Well after endless blazer testing (a small bit painful with a chest that was recently chopped down the middle) the supremely helpful and worryingly underemployed guy in Galerie Lafayette - an equivalent of Arnotts for those unfamiliar - persuaded me that the best fitting blazer was the one that cost €44: heavily discounted to get to that price, but still. They clearly don't work on commission as my opening gambit was that I could spend about €200-300. It looks very good in fairness.

I think because sales can only legally happen twice a year in France, even the sales staff get caught up in the bargain hunting excitement. But the sales this year are ridiculous. Just about every shop is half price on everything. No messing around. I'd say if you made an offer for a piece of fixture and fitting they'd even consider it.
    I bought a pair of shoes in Mexico last year in a small shoe shop right in the heart of Mexico City. It was already a fun experience because I basically have no Spanish and the shopkeeper had no English. The shoes were great, and the price, which was on the sole, just at the limit of what I was prepared to pay. When I paid he handed back most of the money I gave him, it turned out there was a sale on; everything was 1/3rd the price of normal, which he managed to convey to me through gestures. I would never have known if he had let me walk out.

Did you tip?

10 past six, last session of the final day. One wicket to win.

Test cricket.

Did you tip?
          In a shoe shop?

I don't think a 3 year old should be using a trampoline (not that any kid should really be using one).

Just catching up on the last few days here. Congrats Lazare on #3. Is that 3 girls now or was the middle kid a boy?

I spent most of Saturday and half of Sunday with the 8 month old lad, while the almost 3 year old lad was away with his mother. Would have been grand apart from the fact that I was putting up a trampoline any time the baby was asleep, as he can't be left alone at all now. He can pull himself up on furniture, toys, anything really, but he hasn't figured out that he has no balance yet so invariably falls over every time, often in areas he shouldn't be falling over in so needs constant attention because as soon as he is left down he bolts straight for the nearest leg/couch/toy. 3yo loved the trampoline when he got home anyway, so that's good. Hopefully it'll give him somewhere to use his boundless energy.
              Haha, they're wild.

3 girls Dom, I'm surrounded. Fun and games.

Went to The old Bank in Dungarvan this evening. Walked in thought oh wow this is gonna be fab. Some horsey lad owns it Micheal Ryan who was sitting on a big chair chatting away to anyone that came through the door while ordering peeps to wash their hands in the
                2 sinks fitted in the foyer . Staff amazing. The cocktail list was unreal (as were the prices) the outdoor terrace amazing etc. 2 menus one for outside wasn't really doing it for me so went with the inside menu.

Ordered scallops which I've only ever eaten maybe a handful of times and was getting to like them. Well now I don't like them now. They looked absolutely beautiful. Took a bite yuk they were cold, raw

I looked for pepper sauce for my steak and was told no chef didn't like pepper sauce, was tempted to look for HP sauce but looked for vinegar for my 7 chips instead
                ​​​​

Desert was amazing would want to be for the price. If down in Dungarvan I'd say pop in for a cocktail and head to The Moorings for grub. Wasn't impressed
                Last edited by SatNav; 20-07-20, 21:26.

In a shoe shop?
                  To a guy who saved you 2/3rd of the money you were willing to spend and whom probably was just earning 1 dollar an hour.

Went to The old Bank in Dungarvan this evening. Walked in thought oh wow this is gonna be fab. Some horsey lad owns it Micheal Ryan who was sitting on a big chair chatting away to anyone that came through the door while ordering peeps to wash their hands in the
                        2 sinks fitted in the foyer . Staff amazing. The cocktail list was unreal (as were the prices) the outdoor terrace amazing etc. 2 menus one for outside wasn't really doing it for me so went with the inside menu.

Ordered scallops which I've only ever eaten maybe a handful of times and was getting to like them. Well now I don't like them now. They looked absolutely beautiful. Took a bite yuk they were cold, raw

I looked for pepper sauce for my steak and was told no chef didn't like pepper sauce, was tempted to look for HP sauce but looked for vinegar for my 7 chips instead
                        ​​​​

Desert was amazing would want to be for the price. If down in Dungarvan I'd say pop in for a cocktail and head to The Moorings for grub. Wasn't impressed
                        Confirmed 7 chips.

Was the scallop dish supposed to be raw/cerviche/citrus acid cooked ? Have only tasted scallops cooked whole, other than that they are "raw" Yours look very opaque.

Confirmed 7 chips.

Was the scallop dish supposed to be raw/cerviche/citrus acid cooked ? Have only tasted scallops cooked whole, other than that they are "raw" Yours look very opaque.
                          Only ever had them kinda fried? Can't really remember. Like I'm not into sushi raw salmon etc so was like oh jaysus how the fuck am I gonna eat this. But the flavour overall chilli and lime I think was nice but I can't deal with that raw texture... Like I've no doubt RD and crew would maybe enjoy it but ugh god no cold fish not for me. Didn't say on menu, I just saw scallops chilli lime etc and went ooh. Then after I ate them was told by my friend /companion oh you know they suck up all the dirt toxins in the sea. Em thanks for that. You could have told me before I ordered

"SLICED MARINATED SCALLOPS, CHILLI, LIME, MICRO Coriander

Last edited by SatNav; 21-07-20, 01:22.

To a guy who saved you 2/3rd of the money you were willing to spend and whom probably was just earning 1 dollar an hour.
                            This was a small boutique shoe shop in the middle of Mexico city shopping district, served by a middle aged man in a three piece suit. I don't think he was earning a dollar an hour.

Only ever had them kinda fried? Can't really remember. Like I'm not into sushi raw salmon etc so was like oh jaysus how the fuck am I gonna eat this. But the flavour overall chilli and lime I think was nice but I can't deal with that raw texture... Like I've no doubt RD and crew would maybe enjoy it but ugh god no cold fish not for me. Didn't say on menu, I just saw scallops chilli lime etc and went ooh. Then after I ate them was told by my friend /companion oh you know they suck up all the dirt toxins in the sea. Em thanks for that. You could have told me before I ordered
                              You can eat them raw, but those looks like cerviche rather than raw. They are "cooked" in an acidic juice like lime. Stop it going tough like when cook with high heat. But it's served cold, which people don't expect and imagine all sorts. A bit silly of them to leave the word off the menu, but I'd say that's what they were getting at with marinaded in lime and chilli.

Also, your companion was talking out of their hoop with the toxins. The part you ate is the muscle for closing the shell, that's it. Scallops have mouths and organs like anything else, but they are discarded. Except for the roe, which can be left of or removed (it was removed from yours).

"SLICED MARINATED SCALLOPS, CHILLI, LIME, MICRO Coriander
                                Sounds delicious - you probably shouldn't try abalone so

3-s2.0-B9780128015735000036-f03-05-9780128015735.jpg

I'd say if you are popping something on the menu in a small place like Dungarvan you should go to a bit of effort in the menu explanation and adaptation to what people want. I'm sure its not the first time they've received back a semi-full plate of the starter in the kitchen. I guess also that SatNav was far from the first person to wonder if there was a pepper sauce to go with the steak. Some chefs get so up themselves.
                                      Doesn't like pepper sauce but likes pointless greenery sitting on the steak and those stupid giant chips. GTFO.

Pokerhand and HJ should have a virtue signal-off, refereed by keen eyed Detective Hitch.

Of course the real story of the meal is in the following intriguing sentence:

Why the forward slash /companion? Our author is clearly subconsciously uncomfortable with merely describing her dinner pal as a 'friend', which none of us would have blinked an eye at reading. But some part of her needs to define things even further to emphasize the importance of this relationship to her. There's a story there.

Maybe our authoress has commitment issues and is unsure as to whether she can designate this unknown person as a friend or merely a companion. I would think 'friend' denotes a higher degree of regard. 'Companion' suggests a more professional role such as a carer to an old person. Although this could be a more seedy relationship and perhaps this friend\companion is a paid escort of some sort.

Lots to think about here and silently judge SatNav for things she may or may not have done.

Of course the iodine in the shellfish may just have affected her frontal lobes and she has no idea what she is babbling on about either. Or she is still hammered on cocktails. Not everything has to be deep and meaningful.

I'm excluding France from that criticism of chefs as there's no helping them here. I pity the fool that asks for a well done steak. It's a rock I've overheard many waiters willingly die on, like someone has asked for a foreign exotic cuisine on which the chef is unfamiliar. Think it's also a bit iffy even asking for salt (notice how so few French restaurant tables have salt and pepper on them?) as I guess its a criticism of the fundamental seasoning ability of the chef.
                                              I was in a very good (in fact this one) South African steak restaurant once and an Irish lady made the mistake of asking for her steak well done. There were about a dozen of us at the table and the waiter politely noted the order and then said mildly 'chef won't like that'.

Sure enough, 2 minutes later, this enormous Afrikaner bursts out of the kitchen with his face red as a beetroot and starts roaring in Afrikaans. The jist of it being that no-one should insult his meat by ordering all the flavour to be grilled out of it and that the person who did this was a savage who should probably be grilled themselves. She changed her order to peri-peri chicken while the rest of us broke our shit laughing.

Chef had a whiskey with us after service and was more genial at that point.

Jesus, SA looks like savage value now with the ZAR rate. Be basically a tenner for a 500g ribeye in the best steak joint in Jo'burg.

Need to find a South African client....

I was in a very good (in fact this one) South African steak restaurant once and an Irish lady made the mistake of asking for her steak well done. There were about a dozen of us at the table and the waiter politely noted the order and then said mildly 'chef won't like that'.

Sure enough, 2 minutes later, this enormous Afrikaner bursts out of the kitchen with his face red as a beetroot and starts roaring in Afrikaans. The jist of it being that no-one should insult his meat by ordering all the flavour to be grilled out of it and that the person who did this was a savage who should probably be grilled themselves. She changed her order to peri-peri chicken while the rest of us broke our shit laughing.

Chef had a whiskey with us after service and was more genial at that point.

The brother is very fussy about his steaks being completely unadorned.
                                                  I was watching him with eyebrows fully raised amusement as he emphatically explained how he would like his steak, each instruction accompanied with an emphatic slashing gesture with hand to illustrate its importance "no sauce at all", "no vegetables", "no potatoes" "just the steak alone", "nothing else at all".
                                                  Poor young foreign looking waiter beginning to look slightly anxious at the weight of this added responsibility.

So I added a further instruction "To be on the safe side don't even bring the plate"

Even the waiter burst out laughing at that one.

​​​​

Picture 1
                                                    "Chef we've run out of our elegantly understated white starter plates but I've cleaned out this hubcap we can use"

Pic 2
                                                    "She wants WHAT sauce, hand me that cutting board! No don't bother cleaning it"

By the way beware SatNav for blonde lady\blonde son\2 * brunette daughters; they are currently on the loose in the Dungarvan area. Walk rapidly the other way if sighted.

Of course the real story of the meal is in the following intriguing sentence:

Why the forward slash /companion? Our author is clearly subconsciously uncomfortable with merely describing her dinner pal as a 'friend', which none of us would have blinked an eye at reading. But some part of her needs to define things even further to emphasize the importance of this relationship to her. There's a story there.

Sums it up perfectly.....

A companion is a person who frequently spends time with you, associates with you, or accompanies you when you go places. ... The word companion implies that you spend a lot of time together. A person you call a companion can be a friend or a romantic partner. A travel companion is someone you travel with.

By the way beware SatNav for blonde lady\blonde son\2 * brunette daughters; they are currently on the loose in the Dungarvan area. Walk rapidly the other way if sighted.
                                                          They are safe, mine was just a day trip.

Pokerhand and HJ should have a virtue signal-off, refereed by keen eyed Detective Hitch.
                                                            Ha. HJ would win that hands down as I would have no interest. I was curious on his views given his exploitation of underpaid Mexicans.

That Roger Stone 'arguing with this Negro' thing is absolutely bonkers.

The brother is very fussy about his steaks being completely unadorned.
                                                                I was watching him with eyebrows fully raised amusement as he emphatically explained how he would like his steak, each instruction accompanied with an emphatic slashing gesture with hand to illustrate its importance "no sauce at all", "no vegetables", "no potatoes" "just the steak alone", "nothing else at all".
                                                                Poor young foreign looking waiter beginning to look slightly anxious at the weight of this added responsibility.

So I added a further instruction "To be on the safe side don't even bring the plate"

Even the waiter burst out laughing at that one.
                                                                Steak seems to be the one foodstuff that your stereotypical Irish male can and will get unreasonably didactic about. Not really sure what the origins of this is.

Anyone move their pensions away from ETFs and into cash or other commodities before things really kicked off?

Had and interesting chat recently with a colleague who's a couple of years off retirement. She got burned in the last GFC with most of her fund mixed across various ETFs per the standard portfolio from the company's pension advisers. However this January she dumped the balance of ETFs into cash before Covid took off globally. She reckons its a not so insignificant difference in the order of 5 figures saved. Granted at this stage of her pension much of it was already moved out of ETFs automatically. I still thought it was interesting how much she saved. The ironic thing was the pension advisers telling her that she pays more attention to her pension that their team of "experts".
                                                                  DId she stay in cash?

Jesus, SA looks like savage value now with the ZAR rate. Be basically a tenner for a 500g ribeye in the best steak joint in Jo'burg.

I should stop looking at that site. You can buy the ribeye for less than a tenner for a kilo. And that's from a wanky place, could probably get equally good meat for a fiver a kilo elsewhere.

Decided to have a bbq tonight now.

Steak seems to be the one foodstuff that your stereotypical Irish male can and will get unreasonably didactic about. Not really sure what the origins of this is.
                                                                      Lucky bastard gets steak especially cooked for him at family dos (hmmm... metagame strategy at play)

SIster would be hosting and be saying "oh we're just going to do a beef bourgignon with mash, nice and easy, and a steak for Jack"
                                                                      Me (hopefully) "Can I have a steak"
                                                                      "Fuck off"

Ha. HJ would win that hands down as I would have no interest. I was curious on his views given his exploitation of underpaid Mexicans.
                                                                        Have you been to Mexico City? You seem to be mixing it up with a much poorer place. It would be the equivalent of tipping in a fancier Louis Copeland.

I once tipped a guy €20 in a golf shop as I was so excited about getting a new bag. Immediately felt like a sap after his reaction.

​​​​​​It was an awesome leather Cobra bag that was heavily discounted as the leather hood from it was missing. Think that's why I tipped as I couldn't believe I got it for the price. They gave me a plastic rain hood for it.

A day or two later my neighbour saw me put it into the car and remarked that he bought the exact same bag a week or two previously in the same shop.

He couldn't believe the price I paid for it. I told him why and he laughed and went into his house.

Came out with my leather hood. His bag came with two of them.

It had the hood off my bag packed in it by mistake when he bought it. My next door neighbour.

don't forget 12.30 every radio station in ireland will blast put em under pressure for Big Jack's funeral

I had an investment idea, that I'm not sure is smart or dodgy. Pension-wise I'm reasonably grand thanks to the new position, so I was thinking of building up pots of very high-risk investments that might pay off big if they work out. So I'm thinking about what might pay off in 15-20 years, although hopefully not waiting that long for the actual payoff.

What I was thinking was building up 10k investments in a few different things (this assumes I'll eventually be able to raise that type of spare cash!).

So e.g. 10k in ethereum as that might be a currency with a few hundred billion circulation value *if* it becomes the default new-finance currency. So maybe a very small chance of a 20-30 times payoff. Maybe 10k in hardwood forestry, 10k in a small range of first edition books that I think will have strong future value, 10k in one or two stocks that should have a fundamental role in the future, or maybe 10k in some wines that need to lie in the darkness in a warehouse somewhere for 15 years before they are ready to realise their value - but where they have strong upside value if they mature particularly well. Part-fund a foodtruck run by a young chef with some interesting ideas. So really atypical investment things. Does that sound like a dodgy idea, and what might be a useful pot to consider?
                                                                                  Sounds like you have too much spare cash and you should spend it

Although I think you said you are going to be buying a house at some stage, so never fear, the upkeep of that plus your children's upbringing willl suck every last cent of your disposable income so this will be a purely theoretical discussion anyway.

Just have to convince the wife now to ditch those dodgy expensive creams that all women seem to spend endless hundreds on and can't possibly have any effect on skin condition as all 60+-year-old women have faces like shriveled testicles.
                                                                                        You truly do have a death wish don't you.

I implore you not to do this. I want an alive Hitch to go drinking with in Dublin.

Can't remember if it was there or the Butchers grill that #i got the most amazing plate of lamb ribs. Been trying to recreate them at home ever since, doing OK but not close to what they served.

I'm currently trying to plan a road trip Capetown - Port Elizabeth - Capetown sometime between now and Dec '21. Was originally hoping for this October but its not looking likely to happen that soon

That Roger Stone 'arguing with this Negro' thing is absolutely bonkers.
                                                                                            What's that m8?

Hopefully. That would be the smart idea given she is just a few years away from retirement regardless of market performance. Don't know why she was still in equity ETFs that close to retirement anyway. It should surely be a max of 30-40% in ETFs if you are that close to cashing it all in.
                                                                                              People generally don’t cash it all in at retirement anymore.

Anyone with a decent DC pot generally goes with an ARF and remains invested (albeit with somewhat lower risk for another 15-20 years).

If they are very wealthy they just use the ARF for inheritance planning and they dial up the risk (versus what they might have done before they realised how wealthy they are or were going to be).

Fucking around trying to time the market on a 60+ year investment is crazy imo. I made my first AVC at age 21. That pound I invested then will be the last euro I cash out hopefully when I’m 100+ People have no real sense of how long the long run is and how much the deck is stacked in favour of the patient.

I had an investment idea, that I'm not sure is smart or dodgy. Pension-wise I'm reasonably grand thanks to the new position, so I was thinking of building up pots of very high-risk investments that might pay off big if they work out. So I'm thinking about what might pay off in 15-20 years, although hopefully not waiting that long for the actual payoff.

What I was thinking was building up 10k investments in a few different things (this assumes I'll eventually be able to raise that type of spare cash!).

So e.g. 10k in ethereum as that might be a currency with a few hundred billion circulation value *if* it becomes the default new-finance currency. So maybe a very small chance of a 20-30 times payoff. Maybe 10k in hardwood forestry, 10k in a small range of first edition books that I think will have strong future value, 10k in one or two stocks that should have a fundamental role in the future, or maybe 10k in some wines that need to lie in the darkness in a warehouse somewhere for 15 years before they are ready to realise their value - but where they have strong upside value if they mature particularly well. Part-fund a foodtruck run by a young chef with some interesting ideas. So really atypical investment things. Does that sound like a dodgy idea, and what might be a useful pot to consider?
                                                                                                The bedrock of this investment strategy is the DB pension promise from the state linked to your university post. I’d question that. Particularly the accelerated accrual and beyond a certain level of pension. There’s precedent in this area already.

I’d also question the future of universities but you’ll probably get another decade out of that anyway.

Nothing wrong with putting some sizzle into your savings and investment portfolio but I’d just question the wisdom of doing high risk stuff and a DB pension promise and nothing else.

What's that m8?
                                                                                                  It's been all over the news for days and a quick google search finds numerous articles about it.

Still don't know what it is.

stone.PNG

What's that m8?

Thanks lads, didn't want to google a racial slur on my work PC

Another day of what should be bombshell news in the UK today with the Russia Report.
                                                                                                            https://news.sky.com/story/russia-re...s-isc-12033098

MI5/6 have to be instructed to take further action by foreign secretary. They were told not to. Have a look who was in that position at the time...

I hope you don't work in IT - all you had to do was google Roger Stone.

That's what mobile phones are for. Racial slur Googling.

dobby up with your Liverpool bet. Fwiw you deserved to win and would have romped only for covid.
                                                                                                                      @ lowkicker re EFL bets you are a fkn lucksack

Don't forget about art. Preferably investing in some up and coming artist who you can bump off before they become too prolific.