems to me, which can't be good for the country.

Desperately need to introduce / change legislation that requires someone to prove they have a direct interest in a proposed built in order to raise an objection, and the bar for that needs to set very high.

What is SF's housing policy btw? Just went onto their website and ended up on this page that references 2016, so presumably no longer relevant.

Big queues at the bonnington. Only 90 capacity, must be about 50 on the waiting list

got to imagine this is not what the URC was thinking when they invited a couple of saffer teams to join the league. Surprised mystery guest hasn't been on to troll this one

Big queues at the bonnington. Only 90 capacity, must be about 50 on the waiting list
                                                              It's great craic tho. This many chips any 2 are in play. Lad at my table playing every single had and lads keep calling him

Okay, fair enough. If SF get in on a mandate around housing they will have to take clear strides towards improving the situation or they won't be getting back in again any time soon. In that sense, what is past is prologue.
                                                                Welcome back and I hope you are right! I would bet them making it worse, but I've lost bets before.

On a related note, my mother is very angry about the cost of housing in Dublin (although it actually affects her positively, already owning a nice house in a great location), and would never vote for FG/FF because of it (and other reasons), but spends her time lodging objections about proposed building developments, it's genuinely scary how little critical thinking goes on in peoples heads.

got to imagine this is not what the URC was thinking when they invited a couple of saffer teams to join the league. Surprised mystery guest hasn't been on to troll this one
                                                                  Very enjoyable 2nd half.

So a place with double (close enough) the population of Ireland has more properties to rent than you find in Dublin? In other news, water is wet.

It;s obviously not solely a population thing but as long as there is 0 willingness to build up instead of out and 0 willingness for people to buy and live in apartments in Ireland the property issue is never getting solved.

Even here in a much smaller city that has built up (and indeed out) there is a significant lack of good property options at affordable prices.

Add in the fact the regulatory system and protections for landlords seem, to this layperson anyway, to be becoming increasingly adversarial and the only surprise to me is that people are surprised that there are so few options.
                                                                    That first bit is facetious. Of course it has more but it has way more by comparison, 800 (most of which aren't even available and are left up as an ad for estate agents) vs 45,000, nearly twice the population but with 56 times the stock. You can't even get a viewing here and if you do you are in a queue with a hundred people. You can swan into viewings in London. My brother is essentially an unemployed actor there atm and is viewing nicer apartments than I've ever lived in without issue, he turned one down because he didn't like the mattress, here you have messages from accountants stuck to the windows of darts begging for a place to live. As I said, jumped up village vs an actual city where they build up. Companies are buying houses just to get staff places to live here. There are problems in a lot of places, this is easily one of the worst. A lad got refused a small apartment, in not exactly a desirable area, the other week as he "only" earned 85k, and didn't meet the requirements for a new apartment block.
                                                                    Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 18-06-22, 20:05.

Thanks Champ - yeah, that's the destination. Colleague was trying to sell me on the South Shore, Hingham, Sciutate (sp?) etc. The Beacon Hill, Back Bay areas look lovely but crazy expensive.

Does look a cool city indeed. Need to get over there asap and start tracking down a neighbourhood and schools.
                                                                      Nice areas but that far south you’d spend your life commuting (hour+ each way?) and you won’t feel like you’re living in Boston. Assuming you’re there for a good time and not a long time (as well as doing some work) I’d highly recommend being near either the green line or the red line so the whole family can easily access the city any time. So much to do you’ll want to be able to head in on weekend mornings etc.

I told da mudder recently what her house is worth compared to the few grand she paid and she called it an outrage but her eyes did light up a little .

Nice areas but that far south you’d spend your life commuting (hour+ each way?) and you won’t feel like you’re living in Boston. Assuming you’re there for a good time and not a long time (as well as doing some work) I’d highly recommend being near either the green line or the red line so the whole family can easily access the city any time. So much to do you’ll want to be able to head in on weekend mornings etc.
                                                                          Thanks - yeah, once I started looking at transport the South Shore looked like a poor choice. Checking out the red and green lines now.

The office is in the Seaport area so need to plan for that. Looks like a bit of a black spot for the metro lines!

What is SF's housing policy btw? Just went onto their website and ended up on this page that references 2016, so presumably no longer relevant.

This would be the most recent cut. O’Brion has been on tour turning up to industry events and talking to developers, etc (a mate of mine who builds houses met him recently and said ‘he has a study and a reference for everything, that lad’) so my guess is the next cut will come when a general election is called.

That Bonnington game is fun. 4.5k up top for a 120 game is grand. Obviously a quick enough structure with a 20min clock but a mountain of chips so quite a lot of play for a 1 day game.

Think they got about 190 runners in the end. Not my night tonight but if they make it a monthly thing, I'd play it.

This would be the most recent cut. O’Brion has been on tour turning up to industry events and talking to developers, etc (a mate of mine who builds houses met him recently and said ‘he has a study and a reference for everything, that lad’) so my guess is the next cut will come when a general election is called.
                                                                                There isn't a single line in there that shows they have any understanding of the problem, some of the measures will directly make things worse. Being mean to landlords might be a vote-getter, but I find it hard to believe you would seriously think this is a program that will do any good.
                                                                                Last edited by Hectorjelly; 19-06-22, 01:19.

Ah cool (they might want to invest in some UX expertise).

About 80% waffle.
                                                                                  e.g.
                                                                                  Delivering the biggest council-led house building programme the state has ever seen.
                                                                                  Sounds great!
                                                                                  But where are the specifics? What type of housing, where, by when, how many units? Who is doing the actual building? It's 'council-led' but what does that actually mean?
                                                                                  How will this unprecedented scale of investment be financed?
                                                                                  There's some more waffle following this but it doesn't tell us a damn thing:
                                                                                  We must reject the Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil approach - and their reliance on the private sector - and get back to building houses.

Sinn Féin would deliver the largest public house building programme that Ireland has ever seen that will deliver secure homes for all.
                                                                                  So is it an end to private sector housebuilding? And the State will, under the inspired leadership of SF, magic up tens of thousands of home?
                                                                                  Where will the State source the actual tradesmen to build this 'biggest ever program'? What State agencies will handle logistics? What changes to the planning laws and appeals process will you implement?

There's a half-hearted attempt at specifics further down:
                                                                                  Halve the council housing waiting list during one term of government through our council-led building programme on public land
                                                                                  Awesome. Where's the plan, per all the questions above?

The Magic Money Tree:
                                                                                  With our council-led building programme on public land, we will increase the supply of affordable homes for average workers to purchase or rent at below market rates.
                                                                                  Yay.
                                                                                  Who, in a time of rising debt-servicing costs, is actually going to pay the bill for this?
                                                                                  Same question applies to:
                                                                                  Reduce and freeze spiralling rents to give private renters a break and put a month’s rent back into their pockets through a rent reduction tax relief.
                                                                                  The end of landlords:
                                                                                  Sinn Féin will legislate for tenancies of indefinite duration to provide renters real security of tenure
                                                                                  a properly-functioning market needs private landlords. If you actually succeeded in forcing this bullshit through, which you won't, that would be the end of the private rented sector.

Although apparently you can just do stuff like this with a click of your fingers:
                                                                                  Abolish the Local Property Tax and reduce mortgage interest rates
                                                                                  Sinn Féin will abolish the Local Property Tax and legislate to make Central Bank instruct the banks to lower their rates.
                                                                                  Sinn Féin: the only 'socialists' in the world looking to abolish property taxes.
                                                                                  But fear not, apparently they have magical monetary powers that allow them to ignore the ECB and set their own interest rates.

None of that stuff in any way represents policy that would work in the real world. I look forward to seeing Minister O'Broin's insecure little beard wobbling as he slowly comes to realise this.

There isn't a single line in there that shows they have any understanding of the problem, some of the measures will directly make things worse. Being mean to landlords might be a vote-getter, but I find it hard to believe you would seriously think this is a program that will do any good.
                                                                                    Ha. That's basically it.

After a decade of studying the problem up close and personal, SF have a 'policy' of:
                                                                                    1. Be mean to landlords ('landlords, boo!')
                                                                                    2. Promise loads of free stuff you can't possibly deliver

I looked at the SF 'alternative budget' (now that I'm on a roll).

It's a 40 page document. Those SF policy experts must sure be deep thinkers! 40 pages!!

All the wonderful new free things are detailed minutely up to page 37.
                                                                                      Page 38 has a handful of 'bash the rich' measures that allegedly would pay for the all the free stuff given away on the first 37 pages.

It would be laughable were it not also serious.

It all boils down to the question of whether the state can reinhabit a position of primacy in the housebuilding market in Ireland. We are being told that is an impossibility, that now that the reigns have been handed over they cannot be recovered. Their view on housing turns on that point.

And yes, we are in an inflation cycle right now and the cost of state borrowing is starting to rise again - we've had a decade-long period where that wasn't the case. FFG will try and hide behind those things now, but they are not the reasons we haven't tried this stuff. It is because the current government is ideologically opposed to the proposition. The view is that the private sector is the solution, irrespective of an ever-increasing duration of that not proving to be the case.
                                                                                        Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 19-06-22, 09:15.

It all boils down to the question of whether the state can reinhabit a position of primacy in the housebuilding market in Ireland. We are being told that is an impossibility, that now that the reigns have been handed over they cannot be recovered. Their view on housing turns on that point.

And yes, we are in an inflation cycle right now and the cost of state borrowing is starting to rise again - we've had a decade-long period where that wasn't the case. FFG will try and hide behind those things now, but they are not the reasons we haven't tried this stuff. It is because the current government is ideologically opposed to the proposition. The view is that the private sector is the solution, irrespective of an ever-increasing duration of that not proving to be the case.
                                                                                          But the problem has nothing to do with building houses, the house and apartments that are being built now are fine. We don't need an alternative source of houses, we need more houses. I'm not opposed to the state-building houses in theory, but it's quite a gamble to think that the state can just suddenly start producing cheap and well-built houses from a standing position. In fact, it seems like Sinn Fein is proposing it on ideological grounds rather than in a real attempt to address the housing crisis.

A huge investment in housing supply from the government could directly address emergency housing issues, reduce HAP dependency, offer more affordable supply into the market to own and to rent, etc. The State is the only stakeholder who can be incentivized to build on mass at cost. Our current pipelines are not delivering enough supply of the things we need to alleviate the aspects of the crisis that are causing acute pain to people.

I think it's fanciful to believe the state can build to the degree it did in the early/mid 20th century.

There was an abundance of local labour then, labour is global now and works for the highest bidder. Ukraine will swallow up the majority of it in the coming years.

Plus, the powerhouse building firms with their experstise that were spawned from that state building drive will also move to more lucrative markets.

It is certainly something that will solve the crisis, but I just dont see how it's anything other than a pipe dream in the current global economy.

I think it's fanciful to believe the state can build to the degree it did in the early/mid 20th century.

There was an abundance of local labour then, labour is global now and works for the highest bidder. Ukraine will swallow up the majority of it in the coming years.

Plus, the powerhouse building firms with their experstise that were spawned from that state building drive will also move to more lucrative markets.

It is certainly something that will solve the crisis, but I just dont see how it's anything other than a pipe dream in the current global economy.
                                                                                                There was an abundance of money and then labour followed. The money lads were being paid was incredible back in the day. I worked in a petrol station when you used to be able to cash a cheque for your wages. It wasn't uncommon for labourers to turn up with a €1k+ cheque on a weekly basis. A few of those lads would turn up and clear out the cash on hand. I was always a bit annoyed at having to be responsible for upwards of €10K on a shift and a couple of lazy 16-year-olds while being paid €6 an hour plus a free car wash. Despite being barely old enough to drink a pint .

A huge investment in housing supply from the government could directly address emergency housing issues, reduce HAP dependency, offer more affordable supply into the market to own and to rent, etc. The State is the only stakeholder who can be incentivized to build on mass at cost. Our current pipelines are not delivering enough supply of the things we need to alleviate the aspects of the crisis that are causing acute pain to people.
                                                                                                  Our current pipelines are not delivering because of years of problems with zoning and planning permission. We need high-density housing, which means educating the public and changing the laws to make it easier to build. Who actually builds the houses is not the problem, there's zero issues with the houses being currently built, we just need much more of them.

All of Sinn Feins policies and rhetoric on the issue are in exactly the same thinking as got us into this mess.

Capture.JPG

There was an abundance of money and then labour followed. The money lads were being paid was incredible back in the day. I worked in a petrol station when you used to be able to cash a cheque for your wages. It wasn't uncommon for labourers to turn up with a €1k+ cheque on a weekly basis. A few of those lads would turn up and clear out the cash on hand. I was always a bit annoyed at having to be responsible for upwards of €10K on a shift and a couple of lazy 16-year-olds while being paid €6 an hour plus a free car wash. Despite being barely old enough to drink a pint .
                                                                                                    Well that's the Celtic Tiger you're talking about. There's always good money in labouring somewhere in the world, that's the point I suppose.

Vivek and Tomislav aren't going to come work building cheap houses for Eoin O'Broin, who's model requires keeping costs down when Zelensky has all those US and EU rebuilding billions to splash at them.

Government just banking on a bit of a recession to halt the demand for housing so they can catch up with supply no?

Well that's the Celtic Tiger you're talking about. There's always good money in labouring somewhere in the world, that's the point I suppose.

Vivek and Tomislav aren't going to come work building cheap houses for Eoin O'Broin, who's model requires keeping costs down when Zelensky has all those US and EU rebuilding billions to splash at them.
                                                                                                        My brother is working a summer job as a "gateman" on a large site. He's clearing €600 a week so can only imagine a labourer is getting 800-1k. Tiger is back.

Our current pipelines are not delivering because of years of problems with zoning and planning permission. We need high-density housing, which means educating the public and changing the laws to make it easier to build. Who actually builds the houses is not the problem, there's zero issues with the houses being currently built, we just need much more of them.

All of Sinn Feins policies and rhetoric on the issue are in exactly the same thinking as got us into this mess.

Capture.JPG

Well, the aim of this would be to lower house prices, not inflate any bubble.

I think SF getting elected to come in to try, and then trying and failing will be positive. It will move us on and potentially focus the electorate's minds on necessary solutions.

Nonetheless, the challenge is big the chances of success are low but ever more people are desperate for something to be tried. Since the housing crisis came into consciousness we've had a half-decade of being told nothing can really be done or various ways to argue that there isn't a problem. It clearly isn't washing, the polling trends are clear. So I think we'll all get to see how unworkable SF's policies are in due course!

My brother is working a summer job as a "gateman" on a large site. He's clearing €600 a week so can only imagine a labourer is getting 800-1k. Tiger is back.
                                                                                                            But 80kpa gross for a physically demanding job that is unlikely to last you more than 30 years doesn’t seem outrageous to me. You’d be doing well to be working for all of that 30 years as well with inevitable boom and bust. I had a young one doing a 1 year internship with me 6 months ago. She’s now earning 40k and is considering a job for 50k. She’s only 24 and whatever she does she’ll likely have reasonable employment security and the world is her oyster.

Therefore it’s not surprising that there isn’t a big queue of folk looking to do serious manual labour so pay has to reflect that.

Looking increasingly likely that a recession is coming and working/middle class folk will take the brunt of the reduction via the cost of living increases. I find it very hard to ever begrudge guys working in the trades or labouring given the insecure nature of it and the demands placed on them. I certainly wouldn’t fancy mixing mortar on a site in the depths of winter with a recession looming.

Meanwhile I’m sitting comfortable and yet bitching and moaning about not being able to get folk to do work for me in an instant and yet knowing that me and my family will be grand over the next number of years. Sometimes we disappear up our own arses.

That labouring money is well earned on a site and I hope I'll never have to go back to it. It was fine for the few years I did it as a young fella but it's back breaking, heartbreaking work, working with and for comple arseholes.

In any case, once SF have wrecked the gaff, I'll return from the US and buy up all your houses with my lovely $$$$.

Always an upside muhahaha.

But 80kpa gross for a physically demanding job that is unlikely to last you more than 30 years doesn’t seem outrageous to me. You’d be doing well to be working for all of that 30 years as well with inevitable boom and bust. I had a young one doing a 1 year internship with me 6 months ago. She’s now earning 40k and is considering a job for 50k. She’s only 24 and whatever she does she’ll likely have reasonable employment security and the world is her oyster.

Therefore it’s not surprising that there isn’t a big queue of folk looking to do serious manual labour so pay has to reflect that.

Looking increasingly likely that a recession is coming and working/middle class folk will take the brunt of the reduction via the cost of living increases. I find it very hard to ever begrudge guys working in the trades or labouring given the insecure nature of it and the demands placed on them. I certainly wouldn’t fancy mixing mortar on a site in the depths of winter with a recession looming.

Meanwhile I’m sitting comfortable and yet bitching and moaning about not being able to get folk to do work for me in an instant and yet knowing that me and my family will be grand over the next number of years. Sometimes we disappear up our own arses.
                                                                                                                  I often hear this soft handed office boy logic. If you are on 80k p/a as a labourer, the skilled trades must be on 100-150k p/a so? If you can't ride out a 5 or 6 year recession after being on that dough.. I've zero sympathy tbh.

This Scheffler fella looks to be on another level.

His name is inherently silly as well. You could be on him. Or Will Zalatoris, which always looks like clitoris when the leader board flashes up.

I wonder is it just that silly names stop looking stupid after you get used to them at the top of leaderboards for a few years.
                                                                                                                      Though I can never see the time coming when I'm not amazed by 'Xander Schauffele'.

His name is inherently silly as well. You could be on him. Or Will Zalatoris, which always looks like clitoris when the leader board flashes up.

I wonder is it just that silly names stop looking stupid after you get used to them at the top of leaderboards for a few years.
                                                                                                                        Though I can never see the time coming when I'm not amazed by 'Xander Schauffele'.
                                                                                                                        I backed him a couple of times before based on the inherent stupidity of his name (I mean 'Scottie', WTF is he, a dog?) but he never cashed for me so I moved on. Never go back.

filedata/fetch?id=1720843&d=1655668712&type=thumb