Everything so far, from packing some nice books to read, making sure Google Drive has some decent shows to catch up on, to the hotel-style check in at the hospital, has failed to persuade me I'm not off on a nice holiday. Will just try to keep up that pretence for the next two days until brutal reality in the form of a surgeons saw kicks in.
    a few days of morphine on tap is always a holiday in my book!!!

best of luck with it

I just don't get the idea of paying €6 for a pint of lager to get it in a plastic glass from a pub, compared to €2 for the same drink in a can. Much handier to walk around with and has to be better quality. Same with those pre-mixed cocktails that some pubs were selling as takeaway for a tenner. You pay for the place to drink, not for the quality of the drink except in the very rarest of circumstances.
      To be fair even Temple Bar appears to have regressed a lot in with the 3 month closure....

Best of luck tomorrow Hitch, all will be good !

To be fair even Temple Bar appears to have regressed a lot in with the 3 month closure....
            I used to drive a Renault 4 just like that one, amazing car.

Anyone with recommendations for a personal accountant to give some tax advice? Specifically re living in Ireland / working out of Ireland. When to move tax residency/domicile etc.

PMs welcome!
              Talk to Marc Westlake in Globalwealth.ie

Well I've definitely got a better surgeon than the guy I'm sharing a room with. He's up tomorrow morning and he's just this very moment getting a chat explaining really basic stuff which seems to be a surprise to him, like that he needs to have the chest opened up.
                The very best of luck man. It's always a lovely feeling to wake up after an operation - the world will be brighter, things will feel, and be, much better. And, be sure, you will wake up better than when you went asleep. It's all good, and will be better afterwards.

Bol hitch!

Talk to Marc Westlake in Globalwealth.ie
                    Think I may be too small a fish for him!

Everything so far, from packing some nice books to read, making sure Google Drive has some decent shows to catch up on, to the hotel-style check in at the hospital, has failed to persuade me I'm not off on a nice holiday. Will just try to keep up that pretence for the next two days until brutal reality in the form of a surgeons saw kicks in.
                      Good luck with the gender reassignment surgery Hitch. We won't tell Graham Linehan.

BOL brother.

ahhhhh, another 16 hour day draws to a close

this shit better be worth it

Best of luck Hitch, hope all goes well for you.

...#JeSuisHitch...

If I could inject coffee into my eyeballs, I probably would at this stage.

I might be wrong but I think today is the last day the UK can legally request an extension of the transition arrangement.

Brexit hasn't gone away you know...

There was a professor called Hitch
                                    Whose chest really hurt like a bitch
                                    He went for in for an op
                                    To give his arteries a mop
                                    But the doc gave his gender a switch

There was a professor called Hitch
                                      Whose chest really hurt like a bitch
                                      He went for in for an op
                                      To give his arteries a mop
                                      But the doc gave his gender a switch

A patient by the name of Hitch Dowling,
                                      Told to curb his drinking and prowling,
                                      TO make a good Start , they’ll fix up his heart
                                      But that 2nd line , that’s why he’s howling.

There was an Irish professor in Rennes
                                        whose heart was in need of a mend
                                        He'd often use twitter
                                        while perched on the shitter
                                        but now will be sending his tweets from Depends.

Good luck Hitch!

The very best of luck buddy

Goodluck2you

Has anyone started using hey?

The Faroe Island phone company?

Just received a €30 cheque from Axa as some kind of Covid refund. Also something from Aliexpress that I ordered on Feb 19th that I'd given up on. Happy days

Don't see the need for another email client, looks like a very minor improvement on gmail that you have to pay cash for.

In any case he lost me at IMbox GTFO

Bonne chance Le Hitch.

Security alert . The patient has jumped off the trolley again. Cover all exits . I said to lock the meds cabinet didn't I.

Think I may be too small a fish for him!
                                                              Up to yourself. He’s a guy who loves sharing his knowledge so if you pitch yourself right (as a young up and comer and potentially long term client) and he has a bit of time he’s very well placed to give you a lot of very valuable advice about using residency and jurisdictions to your advantage. He actually struggles to connect with really wealthy folk IMO as he’s a bit of a policy wonk and really rich people aren’t in to the details they just want their shit sorted.

As an aside It’s a very rare combination of adviser who can connect with clients and be on top of the real nitty gritty details. Often makes me smile because the person who can connect with clients will be 3-4 times more successful then the technically “better” adviser.

That’s life I guess. I was watching a networking seminar last week and the presenter was espousing a PIE philosophy. P = performance and was only 10% of your career success in his view. I = Image, as in how good we are perceived to be at the job and was 30% of career success and E = exposure, which was how much recognition we got for being good at our jobs and was 60% of career success.

The numbers are high and most won’t agree but they make some sort of sense to me when I look at folk who have highly successful careers. Anyway it gave me a bit of boost to continue my various sustainable self promotion efforts.

Classy move by Magnus with a 150K payday up for grabs

Wasn't as 100% clear that the position was drawn with black under time pressure anyway, there were some tricks he may have used to push ding into a blunder

Brag: 3 Leaves for dinner on Friday, dinner from Night Market today. Both excellent

Read a review by someone in the FT saying it was a minor improvement over parts of gmail, but the improvements didn't really work. He'd been given one of the invites.
                                                                    Was just going to post my good luck message and seen you posting! has it been cancelled or postponed or was it just so easy you are back up and posting right away

Staring to get somewhere with my whole allergies issue. I was seen by the Oncology centre in March or April and they said they were going to do all the tests to see if I had Mastocytosis or not. Due to it being a condition that is detected when the mast cells are activated, it is very difficult to catch. Another option is the bone marrow test which I was scared of.
                                                                      They did so many tests here and they did a few that were being sent abroad. I got a call from the Dr on the 15th of June to tell me they had the results. She starts the conversation telling me that the tests they did were all fine and I was deflated as I was hoping for an answer to my horrific reactions. Then she tells me that one of the tests they sent abroad has come back showing that I have a problem somewhere as the level in this test was very high (IGE) and I was going to be seen by the specialist.

I have been told it is an auto-immune condition, but they don't know exactly what. They said the test result basically backed up my history of severe reactions and anaphylaxis.
                                                                      I have also been told that it is most possibly the reason why I still have a damaged hip 3½ years after my ballet accident and why my tennis elbow just isn't shifting. My body is just overreacting (typical wimmin eh Willie? )

Hopefully, I will have answers soon, they still can't confirm or deny the mastocytosis as the Tryptase test was negative, the protein(??) is only in the blood for about 48hrs after having a reaction and I haven't had one in a while. But they said no bone marrow test for now.

We are all getting old guys and falling to bits!

Fair play for sticking at it MrsFD. It's amazing how many things docs especially around allergies that docs have zero clue of.
                                                                            What annoys me is that I have had reactions for a lot of my adult life, but in 2014 they were constant. I was put on a list to see someone in Ireland it never happened, I contacted and asked if I could see the specialist private and they said no, they will get it done as a normal appointment. I explained I was leaving 6 months later and they never ever got back to me. Useless feckers

It's tomorrow morning! They asked me to come in Monday as needed to run some pretests today including a rather odd feeling angiogram. What weirdo ever thought it was an acceptable idea to stick a camera on a string and send it floating through a vein. Should hopefully be up-and-attem in a few days. Rather impressed with my beautifully smooth skin, so that's the big current upside.
                                                                              Best of Luck Hitch, be thinking about you tomorrow. Hope it all goes smooth.

I don’t think there’s a small enough violin in the world for me to play for the people whinging about uncertainty around their foreign summer hidays. Suck it up you dopey cunts

For all the crocodile tears and platitudes you hear from the leadership you can see exactly how many fucks SF IRA actually give about people and civil society, while everyone is trying to contain the virus they turn the the funeral of a murderer and absolute scumbag into a fucking celebration of all things rancid and hateful.

bpanews_3e688220-2862-4cd7-9273-b3a282d24cb4_1.jpg

I don’t think there’s a small enough violin in the world for me to play for the people whinging about uncertainty around their foreign summer hidays. Suck it up you dopey cunts
                                                                                      I have an even smaller one for the gobshites whinging about there not being a minister for Mayo

@Hitch try and get any laughs out of ye before they use that bone saw. Coughs and laughs will be no fun for a few days. I'm sure it will stand to you that you're not at deaths door going in anyway

Anyway it gave me a bit of boost to continue my various sustainable self promotion efforts.
                                                                                          Might there be a new tie in the offing?

Best of luck Hitch. You join the elite group of us on here that have video evidence of actually having a heart.

Had an angio in Jan Hitch
                                                                                              Fasttracked after an ECG anomaly

Then stress test on treadmill
                                                                                              Nurse..Neil can you come take a look at this (concerned tone)
                                                                                              Doctor Neil.."oh hes gone into a left bundle (block) and looking towards me
                                                                                              Me..a pair of raised eyebrows indicating "please go on"
                                                                                              Doc..did you play a lot of sports when you were younger
                                                                                              Me.."what do you mean younger I still do"

They take me off treadmill and straight into ultrasound
                                                                                              Had a left handed junior doctor trying to hold the ultra scope thingy and use the keyboard with his right hand
                                                                                              He had 4 doctors in to look at my heart culminating in a senior Cardio who just looked and kept saying " yes yes beautiful Aortas beautiful"
                                                                                              My fucking Aortas were packing their bags ready to leave with the smooth bastard.

It was an unusual experience but I've had a a laugh over it many times since.

Hope you get a laugh out of that Hitch.

You'll be fine.

Hitch was probably a bigger % to croak it starting any of his binges over the last twenty year. This should be a breeze, best wishes.

Wheres good to buy outdoor furniture, BBQ, sunroom furniture?
                                                                                                  Are Sahara gas BBQs any good? Looking at the x475, competitively priced, ten year warranty.

Any of the SF IRA fellow travellers willing to get behind Doherty and McDonald defending their decision to stick two fingers up at all the people who had to watch their loved ones buried alone and without traditional ceremony?

A bit foolhardy of them much like a huge % of the country at the moment . This thing hasn't gone away ( talking about covid 19 not the IRA)

Are Sahara gas BBQs any good? Looking at the x475, competitively priced, ten year warranty.
                                                                                                        In ireland outdoor furniture shoppers are either optimists or suckers .

Where are you based? The Orchard in Celbridge has a good high quality range upstairs. The Arboretum near leighlinbridge in Carlow is also good so it sort of depends where you are and what’s handy.

B&Q and the likes are grand for middle of the road stuff but if you’re making an investment in a decent few outdoor pieces I’d go looking a bit wider.

Uggh, came in this morning to be greeted by a shitty e-mail.

Since January, I've been working on an application for an in-house 2 year development program that if you get accepted on it, you are basically on a fast track to the top. It was a redonk amount of work and time that had to be put in, with multiple rounds in the process, with each round narrowing the field and the final one being 3 separate interviews with senior leaders based all over the globe. All three interviewers said they were more than happy to recommend me to the selection board and I also got sign off from my own RVP but today, I got a sort of weird e-mail, well the opening salutation of the e-mail was weird, it went;

Dear Mr Surname First Name

I mean, who does that?

Anyway, it went on to say that my performance was exemplary and how it speaks volumes about my level of performance and leadership capability and how they are so unbelievably lucky to have me in the company but I didn't get the gig.

There is a very minor consolation in that only two people from the whole of Europe get selected but I am absolutely gutted as all the feedback from each round, in particular the last one, had me as a forerunner.

There will a very large drink had tonight!

This is worth yer half hour .

Succumbed to the bike wankers elete, and brought myself a 700 euro bike today . Should pay for itself after 35 weeks and after that will be saving roughly 20 euros a week.

Not a bad investment if I can keep it safe from being robbed. Perfect time to get one to be honest with the less traffic on the roads.

Might there be a new tie in the offing?
                                                                                                                    Ties are very much out at the moment. It’s all about the open neck shirt, blazer or decent jumper and a home office that is clearly not your smallest bedroom.

A nice picture on the wall, a plant and maybe a bookshelf with thick and appropriate books. That plus a good lighting setup and the web cam set at least at eye level.

It’s amazing what you can do from home in terms of new business and networking though if you already have a reputation in your field and you make the time right now. People are dying to chat and open to all sorts of ideas that they may not have made time for before.

This kid is one of my missus’ bff kid

Welcome back to Instagram. Sign in to check out what your friends, family & interests have been capturing & sharing around the world.

its a public profile so no biggy.

But.... he’s not even 2 and look at that golf swing.

Ties are very much out at the moment. It’s all about the open neck shirt, blazer or decent jumper and a home office that is clearly not your smallest bedroom.

A nice picture on the wall, a plant and maybe a bookshelf with thick and appropriate books. That plus a good lighting setup and the web cam set at least at eye level.

It’s amazing what you can do from home in terms of new business and networking though if you already have a reputation in your field and you make the time right now. People are dying to chat and open to all sorts of ideas that they may not have made time for before.
                                                                                                                        I have my phone so the view is out the window, where, bizzarrely enough there is quite a large palm tree in the garden.

Good conversation piece when people look closely, do a double-take, and then can't contain their curiosity and have to ask WTF a palm tree is doing in Ireland.

Where are you based? The Orchard in Celbridge has a good high quality range upstairs. The Arboretum near leighlinbridge in Carlow is also good so it sort of depends where you are and what’s handy.

B&Q and the likes are grand for middle of the road stuff but if you’re making an investment in a decent few outdoor pieces I’d go looking a bit wider.
                                                                                                                          I'm Midlands/west.
                                                                                                                          I want good stuff, quality saves money over time is my opinion.