Ah feck im sure i know him. No way he was 57? Very sad

Not sure where the gansta reputation came from, I didn’t get that vibe from them anyway.
      His brother was Eamon Kelly, who in the top of echelon of gangsters for a while.
      Career criminal who turned to the drug business (irishtimes.com)
      Des was 'difficult' by a lot of accounts. A few carpet fitters who went independent have told stories about how strange things would happen in the years after they set up.

I hadn't heard about Neil, that's sad, couldn't have been that old.
        57 ish I think, yeah very sad, I remember he would talk about his son occasionally (he was separated at that time I think)
        You never know what people are going through had no idea he had liver disease.

Wait - there's another way of solving it? The 'classic' solution (which I didn't get) is:

Its the number of circles in the numbers. So e.g. 8888 - each eight has two circles, so the answer for 8888 is 8. Or 2831 - two circles in the eight, hence the answer is 2.
          I gave up after about 20 minutes. Think I could have thought about it for 20 hours and still wouldn't have solved it.

His brother was Eamon Kelly, who in the top of echelon of gangsters for a while.
            Career criminal who turned to the drug business (irishtimes.com)
            Des was 'difficult' by a lot of accounts. A few carpet fitters who went independent have told stories about how strange things would happen in the years after they set up.
            Yeah. This is what i was told when i was slagging him . I found him very plesant but then again id no carpet to sell Even Paddy Shanahan acted and looked like a decent enough chap ya never know eh i was interviewed for his murder I like to say. Merely because i wasnt playing in the Friday social game (all levels).
            Dont fk with me lads i know some notorious dead people.

Wait - there's another way of solving it? The 'classic' solution (which I didn't get) is:

Its the number of circles in the numbers. So e.g. 8888 - each eight has two circles, so the answer for 8888 is 8. Or 2831 - two circles in the eight, hence the answer is 2.
              Oh for fucks sake how did I not see that!!

My assumption was that there was a + sign between the 4 digit numbers and worked it out based on that.

it's the correct answer but methodology sucks
              Last edited by dinekes; 11-05-22, 10:11.

Exactly. This is one of the most self-defeating things ever.

yeah that's the way i got it.

Seems like the Russians have been driven out of Northeastern Ukraine (like, back over the border, with huge losses). Kharkiv is now under full Ukrainian control. So now the whole focus is on the South and East. Those new shooty, bangy things (technical term) the Allies are shipping in are clearly making a massive difference.

Reminds me of this........

7 and 9 are a bit of a reach imo.

Cocaine is a hell of a drug

Oh for fucks sake how did I not see that!!

My assumption was that there was a + sign between the 4 digit numbers and worked it out based on that.

it's the correct answer but methodology sucks

Wait, how did you get there with addition?!

If 2+2+2+2 = 0, then the symbol '2' must equal 0. You apply this same logic + previously gained information to solve other lines until you have solved enough symbols to answer the question. It's not just addition, I guess.

that's how I did it originally before I knew the loop solution

That was my guess at solving alright, but I didnt attempt to work it out.

On the communion Card donation thing. Our lad is making his on Saturday and to relieve the pressure on those attending I’ve asked that a MAX of 20 Euros be put in the cards. I don’t feel the need for everyone to fork out 50 quid. It’s redic. I’ll obviously put the 50 in to other cards but I don’t want people attending to feel pressured. It’s not a money making scheme.

I worked out the value of all the numbers and then added the last four to get 2 - took me about 2 mins with that method

https://www.echo.ie/families-from-pi...yVPkbQ6gTLP9uc

Posted without comment, there's a lot of angles to look at this from.

I'd genuinely be interested to see how many kids did the communion/confirmation thing if the prep was taken out of the schools that currently facilitate this and parents/kids had to attend out of hours sessions on evenings/weekends. I'd expect there would be a 70-90% collapse in numbers over the course of a few years.

It’s not a money making scheme.
                                            I feel like you are not the key player in this.

Hitch, is your BIL safely out of Russia? Intercepts like this would make you hope so.

FSYtHPtWYAEoAD6.jpg

https://www.echo.ie/families-from-pi...yVPkbQ6gTLP9uc

Posted without comment, there's a lot of angles to look at this from.

My brain hurts a bit after reading that! Like you said, a lot of angles to view it from

I'd genuinely be interested to see how many kids did the communion/confirmation thing if the prep was taken out of the schools that currently facilitate this and parents/kids had to attend out of hours sessions on evenings/weekends. I'd expect there would be a 70-90% collapse in numbers over the course of a few years.
                                                  If it was to be mandatory regular family attendances at Sunday mass and 6 Midweek Post 7PM classes in church premises and I'd be all in on the overs.

I'm setting the bar a little lower than that though, but either way, hopefully it'll become a reality sooner rather than later as it as no place in publicly funded schools anymore.

On the communion Card donation thing. Our lad is making his on Saturday and to relieve the pressure on those attending I’ve asked that a MAX of 20 Euros be put in the cards. I don’t feel the need for everyone to fork out 50 quid. It’s redic. I’ll obviously put the 50 in to other cards but I don’t want people attending to feel pressured. It’s not a money making scheme.
                                                      Taking the money out of the kids Smyth vouchers fund
                                                      also putting pressure on the 10 euro brigade
                                                      harsh times

I'm setting the bar a little lower than that though, but either way, hopefully it'll become a reality sooner rather than later as it as no place in publicly funded schools anymore.
                                                        They’ve always been publicly funded, but just because you don’t believe it in doesn’t mean others wouldn’t prefer the option. It’s like saying, Sport has no place in schools, just because you’re more of a book worm. I think there will always be some level of desire for it, now it doesn’t have to be and probably shouldn’t be every school but that’s a different argument.

It's really not the same, it would be more similar if the GAA owned the schools and monopolised the type of sports played.

Bought this with my communion money.

Ended up crashing it looking down at the speedometer.

It's really not the same, it would be more similar if the GAA owned the schools and monopolised the type of sports played.
                                                              Many of the private school in Dublin are publicly funded and choose the sports played.

All of ours paid for the following weeks supermarket shopping with their communion money.

We are already priming the pump for next year, it's a catholic school so there's a bit of god bothering and some questions have been asked about a dress for next year.
                                                                  I told her she can choose any day for a princess day she wants.
                                                                  Explaining religion was easier than expected, I was about 2 sentances in and she took the ball and went, "oh, like I believe in mermaids" and toddled off to do something more interesting

Religious instruction is not education. Doing it in school or school time should be the 'extra curricular' activity, not normal classroom time where kids not participating either have to leave the classroom or else sit there and be silent like goes on currently. Thankfully there is a good choice (relatively) of primary schools where I am, 3 are catholic ethos, 3 are multi-denominational and our young lad is starting at one of those in the coming school year. Huge swathes of the country though have almost no choice.

If people are genuinely committed to it (and I don't mean zealots) then they will find the time to get their kids and themselves involved in religion out side of schools, and that's obviously their absolute right, but religion at schools shouldn't be so prominent. Learning about it as a general concept is absolutely fine, but faith formation should be a parents responsibility primarily imo.

one for map porn and politics of geography fans

Answered already but my initial assumption was that the 4 digit numbers were added to produce the number on the right so assigned values based on that.

Obviously the loops is the "outside the box" thinking

Bought this with my communion money.

Ended up crashing it looking down at the speedometer.
                                                                          A small price to pay to feel as cool as fcuk.

Answered already but my initial assumption was that the 4 digit numbers were added to produce the number on the right so assigned values based on that.

Obviously the loops is the "outside the box" thinking
                                                                            which is why the pre schools do it in 5-10 minutes was a massive clue. (it helped me anyway think visually)

Interesting situation in Crypto with TeraUSD dancing around the death spiral since yesterday, bouncing from 30c to a dollar and back. It is the latest attempt in Crypto at an algorithmic stable coin. The market is already bloody and not sure how much of that is preemptive pricing into the market or can still expect it to get wrecked hugely if Terra/Luna eventually falls into the drain. Decent video and explanation below.

btw CoffeeZilla's youtube channel in general is a great watch and worth a sub.

Last edited by Opr; 11-05-22, 17:33.

Neil Duggan was the 100 game omaha player in the fitz with long hair, softly spoken, outside smoking a good bit. Not sure if that's enough of a description, but there you go.
                                                                                Black/Greying hair and laid back?

Think he only grew the hair long when I started playing. Sorry to hear about that.

Which one was Niall Duggan? Biggest shock ever from the Fitz was when that poor girl had her throat slit by her also poker playing hubby and saw her pic in the paper.
                                                                                  I can still hear her distinct Dublin accent when she getting 7, 2. A nice girl . You never know who you are sitting beside.
                                                                                  I remember playing Squash back in the day with this nice little ol fella in Drimnagh, (Spheres- where Pat Shanahan was shot) . I knew his name was Des Kelly but never twigged it was the carpet fellow until I was slagging him one day about something (old age related) and one of the wags told me he was the actual Des of carpet fame. I recall being in the sauna and said loudly. Hey Des, do you know where you can get FELT for a tenner around here. Willie he said, that’s as old as me, that quip. Feck I thought it was genius , ah well . (corny jokes are repeatable right) I heard he died a few years back. Not in touch with the D12 Gangsta news I guess. He told me he got an all over body scan every so often to look out for the big C etc. I met his sons and they were very amicable. Not sure where the gansta reputation came from, I didn’t get that vibe from them anyway.
                                                                                  I didn't know them at all but he was sitting beside me at my first Irish open. His wife commented on my bebo picture that he was in the background of (shows the timeline). Was a bit of a shock putting it all together a few years later.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 21-05-22, 22:27.

Interesting analogy.
                                                                                      If the GAA actually owned a school, I suspect most people would be ok with them dictating the PE program.

Interesting analogy.
                                                                                        If the GAA actually owned a school, I suspect most people would be ok with them dictating the PE program.
                                                                                        I bet it would be a mixture of Kendo with hurleys.

Interesting analogy.
                                                                                          Where the analogy falls down is that when the PE teacher took out a football they wouldn't then try to magically transform it into the bollox of Peter Canavan.

It has no place in publicly funded schools because while sport and exercise is demonstrably good for you, religion is a bunch of fairy stories used by people who want to control other people's lives.

Now, if you want to tell those fairy stories to your own children at home or you want them to attend an out-of-school class to learn about their fairy stories from your preferred druid/shaman/priest then you go right ahead. But it has no place in an educational environment. The study of religion as a social construct is already dealt with in classics or history classes . Zeus and the Christian god should be treated precisely the same - stories made up by bronze and iron age farmers to make sense of an otherwise incomprehensible world.

Interesting situation in Crypto with TeraUSD dancing around the death spiral since yesterday, bouncing from 30c to a dollar and back. It is the latest attempt in Crypto at an algorithmic stable coin. The market is already bloody and not sure how much of that is preemptive pricing into the market or can still expect it to get wrecked hugely if Terra/Luna eventually falls into the drain. Decent video and explanation below.
                                                                                              Tether breaks the $1 peg this morning. It failing would be the end of Crypto for a very long time and send markets off a cliff.

Financial TImes -Tether breaks $1 peg as pressure mounts on world’s biggest stablecoin
                                                                                              Last edited by Opr; 12-05-22, 09:37.

Candy. True crime meets Mad Men. Check it out. 2 episodes in and it's not far off 5 Wombats so far.

Where the analogy falls down is that when the PE teacher took out a football they wouldn't then try to magically transform it into the bollox of Peter Canavan.
                                                                                                  Welcome from the shadows. I think you rushed that reply. As it actually makes little sense.
                                                                                                  Strewel wasn't comparing GAA to religion, that would be nonsensical obviously. The relevant part was "ownership of the school". I questioned it as I think it's actually counter-supportive.

A GAA owned and operate school is entirely within their rights to dictate the PE program, imo. As would an IRFU or whatever run school.
                                                                                                  A Church owned and run school should be entitled to do the same. As that lone Jewish school in Dublin is entitled to teach Hebrew studies. And people should be entitled to defer their children's RE to those schools, or not to.

I'd certainly be "no thanks, it's a waste of time" group. But despite by own opposition to religion and creationism, I don't agree that it's right to say it has no place in any educational environment. You can't really complain that religion is an attempt to "control other people's lives" - but in the same breath try to dictate how people should they follow their beliefs.

I fully get where you are coming from with saying it has no place in publicly funded schools. I don't disagree. I'd be perfectly ok is every state funded school was secular, with religion as an optional add on. But are we not dictating to the masses? I wouldn't be confident that the nation shares your view. I mean, 35% were against removing Blasphemy as a criminal offence from the constitution.

Tether breaks the $1 peg this morning. It failing would be the end of Crypto for a very long time and send markets off a cliff.

Financial TImes -Tether breaks $1 peg as pressure mounts on world’s biggest stablecoin
                                                                                                    I've seen $15k floor predictions for BTC and $700-1000 for ETH.
                                                                                                    If ETH got that low, I might be tempted to sink a few quid in.

The only things holding are stablecoins like Tether.
                                                                                                    I'd imagine many are sinking their loots there to ride out the storm, which carries it's own problems!
                                                                                                    Last edited by DeadParrot; 12-05-22, 10:15.

I met Jack (French Jack) in the Sporting Emporium last night. We're good friends going back to when we started work together in the Merrion. He couldn't give me his number because of floor policy, but asked me to ask the bouncer who he had told to give me his number. But then I forgot. Does anyone have his number? Genuinely not a stalker request.

1st offer in....
                                                                                                        Offer 2 contains part ownership of a new venture.
                                                                                                        It's potentially a less stable but more interesting role than offer one.

I met Jack (French Jack) in the Sporting Emporium last night. We're good friends going back to when we started work together in the Merrion. He couldn't give me his number because of floor policy, but asked me to ask the bouncer who he had told to give me his number. But then I forgot. Does anyone have his number? Genuinely not a stalker request.
                                                                                                          Blast from the past - a good lad and always good craic at his table!

Although I know Solks always preferred Sapphire for some odd reason.

All kicking off now in financials, could be a sharp one

Blast from the past - a good lad and always good craic at his table!

Although I know Solks always preferred Sapphire for some odd reason.
                                                                                                              Yes the infamous 'wanna straddle ' always made me sweeten the pot .

It has no place in publicly funded schools because while sport and exercise is demonstrably good for you, religion is a bunch of fairy stories used by people who want to control other people's lives.

Now, if you want to tell those fairy stories to your own children at home or you want them to attend an out-of-school class to learn about their fairy stories from your preferred druid/shaman/priest then you go right ahead. But it has no place in an educational environment. The study of religion as a social construct is already dealt with in classics or history classes . Zeus and the Christian god should be treated precisely the same - stories made up by bronze and iron age farmers to make sense of an otherwise incomprehensible world.
                                                                                                                Do you have any spiritual thoughts ? Fairy stories , history are the same imo.

Offer 2 contains part ownership of a new venture.
                                                                                                                  It's potentially a less stable but more interesting role than offer one.

You wont go broke. Do the new venture . Be brave , yer a long time deadparrot.

Do you have any spiritual thoughts ? Fairy stories , history are the same imo.
                                                                                                                    LOL. Yeah, things that happened and things that didn't happen are the same.

What do you mean by a spiritual thought? It's a relatively general phrase. If you mean do I consider the metaphysical then yes, of course. I do not require a supernatural element to be added to those thoughts to make them worthwhile.

I've seen $15k floor predictions for BTC and $700-1000 for ETH.
                                                                                                                      If ETH got that low, I might be tempted to sink a few quid in.

The only things holding are stablecoins like Tether.
                                                                                                                      I'd imagine many are sinking their loots there to ride out the storm, which carries it's own problems!
                                                                                                                      If Tether actually went under then I think those floor prices would be incredibly generous. It is hard to know but they are just so intertwined in the market and given the relationship with Bitfinex, I think you would see a catastrophic collapse in confidence and prices across the board.

I think someone has posted this video here before but the Tether story is crazy and the size of a financial institution to which they have grown is insane.

LOL. Yeah, things that happened and things that didn't happen are the same.

What do you mean by a spiritual thought? It's a relatively general phrase. If you mean do I consider the metaphysical then yes, of course. I do not require a supernatural element to be added to those thoughts to make them worthwhile.

A LOT of history is fairytale . When you consider the propaganda that exists today there are many different versions of history depending on your bias. I think you know well what i mean by spiritual . Anyhoo im not going to try to defend or condemn a persons beliefs but id like to see you sell your fairytale story to the zealouts . .

Pegs in general are a pretty idea, but doing it in crypto was beyond insane. Just painting a massive target.