The rotation of the earth really makes my day.

The guy who invented velcro died the other day. RIP.

I threw a boomerang a few years ago. I now live in constant fear.
    Paid a fecking carpenter 700 quid upfront to build us a new double bed. Fucker did a bunk

Struck by an idea today. Somebody needs to setup a shared online body dimensions repository to link in with online shopping for a guaranteed tailor-made fit every time.
      Probably some snazzy software could accurately capture using a phone or web cam. When shopping, your browser will auto fill your sizes from your Dimnsionizer \ Measurator account.
      Maybe some B&M retailers, who do significant online trade, could host measuring booths, equipped with all singing all dancing sensors, to allow quick login to add or update one's statistics.

Fully expecting it to be done already. Should be easy enough to monetize. Could save online retailers a tidy sum on returns processing.
      Tailors Mark essentially did that. Although they seem to have been taken over or rebranded and it's 3 or 4x the price now.

That other landlord management stuff sounds headwrecking. I think a part of the problem is that many people just don’t fully grasp how apartment buildings should function. They see the body corporate/management compay as some mysterious building owner asking for money.
        it’s not helped by Dublin planning laws that stifling good apartment design in favour of low rise units of mini houses stuck together.

Tailors Mark essentially did that. Although they seem to have been taken over or rebranded and it's 3 or 4x the price now.
          Luckily I haven't really worn shirts much for the last 18 months but would be interested in the new Tailors Mark (which was great as you say), if it's out there. Any ideas?

My gods they actually went and made a movie about Finkel vs. the rest of us

That other landlord management stuff sounds headwrecking. I think a part of the problem is that many people just don’t fully grasp how apartment buildings should function. They see the body corporate/management compay as some mysterious building owner asking for money.
              it’s not helped by Dublin planning laws that stifling good apartment design in favour of low rise units of mini houses stuck together.

Took a notion to head to Galway today to a see a play during the Galway Arts Festival. Domhnall Gleeson is in it.
                ​​​i

Luckily I haven't really worn shirts much for the last 18 months but would be interested in the new Tailors Mark (which was great as you say), if it's out there. Any ideas?
                  The guy I went to for the suit, hunter treacy, does handfitted shirts also. He takes your dimensions and ships them off to his Italian place to be made of the fabric of your choice. It's €150 a pop though.

We spent last night in Hidden Valley camping site. In case anyone is unsure about camping from their camping scout days:

1. The Decathlon inflatable tent is a thing of wonder.

2. There's still no comfortable way to sleep in a tent.

We spent last night in Hidden Valley camping site. In case anyone is unsure about camping from their camping scout days:

1. The Decathlon inflatable tent is a thing of wonder.

2. There's still no comfortable way to sleep in a tent.
                      have you tried opium?

What were you sleeping on Hitch? Big inflatable mattress things are bad but inflatable mats a couple of inches thick are good imo.

Well that's precisely it! They sell these ridged mattresses as a default which are horrific. And we forgot pillows. Must get the inflatable mats!!

Back at parkrun this morning for the first time since March 2020. Felt amazing to be back.

Russborough House is a stunning track, mostly trail and grass. Tough enough uphill finish.

Was looking through an external hard drive and all I can find is six measly photos of my time in NY for 9/11.

Have a few physical photos somewhere but not sure where.

Definitely had a digital camera with me at the time. Was probably too dumb struck to be taking pics.

That day's plan had us on the top floor of the South Tower at lunchtime. Mad to think.

Was inside the ground floor of them about 13 hours before it happened.
                              The Mrs has a touch of PTSD about the whole thing having been on a train in NY heading in to the towers that morning.

Luckily one of her party was dragging her heels and they were 30 minutes later than planned on the day which made all the difference. They still got caught up in the chaos but avoided injury or worse.

She used to get very tense leading up to the day and all the docs and tv coverage didn’t help although she worked through some of it with a professional which helped.

But the good news is we’ve gone and redefined what this date will mean in future for our family as V2.0 arrived at 4.46 this morning. Apparently this means I have a gentleman’s family! The main thing is everyone is doing well.

Back at parkrun this morning for the first time since March 2020. Felt amazing to be back.

Russborough House is a stunning track, mostly trail and grass. Tough enough uphill finish.
                                Forgot to mention (how could I?) that I ran into ionapaul and his lovely family down there.

Great to bump into you Paul.

The Mrs has a touch of PTSD about the whole thing having been on a train in NY heading in to the towers that morning.

Luckily one of her party was dragging her heels and they were 30 minutes later than planned on the day which made all the difference. They still got caught up in the chaos but avoided injury or worse.

She used to get very tense leading up to the day and all the docs and tv coverage didn’t help although she worked through some of it with a professional which helped.

But the good news is we’ve gone and redefined what this date will mean in future for our family as V2.0 arrived at 4.46 this morning. Apparently this means I have a gentleman’s family! The main thing is everyone is doing well.
                                  Wow, a lot there V, incredible 9/11 story but most importantly, wowzers, huge congrats.

9/11. Just as well there was no widespread smart phones back then or the grimness of it all would be on your WhatsApp every 20 seconds .

Good luck to Mayo today. And Vs new clan member.

This is brilliant

Congrats V.

Well outnumbered now.

That's lovely V!

Unreal V! Delighted! Prob wouldn't settle on the V2.0 name though. There's a lot of road in that one for the new kid to hold over V1.0.

Great news V. Here’s to putting the past away and defining dates.

In other news, anybody have a link for the all Ireland?
                                                unlikely but worth a shot

Congrats v4v for v2. 0.

Always so lovely to hear when all goes well!

Congrats V great news.

Was nice to meet Lazare at parkrun this morning; a long 18 months to go without! Russborough House seems pretty cool.

Thats great timing for No 2 GL

How do Mayo leave O'Shea on? Headless. Not that he's alone there, hopefully they get the heads back for the last quarter.

Lol Mayo again missing goal chances galore. Congrats to v4v a gent. The night of sept 11 I was in a casino in Cairns had booked flights to Bangkok the 13th. Was down 800 dolls case deuce went on a heater on poxy black jack. Few hours later barely able to walk rocked up to the cashier bundle of chips 14400 dollars in crispy green hundreds. Woke up hungover to the shocking news. Met two lads I knew on the street next dat day asked are they out tonight said stone broke told them I had a solution. Brought them out gave them a 100 each and bought every drink. Met up with a girl I was seeing in Australia in Thailand even with all that cash for a backpacker was miserable it didn’t go great.. Could have done so much at the time but if the head and heart are gone what can you do.

Classic case of a team beating itself.

Reminds me of Clermont. It's actually hard to watch.

Classic case of a team beating itself.

Reminds me of Clermont. It's actually hard to watch.
                                                              How do they late this year get revved up for another season especially the senior players. Thought the ref has had a very good game.

You gotta feel for Mayo but this is hilarious

Is it really true that Aidan O'Shea has now played in 7 Finals without ever scoring a point Maybe its him they should do a Wicker Man on instead of the one surviving player from the last winning team.

How do they late this year get revved up for another season especially the senior players. Thought the ref has had a very good game.
                                                                  Not that I know a lot about GAA but one of those teams clearly played to their ability and one played like headless chickens overwhelmed by the occasion.

All those defeats in finals weighed them down.

The curse strikes again!

First non-EU winners since '72

I think Aidan O'shea is the Curse

Realistically Mayo got a load of credit for beating a zombie Dublin team without even playing well. Tyrone got no credit for beating a good Kerry team with a brilliant performance.

That wasn't a lucky win, if you run that 100 times Tyrone win most for sure.
                                                                          ​​​​

Realistically Mayo got a load of credit for beating a zombie Dublin team without even playing well. Tyrone got no credit for beating a good Kerry team with a brilliant performance.

That wasn't a lucky win, if you run that 100 times Tyrone win most for sure.
                                                                            ​​​​
                                                                            Dont agree . Missed chances handed it to them. The peno was a brain fart of the highest order .

Someone explain the decision to go for the point in the 96th minute

Channel 4 are broadcasting the wimmins us open final , because that Canadian/British bird is in it.

Tyrone Supremacy

Dont agree . Missed chances handed it to them. The peno was a brain fart of the highest order .

Someone explain the decision to go for the point in the 96th minute
                                                                                  Mayo always miss loads of chances, that's what having bad forwards leads to. Tyrone missed plenty themselves, if they had been level par for their chances straight after half time the Mayo penalty would have been nothing more than a chance to get back in touch.

Exactly Tyrone were no great shakes in attack either. Both were average. Cant see Kerry doing too much either. Dubs take it back easily next year imo :-)

Yerra I don't think ye have any idea what a phenomenon Jim Gavin was yet. Dublin will be there or there abouts for all eternity from now on but will only be a normal good to great team as opposed to the irresistible force they were for the five in a row.

​​If we had half decent management we'd probably win six out of the next ten and only be reasonably content about it.

Although if Mannion and McCaffrey started playing again that would be a big boost to Dublin obv. Their backs are in rag order though.

Keepers who kick points are a bonus but Hennelly had a mare. Decision to take O Hora was very strange .

My impression was that he was getting rinsed?

The curse strikes again!
                                                                                              I'd guesstimate one team in 32 would have to lose for a few thousand years* in a row in order for them to be deemed cursed, or for it to be deemed statistically impossible for them to win. But that's the type of thing you say and you get asked to leave parties.

* well, a huge number of years anyway

I'd guesstimate one team in 32 would have to lose for a few thousand years* in a row in order for them to be deemed cursed, or for it to be deemed statistically impossible for them to win. But that's the type of thing you say and you get asked to leave parties.

Don't ever go to Mayo.

Channel 4 are broadcasting the wimmins us open final , because that Canadian/British bird is in it.
                                                                                                  Pretty impressive stuff so far.

How about 11 losing finals?

Pretty impressive stuff so far.
                                                                                                      Bloody immigrants taking stuff from little englanders again

She's as English as Terry Wogan. Or the Saxe-Coburg Gothas.

How about 11 losing finals?
                                                                                                          About 300 of them maybe and we're good to start worrying.

Some game between these two kids. You can really see how young they are in some of the shots.

Wow that was a dramatic for a 6-4 6-3
                                                                                                              She's a class act

Wow that was a dramatic for a 6-4 6-3
                                                                                                                She's a class act
                                                                                                                They both are imo. Was unfortunate with the cut, really seemed to knock Fernandez off her game when she had the momentum.

Yeah, wasn't watching the market but I thought she could still win the 2nd set from 5-4 but would have made her a big dog if it went to a 3rd set

I only really started looking myself for similar reasons. It's a bit irritating as I think I'd really settled on what I want from them.

I meant to ask you (or any other bike commuters) how do you manage shirts going into work?

I only really started looking myself for similar reasons. It's a bit irritating as I think I'd really settled on what I want from them.

I meant to ask you (or any other bike commuters) how do you manage shirts going into work?
                                                                                                                      I keep a set of clothes at work and use them on days that I cycle I'd rarely cycle more than a couple of days in a row though.

I can't stop laughing at this

I have a shower in work. Then change into work clothes.