It's around at least 5 years!

Haha, no way

Should see noise cancelling headphones that translate on the fly soon. You should be able to have a conversation with anybody and hear what they are saying in the language you select from the web connected headphones.

Can't believe some dummies are killing themselves learning Spanish or Chinese

Should see noise cancelling headphones that translate on the fly soon. You should be able to have a conversation with anybody and hear what they are saying in the language you select from the web connected headphones.

It’s kind of sad as there is a real beauty in the spoken word. French, Italian sound so rich, love listening to it. An Italian can ask you for a favour and it can sound like an ominous threat, much like a walk in Darndale. However it would be great for Finnish. I hope my corny jokes translate well, why should they escape the suffering. . These AI might fk with us and mis-translate for shits and giggles

It's when it translates it back when you are speaking that would be the real winner for this. Star Trek universal translator "aka magic plot device" shit.

Everyone is wearing the headphones. Get it. Can't translate output because might have to translate for 10 targets. Translate personalised input only. Implants soon no doubt.

a bablefish

QQ for Betfair users:

I see a lot of complaints on social media about how the liquidity isn't what it was and how the upcoming affordability rules in the UK are leading to an over-enthusiastic early enforcement. Eg. Joe Beevers (bookie/The Hendon Mob/Betting Emporium) recently had his account closed co the docs he provided weren't enough to satisfy them.

Is it really as bad a they're making out in the UK? Presumably the affordability issue isn't one that'll concern Irish users (yet) but is the decline in liquidity really pronounced?

Cheers.
                  b.

PS... the reason I asked was I can't couldn't get PP/BF customer service to deal with me in any kind of professional, consistent way despite supplying docs as requested etc... seems to be severely under-resourced or simply just don't care. I dunno. Baffles me why they don't want a losing customer

Are they not throwing everything at the US markets and just keeping the lights on here? (just guessing, someone like GAB will actually know)

no mention of Seamus Begley on here, a legend of a musician gone at 73. He had some fantastic alliances over the years. I first saw him 25 or so years ago and was thankful to have seen him in the Round Room of Dublin Castle a couple of years back during Trad Fest.

Are they not throwing everything at the US markets and just keeping the lights on here? (just guessing, someone like GAB will actually know)
                        US is the battle ground.

Lost liquidity down to them having a falling out / not renewing a contract with a major market maker on horse racing.

The KYC and proof of funds things are annoying but ppl also like to ham it up. They are very poorly constructed i.e. Betfair suspended my account for proof of funds last year, despite me being a very small net winner on the account over a substantial period of time. Reason being that my deposits were too high. My P&L performance had no concern to them.

Originally posted by Gimmeabreak View Post
                          no mention of Seamus Begley on here, a legend of a musician gone at 73. He had some fantastic alliances over the years. I first saw him 25 or so years ago and was thankful to have seen him in the Round Room of Dublin Castle a couple of years back during Trad Fest.
                          I was reading a piece Cooney wrote about when he met him 1st and the basically had a duelling Banjoes match off with the Squeeze box and guitar. One trying to lead the other a merry dance and the mutual respect and friendship that grew from that. Read many tributes. Apparently a really funny guy and not someone you’d cross either. He’d playfully knock you into next week.
                          Paddy Casey and O’Rourke were exhalting him yesterday which I guess shows his cross generational appeal.

Begley was a kind of a bollix, the kind of bollix we should all aspire to be.

I tried Stars again for first time in months after they stopped taking Revolut Visa.
                              I saw something on the new deposit methods allowing for Mastercard debit so tried new Revolut card with that.

After approx 15 mins, I was logged out and sent an email to submit all new KYC.
                              They requested everything which I submitted and it was sorted within a few hours.

I followed up but I still haven’t been refunded the buy-ins. I’ve since deposited again and Revolut seems fine so perhaps happy to accept again.

Having a frustrating problem with PaddyPower. About 12 years ago, I tilt closed my stars account and closed my betfair account because I wasn't using it. Went onto PaddyPower to activate my account recently to play satellites and I've been banned because I closed the other accounts.

Their line is that because its a self exclusion and they now own stars and betfair, that I cannot play on PP either.

Anyone here still have any contacts that might be able to get it looked at cos support just shuts it down any time I've asked. Obviously if I knew closing those accounts would result in a ban on other platforms, I wouldn't have done it.

Having a frustrating problem with PaddyPower. About 12 years ago, I tilt closed my stars account and closed my betfair account because I wasn't using it. Went onto PaddyPower to activate my account recently to play satellites and I've been banned because I closed the other accounts.

Their line is that because its a self exclusion and they now own stars and betfair, that I cannot play on PP either.

Anyone here still have any contacts that might be able to get it looked at cos support just shuts it down any time I've asked. Obviously if I knew closing those accounts would result in a ban on other platforms, I wouldn't have done it.
                                  Let us know how you get on as I'm similar.

No joy so far from 3 separate agents. Their line is a closure of one results in a closure of all. Didn't know that at the time obviously so bit frustrating

I would either message on Twitter or use one of your poker contacts like Fintan or one of his staff to assist for example.
                                      The latter will almost certainly have a direct line to someone that can help.

I would either message on Twitter or use one of your poker contacts like Fintan or one of his staff to assist for example.
                                        I tried a couple of times but the line was 'you closed it and it can never be reopened, sorry'.

For me, it'd be for obscure BF markets.

Tried Fintan and someone who works for PP live events team and no joy so far.

Same line, closure of one results in closure of all

In a far more boring line of questioning - anyone know anything about sheds? Need to get something to keep the bikes in. Doesn't seem like there's any point cheaping out as there doesn't seem to be any bargain options anywhere, only marginally cheaper. [ this seems to be about as low as you go for price that'd take a few bikes - https://www.shedsdirectireland.com/p...den-bike-shed/ ]

Will be a back garden shed but if someone had done some research and found something reasonable that'd go in a front garden / be secure enough for the few bikes that'd be sound too.

Perhaps it’s a PP thing as I closed and reopened my Stars account between 2021 and 2022.

Confirmed fine to do: https://www.pokerstars.eu/help/artic...lock-restrict/

In a far more boring line of questioning - anyone know anything about sheds? Need to get something to keep the bikes in. Doesn't seem like there's any point cheaping out as there doesn't seem to be any bargain options anywhere, only marginally cheaper. [ this seems to be about as low as you go for price that'd take a few bikes - https://www.shedsdirectireland.com/p...den-bike-shed/ ]

Will be a back garden shed but if someone had done some research and found something reasonable that'd go in a front garden / be secure enough for the few bikes that'd be sound too.
                                                We got this as a wedding present. Very neat, sits parallel to garden wall facing the side of the house so doesn’t eat into the garden at all and takes up no space for side entrance. I can share a pic tomorrow

Picked up my first ever pair of prescription reading glasses today.

Tried them on to show my wife and kids and the 8 year old pointed out that I had some grey hairs.

Double whammy.

Road testing them on a Margaret Atwood tonight.

Perhaps it’s a PP thing as I closed and reopened my Stars account between 2021 and 2022.

Confirmed fine to do: https://www.pokerstars.eu/help/artic...lock-restrict/
                                                    My issue is that I went full gobshite and self excluded for some mad reason. I didn't just close the account to leave it dormant.

Anyway, damage done and lesson learned. No irish open satellites for me.

Their official line is "When you self exclude we protect you from all family brands: Betfair, PaddyPower, Pokerstars and SkyBet." Meh

Picked up my first ever pair of prescription reading glasses today.

Tried them on to show my wife and kids and the 8 year old pointed out that I had some grey hairs.

Double whammy.

Road testing them on a Margaret Atwood tonight.
                                                      Long or shortsighted?
                                                      Are you the same in both eyes? Got laser eye treatment about 8 years ago, Had a medical for a job recently and the left eye is just slightly out of focus when reading the smallest line. Beginning of the end.

Looks like 2016 again. Jeff Beck dead now .

A rather intensive week writing this, but am now an AI bro.

Saw The Weir tonight in The Abbey as part of the new year resolution to see a play a month. Think a fair few you have seen it. Oh my lord, maybe I'm just not used to plays, but that was a deeply brilliant play.

Long or shortsighted?
                                                              Are you the same in both eyes? Got laser eye treatment about 8 years ago, Had a medical for a job recently and the left eye is just slightly out of focus when reading the smallest line. Beginning of the end.
                                                              I'm not sure which is which. I struggle to read the small print.

Have no issues with far away things, no problem driving for instance. Is that long sighted then?

Both eyes the same.

Can you get laser again then to correct it?

scanned it, interesting - do you like that Brian Lucey lad? Don't know him in person but think such a whine bag on twitter/ on media. Still trying to figure out the impact of ChatGPT here, it might be the first to pass that bullshit test, unlike AI in general these days. will have a proper read tomorrow.

Originally posted by paul8200 View Post

scanned it, interesting - do you like that Brian Lucey lad? Don't know him in person but think such a whine bag on twitter/ on media. Still trying to figure out the impact of ChatGPT here, it might be the first to pass that bullshit test, unlike AI in general these days. will have a proper read tomorrow.
                                                                  he gets a bit carried away about the russians on twitter. A twitter raoul.

I'm much more convinced about chatgpt after that research tbh. The big thing, right now, is not taking it on face value, but iterating it to proper answers - if you check out that appendix 1, that was me cajolling it start making sense as it really tends towards generalities if you don't force it to be specific.

Have a bit of luxury in my job that I can spend it just exploring new ideas. So planning to spend most of the next few months just going deep into the tech and seeing the applications. Its fascinating. It still has major weaknesses definitely, when you get even a bit below the surface, but already its a huge deal. When we get GPT-4 in a few months its probably going to be a revolution. At the moment its like an intern you need to coach, but GPT-4 could well be your boss. Saw a tweet a while ago saying 'if you're in a startup and aren't spending all your time thinking about the implications of ChatGPT, then I worry for you', which is excessive compared to current capabilities, but I wonder if its not too far off the truth. Its potentially a goldrush moment ala launch of the internet.

The Banshees. What a steaming pile of feckin donkey shite.

Have a bit of luxury in my job that I can spend it just exploring new ideas. So planning to spend most of the next few months just going deep into the tech and seeing the applications. Its fascinating. It still has major weaknesses definitely, when you get even a bit below the surface, but already its a huge deal. When we get GPT-4 in a few months its probably going to be a revolution. At the moment its like an intern you need to coach, but GPT-4 could well be your boss. Saw a tweet a while ago saying 'if you're in a startup and aren't spending all your time thinking about the implications of ChatGPT, then I worry for you', which is excessive compared to current capabilities, but I wonder if its not too far off the truth. Its potentially a goldrush moment ala launch of the internet.
                                                                        agree re potential. So far I have not seen Ai that is not 'programattic' - this might be or might be advanced programattic. lets see if it learns. there is definatately a commercial application into what you have already found re how to get the best from it. Its like the foreign student that arrives for the summer and nobody can have a proper chat with, until uncle jack gets home from the pub and is his usual self.

couldn't disagree more - i'd watch it again over the new Top Gun which I also loved

Hard disagree from me too. I loved it.

Stumbled upon it on Disney+ over Xmas, couldnt believe it was available to watch on it.

Barry Keoghan was superb in it I felt. That lake scene was some of the best acting I've ever seen.

Boooo. Zero Wombats for this post.

I'm looking forward to rewatching.

We got this as a wedding present. Very neat, sits parallel to garden wall facing the side of the house so doesn’t eat into the garden at all and takes up no space for side entrance. I can share a pic tomorrow
                                                                                This should give you an idea of the scale. It was approx 2K all in after cement but worth the spend as that’s shelved out and never any sign of moisture inside.

Emmet I have a slightly larger garden shed from that company in Murdrum's post.

It's good build quality but can't speak for vfm as my mate used his staff discount in woodies before they put up prices. We got a proper deal at the time but not sure of what the vfm vs competitors now.

Prior to the shed being built (4-5 month backlog from covid) we had a small plastic mini shed for about €150 to store some tools and lawnmower. I wouldn't put a bike or anything valuable in one though. You could pop the lid/hinges by hand even with a lock on the doors.

Another option which might work is installing a bike rack on your wall/ceiling inside the gaff. Some of them can be folded but it's not necessarily for everyone. Takes up a little space and isn't quite the tidiest. Maybe not the safest setup for a house with small kids either.

I certainly didn't dislike Banshees, but it was definitely weird, so not 100% sure how I felt about it.

I won't go into any detail but the bit that repeatedly jarred was the continued use of the phrase 'no more', as in "I just don't like you no more", by multiple characters. It felt out of step with the natural flow of the language being used to me.

Also, Barry Keoghan to me is like Aidan Gillen. I can't understand how either get praised for acting or how they continually keep getting acting roles.

I certainly didn't dislike Banshees, but it was definitely weird, so not 100% sure how I felt about it.

I won't go into any detail but the bit that repeatedly jarred was the continued use of the phrase 'no more', as in "I just don't like you no more", by multiple characters. It felt out of step with the natural flow of the language being used to me.
                                                                                        There was definitely some language used that was not of its time but I don't think that detracted in any way.

Emmet I have a slightly larger garden shed from that company in Murdrum's post.

It's good build quality but can't speak for vfm as my mate used his staff discount in woodies before they put up prices. We got a proper deal at the time but not sure of what the vfm vs competitors now.

Prior to the shed being built (4-5 month backlog from covid) we had a small plastic mini shed for about €150 to store some tools and lawnmower. I wouldn't put a bike or anything valuable in one though. You could pop the lid/hinges by hand even with a lock on the doors.

Another option which might work is installing a bike rack on your wall/ceiling inside the gaff. Some of them can be folded but it's not necessarily for everyone. Takes up a little space and isn't quite the tidiest. Maybe not the safest setup for a house with small kids either.
                                                                                          I've gone full greenearth and bought a 3rd bike, this time a cargo one that should be able to shift the kid and some shopping etc. No chance it's coming into the house! It's probably a wee bit bigger than standard bikes, so I'm likely going to need to either get something kind of bespoke or else just go for the lean-to option and throw a bit of polyurethane sheeting up at a slant and leave that and the racer covered from the elements.

Am of the opinion that all you can do to prevent bike theft is make it not a target, anyone who's scoped the bike/spot will be able to take it within a few minutes so you're only stopping opportunistic people really. Perhaps nihilistic in nature but that's how I feel about them!

Was talking to someone yesterday and they kept going on about their holiday house. Mostly in a negative vein, about the upkeep, the cost, the hassle - 'I'll have to go to down there now and check on the heating, the pump broke last winter'. Mostly it seemed they just wanted me to know they had a holiday house and this made them a Big Deal.

It did occur to me that, in this day and age, why in the hell anyone sane would want such a thing? Going to the same place, year after year, going through the pain of maintenance, upkeep, taxes etc etc. Go somewhere new each year, rent a nice place to stay and enjoy the discoveries therein.

Am I:
                                                                                            (a) a grumpy old curmudgeon, or
                                                                                            (b) a Nobel prize worthy genius of remarkable insight and vision

(there is no in between option) Discuss.

A feckin pointless pretentious misery fest of feckin artsy-fartsy paddywhackery with feckin clunky dialogue. Mash up all the hallmark social problem of rural rural Ireland, in a Father Ted meets Synge style, from loneliness to child abuse, undereducation to alcoholism. Then point at it and go ara musha the poor craythurs but aren't they cute and funny at times. Makes The Field look like Laurence of Arabia. The main reason people feel uneasy about it is they know they are supposed to like it and will have to find a way to justify it.

Was talking to someone yesterday and they kept going on about their holiday house. Mostly in a negative vein, about the upkeep, the cost, the hassle - 'I'll have to go to down there now and check on the heating, the pump broke last winter'. Mostly it seemed they just wanted me to know they had a holiday house and this made them a Big Deal.

It did occur to me that, in this day and age, why in the hell anyone sane would want such a thing? Going to the same place, year after year, going through the pain of maintenance, upkeep, taxes etc etc. Go somewhere new each year, rent a nice place to stay and enjoy the discoveries therein.

Am I:

I can see the benefit if you are of pension age and will be a second home in a sunny spot you will based yourself for extended periods of the year.

Maybe too if you are a very nuclear family with lots of small kids (thinking grandparents here too) that it's just handy to head back to a place you know and no surprises.

Now in my head I'm basing that on a location like Albufeira or Lanzarote etc.
                                                                                                Not arse end of Cavan
                                                                                                Last edited by Micknail; 12-01-23, 09:25.

Emmet we got the bike shed timbertrove do, nice and tidy and comes in two sizes. That said we've nothing too expensive bike-wise but it suited us for those and power washer and small space for other small stuff.

https://www.timbertrove.com/bike-sto...hed-2956-p.asp
                                                                                                  Last edited by Dice75; 12-01-23, 09:39.

Boooo. Zero Wombats for this post.

I'm looking forward to rewatching.
                                                                                                    kind of agree and disagree. Colin Farrells role could really have been played by anyone. I don’t get the ‘brilliant’ acting in it for Oscars, Globes etc . ( I get the Chemistry between the lads) Gleeson stole the show for me but he has more depth as an actor so no competition there. The movie was enjoyable but very depressing (ala the Field) . I wouldn’t hail it as a masterpiece or anything but sure the bar is low these days. I think we Irish get away with a lot due to our culture heritage. I mean Glen Hansard won an Oscar for a catchy enough soulful song but nothing great about it. When you think of the amazing musicals in past years I think we are definitely regressing in a lot of the creative arts. Just my 2 cents.

I’ve been listening to the much hated Bonos Surrender. (the audiobook has some tunes at least) I can see how his haters will go to town on him but I’m enjoying it a lot. I’ve never been a hater just never really got into U2 the way some folk have. I think they have done great and are a credit to Ireland and a bit like McGregor they cleverly hijacked something and drained every euro out of it. WP all.

Am I:

Nut existence is probably:
                                                                                                      x time at home
                                                                                                      y time in 2nd home in nut area/place
                                                                                                      z time traveling/visiting other places

Emmet We ordered one of the Sheds Direct steel ones last year, after a good bit of research, visited a few shed 'showrooms'. This one. Cost another €300 or so for them to install, which they did very efficiently I must say. Had to get a concrete base put down, which cost a further €1,400 IIRC, that was more of a pain. The Sheds Direct metal sheds are thinner than the Steeltech equivalents, and this is certainly reflected in the prices - I think Steeltech are almost certainly great, but overkill for most people! Wooden sheds have a finite lifespan, particularly the roof, I'd go with metal over wood if you are considering both. Very happy with the shed so far.

PXL_20220420_103913333.jpg

I can see the benefit if you are of pension age and will be a second home in a sunny spot you will based yourself for extended periods of the year.

Maybe too if you are a very nuclear family with lots of small kids (thinking grandparents here too) that it's just handy to head back to a place you know and no surprises.

Now in my head I'm basing that on a location like Albufeira or Lanzarote etc.
                                                                                                          Not arse end of Cavan
                                                                                                          Meh, even if you're of pension age, there is no excuse.

Small kids get larger, no excuses.

I think forfeiture of said property, plus some kind of identifying facial tattoo, is the only reasonable course of action.

I thing Degag has it...Would be nice to have a base for 3-4 months in the winter and then travelling on top of that. That said, it probably would be a giant hassle unless it was a lock-up and leave apartment which defeats the purpose a little bit.

Emmet We ordered one of the Sheds Direct steel ones last year, after a good bit of research, visited a few shed 'showrooms'. This one. Cost another €300 or so for them to install, which they did very efficiently I must say. Had to get a concrete base put down, which cost a further €1,400 IIRC, that was more of a pain. The Sheds Direct metal sheds are thinner than the Steeltech equivalents, and this is certainly reflected in the prices - I think Steeltech are almost certainly great, but overkill for most people! Wooden sheds have a finite lifespan, particularly the roof, I'd go with metal over wood if you are considering both. Very happy with the shed so far.

[]
                                                                                                              This is where we saved quite a bit. It cost us approx 500e for a similar area.
                                                                                                              Providers weren’t willing to send the amount we wanted so we were told we needed to order 2 or 3x the required amount.

Builders were still in the estate so father-in-law arranged that they add the amount we needed to an order and had it dropped up to us.

Meh, even if you're of pension age, there is no excuse.

Small kids get larger, no excuses.

I think forfeiture of said property, plus some kind of identifying facial tattoo, is the only reasonable course of action.
                                                                                                                You could be right.
                                                                                                                For last year's MotoGP trip we luckily got to stay in one of the lads parents holiday apartment near Portimao.
                                                                                                                He had been there ten+ times himself, and was now bringing his kids and wife there annually.

Hmmmm takes a certain type of character to be happy to visit the same spots repeatedly alright.
                                                                                                                Mostly booze hounds that just sit in the Irish bar for a week.

I echo the post saying it's defo handy as a 'base' for further excursions. But jaysus cost/value surely needs to be considered.
                                                                                                                Another aspect is getting some rent from the thing.

Am I:

(a) but I am very biased.

My parents and uncle co-own a summer house down in Wicklow. Spent every summer there and most school holidays until I was about 15. Makes up a massive proportion of my happiest childhood memories. Trade off was that I only every went on one overseas holiday as a kid. From time to time it seemed like a bad deal, especially when a lot of the other owners down there were much wealthier than us and were able to do both but with hindsight, wouldn't trade it.

While we were house hunting this year, myself and my wife lived there for 6 months and every time I visit i get an almost tangible nostalgia hit.

The upkeep of the place isn't a massive burden for my folks as it maybe would be for others and my uncle share half and me and my brothers use it semi regularly so contribute too.

Under no doubt that whenever my parents pass away (in several decades hopefully), me and 2 of my 3 brothers will actively seek to retain ownership of it with not a thought given to the family home where i spent more of my life.

Am I:

Definitely A but I'm not sure what that's got to do with holidays homes

I love the idea of a holiday home. The ideal location for me would be south of France. Mrs Lao Lao hates the idea of it and like yourself thinks, why would you want to go to the same place every year? I'm in the Degag camp, you spend some time at home, some time in your holiday home and travel to lots of cool new places. For me, having a holiday means you go full hog, you have everything you need there so you literally just jump on the plane with your passport, wallet, keys and phone. No luggage, etc needed.

Despite Mrs Lao Lao not liking the idea of a holiday home, we still go west 4-5 times a year. Slightly different situation in that the house out west is technically her fathers main home and he has an apartment in Dublin but he could easily split his time 50/50 between the two. Despite going to the same place 4/5 times a year, I'd never get bored of going west, walking on the same beaches, swimming in the same spots, eating in the same places. For me, a holiday home is more about complete and utter relaxation and switching off rather than a real holiday when you want to explore something new which is why I like to do both!

Some people I know with holiday homes go or did go most weekends. I think a holiday home can provide a cut off for some people with stressful jobs. More than just a place where they take their annual holiday.

Am of the opinion that all you can do to prevent bike theft is make it not a target, anyone who's scoped the bike/spot will be able to take it within a few minutes so you're only stopping opportunistic people really. Perhaps nihilistic in nature but that's how I feel about them!
                                                                                                                        You're on the money here, really if it's out of sight that's the majority of the security taken care of. Scrotes gonna scrote if they want your bike.

It always annoys me when you're over in Germany/Netherlands etc to see bicycles safely scattered around the city and often freestanding. The most security you see is a tiny lock between the wheel and frame. It's the scrote depiction of heaven. Why can't we have nice things?

Am I:

Trick is to live somewhere that you don't really feel the need to escape from.

But yeah other than somewhere warm to spend winters in retirement I can't see the point. Can't be many situations where it would work out more economical than renting somewhere for a few weeks a year.

There is a big difference between a holiday home and a second home IMO, with the cut off will be somewhere that is being used c. > 30% of the time.
                                                                                                                          Last edited by Strewelpeter; 12-01-23, 12:30.