-
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostI was actually looking up the list of Time winners not for that but rather for a pop quiz question. Excluding massive groupings of people (e.g. 'you' / 'the people' won Time Person of the Year in 2006 - presumably due to the Arab Spring or something like that), how many Irish people have been Time Person of the Year? At a guess.
For those too young to remember, in 1999 Time opened their person of the century poll up to internet voting, there was a big campaign to get the little known Irish footballer Ronnie O'Brien to #1 spot. Ronnie O Brien was a bit part player for Middlesbrough (I think) who somehow got a transfer to Juventus in the summer, and they held an online poll to see who people thought would be their best signing. Ronnie was on it with some much higher profile names, and people in Ireland thought it'd be hilarious to get Ronnie to win that online poll.
Having pulled that off successfully, people wondered what other poll he could win online, and then Time asked for online nominations for the person of the century. Ronnie was removed from the results twice I think with him leading the worldwide field, before they did something that stopped him being nominated at all.
it was all intended as a bit of a jape, but could well have had negative consequences for the man himself, who as his absence of fame since will attest to, didn't make the grade as a top level footballer, although did make a middling number of appearances in the MLS is America.
- 7 likes
-
Ronnie O'Brien robbed of this around the turn of the century.
For those too young to remember, in 1999 Time opened their person of the century poll up to internet voting, there was a big campaign to get the little known Irish footballer Ronnie O'Brien to #1 spot. Ronnie O Brien was a bit part player for Middlesbrough (I think) who somehow got a transfer to Juventus in the summer, and they held an online poll to see who people thought would be their best signing. Ronnie was on it with some much higher profile names, and people in Ireland thought it'd be hilarious to get Ronnie to win that online poll.
Having pulled that off successfully, people wondered what other poll he could win online, and then Time asked for online nominations for the person of the century. Ronnie was removed from the results twice I think with him leading the worldwide field, before they did something that stopped him being nominated at all.
it was all intended as a bit of a jape, but could well have had negative consequences for the man himself, who as his absence of fame since will attest to, didn't make the grade as a top level footballer, although did make a middling number of appearances in the MLS is America."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Ah, this reminds me of the Honduran Maradona. A good one to read at lunchtime.
-
I read that before alright, at least no damage done. I doubt there was to Ronnie O'Brien either, but still in hindsight not a great spotlight to put on a young person."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Originally posted by Wombatman View PostDon't think the Leo nightclub story should be off limits. Anyone who invites the media into their home to project a happy family life vibe should be fair game IMHO, gay or straight."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Originally posted by Wombatman View PostDon't think the Leo nightclub story should be off limits. Anyone who invites the media into their home to project a happy family life vibe should be fair game IMHO, gay or straight.
-
While obviously what he chooses to do in his own time (as long as it is legal) is no one else's business, if not wanting things like that known is his goal, he should be a bit more circumspect in public, even in places where he might not expect to be filmed. I'm still not sure what type of discussion it merits though.Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
-
Originally posted by Wombatman View PostDon't think the Leo nightclub story should be off limits. Anyone who invites the media into their home to project a happy family life vibe should be fair game IMHO, gay or straight.
-
Honesty thought it was a deepfake when I first saw it- still wearing the work suit and all. Impressive media blackout- it seems out of character to be that reckless from him in a public space- different standards in a gay relationship obv so may be nothing to it in terms of his own home life.
I don’t like the guy because he wears novelty socks - cannot trust someone who does that in high office
-
I dunno it's an odd one the way it's been portrayed but he doesn't seem in the slightest bit bothered - "Lads idgaf, private matter and won't make any further comment". I was away for a few days so I missed the story until today. @rd3 search for his name on Twitter and you can see the story/video. Clearly, he's in a public place so it's not like he's trying to hide anything. If I was to guess he's either split from his partner or has some sort of open type arrangement. Regardless, that's pure speculation and I don't actually have a clue. Shrug shoulders and on to the next news story for me. If it was Boris Johnson then the brits would nod along as if to say ah yeah that's good old BoJo and kinda his thing.
Wombatman - doesn't seem like it's off-limits as such. Media have asked him about it and he said I'm not going there. He's not going to engage further. So is that not just pretty much the end of the story unless you want to read gossip mags or tabloids about it?
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by coillcam View PostI dunno it's an odd one the way it's been portrayed but he doesn't seem in the slightest bit bothered - "Lads idgaf, private matter and won't make any further comment". I was away for a few days so I missed the story until today. @rd3 search for his name on Twitter and you can see the story/video. Clearly, he's in a public place so it's not like he's trying to hide anything. If I was to guess he's either split from his partner or has some sort of open type arrangement. Regardless, that's pure speculation and I don't actually have a clue. Shrug shoulders and on to the next news story for me. If it was Boris Johnson then the brits would nod along as if to say ah yeah that's good old BoJo and kinda his thing.
Wombatman - doesn't seem like it's off-limits as such. Media have asked him about it and he said I'm not going there. He's not going to engage further. So is that not just pretty much the end of the story unless you want to read gossip mags or tabloids about it?"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostStrewel SIL salami seasonal stupendousness ordered.
Although not impressed the delivery fee now €50, hope the FIL gets a decent hamper out of it.
Herself has been over there on Grannying duty for the last few weeks hopefully coming back with a full suitcase tomorrow.Turning millions into thousands
- 1 like
-
Its all fast DHL these days, I think it was 35 last year!
Herself has been over there on Grannying duty for the last few weeks hopefully coming back with a full suitcase tomorrow.
I went for quite a few of the small salamis this time, a few of the monster salamis, plus ham, bresaola and some rosa di bosca, which looks great. That, plus the usual Sheridans raid, and a fervent desire not to move beyond the pale this year should mean a very comfortable hibernation for the break."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by coillcam View PostI dunno it's an odd one the way it's been portrayed but he doesn't seem in the slightest bit bothered - "Lads idgaf, private matter and won't make any further comment". I was away for a few days so I missed the story until today. @rd3 search for his name on Twitter and you can see the story/video. Clearly, he's in a public place so it's not like he's trying to hide anything. If I was to guess he's either split from his partner or has some sort of open type arrangement. Regardless, that's pure speculation and I don't actually have a clue. Shrug shoulders and on to the next news story for me. If it was Boris Johnson then the brits would nod along as if to say ah yeah that's good old BoJo and kinda his thing.
Wombatman - doesn't seem like it's off-limits as such. Media have asked him about it and he said I'm not going there. He's not going to engage further. So is that not just pretty much the end of the story unless you want to read gossip mags or tabloids about it?
- 1 like
-
Try to imagine the media reaction if Simon Convey was filmed snogging some young one in a nightclub. Do you think the coverage would be the same? Be honest. Media not touching it because they know they would be instantly accused of homophobia. To be fair the story has sparked a shed load of homophobic posts on Twitter and elsewhere. I guess to a fault I'm expecting equality of treatment when we clearly aren't there yet."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Tell her to dump such fripperies as clothing and toiletries, and fill 'er up.
I went for quite a few of the small salamis this time, a few of the monster salamis, plus ham, bresaola and some rosa di bosca, which looks great. That, plus the usual Sheridans raid, and a fervent desire not to move beyond the pale this year should mean a very comfortable hibernation for the break.
-
your interest seems...prurient.Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
- 1 like
-
I fail to see how having an interest in balanced coverage can be misconstrued as prurience. I guess some people will never see past the titillation."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
New song out today, a gentle affair I wrote after reading La dame aux camélias - https://open.spotify.com/track/6cDof...8d373c292b4060
- 3 likes
-
Try to imagine the media reaction if Simon Convey was filmed snogging some young one in a nightclub. Do you think the coverage would be the same? Be honest. Media not touching it because they know they would be instantly accused of homophobia. To be fair the story has sparked a shed load of homophobic posts on Twitter and elsewhere. I guess to a fault I'm expecting equality of treatment when we clearly aren't there yet.
The "what about if it was" line of argument doesn't really work here. For a start it's not really part of Irish political culture to focus on the private lives of our politicians and the media respect that for the most part. I honestly think if it had been Coveney then the reaction wouldn't have been all that different.
On the equality of treatment point - and for the sake of argument assuming Coveney would have been top story on the Six-One News - I still think this is a form of equal treatment. Not all cases are the same. Coveney doing it, in context, might attract public comment for good reason. But it is a valid editorial decision to say that the violation of a safe space by a voyeuristic opportunist should not be rewarded and that the public benefit in running the story is outweighed by the good achieved by not running it whereas the same consideration might lead the same editor to conclude that the countervailing factors did not arise in Coveney's case and so the story can run. Equal treatment by giving proper weight to the specific considerations in each case.
- 7 likes
-
Originally posted by dinekes View PostFairly good deal for Russia Grimer for Bout
Not good for rest of the world I would imagine. I suppose he goes back to business as usual."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by MysteryGuest View PostHonesty thought it was a deepfake when I first saw it- still wearing the work suit and all. Impressive media blackout- it seems out of character to be that reckless from him in a public space-
Media never really mentioned his sexuality (not that there's anything wrong with that sort of thing) until he was open about it (even though it was widely known). Also he's always gone out a lot, blind drunk, and nothing mentioned.
Irish system seems >>> gutter Brit press.
- 5 likes
-
ipb outing for Jan eom?, maybe start with some 50/100 one that we can treat with the contempt it deserves
. But yes to IPB outing obv.
- 3 likes
-
Oh, completely. Still not a good look historically though (even at the time you would have to wonder WTF they were at as Hitler got it in 1938 and Stalin in 1939). Stalin had murdered millions by then and it was very obvious what Hitler was too. Wonder if there was an outcry at the time...?
Hilter was arguable a contender the Person of the Century. Although they went with good guy Einstein as there's obviously a major positive bias.
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostStrewel SIL salami seasonal stupendousness ordered.
Although not impressed the delivery fee now €50, hope the FIL gets a decent hamper out of it.People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 2 likes
-
Try to imagine the media reaction if Simon Convey was filmed snogging some young one in a nightclub. Do you think the coverage would be the same? Be honest. Media not touching it because they know they would be instantly accused of homophobia. To be fair the story has sparked a shed load of homophobic posts on Twitter and elsewhere. I guess to a fault I'm expecting equality of treatment when we clearly aren't there yet.
Originally posted by MysteryGuest View PostHonesty thought it was a deepfake when I first saw it- still wearing the work suit and all. Impressive media blackout- it seems out of character to be that reckless from him in a public space- different standards in a gay relationship obv so may be nothing to it in terms of his own home life.
I don’t like the guy because he wears novelty socks - cannot trust someone who does that in high office
-
Interesting work choice for the wife. Just got a decent pay increase to hit the very beginning of six figures in her stable job for a large finance company. Got that job after the startup she was working for was bought out. Now her boss, and founder of the startup, wants to hit the startup route again and wants her on board for a decent equity share but much less certain pay. Swap stability for risk and a potential payoff? I'm thinking - go for the risky route and keep the fingers crossed."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Think of the goutPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 5 likes
-
Chat GPT craic..
I asked for
Originally posted by IAskChatGPTwrite me an influencer style post for linkedin on the topic of working alone rather than in teams, use a dog and a chicken as part of the story where the chicken ended up eating the dog.
Originally posted by ChatGPT
Hello LinkedIn friends!
I've been thinking a lot lately about the value of working alone versus working in teams. As someone who has experience with both, I have come to the realization that there is something truly special about working solo.
Allow me to share a story with you to illustrate my point. I once had a dog and a chicken as pets. At first, I thought that the two of them would be the perfect team - the dog would protect the chicken and the chicken would provide the dog with some delicious eggs.
But as it turned out, things didn't go as planned. The chicken ended up pecking the dog to death and eating it! This might sound funny, but it's actually a powerful reminder of the dangers of relying on others to get things done.
The moral of the story? When you work alone, you are in control of your own success. You don't have to worry about relying on others or dealing with the potential pitfalls of teamwork. Instead, you can focus on your own goals and aspirations, and work at your own pace to achieve them.
So if you're feeling overwhelmed by the demands of teamwork, consider embracing the power of solo work. Trust me, your dog (and your sanity) will thank you.
Until next time,
[Your Name]
- 15 likes
-
Rep brought me and a colleague out for dinner last night. Night went something like;
Bottle of sparkling wine
1.5kg Tomahawk, waygu hassleback potato with caviar sauce, amazing sauces, chips, green beans, even the salad was great.
Bottle of Cabernet Malbec with the steak
[cross road to Irish shebeen-esque bar]
Guinness and greenspot whiskey
moar Guinness
another whiskey
a Guinness…etc
a couple of smokes on the way home for no good reason.
Work was a sorry affair today
- 10 likes
-
I've been playing with the image generator. My 'Cat on a skateboard in the style of Picasso' is so good I think I'll get it framed and hang it up in the house.
DALL·E 2022-12-09 12.28.11 - Picasso style painting of a cat on a skateboard.png
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by zuutroy View PostI've been playing with the image generator. My 'Cat on a skateboard in the style of Picasso' is so good I think I'll get it framed and hang it up in the house.
DALL·E 2022-12-09 12.28.11 - Picasso style painting of a cat on a skateboard.png
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostInteresting work choice for the wife. Just got a decent pay increase to hit the very beginning of six figures in her stable job for a large finance company. Got that job after the startup she was working for was bought out. Now her boss, and founder of the startup, wants to hit the startup route again and wants her on board for a decent equity share but much less certain pay. Swap stability for risk and a potential payoff? I'm thinking - go for the risky route and keep the fingers crossed.
Given she has her PhD, she likely walks back into a similar job.
I was asked to go back to the start up I left but wouldn’t be getting the equity share.
Every recruiter I’ve chatted to has referenced the start up experience especially when the start up has some visibility.
On a side note, we are now hiring another analyst to bring the team here to a total of 2.
My first time being an interviewer, probably a novelty for the first few but I’m told the volume of applicants is incredible.
- 1 like
-
Why would Putin want a middleman taking a cut?
He's probably a valuable asset and they have been trying to get him back a number of times. Get out the contact list and create some mischief elsewhere.
Watched Lord of War recently so I know everything about arms dealing now
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by zuutroy View PostI've been playing with the image generator. My 'Cat on a skateboard in the style of Picasso' is so good I think I'll get it framed and hang it up in the house.
And I've been using ChatGPT to write code.
It's a whole new world.
- 1 like
-
Ha ha. His entire organisation have been ripping off budgets for years hence the crappy equipment.
He's probably a valuable asset and they have been trying to get him back a number of times. Get out the contact list and create some mischief elsewhere.
Watched Lord of War recently so I know everything about arms dealing now
You'd have to imagine the guy they've gotten back's first comment will be: lets get the show back on the road! - show me to the fax machine and the array of communicating pigeons - given he has been locked up for 14 years."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 1 like
-
One for Denny
Investors who took short positions in Tesla stock have made an $11.5 billion profit so far this year, according to Wall Street analytics firm S3 Partners, as Tesla shares lost about half their value. That’s a nearly 60% return on the $19.6 billion invested in short positions on Tesla this year."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 2 likes
-
In my experience the desire for people with start up experience is incredibly high.
Given she has her PhD, she likely walks back into a similar job.
I was asked to go back to the start up I left but wouldn’t be getting the equity share.
Every recruiter I’ve chatted to has referenced the start up experience especially when the start up has some visibility.
On a side note, we are now hiring another analyst to bring the team here to a total of 2.
My first time being an interviewer, probably a novelty for the first few but I’m told the volume of applicants is incredible.Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
- 1 like
-
Not unusual for start-up emps to be expected to put in 50-60 hour weeks. Grand if you are young, unencumbered and energetic. Risk of a serious well-being hit needs to be factored in which could be contagious at home. With a young family, new home and partner who is earning well too, I'd be inclined to stick."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil