I was asking it some probability questions earlier on, and it got them all spectacularly wrong.
    That has been well documented. It's not a generalized AI. It likely scans text for similar problems and tries to extrapolate an answer but it is not built to do maths.

Language models are not necessarily bad at math, but they are not specifically designed or trained to perform mathematical calculations. These types of models are trained on large datasets of text and learn to predict the next word or sequence of words in a sentence based on the words that come before it. While they may be able to generate text that includes numbers and basic arithmetic, they are not capable of performing complex mathematical operations or solving advanced math problems.

It is worth noting that there are other types of artificial intelligence systems that are specifically designed for tasks like mathematical calculation and problem solving. These systems are typically trained on different types of data and use different algorithms than language models.

I asked it who was the fairest of them all and it replied Howard Webb .

Walking is probably the best exercise weight loss tool outside of heavy lifting.
        It's also an incredible tool to get someone who doesn't move, to move. Plus its great for the oul noggin.

Hitch, pull ups or chin ups will rid you of the hunch backedness and build core strength, slow to start though.
        If you can't do that, then rows of any kind will help.

Never been to a yoga class, or pilates, but have heard great things.
        Need tempo walking as opposed to Darren Clarke sauntering

I'd say the tempo would be reasonable. These spikes are all the various walks from e.g. yesterday. Tried some superman stretches this morning, as the most accessible exercise that doesn't need a gym. Was glad enough that no-one else was in the house to see those.

O7GUBuDl.jpg

I'd say the tempo would be reasonable. These spikes are all the various walks from e.g. yesterday. Tried some superman stretches this morning, as the most accessible exercise that doesn't need a gym. Was glad enough that no-one else was in the house to see those.

O7GUBuDl.jpg
            To improve the health of your heart and your fitness in general I would suggest nothing but light aerobic excercise. For a period of time, 12x weeks or so.

Gentle walking for a couple of weeks and then adding in a light jog. Never running at a pace where you're out of breath. Conversation pace, an effort where you would have no problem carrying on a conversation. Keep walking until you can do it running.

Keep an eye on your resting HR, wear your watch to bed and note it every morning as you wake..

HR data from a wrist monitor isn't overly reliable once you're moving. A chest strap will give accurate info, but the data from it is useless really without having accurate lab tested numbers, max HR, HR at lactate threshold etc.

Resting is simple though and a really good guide.

Would also suggest not having weight loss as the driver, rather an improvement in overall fitness. Weight loss naturally follows.

Light walking = several posts, heart rate stats, queries and considered responses.
              Violently aggressive sex with Asian lady= "Jaysus lads, it was great"

As it should be

Looks like he is doing better than light walking

The amount of lard ass golfers who light walk 7k a day around the golf course makes me doubt the benefits of it. You wont drop dead HH walking at good pace you are not ancient. Hiking do ya the world of good.

There are no lard asses walking 7k a day. Once a week maybe for a round of golf.

Taking it easy isn't about danger, it's about optimising fitness gains. His HR is spiking while walking, meaning a light jog or a brisk walk right now isn't fully aerobic.

The easy effort gradually becomes a quicker pace with aerobic fitness gains.

Gentle walking this week, brisk walking next week, light jog the week after. Heart and lungs doing the same work but output is improved.

After a few weeks he'll be running at a pace that today will have him panting.

Had a mini session there for 3/4 hour A few laps of the park walking with 3 sets push ups (35, 25, 25), 3 sets Tricep dips off a bench (20 15, 15), 3 sets squats X 20.

Started the day with 20 push ups and squats to get the blood flowing.

Feel like crap today and the past few days though.
                    Prob just a cold but had a weird temp of 95.5 this am....that's .5 of a degree off the start of hypothermia.Im usually bang on 97.7
                    Window doesn't close properly so room is a bit cold but never bothered me before. Had hot water bottle going to bed for my back, woke at 3am and put the heating on. I suppose it had to be the cold seeping in. Thermometer is working fine as gained a degree later.

There are no lard asses walking 7k a day. Once a week maybe for a round of golf.

Taking it easy isn't about danger, it's about optimising fitness gains. His HR is spiking while walking, meaning a light jog or a brisk walk right now isn't fully aerobic.

The easy effort gradually becomes a quicker pace with aerobic fitness gains.

Gentle walking this week, brisk walking next week, light jog the week after. Heart and lungs doing the same work but output is improved.

After a few weeks he'll be running at a pace that today will have him panting.
                      A pro golfer walks 7k x 4 rounds . Not couting pre tourny rounds . Check out Darren Clarke , Monty , many more and quite a few obese younger lads. Lard arses

Gentle walks are for the morbidly obese . The rest of what you saw is standard since 19 o splash.
                      Last edited by Solksjaer!; 17-01-23, 16:00.

It's possible to be a fit big guy you know.

Lazare spot on. Those bigger lads you see are just overeating.

Calories matter.

But to make the jump that walking can't be good for you because you see some fat lads walking... is a big jump.

Lazare spot on. Those bigger lads you see are just overeating.

Calories matter.

But to make the jump that walking can't be good for you because you see some fat lads walking... is a big jump.
                            Wtf all i said was increase the walking pace.The big jump is to say i meant otherwise . Everyone who overeats gets fat thats plain obvious as is building up slowly to be a runner. My point was to hitch . . Light gentle walking is only good for you if you dont nothing else . A good pace walking is the way to go. Clarke is ready to pop at this stage . HH dont waste you time walking slowly . You are not obese from what i can see .

Solks there's any amount of lads golfing or running with a bit of a Ned Kelly. The Ned Kelly won't disappear as that's a diet/calorie intake issue. In any case tbf, the lads would be fond of 2-3 pints of stout and a big feed. Any exercise is still better than none, 7k on the golf course is an order of magnitude better than the high stool or couch.

For Hitch I'd suggest clearly defining what your fitness goal is first and then working back from there. You certainly don't need a gym membership unless your goal leads you down that path.

Yoga, pilates and calisthenic movements could all be ideal options done from home, to begin with. My main advice is really to start really small, be consistent and tip away until you've built a habit. Then progress with to higher intensity stuff if desired.

Wtf all i said was increase the walking pace.The big jump is to say i meant otherwise . Everyone who overeats gets fat thats plain obvious as is building up slowly to be a runner. My point was to hitch . . Light gentle walking is only good for you if you dont nothing else . A good pace walking is the way to go. Clarke is ready to pop at this stage . HH dont waste you time walking slowly . You are not obese from what i can see .
                                Why do we always talk about weight or obesity in these discussions. It's unhealthy. My advice to him was aimed at improving fitness. I think if your fitness goals involve weight loss as a big motivator you're on the wrong road mentally.

I looked at his resting HR and his spikes and suggested a gentle and gradual ease into the type of excercise that improves it.

Brisk walking is currently spiking his HR (although as said earlier, the accuracy of that depends on the monitor) so a gentler regime, easing into more moderate stuff is the way to go.

Related..

Skinny man tells lads to not worry about being fat.

I dread the day when brisk walking isnt the low entry point for fitness for me. . 20 years from now maybe

confused how this point isnt crystal ..

Why do we always talk about weight or obesity in these discussions. It's unhealthy. My advice to him was aimed at improving fitness. I think if your fitness goals involve weight loss as a big motivator you're on the wrong road mentally.

I looked at his resting HR and his spikes and suggested a gentle and gradual ease into the type of excercise that improves it.

Brisk walking is currently spiking his HR (although as said earlier, the accuracy of that depends on the monitor) so a gentler regime, easing into more moderate stuff is the way to go.
                                        You answered your own question.

Spike that ticker i say. Blouses the lot of ya

I'd say you'd argue with a fart if it didn't smell right.

The last 4 words = correct

I dread the day when brisk walking isnt the low entry point for fitness for me. . 20 years from now maybe

confused how this point isnt crystal ..
                                              I'm basing it off the data he posted.

I would hazard a guess that HH's max HR is in the 178 - 183 ish range. That means that in and around 135 bpm is his aerobic threshold. Excersise at a heart rate above that is no longer fully aerobic.

Again he's probably not getting spot on data with whatever way he's monitoring it, but if he's hitting 140s while brisk walking it's doing less for him fitness wise than slowing down would do, and keeping <135.

A lower resting HR means more in reserve. Keeping your HR within a fully aerobic zone is what improves aerobic function, makes the heart stronger. Stronger heart works less, meaning a lower resting HR. Meaning more in reserve. Meaning after some gains you're now able to run inside 135 bpm where beforehand walking spiked above it.
                                              Last edited by Lazare; 17-01-23, 18:28.

Skinny man tells lads to not worry about being fat.
                                                Yeah yeah, I know.

It is unhealthy though for weight loss to be the goal over simply gaining fitness. The former has an end point, the latter doesn't.

It's not a case of 'Don't worry about it' more that a different mindset gets you there in a more healthy way, mentally, and sustains it.

Yeah yeah, I know.

It is unhealthy though for weight loss to be the goal over simply gaining fitness. The former has an end point, the latter doesn't.

It's not a case of 'Don't worry about it' more that a different mindset gets you there in a more healthy way, mentally, and sustains it.
                                                  I agree with you, just I do think if the starting point for any random person "to lose a few lbs" rather than "to get a better resting heart rate, or get fitter" then I think net benefit is greater. Although, I know you'll disagree, and I do see merit to your side too.

Be less fat, and move more. It's a palindrome.

Hitch clearly trolling us and that's something else he's up to with those spikes.

I agree with you, just I do think if the starting point for any random person "to lose a few lbs" rather than "to get a better resting heart rate, or get fitter" then I think net benefit is greater. Although, I know you'll disagree, and I do see merit to your side too.

Be less fat, and move more. It's a palindrome.
                                                      That's a fair point, but Hitch is a far smarter guy than the average randomer.

In other, less adiposity intensive news, this might give some of you a laugh, or an eye roll, or whatever.

I would walk fairly fast as a general rule tbh. Think it comes from being naturally skinny and needing to walk fast to heat up. But that's solid advice on not overdoing it. Going to stick to the couchto5k though as that's just a bit of extra exercise three days a week and I'd feel like a quitter to stop it now.

Absolutely, there's no better fitness plan than C25K. It's fantastic.

Key though, once you're running regularly is to keep the effort easy, for the most part.

Even world record holding athletes only train hard 20% of the time.

I follow a lad called Peter Somba on Strava. He won all four of the Dublin race series events last year. I think his pace for the half marathon was 3:12 per km.

21km at 3 mins 12 per k.

I regularly see him running 6:30 per km on his usual easy runs.

There's no more wonderful feeling than secretly quitting something 'good for you' and secretly doing something 'bad for you' instead.

I'd bet the physical downside is vastly outweighed by the mental health upside.

They seem to have live-streamed themselves as they were doing the prank on youtube,

Eamon Ryan has to be given credit for his trolling of the rurals.

Tar Na La. 2.05 Dundalk.

O7GUBuDl.jpg
                                                                      What caused the spike around 2am?

New Ep of Huberman podcast is great. Highly recommend. Lazare you'll prob find it more interesting than most.

https://hubermanlab.com/dr-andy-galp...-your-fitness/

Watch UK news, then watch Irish news.

Quite the contrast these days.

What caused the spike around 2am?
                                                                            Ha. Sadly that's my quick walk around the block before sleeping spike.

That's disappointing,
                                                                              my theories are much more fun.

Vivid dream too high.
                                                                              Marital duties too low.
                                                                              Virtual reality goggles, hmmm.

Made it into the pink lady. jaysus.

Chatbot AI wanker told me to grow up.

Can't read the FT article butI typed the title of an assignment that I set into it, and it was better than anything any student turned in.

Damp January is going disappointingly well. Notable reduction in anxiety, Garmin watch stress level at all time low.

Was slightly stressed earlier when I learned how the skullcrusher exercise got its name...dropped a 12.5 kg dumbbell on face. Was sure I'd done a few teeth but just a split and swollen lip for my trouble.

Fair play.

Readable without sub.

https://chof360.com/an-ai-just-passe...nly-economics/

Nice one Hitch, congrats.

New Ep of Huberman podcast is great. Highly recommend. Lazare you'll prob find it more interesting than most.

https://hubermanlab.com/dr-andy-galp...-your-fitness/
                                                                                          Cheers man, I'll listen tomorrow on the commute.

Weird, I just opened twitter and his was the first tweet I saw. Don't follow him or have even heard of him.

Although I randomly got called up by a dude cold-offering me a job at 5pm today on the basis of a recommendation by someone I would consider a distant acquaintance. So who knows anything anymore.
                                                                                            Finally paid off today, 7 months later.

That's Phase 4 of Operation Uplift completed. Not sure there will be a Phase 5 but sure never say never etc.

It would be quite the reverso if you then published a follow up article revealing the original had been written by an AI bot.

On the move or staying put?

That's Phase 4 of Operation Uplift completed. Not sure there will be a Phase 5 but sure never say never etc.
                                                                                                  well done.

I’ve never heard any of the rugby fans here giving out about this so assume ye are all part of the problem

‘A pub with a match on in the background’: Readers’ views on rugby internationals at the Aviva Stadium

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rug...aviva-stadium/

An isolated incident at a match I was at recently involved a young gentlemen buying trays of drink all match for him and his family. The constant standing up and obstruction of view was already annoying as it was, seeing as he was in the row in front of us and couldn’t even wait for a stop in play, but midway through the second half we realised that he’d urinated on himself.

It was only after he next went out to get another tray and proceeded to spill that one on others seated that the steward confiscated the drink from him and [he] was told to remain seated from there. As a French fan recently described the Aviva to me, it’s not a rugby fortress, it’s a pub with a match on in the background. Great legacy by the IRFU. – Bill, Dublin

How can someone tell urine stain from a beer spill ?

Also surely you've heard of ' sample size' when reaching a conclusion.

People will complain about anything ? If you go to a match and cant stand up for seconds at a time maybe stay at home. Its part of the experience.
                                                                                                      i prefer not to drink in the seats as going to the loo is a pain in the arse when its a good game.

Is there such a thing in Ireland, as a certificate of residency. For an Irish person that is.

Originally posted by Gimmeabreak View Post
                                                                                                          Is there such a thing in Ireland, as a certificate of residency. For an Irish person that is.
                                                                                                          Yep. Go to Revenue.ie Part 31-01-05. It's all there in a pdf file.

On the move or staying put?

Staying put (in Ireland and organizationally) I moved jobs internally in August, this is just the payoff bit.

I feel like I must either have entered some parallel universe or else I'm having delusions. I can hear SF voices on the radio talking with great sanctimony about standards in public office when it comes to funding political parties.

But that can't be happening, can it? Unless my calendar has malfunctioned and it's April 1st.

Staying put (in Ireland and organizationally) I moved jobs internally in August, this is just the payoff bit.
                                                                                                                You planning/hoping to retire a bit early when it comes to it, or keep trucking until 65 or so?

Originally posted by limpwhacker View Post
                                                                                                                  Yep. Go to Revenue.ie Part 31-01-05. It's all there in a pdf file.
                                                                                                                  thanks very much.

You planning/hoping to retire a bit early when it comes to it, or keep trucking until 65 or so?
                                                                                                                    I am a planner by nature but the true answer is 'I don't know but my goal is to be in a position to have a genuine choice in the matter'.

If I hit my mid-50s with:
                                                                                                                    • house fully paid off mortgage-free and all major works complete
                                                                                                                    • a pension pot that would afford me to have a decent lifestyle (for me, that would be somewhere in the range of €1-1.4m. People go nuts overestimating how much money they need in retirement - from the age of about 72 on, you'll be much less active. I also on principle don't want to go from being a high taxpayer in my working life to being one in my retirement!)
                                                                                                                    • kids college years paid for (after that, they're on their own I would hope)
                                                                                                                    then that would be a great position to be in. I would be choosing to work, to retire, or even to do something in between

Obviously there's plenty more variables.
                                                                                                                    Mrs D3 probably wouldn't be in the same position, given she is a PS worker. Who knows what kids will be doing as adults. What will happen in the markets to influence the size of my pension. Do I still enjoy working. etc etc

The biggest variable of course is health.

I feel like I must either have entered some parallel universe or else I'm having delusions. I can hear SF voices on the radio talking with great sanctimony about standards in public office when it comes to funding political parties.

But that can't be happening, can it? Unless my calendar has malfunctioned and it's April 1st.
                                                                                                                      It is odd that an under declaration of something like a grand is getting such airtime.

What makes it even odder is that Zahawi unpaid his tax by 3.4m and there is nothing about it in the media over there really.

I plan to retire with the bare minimum cashwise . Ive blown a fortune on my leisure over the years , especially in my msft days . Zero regrets, wish i could remember more. . If I'm around when its college time the world will be a different place. My interests will be introspective and cheap. My kids can do circus tricks for cash ( if their antics today are anything to go on ) .

The missus will be well off i guess but by then she will have deserted me for a less demanding AI robot.

It will be a different world in a very short space of time - dont sweat too much.

I am a planner by nature but the true answer is 'I don't know but my goal is to be in a position to have a genuine choice in the matter'.

If I hit my mid-50s with:
                                                                                                                          • house fully paid off mortgage-free and all major works complete
                                                                                                                          • a pension pot that would afford me to have a decent lifestyle (for me, that would be somewhere in the range of €1-1.4m. People go nuts overestimating how much money they need in retirement - from the age of about 72 on, you'll be much less active. I also on principle don't want to go from being a high taxpayer in my working life to being one in my retirement!)
                                                                                                                          • kids college years paid for (after that, they're on their own I would hope)
                                                                                                                          then that would be a great position to be in. I would be choosing to work, to retire, or even to do something in between

Obviously there's plenty more variables.
                                                                                                                          Mrs D3 probably wouldn't be in the same position, given she is a PS worker. Who knows what kids will be doing as adults. What will happen in the markets to influence the size of my pension. Do I still enjoy working. etc etc

The biggest variable of course is health.
                                                                                                                          That very much captures my thoughts around it. Wife in a similar position and I’ve largely bucketed the finances in a similar way.

The more near-term issue that needs to be resolved is what we plan to do on the house front.

I think we’ve ruled out an extension so it largely comes down to whether we decide that we’re happy with the space we have or we want to move.

If it’s the former, then mortgage free in the short-mid term is achievable but I think a move is the most likely outcome so who knows.