Owns a bunch of casinos in the US...big mouth, absolute donator but is super aggro in doing so.

Even if Russia were to capitulate today, oust/execute Putin and install someone more 'reasonable' to western sensibilities, I'm guessing it'd still take 1-2 years at least before most Ukrainians who want to go home would go home? Not everywhere is turned to rubble of course, but plenty of it is. Rebuilding it would be the big task a lot could go back for, but it's in no fit state for most to return to even without the war going on.
      We had a family who returned recently. The little girl was in my lads class . Its their homeland . The want to go home . Its not a holiday in Ireland for these people . They would prefer their own rubble if there were no war.

Who's that lad?^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Persson not Keane
        He plays all the big high-stakes games recently. He owns Maverick Gaming which includes something like 20+ casinos.

Kinda related, Phil Galfond recently did a video with his wife Farah where Phil was approached and asked if Farah would be open to a seat in JRB's private game. A game Phil himself would NEVER get a seat in. Phil had been teaching her poker and she was grinding 5/10 in the Bellagio at the time. She couldn't believe how soft the game was compared to 5/10 and they were playing $500/$1000

Live poker is all about the games you can get a seat in these days and while Persson is a huge donk he isn't close to the worst I have seen in these games and I am sure he sits in many huge private games where he is actually a favorite.
        Last edited by Opr; 20-02-23, 11:12. Reason: Stakes were bigger than I thought

Biden has popped up in Kyiv this morning. 'FU Vladolf' would be the not so subtle message there.

Very sad to hear of the death of Belfast journalist Henry McDonald at just 57 from cancer.

He first came onto my radar when he was the Gulf war correspondent for the Irish News back when I was at Queen's in the early 90s and getting daily updates from his reports.

Followed his career to The Observer and The Guardian where he worked for over two decades reporting on the Troubles from a multitude of angles.

He was a great football fan and lover of music and, moreover, a fantastic (and fair) observer and articulator of complex and emotive matters. RIP.

Met a refugee yesterday at my boardgame meetup, one of the nuclear engineers from the Zaporizhzhia power plant that is under Russian control, one of only two guys that can run the reactors there. He was telling me about being offered a russian passport to keep working there, others got shot in the legs and asked again. His friend, the other engineer, took the passport. This guy escaped, tried to join the Ukraine army. They told him they don't need meat, especially not from a nuclear physicist, they need him to work, pay taxes and fund the war. You could see a lot of people were asking him how could he leave and not join the army, it weighed on him. Russian army were looking for him and I'm not sure if he was allowed leave Ukraine or not by the Ukrainians either, I think not as he drove a big ring of countries to get here, he wanted to get as far from Russian as possible and to get to an Island.

He had a massive boardgame collection that the Russian army came and confiscated or destroyed, saying oh there could be hidden Ukrainian war info in there blah blah. So all his stuff was stolen really. He's looking after some kids and others that all live together packed in now in ireland, they don't have internet or tv and he's got them boardgames. He came along to buy some from people there and people gave him free games etc. Kids have him driven mental with a formula 1 game where you flick the cards around the board that my friend donated so he was so happy to get something else, collection up to 9 games now and they're delighted, it's like gold dust now for them to have some entertainment, anything to do. I'm not sure if he was saying the Russian soldiers or the refugees, but one of the groups he was dealing with had never even seen an elevator before or knew what it was.

He himself was able to get a job with Guinness and rent an apartment now, pending starting his own nuclear reactor here he says. Absolutely lovely fellow.
              Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 20-02-23, 11:23.

So one year into a war with the 'second greatest military force the world has ever seen' and finally the President is walking around Kyiv.

Except it's not the President of RuSSia, it's the President of the USA. What an enormous kick in the balls to Mad Vlad. WP Old Man Biden.

I’m not being critical of people not taking people into their homes at all here or even offering up spare houses -that’s a personal decision it’s not going to work for a lot of people- I’m talking about the large concentrated drops of people into hotels etc.

I find it difficult to believe their isn’t more suitable places in south Dublin especially when you see the poor standard of some of the places people are being put up in down the country.

the town I live next to now has a population that is around 20-25% Ukrainian most of whom are in hotels- . There’s been no marches or issues that I’m aware of aside from a recent vaguely worded “March against what’s happening in our community “ that received no support. And the only from negative I’ve heard anyone say was from a Ukrainian.

Do you think this is the goverment telling hotels to take them in or hotels taking the guaranteed money from the government?
                  Who are you angry at?

Survived Disney, every fucking step was agony
                    Got blood tests back from two weeks
                    High levels of CRP and they want to do further tests for RA.

Getting old fucking sucks

After all the recent media coverage (Time) around bing it was inevitable MS had to do something. It was fun while it lasted but MS has completely chopped off Bing's balls and it won't engage in any conversation outside the very mundane requests for information now.

They have a layer they call 'trust and safety' which basically intercepts all requests to the AI and only forwards if deemed appropriate and then has loads of rules which the AI must use to formulate a response along with then further proofing that response before sending it to the user. I thought it was funny on the ALL IN pod that they describe it like they have a demon that they are trying to control and monetize

It seems you are only holding the dam back though as others along with Lex Freidman have said that these models aren't that hard to build and currently a number of sources outside of big tech are working to bring them to market. It is like the music industry fighting to still control music after Napster arrived. Shutting down one service only to see hundreds more in its place.
                      Last edited by Opr; 20-02-23, 13:08.

Older fogie request- what are CRPs etc ?

A year into the Chinese thing and I really don't think I'll ever get used to the highs and the lows. The absolute hottest of the hot and the most frustrating of them all. Posting this at a high point in the relationship, but jesus, there has been some baffling lows. Don't think I've ever been, over the space of a year, both more depressed and more elated.

Like it's just astonishing the way she fucks with my mind.

Are you sure you didn't love it? Disney is amazing.

So one year into a war with the 'second greatest military force the world has ever seen' and finally the President is walking around Kyiv.

Except it's not the President of RuSSia, it's the President of the USA. What an enormous kick in the balls to Mad Vlad. WP Old Man Biden.
                                You wouldn't like to be the lad showing this pic to Vlad today.

20DC-biden-sub-fcqg-videoSixteenByNine3000.jpg

Biden is the absolute boss. Everything about that man is bossdom

You still on the bender Hitch?

No, the Chinese person he's talking about is a girl.

Sorry about the crap un-PC joke

I'm on the best of benders - a Dublin airport arrivals bender

No, the Chinese person he's talking about is a girl.

Sorry about the crap un-PC joke
                                          Futurama?

Older fogie request- what are CRPs etc ?
                                            Some protein in the blood produced by the liver to combat inflamation. A high level is a tell tale sign of arthritis (or potentially lupus, I might be on House!)

Are you sure you didn't love it? Disney is amazing.
                                              Their ability to extract money from rictus grinned parents is pretty amazing alright
                                              My wife treated us to a fancy dinner in the marvel hotel. It was absolutley fucking shite, like ridiculously shite. Like the chef seemed to have gone out of his way to make it shite.

Their ability to extract money from rictus grinned parents is pretty amazing alright
                                                My wife treated us to a fancy dinner in the marvel hotel. It was absolutley fucking shite, like ridiculously shite. Like the chef seemed to have gone out of his way to make it shite.
                                                Once it wasn’t frozen, I’d probably just let it go.

GTFO

Some protein in the blood produced by the liver to combat inflamation. A high level is a tell tale sign of arthritis (or potentially lupus, I might be on House!)
                                                    Diet related?

After all the recent media coverage (Time) around bing it was inevitable MS had to do something. It was fun while it lasted but MS has completely chopped off Bing's balls and it won't engage in any conversation outside the very mundane requests for information now.

They have a layer they call 'trust and safety' which basically intercepts all requests to the AI and only forwards if deemed appropriate and then has loads of rules which the AI must use to formulate a response along with then further proofing that response before sending it to the user. I thought it was funny on the ALL IN pod that they describe it like they have a demon that they are trying to control and monetize

It seems you are only holding the dam back though as others along with Lex Freidman have said that these models aren't that hard to build and currently a number of sources outside of big tech are working to bring them to market. It is like the music industry fighting to still control music after Napster arrived. Shutting down one service only to see hundreds more in its place.
                                                      How to build GPT from scratch -

We build a Generatively Pretrained Transformer (GPT), following the paper "Attention is All You Need" and OpenAI's GPT-2 / GPT-3. We talk about connections t...

OpenAI did a lot of work after this point, refining and using reinforcement learning, but your point is correct. I'm really amazed/disappointed by the tech media reaction to bing, they don't seem to understand how LLMs work at all, the whole point of them is they will tend to give you the text you want, if you spend a couple of hours trying to get them to freak out they will.

here's my latest radio show, lots of lovely jazz, electronica and hip hop - https://www.mixcloud.com/camp_fr/sho...february-2023/

Ask your consultant about Imraldi! I sound like a US TV ad.

Worked wonders for me. If you don't have a consultant, get one. I can recommend one if needs be.

You wouldn't like to be the lad showing this pic to Vlad today.

20DC-biden-sub-fcqg-videoSixteenByNine3000.jpg
                                                            He actually looks kind of cool with the shades!
                                                            Zelenskys doppelganger in the background

Diet related?
                                                              I don't think so but I guess I'll find out.
                                                              I eat very little in the way of sugars/ processed food etc and the test was done at the tail end of dry jan

This is the lad I'm working with, training in.

Kicked two points yesterday against Cork.

Very very impressive kid in so many ways. He's going places. Smartest 23 year old I've ever met.

I don't think so but I guess I'll find out.
                                                                    I eat very little in the way of sugars/ processed food etc and the test was done at the tail end of dry jan
                                                                    How's your bread intake?

Off to say hello to the circling Ukrainians in City West . Any requests ?

I just watched cape fear...i know i'm a bit later but what a fucking movie. Incredible cinema

1991 or 1962?

1991 or 1962? We’re not going to ask again

Jesus, Alec Baldwin is getting charged with involuntary manslaughter.

in Texas too, so they probably lock you up for 50 years and then behead you.

Update

I imagine Don Hector(jelly) is now asleep in his enormous hacienda, safely guarded by scores of mustachioed desperados. Another day of drug dealing and plotting done.

That's how I envisage his life in Mexico anyway.

Mad Vlad engaging in the usual round of lies, distortion, fantasy and paranoia in his big 'speech' today.

Seems like Sleepy Joe's visit yesterday really rattled his cage.

How's your bread intake?
                                                                                    Not massive by any means tbh. As I said, I try to avoid processed stuff as much as possible. Charcuterie aside
                                                                                    Though I am a fiend for a hot cross bun.

I've the liver, kidneys and base levels of a much younger man
                                                                                      cholesteral a little high but nothing to be worried about
                                                                                      CRP levels worrisome but needs a consultant to 2nd opinion it.

All in all better news than I was expecting, 6starpool , send me on your mans name and I'll add him to the pile of Drs to ring.

Not massive by any means tbh. As I said, I try to avoid processed stuff as much as possible. Charcuterie aside
                                                                                        Though I am a fiend for a hot cross bun.
                                                                                        Ok, I suggest either increasing the bread volume or decreasing it.
                                                                                        For science.

A million DiNaros its 1991 version

3 months into home ownership and have just become NIMBYs by objecting to a planning application. Really feeling like a proper grown up

A million DiNaros its 1991 version
                                                                                              It's HJ, a million its an obscure Guatamalan 70's remake in Latin with Spanish subtitles.

I'm sure he's seen worse in the Fitz . Counsellorrrr

The reporting of Biden's trip into Kyiv is worth a read. Last president to get that close to a warzone not under US control was Lincoln!

Poor ol Boris got no credit for his jolly jolly .

Ah, Boris. You would nearly miss him.

Nearly.

Now sign up for the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp or you will all suddenly start falling out of high-rise windows. No more Mr Nice Guy, you degenerate Gayropeans.

This is class. Some folks bought a house on Fire Island and found 200 mixtapes from the 80s and early 90s (Fire Island was where New York's gay clubbing scene vacationed in the 80s)

https://www.mixcloud.com/pinewalkcollection/stream/.

Parallel to the above 'life and death on the new york dance floor 1980-1983' is one of the best music music books out there.

This is class. Some folks bought a house on Fire Island and found 200 mixtapes from the 80s and early 90s (Fire Island was where New York's gay clubbing scene vacationed in the 80s)

https://www.mixcloud.com/pinewalkcollection/stream/.

Parallel to the above 'life and death on the new york dance floor 1980-1983' is one of the best music music books out there.
                                                                                                          That's fantastic

I was at a retirement party on Saturday night for a guy that was leaving our place.

There was some of his family there and the rest was all our work crew, no partners, just staff. We had the upstairs of a venue all to ourselves so no other people were there. Great night had, with plenty of pints and when I'm heading home at around 2am, I can't find my coat. Searched the entire place (it wasn't that big) and no sign of it.

I know it's not stolen as we're the only people in the venue so reckon one of the lads took it by mistake in their inebriated state. Our HR manager is still there at this point and she helps me look again, the only coat there is a black women's coat from Zara. Definitely not mine, which I tell her. In the end of night drunkenness', she must have asked me three or four times was it my coat until I eventually tell her to get a grip, it's clearly a women's coat (in a friendly way of course) - I head home coatless.

Fast forward to Monday and I ask a few of the lads if they accidently took my coat home, but all responses are negative.

This morning, the HR manager sends an All Staff e-mail saying that she still has a black women's Zara coat from the party. I'm about to reply to the e-mail to say 'And I'm also missing a green overcoat too, if anybody has that?' when Mrs Lao Lao sends me a What's App;

'You're never going to fucking live this one down!'

'What?'

She then sends me a video of her opening our wardrobe and taking my coat out of it. The coat that I wore on Saturday night to the party. The coat that had gone missing.

I'm scratching my head, I definetely left the party with no coat. 100% certain of that, it was fucking cold and I was fucking cold waiting for my taxi...Oh fuck...

'Eh, babe, are you missing a Zara coat by any chance?'

'Yes, I am. A black one'

Sweet.

Mother.

Of.

Fucking.

Jesus.

I went to the fucking party wearing Mrs Lao Lao's coat. I have absolutely no idea how the fuck I did this. I was stone cold sober leaving the house, not a drop of alcohol had passed my lips They are two very different coats and I don't own a coat anything like it.

I let the HR manager know and she proceeded to absolutely rip the piss out of me and then replied to her All Staff and let every employee know that she found out that the coat belonged to Mrs Lao Lao and that I was wearing my wife clothes on Saturday and that she was scarlet for me.

I have been getting the piss ripped out of me for the entire morning - It will take a very, very, very long time to live this one down

FML

I was at a retirement party on Saturday night for a guy that was leaving our place.

There was some of his family there and the rest was all our work crew, no partners, just staff. We had the upstairs of a venue all to ourselves so no other people were there. Great night had, with plenty of pints and when I'm heading home at around 2am, I can't find my coat. Searched the entire place (it wasn't that big) and no sign of it.

I know it's not stolen as we're the only people in the venue so reckon one of the lads took it by mistake in their inebriated state. Our HR manager is still there at this point and she helps me look again, the only coat there is a black women's coat from Zara. Definitely not mine, which I tell her. In the end of night drunkenness', she must have asked me three or four times was it my coat until I eventually tell her to get a grip, it's clearly a women's coat (in a friendly way of course) - I head home coatless.

Fast forward to Monday and I ask a few of the lads if they accidently took my coat home, but all responses are negative.

This morning, the HR manager sends an All Staff e-mail saying that she still has a black women's Zara coat from the party. I'm about to reply to the e-mail to say 'And I'm also missing a green overcoat too, if anybody has that?' when Mrs Lao Lao sends me a What's App;

'You're never going to fucking live this one down!'

'What?'

She then sends me a video of her opening our wardrobe and taking my coat out of it. The coat that I wore on Saturday night to the party. The coat that had gone missing.

I'm scratching my head, I definetely left the party with no coat. 100% certain of that, it was fucking cold and I was fucking cold waiting for my taxi...Oh fuck...

'Yes, I am. A black one'

Sweet.

Mother.

Of.

Fucking.

Jesus.

I went to the fucking party wearing Mrs Lao Lao's coat. I have absolutely no idea how the fuck I did this. I was stone cold sober leaving the house, not a drop of alcohol had passed my lips They are two very different coats and I don't own a coat anything like it.

I let the HR manager know and she proceeded to absolutely rip the piss out of me and then replied to her All Staff and let every employee know that she found out that the coat belonged to Mrs Lao Lao and that I was wearing my wife clothes on Saturday and that she was scarlet for me.

I have been getting the piss ripped out of me for the entire morning - It will take a very, very, very long time to live this one down

FML

You deserve every scrap of abuse you get over that one. WP HR lady.

'Yes, I am. A black one"......

"And my favourite thong"(suspiciously)

LL "Sorry Babe you're breaking up there, I'll call you back"

Yer a bigger man than I Lao Lao, I'd have let the missus freeze.

Did we all just assume Lao Laos gender?

You suggesting Lao Lao is a bearded lady?
                                                                                                                      Last edited by 6starpool; 21-02-23, 14:52.

Yer a bigger man than I Lao Lao, I'd have let the missus freeze.

In fairness, she told me;

'I'd of said nothing and fuck the coat'

And then proceeded to rip the piss out of me

In fairness, she told me;

'I'd of said nothing and fuck the coat'

And then proceeded to rip the piss out of me
                                                                                                                          I laughed my diet coke up. Funny.

However the bolded part is more embarrassing