Accepted new job offer today. Job hunt not as painful as accepted, 3 weeks in total. Hybrid working available, no uplift though, but I suppose that's to be expected in the public sector.
I’ll play the Fri or Sat, I’m not sure which Day 1 yet.
Bubbled a seat for it the other night and went close to deepstack seat a few nights before that.
I planned to go to Galway but can’t go to everything so I decided that given the 300e ACOP has a similar structure to the ME in Galway and the deepstack is significantly deeper that I’d skip Galway and play the two weekends in a row in Feb.
SoRare have finally announced their deal with the Premier League, fully licensed player cards for all clubs.
Free to play version with Cards, fan experiences, jerseys, tickets etc all up for grabs.
Basically pick 10 players and submit 5 each week (1 gk, 1 defender, 1 midfielder, 1 forward plus one additional outfield players)
Sign up using my referral code and get a free Limited Premier league card when you purchase two on auction. https://sorare.com/r/deadparrot
Get a shiny metal Revolut card! And a free tenner! https://revolut.com/referral/jamesb8!G10D21
Ya, APAT was that thing that was held in the Fitz for a few years back in the day I think, don't know what it stands for, although I'm sure these acronyms are reused a lot.
In a data migration meeting today with a few HR heads, tech and PMs. Approving mapping templates.
A bit bored so fire out the question "Em the sex field datatype is down as varchar, should it not be binary?" Pin drop. 10 second awks silence. Then the response "Ah...the meeting IS being recorded Tony."
Zero craic in the workplace anymore
Ya, APAT was that thing that was held in the Fitz for a few years back in the day I think, don't know what it stands for, although I'm sure these acronyms are reused a lot.
APAT was Amateur something something although i always found it a bit stupid, like is it supposed to be limited to recreational players?
I happened to just witness an East Wall anti-immigrant protest down Amien Street half an hour ago. If you didn't know that the hand wringing about the great right gaining traction here was nonsense then that protest would say you at ease.
The majority were kids and women with buggies. Looked exactly like what it was - just a group of scumbags on a jolly. Few pitbulls too for some reason. And maybe two or three with balaclavas.
Wouldn't even be worth antifascist grouos attacking them.
Amateur Poker Association Tour
Or anybody who fancied playing.... especially anyone called Pat which accounted for half of the Fitz crowd
You're hoovering up them satty's...well done!
Was Dokes book useful?
You could say that alright. Until last April, I'd won 1 satellite ticket ever.
since last April, I've only failed to qualify for one event. So that's some turnaround.
i keep going back to it too and have actually read it 3 times. Pick up new stuff each time and really notice the difference since reading it. If you're thinking about getting it, it's definitely worth it.
For those who missed it on social media yesterday, Lankum announced a new album, due for release towards the end of March.
UK and Irish tour for May with Vicar Street dates on May 30 and 31.
These will sell out quick smart - general sale Friday at 10am and I'd expect they'll be gone by the end of the day - but here's a pre-sale link for anyone interested... hopefully it works. I'm in anyway.
For those who missed it on social media yesterday, Lankum announced a new album, due for release towards the end of March.
UK and Irish tour for May with Vicar Street dates on May 30 and 31.
These will sell out quick smart - general sale Friday at 10am and I'd expect they'll be gone by the end of the day - but here's a pre-sale link for anyone interested... hopefully it works. I'm in anyway.
Yeah, won a satellite for it. Haven't managed a deepstack ticket yet but only played 2 satts. Hopefully bink one over the next few weeks.
Played in a sat this week for the craic and hence downloaded ggpoker for the first time. By god, the UI is fairly tilting. On the river in an all in the card either slowly appears or you need to click "show" ..... couldn't find a way to turn it off but there's surely a way. Why they thought that should be the default i have no idea.
Yeah, the entire software tilts me so I won't be using it for anything other than live satts. I've searched high and low for a way to turn that feature off but couldn't find one.
Was actually really disappointed to see the lads go from Unibet to GG. Unibet is very user friendly and had great IPO satts. GG is the exact opposite.
Yeah, the entire software tilts me so I won't be using it for anything other than live satts. I've searched high and low for a way to turn that feature off but couldn't find one.
Was actually really disappointed to see the lads go from Unibet to GG. Unibet is very user friendly and had great IPO satts. GG is the exact opposite.
You can turn off the peek but the slow peel on the river if either player has equity can’t be turned off.
Best thing you can do is have them dead on the turn
Slight hack -or extra tilt- is that you pick the deck setting which gives the earliest view of the suit & hand combo.
Default just gives early look at the suit but I’ve read people mention the deck setting.
Tbh, it becomes a little weird playing on another site as you expect the slow peel.
GG does some interesting things like the blind reset for FTs of certain events.
While it doesn’t directly impact ICM, it does raise some interesting ideas around Future Game and your decisions as your edge -or lack thereof- may become a bigger factor when blinds reset.
Luna booked for Friday in first night out for me and the missus in what feels like forever.
Of course, I now have my yearly mystery foot pain (probably gout). It was meant to be the blow off of dry Jan for us both.
Dry Jan might be rolling into Feb at this rate.
Get a shiny metal Revolut card! And a free tenner! https://revolut.com/referral/jamesb8!G10D21
I happened to just witness an East Wall anti-immigrant protest down Amien Street half an hour ago. If you didn't know that the hand wringing about the great right gaining traction here was nonsense then that protest would say you at ease.
The majority were kids and women with buggies. Looked exactly like what it was - just a group of scumbags on a jolly. Few pitbulls too for some reason. And maybe two or three with balaclavas.
Wouldn't even be worth antifascist grouos attacking them.
There was a video doing the rounds of a load out in finglas the other night.
It was a much larger crowd than you'd imagine
Fucking paddy power poker... Am heads up in a satellite for a Irish open seat, (2nd get 800+) and the app crashed in the middle of a hand. Am waiting for the app to reopen ​​​​​
edit: still can't get in but looking at my account, it appears they paid out second place to me. . Never been that gutted winning before, as thought had decent chance of ticket
Luna booked for Friday in first night out for me and the missus in what feels like forever.
Of course, I now have my yearly mystery foot pain (probably gout). It was meant to be the blow off of dry Jan for us both.
Dry Jan might be rolling into Feb at this rate.
My mystery foot/ankle pain hasn't recurred (apart from a few days threat at new years that didn't come on thankfully) in the 6 months I've been on my new medication, Imraldi. They have pretty much ruled out gout though, but no specific diagnosis is possible, so undifferentiated rheumatoid arthritis is I believe what my consultant has settled on, basically meaning it can't be pinpointed, but it's the first time in a decade that I've gone 6 months without having a bad flare up of pain/swelling which can sometimes last a few months at a time, sometimes shorter.
Fingers crossed.
Medicine would cost about 700 per month, but it is covered under the drug payments scheme, so it's capped at 8- a month and that includes nearly any other prescription medicine for the whole family, so the missus was probably shelling out over half that regularly anyway, so it's pretty good.
Best of luck with it. I had a pretty shitty experience with PP over a not related but similar issue as you and i got nowhere even though they were clearly at fault.
On the positive side, you have ~75% of the buyin!
Mine wasn’t great either with Stars after getting frozen out to resubmit KYC. Basically blinded out of a couple of tournies and nothing returned.
Perhaps worth it for Pokerhand as outside of the additional cash for the buyin, they might stick you into the last longer too.
On the positive side, you have ~75% of the buyin!
Snag another package and put the 350 expenses in your arse pocket along with the 800 for a re entry if you need it.
I see the Irish lad who won the Bonnington Platinum Pass still rocking a decent stack after Day 2 in Bahamas with 250 players left, $4m to shoot for. Good luck to him. Was Denny Crane on that FT too or did I imagine that?
My mystery foot/ankle pain hasn't recurred (apart from a few days threat at new years that didn't come on thankfully) in the 6 months I've been on my new medication, Imraldi. They have pretty much ruled out gout though, but no specific diagnosis is possible, so undifferentiated rheumatoid arthritis is I believe what my consultant has settled on, basically meaning it can't be pinpointed, but it's the first time in a decade that I've gone 6 months without having a bad flare up of pain/swelling which can sometimes last a few months at a time, sometimes shorter.
Fingers crossed.
Medicine would cost about 700 per month, but it is covered under the drug payments scheme, so it's capped at 8- a month and that includes nearly any other prescription medicine for the whole family, so the missus was probably shelling out over half that regularly anyway, so it's pretty good.
I’ve done some of his other courses in the past and found them quite good. I guess movement expert is his thing. It’s not any way quacky and you don’t need to move like Ido Portal or anything.
It might be something of interest to yourself or DP.
What do the BBV golfers think of Reeds latest shenanigans . As golf is up it’s own ass I tend to give these renegades a bit of slack, so as a stand alone incident, is he entitled to the abuse he’s getting?
I’ve done some of his other courses in the past and found them quite good. I guess movement expert is his thing. It’s not any way quacky and you don’t need to move like Ido Portal or anything.
It might be something of interest to yourself or DP.
Nah, this isn't anyway related to injury or anything that can be rehabbed, ta. It seems to be an autoimmune thing in my case really. Thanks though.
Figured as much, only mentioned as I know someone with a similar ailment to how you’ve described yours and they’ve gone to mobility sessions with him prior to the launch of this.
What do the BBV golfers think of Reeds latest shenanigans . As golf is up it’s own ass I tend to give these renegades a bit of slack, so as a stand alone incident, is he entitled to the abuse he’s getting?
Why would you view it as a standalone incident though? He's not a renegade he's an inveterate cheat
Well I mean to view the incident (which I didn’t see clearly) as a standalone incident without the Reed Bias that is already there from recent accusations.
Rory doesn’t seem to think he cheated. I’m actually interested in people viewpoint on his particular incident. I know the general feeling of him as a cheat etc.
Well I mean to view the incident (which I didn’t see clearly) as a standalone incident without the Reed Bias that is already there from recent accusations.
Rory doesn’t seem to think he cheated. I’m actually interested in people viewpoint on his particular incident. I know the general feeling of him as a cheat etc.
he's a cheat and cheated again. it's up to him to prove it's his ball, which he didn't do, but the officials should have pushed harder for proof. scum gonna scum
Meh, like the up its own assedness of the game actually helped him cheat here. Rory is never going to enflame the situation and "beef". Rorys golfs statesman.
A rules official is not going to push the situation. Ultimately, the "gentlemanly" aspect of the game means it is ripe for abuse from scumbags. You are in charge of your own ball... always. If a disagreement occurs about anything YOU decide what happened to your ball and the reputation and otherwise consequences you deal with. Reed clearly dgaf about rep, its probably unrecoverable anyway so he has no incentive to be a "gentleman".
Your take on this is gas stuff. "Renegade". lol.
I'm delighted Rory stuffed it down his fucking neck.
I resigned my position at Reed's thing as being grand and let's move on. Initially, I thought it wasn't apparent cheating and gave the officials the benefit of the doubt.
Having watched a proper quality replay from Sky of the ball landing in a different tree AND then realising that Reed did the absolute nut angleshoot job on it. The officials picked the wrong tree, told him the marking on the ball they could see, then after some back/forth and Reed decided at that point to run with - "That's my marking, I use that marking". Officials then eventually signed off on it.
Sky pundits said he was unlucky to use a "popular and common brand of ball" that most pros use. It is very difficult to tell which one is which unless the ball is within a couple of meters. As opposed to a ball embedded in a palm tree. 30ft in the air with about 25% of the surface visible AND using binoculars to see it.
The officials gave him a perfect angleshoot, he was happy to oblige and take it.
I resigned my position at Reed's thing as being grand and let's move on. Initially, I thought it wasn't apparent cheating and gave the officials the benefit of the doubt.
Having watched a proper quality replay from Sky of the ball landing in a different tree AND then realising that Reed did the absolute nut angleshoot job on it. The officials picked the wrong tree, told him the marking on the ball they could see, then after some back/forth and Reed decided at that point to run with - "That's my marking, I use that marking". Officials then eventually signed off on it.
Sky pundits said he was unlucky to use a "popular and common brand of ball" that most pros use. It is very difficult to tell which one is which unless the ball is within a couple of meters. As opposed to a ball embedded in a palm tree. 30ft in the air with about 25% of the surface visible AND using binoculars to see it.
The officials gave him a perfect angleshoot, he was happy to oblige and take it.
Exactly. and its NOT their job to catch players out, it's their job to explain the rules. Not referees, "rules officials" lol. You are in charge of your own ball. He took it, ran with it. If balls could magically teleport we'd be seeing a lot more hole in ones.
also I'd just like to give Ro credit on his putt on 18. Im a big believer he's a biscuit but that was under pressure and he made it.
Do you think he makes it if Reed is in his group though? That's the reeeeal question.
I echo Theresa's sentiments. Golf is a game that can definitely be abused by cheats/angleshooters. Rory sidestepped it, nodded to the official's decision and never gave Reed related nonsense any oxygen.
A good story was Max Homa's win the same weekend. A really good dude and he's hitting his prime. He'll be a serious threat in the Ryder Cup and was 4-0 in his President's Cup debut.
However, the real story is Rory's CLUTCH birdie-birdie fist pump finish. Hopefully, Seamie Power gets the finger out for Pebble Beach this weekend. Last year he was cruising in P1 after 54 holes and it unravelled from there. Another good dude and he's got more wins in him.
Thanks for the replies , i think this story has more legs . Its interesting how cheating at golf and snooker results in such passionate hatred and in eg soccer where the players are expert divers they get exalted by the fanbase. I think it bollox that it should be a gentlemans game with whats at stake. They need to police it better .
I cant imagine what benefit Reed would derive from cheating so openly. If he DNGAS then i suspect he has some intellectual challenges as he must be at least aware of the growing bad of hatred. Nobody can be that unaware ?
also I'd just like to give Ro credit on his putt on 18. Im a big believer he's a biscuit but that was under pressure and he made it.
Do you think he makes it if Reed is in his group though? That's the reeeeal question.
What more pressure could he possibly have lumped on himself. The PGA defender supreme. He was clutch . Huge putt that bodes well for the season. The Rory haters must be disappointed
Thanks for the replies , i think this story has more legs . Its interesting how cheating at golf and snooker results in such passionate hatred and in eg soccer where the players are expert divers they get exalted by the fanbase. I think it bollox that it should be a gentlemans game with whats at stake. They need to police it better .
I cant imagine what benefit Reed would derive from cheating so openly. If he DNGAS then i suspect he has some intellectual challenges as he must be at least aware of the growing bad of hatred. Nobody can be that unaware ?
I think Renegade is a perfect description
Ah I think its the positive tone in which you mention the renegadeyness.
Diving in soccer is a joke too. Thats a harder problem to solve which way blurrier lines. This is the least of blurry lines. It was a different fucking tree! haha
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.