I read Hopkins was kicked off Twitter for being a hater and inciter to hate. Bit of a gee bag all right.

Do they talk about the Shockley-Quiesser limit in the thesis? If not I suggest asking them about it as your first question to scare them. If you're claiming to understand the economics, you should have a grounding in the physics that limits the economics!
        Wouldn’t that only apply to PV cells?
        Domestic solar panel are solar thermal.
        although in either case efficiency is notional without any consumables.

Anybody know anybody that installs electric gates? Basically just want to make sure I get a good company to do it.

Just got the oul botox done. I don't think I was ever as excited to see a needle. Doctor called me. I ran in and threw myself on couch thing and said I don't want any movement just freeze me now!!

Elated I am lol

Genting casinos UK have announced they reopen on July 4th but will no longer be offering poker, ever.

With so many Dublin clubs previously closing their poker rooms or shutting down completely it's looking like live poker has become such a small niche that it will become extremely difficult to find a game.

The post Covid scenario of 5 handed tables may not be intended to be permanent but could also prove so unsatisfactory that it further accelerates the games decline.

I miss falling across the lane from the Jackpot at 9am for breakfast at that little cafe,
              I miss getting "chiefed" by runner runner in the Emporium,
              I miss The General exploding with indignation at a min-bet and slamming all-in against my nut hand,
              I miss Parkinson "watering" pot plants in Galway hotel foyers at 4 in the morning.

Most of all herself misses sending me out to play poker when I'm stressed and moody because I'll be back in a few hours in great spirits, and probably randy!

Anybody know anybody that installs electric gates? Basically just want to make sure I get a good company to do it.
                Killeen Engineering in Enfield did mine years ago and they've never needed a service since.

Genting casinos UK have announced they reopen on July 4th but will no longer be offering poker, ever.

With so many Dublin clubs previously closing their poker rooms or shutting down completely it's looking like live poker has become such a small niche that it will become extremely difficult to find a game.

The post Covid scenario of 5 handed tables may not be intended to be permanent but could also prove so unsatisfactory that it further accelerates the games decline.

I miss falling across the lane from the Jackpot at 9am for breakfast at that little cafe,
                  I miss getting "chiefed" by runner runner in the Emporium,
                  I miss The General exploding with indignation at a min-bet and slamming all-in against my nut hand,
                  I miss Parkinson "watering" pot plants in Galway hotel foyers at 4 in the morning.

Most of all herself misses sending me out to play poker when I'm stressed and moody because I'll be back in a few hours in great spirits, and probably randy!
                  Liam Delaney runs a fantastic game in Carlow. Last time he had a few enquiries for a 9 handed €300 freezeout before his regular €120 game so he set it up and I dealt it. Players had a great time and it was a very enjoyable game to deal. They were talking about making it a regular thing and bumping it up to €500 freeezeout before his regular games. They were all able to late reg the €120. And solid cash action until morning.

Then, coronavirus hit and obviously games stopped. I'm sure he will be back up and running soon as the appetite for live poker down there is huge. You have people from all over, Carlow, Kilkenny, Tipp, Wexford, Waterford, Wicklow, Dublin, Kildare, Laois. I even live in Meath and dont hesitate to go and work knowing I'll get a good nights work. I'd add Liam on Facebook if you have it or if not, his number is on this site somewhere if you want to find it and pop him a message to get added to the list.

As for you SatNav,
                    No amount of Botox would freeze the smile on everyone's face when you planted one on a bewildered McCluskeys lips in that same Galway hotel.

I've been working on releasing an EP (It was originally going to be an album!) for the best part of the year. Now it's getting closer to completion I thought it would be interesting to journal the whole process. Here's the first part: https://medium.com/@daraghthomas/we-...5c8b3167970711
                      Looking forward to but reading and listening. Best of luck

There's so many things that Chu one has done that have annoyed me. Either being incredibly woke to the point of extremism, or constantly claiming she is subject to racism and gender oppression despite clearly being popular enough to be elected which is far more popular than the rest of us are. And soon to be elected Dublin Lord Mayor, which we'll never here the end of.

Whatever about the rest but she was receiving racist abuse under pretty much every tweet when she was elected. And she was outspoken about that.
                        Has she said something recently about her being currently a victim to racial oppression?

Interesting how so many people have discovered that soccer is a steaming pile of shite of a game when you ease up on the raw tribal hatred at the core of it

Wouldn’t that only apply to PV cells?
                              Domestic solar panel are solar thermal.
                              although in either case efficiency is notional without any consumables.
                              Isn't that only for hot water? Is residential PV not a thing?

Interesting how so many people have discovered that soccer is a steaming pile of shite of a game when you ease up on the raw tribal hatred at the core of it
                                Say the Liliwhite who foams at the mouth when the Dubs massacre you in the lesser skilled game of GAA football

Here we go again, grown men fighting over which type of balls are the best.

Say the Liliwhite who foams at the mouth when the Dubs massacre you in the lesser skilled game of GAA football
                                    GAA is just codified faction fighting and no pretence about it, whatever about the skills involved what differentiates it from soccer is that it usually carries a decent level of entertainment over the course of a game.

Speaking of grown men fighting, when is your race with HJ ?

I'm an examiner later this week on a panel to award a PhD. Topic is the investment potential of solar power in Ireland. Quite fascinating, but mainly aimed at building solar power plants rather than the feasibility of household solar. Has anyone ever looked into getting solar panels? Did it look like it kinda makes sense / makes absolutely no sense / makes loads of sense, from a personal investment perspective?
                                        Should we not be playing to our strengths and focusing on wind and ocean energy?

Fooking farmers setting fire to everything tonight. A plume like Krakatoa across the field from us. Can't decide what excites them more, driving tractors or lighting fires.

Here we go again, OLD men fighting over which type of balls are the best.

Colm Toibin has only got one ball. And relaxes by playing tennis.

I don't know if the two things are inextricably linked but I learnt them both today.

Speaking of grown men fighting, when is your race with HJ ?
                                                  Yep, we've both agreed on July 25th.

Well we prefer the term 'insolation' to capture local variations in sunlight hours and intensity for one thing... Ireland's is quite crap in that regard but I'll leave it up to the economists to figure out of it works!

Colm Toibin has only got one ball. And relaxes by playing tennis.

I don't know if the two things are inextricably linked but I learnt them both today.
                                                      Was expecting more from you on Djokovic today

The votes a that got them 12 seats and unlucky not to land a few more for were third and fourth preferences from people who wanted more or less exactly what is on the table now, a program for government that puts a green agenda at the heart of government without bringing the economy to a grinding halt.

I'd be all in in under 5 seats for them if their rejection of the PFG they campaigned for another election in the short term. I would certainly never put a number beside a GP candidate ever again.

The votes would splay everywhere, would probably be most beneficial for SF in terms of how lower order preferences would count ergo their frantic efforts this week to scupper the deal.
                                                        I'm a GP voter for two or three elections from a family with no long time affiation. Actually signed up as a member a couple of months ago. As such I more or less 100% agree with all this. They'll rightly be unelectable and a laughing stock if they reject this. Australia was on fire for half a year but don't go into power because we didn't get a deal on housing - you can't stand overthat level of nonsense

Was expecting more from you on Djokovic today
                                                          Halfway through the second line I realised it wasn't a limerick.

OPR has sent me deep down the rabbit hole of Lex Fridman podcasts.

This latest one is just fantastic, even if you are not particularly interested on AI many of the insights Joscha Bach shares here are not just insightful and profound but also beautifully and clearly communicated.

Well it provides a balance. A windy island facing the onslaught of the Atlantic has a massive wind energy resource, but a lot of that will eventually need to be exported to the continental grid in the pipeline currently being built to France. Its too unstable to design a whole system around. Solar provides quite a nice predictable base on which to build wind on top as its quite predictable based on number of sunlight hours (a simple mathematical equation) and historical sunlight intensity. Biofuel seems like a travesty that hopefully will be phased out - using good land for shit purposes so farmers don't go bankrupt. So unless we keep gas in the mix (which is the current plan), we need something renewable that is more predictable than wind.

Once we get all the cars on the grid it's going to be class. Not sure what the plan is for heating homes though.

I'll let zuut swoop in to fix any errors in the above. I've left one or two errors there to keep him happy, and I look forward to finding out what they are.
                                                              We'll hopefully be able to rely on France for baseload if they haven't shut too many of their plants by then.

The general anti-natgas /anti-nuclear stanch by environmentalists is daft. We can't rely on renewables without at least one of those.

Those hippies who occupied Merrion Sq couldn't run a protest on renewables but they expect the country to do it.

Don't really know enough about natural gas, but yeah the nuclear thing is up there with the most stupid policies. Along with opposing waste-to-energy plants (in moderation) imo.
                                                                    Yeah, I don't know why anyone would be opposed to nuclear energy. https://www.wired.co.uk/article/fuku...-mental-health

Was working in the office today because yesterday evening my boss sent me an email asking could I come to work to discuss my working from home - so i was like wtf is up? It was such a silly reason though. I had posted some pictures at the beach from a few weekends ago when i visited my gf, but I had posted them during work hours, so some people had said it to my boss from my friends list on facebook or sth. He wanted to see if I had been at the beach during work or not, just to see if what they said is right. Or even if I had been working other hours so that being at the beach was ok, being quite reasonable and of course understood when i said I wasn't and could see I was quite pissed off haha.

I would never be friends with people from work on social media if I could avoid it.

But that's outrageous.

Now, when you were thinking that fine thought, I guess you assuming there's an equivalence between building a power plant in a major earthquake and tsunami zone (and even still not that much damage), and Ireland? What really kills people in their millions every year is fumes from fossil fuels, nuclear is a gift to humanity.
                                                                              Have it in my head that Finland invested massively in nuclear quite recently, ah yes here it is.

Gets rid of fossil fuels entirely; how Green is that?

Yeah. Having said that it's generally agreed that nuclear wouldn't be a good idea in Ireland for power management and cost reasons. But as long as we are connected to France, which we soon will be, we can use their nuclear and ship them our excess wind when wind is up to scale.
                                                                                  I think your unconscious might be on Hectorjelly's side on this.

Now, when you were thinking that fine thought, I guess you assuming there's an equivalence between building a power plant in a major earthquake and tsunami zone (and even still not that much damage), and Ireland? What really kills people in their millions every year is fumes from fossil fuels, nuclear is a gift to humanity.
                                                                                    The tech has moved on greatly too since Gen II in the 70s.

Pal of mine running the OptaJonny account now since the Perform/STATS integration. Lot of fun!

GOZust.png

I would never be friends with people from work on social media if I could avoid it.

But that's outrageous.
                                                                                        Yeah in general I have very few, so it's not a large list of suspects. I was on the warpath after. Being called into the office on my birthday for that shite.
                                                                                        Also who would be stupid enough to do what they were asking of me. Well I guess some people would be, but if they knew me at all they'd know I'm a little more savvy haha.
                                                                                        Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 24-06-20, 11:06.

Yeah in general I have very few, so it's not a large list of suspects. I was on the warpath after. Being called into the office on my birthday for that shite.
                                                                                          Also who would be stupid enough to do what they were asking of me. Well I guess some people would be, but if they knew me at all they'd know I'm a little more savvy haha.
                                                                                          Photoshop yourself hanging out with Neil Armstrong on the moon this afternoon and stick it up on on Facebook with a "But shh don't tell my boss where I am "

There's so many things that Chu one has done that have annoyed me. Either being incredibly woke to the point of extremism, or constantly claiming she is subject to racism and gender oppression despite clearly being popular enough to be elected which is far more popular than the rest of us are. And soon to be elected Dublin Lord Mayor, which we'll never here the end of.

There are so many things wrong with this post I don't know where to start.

It is clearly possible to be popular enough to be elected Mayor AND be subjected to racism. Do you think the two things cancel each other out? Or do you think there is a certain amount of racism that people should suffer without complaining about?

Civil war has broken out . It's been coming . Fecking Nordies

Does anyone know the law regarding a package holiday cancellation due to Covid? My mother had something booked and they've come back with a voucher that can be used within the next nine months. If she doesn't use it after nine months she can claim cash back. From what I can see on Citizens Information she should be due a full refund immediately. I told her to email them and they came back saying it's a government backed credit refund note and she can't claim it back for nine months. Is this true or are they just chancing their arm?

If they are chancing their arm what should her next step be?
                                                                                                  Last edited by KK82; 24-06-20, 12:19.

There are so many things wrong with this post I don't know where to start.

It is clearly possible to be popular enough to be elected Mayor AND be subjected to racism. Do you think the two things cancel each other out? Or do you think there is a certain amount of racism that people should suffer without complaining about?

I especially loved the "which we will never hear the end of" - you will if you unfollow her m8

Photoshop yourself hanging out with Neil Armstrong on the moon this afternoon and stick it up on on Facebook with a "But shh don't tell my boss where I am "
                                                                                                      Haha I was thinking earlier of doubling down, photoshop of me at the Eiffel tower, green screen meetings at the beach, but you're going big, i like it.

2/5 odds it was the boss himself. Just blaming someone else. I can't see how someone you actually work at the same level with would do that? Not least because of how crappy they would look to the boss. Does facebook tell you who viewed your pic?
                                                                                                      He can't see them, nor would he use facebook, don't think he even bothers having a computer outside work. I can see how it could happen, some of the people I'm pals with are 10 years older like him, and they would have started at the same time at the job, and would be friends outside work kinda thing so it would come up in conversation, "oh i saw him out at the beach" kinda thing, it might not even have been in a "tell on him" kind of vibe but maybe after hearing it from two people I think he was probably more concerned of the optics of people seeing stuff like that and coming to that conclusion when he is trying to keep morale up. In that sense it could have been him pushing to find out, more like what you mean.

Markets seem to be very very very slowly agreeing that Biden is fav. Best odds for Biden 8/11, for Trump 13/8. I'd imagine there's a lot of residue doubt due to how 2016 turned out.
                                                                                                            Back Trump. If he loses Great . If he wins sadly rub monies into titties .

What is a little bit of racism ? Kerry Jokes , Irish Jokes , referring to someone as 'the likes of him' . Where is the line ?
                                                                                                              I'll die out but just want to reveal to my offspring how wonderful they have to be to avoid social media shaming.

Does anyone know the law regarding a package holiday cancellation due to Covid? My mother had something booked and they've come back with a voucher that can be used within the next nine months. If she doesn't use it after nine months she can claim cash back. From what I can see on Citizens Information she should be due a full refund immediately. I told her to email them and they came back saying it's a government backed credit refund note and she can't claim it back for nine months. Is this true or are they just chancing their arm?

If they are chancing their arm what should her next step be?
                                                                                                                If she paid for it by card, raise a chargeback with card provider/bank

Well thats precisely the point. I've never followed her, yet she keeps getting retweeted into my timeline saying something right-on.
                                                                                                                  Fair point, twitter is the worst.

Markets seem to be very very very slowly agreeing that Biden is fav. Best odds for Biden 8/11, for Trump 13/8.
                                                                                                                    seems like you have found the all-time rick there, your only problem will be how many millions to get on

Well thats precisely the point. I've never followed her, yet she keeps getting retweeted into my timeline saying something right-on.
                                                                                                                      I hear there's a new social media setup for people who want to avoid anything "right-on"

https://www.newstatesman.com/science...tter-alt-right

Isn't that only for hot water? Is residential PV not a thing?
                                                                                                                          Residential PV exists, it’s just almost always inferior to solar thermal at that scale and situation. Yeah, solar thermal is only water. But water is often heated electrically. If it contributes 3KWh of hot water, it’s the same as 3KWh of electricity.

PV being limited to c.30% is “technically” efficiency. But unlike heaters there’s not input cost, so it’s not hugely important. The magic number is basically installed cost. If the tech gets cheaper, it might become viable.