Bad beat/Moaning/Venting thread - Wordle Gummidge
-
-
she's married to Rickie Fowler now. where does ballet girl fit into your criteria? that's another blast from the pastOriginally posted by Wombatman View Post
Blue dress girl disgusted at omission.
To my shame, I'm struggling to remember exactly what ballet girl looks like but I have a weird memory of mentally putting her ahead of blue dress girl (and even pole vault girl) in the wank bank so it probably should be;
Ballet Girl
Pole Vault Girl
FAS Girl
Blue Dress Girl
Heyday Kathryn Thomas
2023 Kathryn Thomas
- 1 like
-
Lest ye forget the real winner.. the Goat hawtness imo
Last edited by Solksjaer!; 24-01-23, 15:00.
- 3 likes
-
What about girl in car gif bouncing all over the place...woof!!
Kathryn Thomas - very nice but something a bit weird about her jawline or mouth or something
Cancel Solks for mentioning Africa in a joke
I presume wanting to be called 'they' or one of the now 100 plus genders will be all the rage soon.
- 1 like
-
I completely forgot about ballet girl and blue dress girl.
To my shame, I'm struggling to remember exactly what ballet girl looks like but I have a weird memory of mentally putting her ahead of blue dress girl (and even pole vault girl) in the wank bank so it probably should be;
Ballet Girl
Pole Vault Girl
FAS Girl
Blue Dress Girl
Heyday Kathryn Thomas
2023 Kathryn Thomas
- 1 like
-
please remove Kathryn Thomas from that list. i've pulled prettier girls than her ffs. this list is about fantasies, not run of the mill prettyish ordinary girls
She was included to highlight how ordinary, run of the mill she is, hence the big gap between her and the rest.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Keane View PostDo you know what's the youngest they take them in the ski schools?
-
I presume wanting to be called 'they' or one of the now 100 plus genders will be all the rage soon.
Nobody batted an eyelid and I said OK no problem. Literally doesn't make a single bit of difference to me but meant the world to her. That Burke lad is just a complete moron.
- 4 likes
-
When I was covering sick leave in the school last year, one student asked that I refer to her as "they/them" after the first time I referred to her as she. I'd forgotten about it until this Burke lad surfaced recently which shows how insignificant it was to call her what she wanted to be called.
Nobody batted an eyelid and I said OK no problem. Literally doesn't make a single bit of difference to me but meant the world to her. That Burke lad is just a complete moron.
I wonder though with that BBC documentary thing out a while back...apparently there are 100 genders and there were teachers explaining to really young kids that they can be X, y, z etc. Bit confusing for them I would think but maybe they take it all in their stride.
You are going to have messers and people being deliberately awkward demanding to be called by chosen pronouns though.
I think it's fair to question people's motivations as regards their requests/demands re gender identity. In some cases it seems manipulative.
Haven't come across it in my small sphere though but probably wouldn't give much of a bollox If I was pronoun checked.
-
When I was covering sick leave in the school last year, one student asked that I refer to her as "they/them" after the first time I referred to her as she. I'd forgotten about it until this Burke lad surfaced recently which shows how insignificant it was to call her what she wanted to be called.
Nobody batted an eyelid and I said OK no problem. Literally doesn't make a single bit of difference to me but meant the world to her. That Burke lad is just a complete moron.Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
-
Not defending Burke here by the way.
I wonder though with that BBC documentary thing out a while back...apparently there are 100 genders and there were teachers explaining to really young kids that they can be X, y, z etc. Bit confusing for them I would think but maybe they take it all in their stride.
You are going to have messers and people being deliberately awkward demanding to be called by chosen pronouns though.
I think it's fair to question people's motivations as regards their requests/demands re gender identity. In some cases it seems manipulative.
Haven't come across it in my small sphere though but probably wouldn't give much of a bollox If I was pronoun checked.
I haven't been asked to address anyone I know/deal with by a pronoun different to how I'd imagine it should be, but if I was, then other than just forgetting about it, it's no skin off my nose. You'd need to be an awful thick cunt in this day and age to just outright refuse.
- 2 likes
-
I would assume that schools have policies in place (or will very soon after this crap) about how to go about this. Presumably it'll need to be a request from child and a parent, which would then stop Johnny Gobsheen asking to be referred to as a kettle or whatever.
I haven't been asked to address anyone I know/deal with by a pronoun different to how I'd imagine it should be, but if I was, then other than just forgetting about it, it's no skin off my nose. You'd need to be an awful thick cunt in this day and age to just outright refuse.
-
I was talking in work today about concepts of 'context switching' and 'role emulation'. Joked on a call that they sounded like gender reassignment.
Thought I was gonna be cancelled for about 2 seconds. Everyone laughed thankfully."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Find some local teenager to babysit (Jesus, when I think back on the succession of clueless kids we quite happily left our kids in charge of. Or possibly vice versa.).
OR, take the kids with you and go into town (kids LOVE public transport) and introduce them to some flavours on a Saturday afternoon.
Action Saturday/Sunday Funday
Wander around town and in the last few months have introduced her to
sushi, ramen, mezz (bethlaham in rathmines, a real treat), indian, chinese (not curry and rice stuff), potstickers, bao, korean
and all manner of things that dont appear on the standard goujons and chips kids menu.
Some of it goes over more than others but I think she'll be the better for it i nthe long run
- 8 likes
-
That's what we do.
Action Saturday/Sunday Funday
Wander around town and in the last few months have introduced her to
sushi, ramen, mezz (bethlaham in rathmines, a real treat), indian, chinese (not curry and rice stuff), potstickers, bao, korean
and all manner of things that dont appear on the standard goujons and chips kids menu.
Some of it goes over more than others but I think she'll be the better for it i nthe long run
- 3 likes
-
What difference would it have made? I'd have called her he if she wanted. It was just "they" in my specific example.
It does strike me as odd as to how kids suddenly have these thoughts. Is it all being led by their parents i wonder. It wasn’t there in my time, which wasn’t that long ago, but certainly simpler times.
-
I agree, it’d be fairly obtuse to call her something different. I’d probably just try and avoid it though for fear of forgetting and messing up.
It does strike me as odd as to how kids suddenly have these thoughts. Is it all being led by their parents i wonder. It wasn’t there in my time, which wasn’t that long ago, but certainly simpler times."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
I agree, it’d be fairly obtuse to call her something different. I’d probably just try and avoid it though for fear of forgetting and messing up.
It does strike me as odd as to how kids suddenly have these thoughts. Is it all being led by their parents i wonder. It wasn’t there in my time, which wasn’t that long ago, but certainly simpler times.
- 1 like
-
- 1 like
-
I completely forgot about ballet girl and blue dress girl.
Ballet Girl
Pole Vault Girl
FAS Girl
Blue Dress Girl
Heyday Kathryn Thomas
2023 Kathryn Thomas
- 1 like
-
Sure most of them have no idea what the right response is. How could you?
But i’d think by questioning them on their thoughts, beliefs, feelings etc and trying to determine if they are real or if something else is at play. Easier said than done i guess.
Ultimately young (especially) people who go and take steps to try and change their gender are making some serious life decisions that will affect their whole lives so it should be an absolute considered decision. I just wonder if it always is.
- 1 like
-
That’s not to say that nobody is prepping their kids for these attitude as part of an agenda. But I’d assume that’s more of an American thing where people will sell their granny to get a spot in the limelight.
-
I don't remember blue dress girl, although I do remember the title.
Would quite like to see that gif of the blond in the car again.
https://www.dumpert.nl/item/1416141_a11c4294Last edited by hotspur; 24-01-23, 22:40.
- 2 likes
-
I’m not a parent so i could be totally wrong.
But i’d think by questioning them on their thoughts, beliefs, feelings etc and trying to determine if they are real or if something else is at play. Easier said than done i guess.
Ultimately young (especially) people who go and take steps to try and change their gender are making some serious life decisions that will affect their whole lives so it should be an absolute considered decision. I just wonder if it always is."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostZe Krauts finally giving the OK to Ukraine getting their hands on their tanks. Could be highly significant if/when their offensives resume after the winter."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Big Scholz speech today and seems as though the Yanks are going to give them tanks too. I'm no expert on military hardware but the aid now seems to be skewed towards offensive 'things'. If the NATO weaponry really is as superior to the outdated Soviet crap as experts suggest, and the Ukrainians are trained how to use it effectively (and they seem to be very quick learners), then we could see more dramatic moves as early as April. Here's hoping.
-
Big Scholz speech today and seems as though the Yanks are going to give them tanks too. I'm no expert on military hardware but the aid now seems to be skewed towards offensive 'things'. If the NATO weaponry really is as superior to the outdated Soviet crap as experts suggest, and the Ukrainians are trained how to use it effectively (and they seem to be very quick learners), then we could see more dramatic moves as early as April. Here's hoping.
-
Originally posted by zuutroy View PostPutting on jeans gif girl gotta be challenging for top spot.
https://thechive.com/wp-content/uplo...=3285241&w=221
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by coillcam View PostBetween the Burke stuff (+family) and anti-everything fascists grifting as patriotic protesters worried about housing etc. I really dislike this timeline and it could do with a reboot.Last edited by Wombatman; 25-01-23, 10:39.Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
- 5 likes
-
Not defending Burke here by the way.
There's biological genders - male and female reproductive organs - but gender itself as it is treated within society is a social construct. I guess it could be viewed as quite restrictive to just have the one style of social behaviour and expectations that is based on your biological organs."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 1 like
-
Ultimately young (especially) people who go and take steps to try and change their gender are making some serious life decisions that will affect their whole lives so it should be an absolute considered decision. I just wonder if it always is."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 3 likes
-
Take heart from the fact that most people think Burke + family are loons and he cuts a very isolated figure. If it was the US he would be surrounded by hoards of placard wielding MAGA goblins.
Unfortunately, there is a sizeable number of loons wanting to MIGA with nothing better to be doing with their time. Ireland has its significant challenges without question, but we are a highly successful and developed country by most metrics. These loons couldn't begin to argue what was greater in the past. Knuckledraggers saying "I blame dem foreigners" is about as far as the discussion goes.
That Barrett clown and fringe elements are stoking the local nimbys into something altogether different and MIGA is making an appearance. It's getting some coverage but I'm concerned that this could grow larger than we think. An EDL clone could spawn if it already isn't in place.Now that there's no anti lockdown/covid denial stuff to focus on, a lot of these clowns have a void to fill with the next "truth". The various social/economic challenges (housing, fuel, heating/electricity, cost of living) and the Ukraine war are a lovely little key to this pandora's box.
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by coillcam View PostCan we go back to talking about golf, pensions and the BBV highlights of the 2010s instead?
I'm blaming dry January for my pessimistic outlook.
There is a 5 + hour Gary Moore tribute in the Button factory 11th Feb - 20 quid. or Turin Brakes in Whelans this weekend . . No need to ponder the arid mundanity of Jan. Lifes too short . Get out and enjoy yourself .
Eddie Rockets Spice plate beforehand ( none of yer fancy nosh needed ) Chapter 1 me bollix :-)
- 1 like
-
2023 Multi Sport Competition open for entries.
Simply predict a winner of the big sporting events of the year (US Masters, Wimbledon, Tour De France , 6 Nations, NBA etc), - score points for good picks, most points wins a decent pot.
All details in posts #1-3. Closing date Saturday evening.
2023 Multi Sport Competition - Irish Poker Boards
-
The gender thing is maybe still to come, but my big life parenting contribution came last night when I prevented the daughter from emailing in her class powerpoint presentation all about Anne Frank's dairy.*
* a more minor contribution was noting that maybe there didn't need to be that amount of exclamation marks in a presentation that was fundamentally about a little girl dying"We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 2 likes
-
Take heart from the fact that most people think Burke + family are loons and he cuts a very isolated figure. If it was the US he would be surrounded by hoards of placard wielding MAGA goblins."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Weatherspoons shutting 40 pubs seems like brit_endgame. If not even a weatherspoons can stay afloat, what hope for everything else."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostWeatherspoons shutting 40 pubs seems like brit_endgame. If not even a weatherspoons can stay afloat, what hope for everything else.
- 1 like
-
My only experience was piss poor in a Midlands Airport. Food was inedible reheated frozen crap and 15 mins waiting for a bottle of beer. Their owner is known for treating staff like shite. Never a good sign of health for any business."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Speaking to my teenage niece from NI about this over Christmas, and yep there's a made array of genders now that they are made familiar with in UK schools. Who cares though, I suppose. Like if there's 30 kids in a class and you need to remember 30 names, what difference does it make if there's also 30 genders on top of it. Its not like gender will be used much in class discussion, and its easy to simply communicate without any gender reference.
There's biological genders - male and female reproductive organs - but gender itself as it is treated within society is a social construct. I guess it could be viewed as quite restrictive to just have the one style of social behaviour and expectations that is based on your biological organs.
It's really from the kids point of view being taught or bring influenced that there are all these genders available to them. (That BBC thing was taken down off YouTube recently by the way)
Surely that's going to cause some confusion in young impressionable minds. And some more than others obviously.
School in the UK had 60 gender identity changes recently (think it was after lockdown) 1 in 15 kids
How likely is it that exposure to this ideology (for want of a better word) would lead to harmful outcomes?
Gender reassignment the biggie...or complicating the array of issues that kids face growing up. Like a relatively common or garden depression/nervous disorder now becomes fused with a gender identity crisis complicating diagnosis and recovery.
It seems, and again this is from very limited exposure to media, that there is a vocal minority on social media driving this type of thing and as RD3 pointed out kids go down internet rabbit holes.
Ah shure look it, it will probably be grand.
- 1 like