Good news for anyone who is having trouble getting to sleep

Rugby set for its own ‘Drive to Survive’ as Netflix confirm Six Nations documentary series

https://m.independent.ie/sport/rugby...-42281943.html
    Can't wait for this. Added bonus is it's going to bring in millions of new fans. ​​​​

My experience has been pretty good over the years. The most recent one was the heart failure, and was instantly recognised in triage and dealt with appropriately. The 3 previous, ambulanced with drunk induced head injuries after Eurovision 2014, broken metatarsals after a truck drove over my foot (2006?), and broken ribs after a fight with my dead brother were all dealt with in a timely fashion. (like less than an hour)
      That was such a class eurovision. was everyone from here drinking from home that evening and then went mad, or something like that? think we all had a bet on some dying kid to win, if i remember correctly, without googling it.

I think it’s you and your efforts at deploying your new found Python skills to crush the Eurovision markets is what reminds of Eurovision most now

That was the wurst eurovision.

I think it’s you and your efforts at deploying your new found Python skills to crush the Eurovision markets is what reminds of Eurovision most now
            Really need to do that! It's just got to be modelable!

Nottingham Forest former team-mate Brian Laws on Roy Keane’s debut: “We were playing Liverpool away, and this young kid was sitting on the bus. Brian Clough would regularly take kids with us to get experience. I don't think anyone spoke to him - no one knew who he was. We got to Anfield and, as I thought, he was just pushing the skips into the dressing room and helping to put the kit out. Halfway through, he was putting the No 7 shirt out when Cloughie stopped him and said, 'Now, son, I want you to try that shirt on.' We all started laughing, and this poor lad was embarrassed. He reluctantly put it on, as though he wanted to get it off as quickly as possible. Cloughie said, 'You look a million dollars - you look so good, you're playing'. We still thought it was a wind-up, but he was deadly serious. He said to me, 'You look after him: he's playing right wing'. I thought, 'What? I'm playing against John Barnes, and now I've got a rookie playing in front of me?' I introduced myself. I didn't even know his name - I had to ask him. I said, 'Look, Roy, keep it simple and I'll try to talk you through it'. But within five minutes of kick-off, Roy had stamped on Barnes, taken out another player, and when John was on the floor he just went, 'F*** off' in his face. There were five minutes of me looking after Roy, then he looked after me for the rest of the game. He was like a rat up a drainpipe, all over the place. It can be frightening to go out there at Anfield, but he had no fear. He didn't care who he was playing against: he would have a go at them. What a debut.”

Fairyhouse 1.02

Got word for Law of her Own
                short price but they are hopeful

Kolooooapse

Well thats a cool idea. 11pm to 6am, presumably to replicate the time of the journey of the original escape.

It's gas the way soccer succeeds as a multi billion business because the real joy for supporters is in celebrating the failure of whatever north of England team are the perceived enemy of the north of England team who were successful when you were forced to pick a team to support in the primary school playground, rather than the success of your own allegiance.
                      People are strange

Well thats a cool idea. 11pm to 6am, presumably to replicate the time of the journey of the original escape.

a mate of mine has done that race 6 or 7 times. he always says it's brutal, and he's a good ultra runner. only the leaders get there at 6, most would get there round 10am

Making a Kacchi lamb biryani tomorrow. Looking forward to it.

Went and got a few ingredients in Eurasia today, have a half leg of lamb marinating overnight for it.

A good few hours on it today and another couple on it tomorrow. That to me is a cracking weekend. Bliss.

I'm getting this installed tomorrow
                            https://www.homeanddry.ie/?gclid=Cjw...hoCNaMQAvD_BwE
                            The condensation on windows is shocking in Mia's bedroom so bad that mould is all over her blind and wall.

I know of two people who went with this chap And could not believe the difference the next day and wished they found it sooner. One girl was telling me her son had awful sinus trouble which has completely cleared up since she got it installed and funnily enough Mia stuffers terrible with her own sinuses so hopefully it will be worth the money.

Be Great to not have to go in every morning and not have to suck up the water!!

So he came highly recommended with fantastic results inc a money back guarantee And a five year warranty .

I'll keep ye posted anyway!
                            Needs a service every five years for around 100 e
                            Update... best money ever spent.
                            Bone dry Windows in the morning!

It's gas the way soccer succeeds as a multi billion business because the real joy for supporters is in celebrating the failure of whatever north of England team are the perceived enemy of the north of England team who were successful when you were forced to pick a team to support in the primary school playground, rather than the success of your own allegiance.
                              People are strange
                              I remember sitting on my late Fathers lap watching DIV 1 footie and my Dad ( who i'd never known as not dying/cancer ridden) try to get me excited about it. He died when i was 9 and i was addicted to it with the chewing gum collection cards , followed on to school where the banter was something i loved despite my team being mostly shite and getting stick like i was playing. It definitely added colour to Mondays at school . I lack any of that passion now and fail to get many reactions when stirring it up. I kinda miss it though . I remember my English cousin ranting on about how we should simply support our own Irish teams. ( whilst sporting his U2 shirt) . People sure are strange but tis a shame the bitterness about something so harmless . My brother is a crazed Forest fan. Wierdo.

a mate of mine has done that race 6 or 7 times. he always says it's brutal, and he's a good ultra runner. only the leaders get there at 6, most would get there round 10am
                                Those people are amazing. I just cant fathom doing that tonight - at any age/fitness

All this shed talk has me feeling left out. Despite Tar's escapades I've started looking myself.
                                    Did you find one when you were in the Lidl in East Wall this morning?

I did it once, donkey years ago. It is fucking brutal. There was snow and ice on the mountains when I did it. I lasted about five hours before I abandoned it because I fell asleep pissing against a tree.

Thought I was prepared for it, I was woefully misinformed

I know Tommy Tiernan isn't everyone's cup of tea but Patrick Kielty was on tonight and is always worth listening to.

He made reference to the soccer girls singing up the ra and expanded well on it while discussing other things about the north. He's on 1st too for anyone that wants to catch it on replay.

I did it once, donkey years ago. It is fucking brutal. There was snow and ice on the mountains when I did it. I lasted about five hours before I abandoned it because I fell asleep pissing against a tree.

Thought I was prepared for it, I was woefully misinformed
                                          Fair play!

Sounds like a really tough slog.

Ultra running is some animal. I know a girl who was training for a 24 hour race. One of her training sessions was to run around a football pitch for eight hours. Training herself to mentally deal with the monotony.

A beast.

The real legend in this is the sound Engineer

Trying to get into manga, again. Haven't really been able to engage with it at all in previous attempts. But now reading Spy x Family, and jebus its the funniest thing I've read in years. Still feels odd reading the books backwards, but we can't change an entire culture. Although the daughter was saying she might give also give it a read as her friend was saying it was class. Just not sure it shows great reading maturity to be reading at the same level as an 11-year-old girl. Although her friend is half-Japanese, so maybe they're just a bit more sophisticated in their manga habits at an early age.

Manga, in case it has passed you by (well, not Tar obv - who is probably using his hundreds of manga books to plug ceiling leaks) is the current obsession. The French government, in classic French government style, gave all teenagers a €300 gift card to be spent on 'culture' to make up for them being locked up for covid, and they spent it almost exclusively on manga.

I presume you know this by Spy x Family is a recent anime too, to bring it to life for you.
                                                Here's one for you https://imgur.com/gallery/WOQCa
                                                chainsaw man is a recent hit anime/manga too.
                                                Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 14-01-23, 23:54.

Good article in Sindo today about the scumbags in horse racing Ireland how they tried to ruin someone for inspecting their yards for steroids. Pure scum.
                                                  really need to cut state funding to this industry and invest the money in proper sports like soccer.
                                                  let them go cap in hand to their emirati sugar daddies

Good article in Sindo today about the scumbags in horse racing Ireland how they tried to ruin someone for inspecting their yards for steroids. Pure scum.
                                                    really need to cut state funding to this industry and invest the money in proper sports like soccer.
                                                    let them go cap in hand to their emirati sugar daddies
                                                    definitively the worst synopsis of any legal case I've ever seen and there have been many bad ones.

Originally posted by Gimmeabreak View Post

That was the wurst eurovision.
                                                      3 likes for this, you lot need to up your game.

Trying to get into manga, again. Haven't really been able to engage with it at all in previous attempts. But now reading Spy x Family, and jebus its the funniest thing I've read in years. Still feels odd reading the books backwards, but we can't change an entire culture. Although the daughter was saying she might give also give it a read as her friend was saying it was class. Just not sure it shows great reading maturity to be reading at the same level as an 11-year-old girl. Although her friend is half-Japanese, so maybe they're just a bit more sophisticated in their manga habits at an early age.

Manga, in case it has passed you by (well, not Tar obv - who is probably using his hundreds of manga books to plug ceiling leaks) is the current obsession. The French government, in classic French government style, gave all teenagers a €300 gift card to be spent on 'culture' to make up for them being locked up for covid, and they spent it almost exclusively on manga.
                                                        Manga reading as a 40-50 year old gets you put on a watchlist/register I’d have thought

That's some apology
                                                          https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/a...logy-zdbg2t9ln

I know Tommy Tiernan isn't everyone's cup of tea
                                                            Saw him in Vicar Street on Thursday and thoroughly enjoyed it.

I love Tommy Tiernan, think he's a national treasure. I even forgive him the eager catholicism.

Originally posted by Gimmeabreak View Post

3 likes for this, you lot need to up your game.
                                                                Who is gonna tell him ?

Popped into my local for a hen's tooth pint, so so rare I get the opportunity.

There's a guy at the bar with the most excruciatingly annoying laugh.

I feel robbed.

Popped into my local for a hen's tooth pint, so so rare I get the opportunity.

There's a guy at the bar with the most excruciatingly annoying laugh.

I feel robbed.
                                                                    Not just the eyesight going there old man the clouds are next .

Making a Kacchi lamb biryani tomorrow. Looking forward to it.

Went and got a few ingredients in Eurasia today, have a half leg of lamb marinating overnight for it.

A good few hours on it today and another couple on it tomorrow. That to me is a cracking weekend. Bliss.
                                                                      Must try a lamb one. I make a chicken biryani from time to time and it's one of my favorite things to cook, one for when you've nothing to do for the day with all the efforts. Some form of naan/flatbread to go with it, and some raita/mint yoghurt.

eamonhonda Lazare

Lad's is there much time/effort involved in making a briyani?

My indian work colleague said that it's time consuming but ideally you'd make enough to feed a family for the week. He carefully sidestepped putting a timer on that statement when I quizzed him.

First French rugby trip in three years tomorrow (La Rochelle). I imagine I'll be fit for the knackers yard by Sunday evening.
                                                                          Correct

Manga reading as a 40-50 year old gets you put on a watchlist/register I’d have thought
                                                                            I think you're thinking of a different Japanese comic book artform

eamonhonda Lazare

My indian work colleague said that it's time consuming but ideally you'd make enough to feed a family for the week. He carefully sidestepped putting a timer on that statement when I quizzed him.
                                                                              It's definitely a weekend dish, where you've all the time in the world. Two days.

Other than shopping for ingredients I probably spent an hour yesterday prepping the lamb and its marinade.

Today's part will prob take about 90 minutes.

A big part of it though for me is the shopping, and why it's a perfect weekend dish. Went to the local butcher yesterday and chatted to him about what I was doing. He took the bone out for me and I cut it up at home. Then on to Eurasia for some fresh ingredients, coriander and mint, plus a few things I didn't have, Ghee, saffron.

Am also batch cooking a curry base today so grabbed a bit of stuff for that.

I love nothing more than looking up a recipe on a Sat morning, usually after a run so am in great form, heading off to pick up what I need and then spending hours chopping prepping and cooking.

eamonhonda Lazare

There's a bit in it alright, between the chicken, the rice , onions etc. It's not major effort or skill, just takes the time, as I said above a real one for when you're in the house for the day. Chicken marinading overnight in the yoghurt is key. Here's the recipe I use - at least with the effort you can make 2-3 days worth of food depending on how many months.

Contrary to lazare above I have a good stock of all the ingredients bar the fresh stuff, so can be done handy if I have the time. Might have to go for it next weekend with all this chat

https://www.indianhealthyrecipes.com/hyderabadi-biryani-recipe

I think you're thinking of a different Japanese comic book artform
                                                                                  Without comment.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.the...-of-young-boys

Fuck me this is the messiest dish I've ever made. It's simmering for 40 mins, not sure that gives me enough time to clean up

There's a bit in it alright, between the chicken, the rice , onions etc. It's not major effort or skill, just takes the time, as I said above a real one for when you're in the house for the day. Chicken marinading overnight in the yoghurt is key. Here's the recipe I use - at least with the effort you can make 2-3 days worth of food depending on how many months.

Contrary to lazare above I have a good stock of all the ingredients bar the fresh stuff, so can be done handy if I have the time. Might have to go for it next weekend with all this chat

Mine is very similar to that, a couple of nuanced differences.

From a book, can't seem to figure out how to take a <2mb pic

It even says in the article that it is a different Japanese comic book artform!

Was on a good run with the 'be more cultured in 2023' with the fantastic The Menu film and then The Weir in the Abbey. It all came crashing down tonight as I braved out three hours of nonsense in Tar. What nuance did I miss - how was this raved about on here? Would have been a higher level of entertainment to watch laz's lamb simmer for the same amount of time.

It's definitely a weekend dish, where you've all the time in the world. Two days.

Other than shopping for ingredients I probably spent an hour yesterday prepping the lamb and its marinade.

Today's part will prob take about 90 minutes.

A big part of it though for me is the shopping, and why it's a perfect weekend dish. Went to the local butcher yesterday and chatted to him about what I was doing. He took the bone out for me and I cut it up at home. Then on to Eurasia for some fresh ingredients, coriander and mint, plus a few things I didn't have, Ghee, saffron.

Am also batch cooking a curry base today so grabbed a bit of stuff for that.

I love nothing more than looking up a recipe on a Sat morning, usually after a run so am in great form, heading off to pick up what I need and then spending hours chopping prepping and cooking.
                                                                                            Barring the fact that coriander is my nut hate, that sounds close to my ideal weekend......and the running

Apparently there's some people who, because of genetic variation (some would say genetic failure, but this is a no-judgement zone) find that coriander tastes like soap.

A quick/easy option it's to send it to someone on WhatsApp and it should reduce the size significanlty.

Thank God for Martin Luther King Day is all I can say.

Quite surprised we're still able to do those rugby trips to the same level as when we started. Must be some form of muscle memory.

Thank God for Martin Luther King Day is all I can say.

Quite surprised we're still able to do those rugby trips to the same level as when we started. Must be some form of muscle memory.
                                                                                                    What score was the match in the end, happened to flick through and it was 0-0 after 60 mins or so and lookied like it was pissing down

Ulster were 3-0 up with two minutes to go, ref gave a dodgy penalty and La Rochelle managed to sneak in for a try. So 7-3 to them. Ulster actually would have fully deserved a win, really gutsy stuff

Pissing down would understate it, it was elemental stuff. The wind was absolutely howling all over the place, coming in off the Atlantic.
                                                                                                      To give an idea, my super-duper Austrian umbrella got shredded in two just by the force of the wind. And I've used that thing in hurricane conditions.

Does anyone have any thoughts around accommodation for a couple of nights at the Irish Open? It’s in the RDS so unsurprisingly, prices seem a little crazy.

I tried AirBnB but not much there either. 140-150e a night sharing seems to be about the best I can find in close proximity.

Is that about the best I can hope for?

Was on a good run with the 'be more cultured in 2023' with the fantastic The Menu film and then The Weir in the Abbey. It all came crashing down tonight as I braved out three hours of nonsense in Tar. What nuance did I miss - how was this raved about on here? Would have been a higher level of entertainment to watch laz's lamb simmer for the same amount of time.
                                                                                                          I don't think they were aiming for light entertainment like for instance the Banshees. I thought this piece on the film by Xan Brooks was very good.

It reminds me a bit of The Conversation as a film that digs into and interrogates the zeitgeist... now that I think of it there are a few bits with the offscreen stalker that would remind you of or maybe are referencing The Conversation.

People are strange
                                                                                                            Not trying to wind you up and not 100% sure how much I will want to get into a back and forward about this, but genuinely lost interest in international rugby (which I maintained interest in long after club stuff became unwatchable) when they started adding 'project players' who were of similar quality to people who came through the system here. Some front row called Bent is the first one I remember thinking was egregious (can't remember the details, maybe it wasn't too bad). I was semi-ok with it in some cases previously, like the argument used to be made about the likes of CJ Stander that he was so passionate about Munster/Ireland and he had come up here and made his life here and then he fucked off back to SA 20 minutes after he retired and I realised the idea that he & I had any real allegiance to one another was fairly lame.

I'd say like a lot of people I liked Man Utd as a child because Roy Keane and Denis Irwin played for them. I don't think it's any stranger to feel allegiance to them than it is to feel allegiance to Jamison Gibson Parke because he's wearing a green t-shirt. And then I think the emotional connections either weaken or strengthen over things like that and how you happen to feel about them.

Apparently there's some people who, because of genetic variation (some would say genetic failure, but this is a no-judgement zone) find that coriander tastes like soap.
                                                                                                              Yeah gf has that, even the barest trace in food destroys the dish, it's pretty crap since coriander is so amazing and they don't ever get to taste it. Dad has it for cucumber.

Not trying to wind you up and not 100% sure how much I will want to get into a back and forward about this, but genuinely lost interest in international rugby (which I maintained interest in long after club stuff became unwatchable) when they started adding 'project players' who were of similar quality to people who came through the system here. Some front row called Bent is the first one I remember thinking was egregious (can't remember the details, maybe it wasn't too bad). I was semi-ok with it in some cases previously, like the argument used to be made about the likes of CJ Stander that he was so passionate about Munster/Ireland and he had come up here and made his life here and then he fucked off back to SA 20 minutes after he retired and I realised the idea that he & I had any real allegiance to one another was fairly lame.

I'd say like a lot of people I liked Man Utd as a child because Roy Keane and Denis Irwin played for them. I don't think it's any stranger to feel allegiance to them than it is to feel allegiance to Jamison Gibson Parke because he's wearing a green t-shirt. And then I think the emotional connections either weaken or strengthen over things like that and how you happen to feel about them.
                                                                                                                To give the counter to that (or maybe just context). The Irish system really stands out as being the one that produces the most homegrown talent. We 100% maximise our resources better than anyone else in a wya that makes our provinces, pound for pound, the biggest overachievers in European rugby - and happens to contribute to the national team too. And the connection between fans and players\coaches is genuine as a result.

For example Leinster went out at the weekend and slaughtered one of the best teams in England on their home pitch. 21 of the 23 players in that Leinster squad were homegrown talent. Whereas in the match I was at in La Rochelle, there was no way that anything to close the home team came from anywhere near that city, or had any bond to it other than a big fat paycheck.

Elite soccer amazes me now in terms of the dissociation from the fans. If you grew up in Salford or Toxteth or example, what possible connection could you feel with the Man Utd or Liverpool players, managers and owners? They are just a global entertainment franchise.

We're at the stage where the lender are doing 'final checks' before drawdown having had all of the documentation for the guts of a week already. I fully expect that process to end on Tuesday, the day after another rate increase comes into effect
                                                                                                                  Been told now there's a chance the last rate increase will be waived assuming we get the go ahead for drawdown in the next day or two. Fingers crossed.

pop it on imgur - then paste here, is how i assumed all pictures here were posted. if the image appears too large on imgur add an 'l' to the end of the URL before the jpeg bit of the address, and it will reduce in size.

To give the counter to that (or maybe just context). The Irish system really stands out as being the one that produces the most homegrown talent. We 100% maximise our resources better than anyone else in a wya that makes our provinces, pound for pound, the biggest overachievers in European rugby - and happens to contribute to the national team too. And the connection between fans and players\coaches is genuine as a result.

For example Leinster went out at the weekend and slaughtered one of the best teams in England on their home pitch. 21 of the 23 players in that Leinster squad were homegrown talent. Whereas in the match I was at in La Rochelle, there was no way that anything to close the home team came from anywhere near that city, or had any bond to it other than a big fat paycheck.

Elite soccer amazes me now in terms of the dissociation from the fans. If you grew up in Salford or Toxteth or example, what possible connection could you feel with the Man Utd or Liverpool players, managers and owners? They are just a global entertainment franchise.
                                                                                                                      I wouldn't contradict any of that other than to say the idea of Ireland being better for producing homegrown talent doesn't really rub up against my disinterest in watching Pare, Aki, James Lowe etc representing Ireland. Maybe even makes it subconsciously more unedifying when the drop in quality between the project player and the best home grown player may not be very big.

Elite soccer 100% is just a global entertainment franchise and there are a lot of adults who completely lose sight of that to the point that they are as weird as they probably think adult WWE superfans are (with apologies to DP ). I would except from that category local fans who aren't to blame for their clubs having been sold out from under them and turned into often pretty shit corporations. The pulse of their daily lives I suspect is strongly influenced by the fortunes of that corporation for better or worse.
                                                                                                                      Last edited by Keane; 16-01-23, 11:41.

Poor ol ChristyD from ASLAN. 2003 he was diagnosed and he won’t see out 2023. 10 years suffering. I was never a big ASLAN fan. A friend of mine was so I’ve been to many of their gigs as a loose wheel.
                                                                                                                        Still though he couldn’t have been great if it were not for the ol poison . An unlikely front man with a super voice. In palliative care at his home, not the best secret in the world but the fact that his family have announced it , seems likely he is very close to the end.

Couldn't disagree with any of that, my point was about what I was seeing from fans, on the day that Man Utd had their most momentous win in years, was far more crowing at Liverpool's loss than celebration of their own victory.
                                                                                                                          I don't see any problem with professional sport being professional. I do think there is an important debate to be had as to whether the kind of professionalism displayed by Rugby and Soccer
                                                                                                                          is a more or less positive example of sporting culture than the exhibition of codified faction fighting that was on show in the GAA yesterday where a couple of good footballers put on an exhibition amidst a field of inept thugs.