I won't link to it, but I see our legal eagle in the paper today.
    Fighting the good fight on behalf of the downtrodden (banks).

The maddest thing in that story is the address of the property in question.

In terms of school, I regret not studying more for the fact that even to this day I find it hard to study (when the rare need arrives by doing work certification, etc) as I never really learned how to do it properly when I was a teenager. My coasting was nowhere near good enough to get me top grades, but it was more than enough to get middling ones, which is where I ended up, and picked college courses based on the points I'd likely get, rather than any criteria more sensible. If my kids are ever academically able or inclined then I'll help them in whatever way I can, but I doubt I'll force anything. They both have their own problems though (especially the younger lad), so it might not ever be anything I need to worry about, but if it comes to it there is a lot more to life than university courses.

If I could have my time again and wasn't an idiot teenager when I was an idiot teenager there are far more career paths (some of which would involve college/uni too obviously) that I'd go down ahead of where my 'path of least resistance' life has taken me thus far, albeit in things I have no aptitude or real interest in right now, just that I think life would be less boring doing them. Something like electrician (most gentrified of the trades imo), landscape gardener, zookeeper, even the previously mooted train driver.

I dislike my work in general, but am too locked in to life financially to even consider switching. There are no similar sideways related moves into different roles that I've come across that interest me 'either, so perhaps I'm just someone who is perpetually disinterested in things. Either way, I'd like to imagine kids can make better choices, but the problem there is that a lot of them have to make choices that are very important while they are idiot teenagers.

Youth is most definitely wasted on the young, as they say.

Child I did 'OK' in her JC but definitely performed below her potential, seems to be a general theme amongst her friends. Would say a few things at play there:
        • she didn't put the effort in at all, hence my 'get out what you put in' comment
        • school not pushing kids to achieve
        • covid certainly had an impact on their year, they were hardly taught at all for long stretches
        • we didn't push her and there were no grinds etc
        • definitely a bit of immaturity factor at play, possibly multiplied by the covid effect
        We're obviously not doing anything about it right now, and she can go through TY and enjoy all it has to offer but the focus for the LC cycle has to be on maximising her points and getting into college. If that means sending her to grinds or even somewhere fulltime, then that's what will happen. We'll start having the talks in 2023.

Funny, I was thinking this the other day. What current ME society could host an un protested WC right now?
          They do rank these things. But yeah, it's a pretty depressing link to click on.

The big revelation for me was around the age of 35/36, can't remember, when I retrained in data science. Did maybe 20 courses over the space of a year, and it so ridiculously enjoyable to be learning. Had spent so long giving out knowledge, without taking in new structured knowledge, that I'd grown stale. Its fucking brilliant to learn new things. Like this Chinese course I'm taking is mindblowing - just the whole different perspective on communication.

Interesting to look at the worldwide scores for that btw. Look at those smug Uruguayans beating us out of the top ten,

Russia with an appalling score of 20 (which has presumably gone down quite a bit since then) and Ukraine with a 'partly free' score of 60.

They do rank these things. But yeah, it's a pretty depressing link to click on.
                I like that in the list of all countries, the USA (the land of the free) is only at #61 on the freedom rankings.

Question for finance folk . With the increase in tap payments as opposed to Cash. What are the pros and cons ? Is the money vaule the same or does the derect debit system simply make more money for the banks Via transactions charges etc ?

Card transactions make more money for banks (and schemes) than Direct Debits

I like that in the list of all countries, the USA (the land of the free) is only at #61 on the freedom rankings.
                      They are potentially on a bad path although I would take a lot of encouragement from the pretty much total lack of election denialism in the recent midterms.
                      Their biggest problem isn't corruption or suppression of democracy imo, it's the almost total polarisation of their political system. The two-party setup was a massive plus for a long time but now looks like a huge structural weakness.
                      Cropped_LANDING_ONLY_FitW9_820px_United_States_Trajectory.png

(1) they're in very short supply
                        (2) quote to paint entire house was 13k
                        (3) I quite like doing it, very Zen, a bit like shuffling poker chips
                        Just finished this monster of a task (painting own house), saving a big chunk of €€€.
                        Doors and skirting boards are the worst.

Child #3, who elected to paint her room the shade of yellow that is in the Ukrainian flag, is now having serious buyers remorse but she can GTFO and live with it for a few years.

Its that time of the year when I need an imaginative present for the wife. Any great ideas that have occurred to people recently?

Just finished this monster of a task (painting own house), saving a big chunk of €€€.
                            Doors and skirting boards are the worst.

Child #3, who elected to paint her room the shade of yellow that is in the Ukrainian flag, is now having serious buyers remorse but she can GTFO and live with it for a few years.
                            You can use this to put some el tren emojis on her wall, perfect base colour. She'd definitely thank you for that.

Its that time of the year when I need an imaginative present for the wife. Any great ideas that have occurred to people recently?
                              The top gift suggestion for wives on gifts.ie is Cluedo Scooby Doo edition. https://www.gifts.ie/for/her/wife

Massage chair is an interesting idea? Maybe that plus some sort of 'experience'

The big revelation for me was around the age of 35/36, can't remember, when I retrained in data science. Did maybe 20 courses over the space of a year, and it so ridiculously enjoyable to be learning. Had spent so long giving out knowledge, without taking in new structured knowledge, that I'd grown stale. Its fucking brilliant to learn new things. Like this Chinese course I'm taking is mindblowing - just the whole different perspective on communication.
                                  I was like this with aviation from 2016 when I took it up seriously. Couldn't get enough...learned easily a full BSc and MSc worth of material. Have been like that with various topics since I was a teenager...basketball, physics, materials science, poker, golf, flying, in that order.
                                  The plane is being collected by its new owner tomorrow and I'm permanent in work, which I wasn't before I bought it, so my plan for the first time is to try not obsessing over or deliberately learning anything (for a while at least).

With the kids, I just try to keep them structured and disciplined without academic performance being the be all and end all. I think the black box between parental input and child output isn't worth trying to figure out beyond that!

Should have set aside more than 20 minutes for this. Massage chair, some form of experience to individualise it a bit as the massage chair becomes a house asset rather than a personal asset, and a teppanyaki meal in Chaiyo for the shared time. What would be a good experience? Maybe making something. Like a chocolate making class. Or making perfumes could be interesting.

God I hate buying presents. As a person with zero creativity or imagination I should get an exemption.

Same. It's not like as a society most of us gaze longingly through shop windows at common things that we'd love but can't afford yet might make an ideal treat as christmas presents. If we want something we often just buy it, or it is too expensive at any time of the year, or just outright silly and impractical (like the aforementioned massage chair).

Shirley this:
                                          https://www.dyson.ie/vacuum-cleaners...ct-iron-nickel

Originally posted by paul8200 View Post

Card transactions make more money for banks (and schemes) than Direct Debits
                                            Back to cash with me . I never have the euro to toss into a buskers bag anymore. Need to get rid of 10/20 cent coins though.

Anything creative out there to replace ironing ?

I was like this with aviation from 2016 when I took it up seriously. Couldn't get enough...learned easily a full BSc and MSc worth of material. Have been like that with various topics since I was a teenager...basketball, physics, materials science, poker, golf, flying, in that order.
                                                The plane is being collected by its new owner tomorrow and I'm permanent in work, which I wasn't before I bought it, so my plan for the first time is to try not obsessing over or deliberately learning anything (for a while at least).
                                                !
                                                I’m very similar, I’m either in or I’m out. I find it very hard to do something half arse or at least my perception of what that is.

Struggling to do 1-2 days in the gym for around 6 months but did 7 sessions a week for the 3rd week in a row.

Decided to relearn poker and bought a load of content and down an awful rabbit hole.

I do seem to have hit a point with golf at the moment though where I accept that I’m not good and can’t complain about it because I’m not putting in the work so even when I’m awful I laugh it off.

I’m very similar, I’m either in or I’m out. I find it very hard to do something half arse or at least my perception of what that is.

Struggling to do 1-2 days in the gym for around 6 months but did 7 sessions a week for the 3rd week in a row.

Decided to relearn poker and bought a load of content and down an awful rabbit hole.

I do seem to have hit a point with golf at the moment though where I accept that I’m not good and can’t complain about it because I’m not putting in the work so even when I’m awful I laugh it off.
                                                  Youd still beat me but i love being on a golf course so i park the embarrassment and just savour the round. Deffo hitting some in the west in 2023 . Played about 10 times in 2022 . Not great.

the diptyque advent calendar is a thing of beauty (if she likes candles, and they're some of the best candles you can get)

You know people say that if you have not been to university then you will not have had a proper education.
                                                      Well let me tell you , Albert Einstein never went to university , but that never stopped him being the first man to climb Everest ……..

On a similar thread to Hitch's,
                                                        My sis in law wants my niece to do secondary school through Irish. She hasn't done this in primary school.
                                                        Says it's because you can get 30% extra in the leaving.
                                                        I'll be quite honest, nobody on the family is fluent in Irish.

Am I right in thinking wtaf?
                                                        In this case it's surely better to get grinds in English to bring the grades up if needed, rather than be labouring through 6 years of a dead language?
                                                        She probably thinks it’s a bonus 30% on the point total.
                                                        But probably missing the fact that the child’s ability to do maths, physics, engineering, history, geography, etc through Irish is not going to be equal to their ability in English.

But they are probably marked a touch on the soft side too.

In terms of school, I regret not studying more for the fact that even to this day I find it hard to study (when the rare need arrives by doing work certification, etc) as I never really learned how to do it properly when I was a teenager.
                                                          The LC for the most part is a memory game. Content, formulae, methodologies etc. Yet in most schools there is no study skills class. Bizarre as it will improve performance across the board. Kids are told they need to study and revise but are not trained in how to do it effectively. Learning how to study well will stand to a student all the way through to Uni and beyond.

the diptyque advent calendar is a thing of beauty (if she likes candles, and they're some of the best candles you can get)
                                                            Hitch probably more interested in the likes of…

https://www.annsummers.com/gifts/advent-calendars/

I kinda hate receiving presents too. I feel if I need something I get it and vice versa. So when given a present I'm usually left feeling I don't need or want this.

The marketing people have won Christmas. In fact they have won about every other holiday and festival too.

I'm going to ask my nearest and dearest if they were planning any purchase that I can buy for them. If not it will be a consumable likesome nice food treat.

Apart from the kids (teens love cash) I can't see myself spending big on anyone else.

I always know the perfect gift to get loved ones.....
                                                                Xmas morning just before they open the gift I've gotten them instead. It's like a fucking super power of missed inspiration.

I always know the perfect gift to get loved ones.....
                                                                  Xmas morning just before they open the gift I've gotten them instead. It's like a fucking super power of missed inspiration.
                                                                  Write that lightning bolt of inspiration down for future birthday/christmas gift buying you.

The UK looks more fucked by the day. Which is going to spill over and hurt us in some ways but we're a lot more diversified now.

Write that lightning bolt of inspiration down for future birthday/christmas gift buying you.
                                                                      fuck that guy, what's he ever done for me?

I sometimes (like more than thrice) have bought presents for people of things I like, and end up keeping it for myself. Some pretty shite substitutes thrown in.
                                                                        “Blessed are the forgetful, for they get the better even of their blunders.”

On a similar thread to Hitch's,
                                                                          My sis in law wants my niece to do secondary school through Irish. She hasn't done this in primary school.
                                                                          Says it's because you can get 30% extra in the leaving.
                                                                          I'll be quite honest, nobody on the family is fluent in Irish.

Am I right in thinking wtaf?
                                                                          In this case it's surely better to get grinds in English to bring the grades up if needed, rather than be labouring through 6 years of a dead language?
                                                                          I know a few people that did it in primary school and secondary school. They felt goosed when it came to doing science subjects in English in college.

You get 10% of the marks you didn't get if you do the paper through Gaeilge. Definitely not a huge sweetner.

So
                                                                            raw 50% => 55%
                                                                            raw 80% => 82%

Daughter is queued up for a Gaelscoil, both my younger brothers went but I started school a year before the local one opened.

You get 10% of the marks you didn't get if you do the paper through Gaeilge. Definitely not a huge sweetner.

So
                                                                              raw 50% => 55%
                                                                              raw 80% => 82%

Daughter is queued up for a Gaelscoil, both my younger brothers went but I started school a year before the local one opened.
                                                                              Is there a reason behind the Gaelscoil choice?

Nearest / least riff raff?

Have ye considered a school in a language that people actually speak?

In the process of signing a book contract with a very reputable publisher. The contract is interesting - I was mentally expecting the royalties to be a fair bit less?

We could offer a royalty of 5 per cent of the Publisher's net receipts on the first 300 copies, 7.5 per cent on the next 300 copies, and 10 per cent thereafter on hardback copies, 5 per cent on the Publisher's net receipts on the first 500 copies, 7.5 per cent on the next 500 copies and 10 per cent thereafter on any subsequent paperback edition, and 5 per cent of the Publisher’s net receipts on the first £10,000 of net receipts and 7.5 per cent thereafter on the electronic edition.
                                                                                  My understanding is that net receipts is the sales price minus any discounts offered to sellers, rather than some The Producers scam where they can deduct all manner of expenses. But will double-check.

Probably the absolute best case scenario is about €10k of royalties, so you wouldn't be doing it for the money anyway.

When we were considering primary schools, the gaelscoil was binned when we realised we'd struggle to help them with their homework.

As an aside, there seems to have been a really positive change in how it's taught and presented to kids. Our two seem to have a bit of a gra for it, yapping and singing away in it at home.

In the process of signing a book contract with a very reputable publisher. The contract is interesting - I was mentally expecting the royalties to be a fair bit less?

My understanding is that net receipts is the sales price minus any discounts offered to sellers, rather than some The Producers scam where they can deduct all manner of expenses. But will double-check.

Probably the absolute best case scenario is about €10k of royalties, so you wouldn't be doing it for the money anyway.
                                                                                      Congrats Hitch, that's fantastic.

Circa 2050s

Is there a reason behind the Gaelscoil choice?

Nearest / least riff raff?
                                                                                          Quite a lot of the objectively good stuff @ https://gaeloideachas.ie/why-choose-...medium-school/ for the head, and then for the heart - just a keen interest in keeping the language alive.

When we were considering primary schools, the gaelscoil was binned when we realised we'd struggle to help them with their homework.

As an aside, there seems to have been a really positive change in how it's taught and presented to kids. Our two seem to have a bit of a gra for it, yapping and singing away in it at home.
                                                                                            Think that's another reason herself is so keen on the idea, I'll be the only one expected to help out as she gets "the exemption" by being a 'foreigner'.

I'll be required to do an interview / conversation before she'll be accepted into the school. I'm not certain that's a discriminator, just a way for them to figure out which kids may get more support at home etc.

The modern primary school teacher really is fantastically well-trained. The curriculum seems to be vastly improved also. I don't know how the teachers do it tbh. The youngest is one of 25 or so in his class, and some of the individual accommodations the teacher has made for him are mindboggling, given all the other kids have all their needs as well. How do you keep track of it all?!

In the French school they do both the French curriculum and then Irish teachers come in teach the Irish curriculum (history, geography, Irish, English). The French curriculum seems very staid compared to the creativity and engagement of the Irish curriculum.

Think that's another reason herself is so keen on the idea, I'll be the only one expected to help out as she gets "the exemption" by being a 'foreigner'.

I'll be required to do an interview / conversation before she'll be accepted into the school. I'm not certain that's a discriminator, just a way for them to figure out which kids may get more support at home etc.
                                                                                                Oh I didn't realise they did that. That's good.

lol from d'missus, wp her.

Hey, did you manage to set that bridge up OK, or do you need any help with it?

Always marvelled at herself bring a genius at picking perfect presents for me every time.
                                                                                                  Recently discovered her secret was to trawl through my Amazon account and seeing what I looked up.

Casually enquired how she knew my password.
                                                                                                  "I wait until you're asleep and
                                                                                                  use your finger print to unlock the 'phone."

Clearly having an affair would not go unnoticed!

Always marvelled at herself bring a genius at picking perfect presents for me every time.
                                                                                                    Recently discovered her secret was to trawl through my Amazon account and seeing what I looked up.

Casually enquired how she knew my password.
                                                                                                    "I wait until you're asleep and
                                                                                                    use your finger print to unlock the 'phone."

Clearly having an affair would not go unnoticed!
                                                                                                    https://www.google.com/amp/s/news.sk...ffair-11117184

That’s great, congrats.

Will it be technical and more academic focused or more in the pop psych space like Freakanomics?

In the process of signing a book contract with a very reputable publisher.
                                                                                                        So in the week we lose a qualified pilot, we gain a published author. Swings and roundabouts.

I look forward to publishing a scathing review on Goodreads.

The modern primary school teacher really is fantastically well-trained. The curriculum seems to be vastly improved also. I don't know how the teachers do it tbh. The youngest is one of 25 or so in his class, and some of the individual accommodations the teacher has made for him are mindboggling, given all the other kids have all their needs as well. How do you keep track of it all?!

In the French school they do both the French curriculum and then Irish teachers come in teach the Irish curriculum (history, geography, Irish, English). The French curriculum seems very staid compared to the creativity and engagement of the Irish curriculum.
                                                                                                          I think the biggest difference is how kids with special needs get identified and helped. When I think back on it, there were kids in my class who, with the benefit of hindsight, were more than likely autistic, had ADHD, had Asbergers etc. They were generally shoved in the corner and ignored, their parents had no idea what to do either (I do wonder where they are now - I know one of them became a CoI rector ).

As an example, our youngest has always been an appalling speller but ahead in every other way. She's 11 but would be devouring the books of her 16 year old sister and writing extremely creative stories with a wide vocabulary (clearly a chip off the old block). We always thought she just wasn't making an effort at spelling and would push her, leading to frustrations on both sides when the spelling invariably didn't improve. Her teacher last year was concerned and ran some extra tests, then suggested we go to a specialist for a diagnosis - lo and behold, she has been diagnosed with a very limited form of dyslexia that only affects spelling. Apparently linked to being ambidextrous, which is weird but a recognised 'thing'. Now getting extra support out the wazoo in her last year of primary school but, more importantly, is now going to get all the required exemptions in secondary i.e. she won't get docked marks in state exams for bad spelling, can use a laptop if she wants and, to her delight, can get a deferment from Irish, although she is actually quite fluent in it verbally. Even things that you wouldn't think of like which language to pick - German is way easier than French if you have dyslexia.

Just a small example from close to home. I reckon even 20 years ago that would have gone undiagnosed and led to a lot of negative outcomes...

That’s great, congrats.

Will it be technical and more academic focused or more in the pop psych space like Freakanomics?
                                                                                                            More academic. A book called 'Understanding NFTs'. Which is a bit of a bet on NFTs actually recovering and becoming a thing. I've always being a general researcher - flitting about from area to area - so this is a first attempt to narrow down to an area of expertise and deepen it. After this, and with some earlier publications, I'd be able to reasonably claim to be 'the' expert in the area.

Now, as zuut will attest, academics tend to frequently get offers to write books, as the main effort is on the part of the author while the publishing house only has the upside. But felt this was the one area for writing a book that actually made sense to do, and with a high-status publishing house.

I think the biggest difference is how kids with special needs get identified and helped. When I think back on it, there were kids in my class who, with the benefit of hindsight, were more than likely autistic, had ADHD, had Asbergers etc. They were generally shoved in the corner and ignored, their parents had no idea what to do either (I do wonder where they are now - I know one of them became a CoI rector ).

As an example, our youngest has always been an appalling speller but ahead in every other way. She's 11 but would be devouring the books of her 16 year old sister and writing extremely creative stories with a wide vocabulary (clearly a chip off the old block). We always thought she just wasn't making an effort at spelling and would push her, leading to frustrations on both sides when the spelling invariably didn't improve. Her teacher last year was concerned and ran some extra tests, then suggested we go to a specialist for a diagnosis - lo and behold, she has been diagnosed with a very limited form of dyslexia that only affects spelling. Apparently linked to being ambidextrous, which is weird but a recognised 'thing'. Now getting extra support out the wazoo in her last year of primary school but, more importantly, is now going to get all the required exemptions in secondary i.e. she won't get docked marks in state exams for bad spelling, can use a laptop if she wants and, to her delight, can get a deferment from Irish, although she is actually quite fluent in it verbally. Even things that you wouldn't think of like which language to pick - German is way easier than French if you have dyslexia.

Just a small example from close to home. I reckon even 20 years ago that would have gone undiagnosed and led to a lot of negative outcomes...
                                                                                                              That is class!

On a tangent to that. The thing that got us onto 'grinds as confidence-builders', was chatting to a 'once-well-known' Trinity prof. He was saying his son, same age as our eldest, was struggling with writing neatly. The teacher was always on to him about the neatness of his writing and it was affecting schooling a bit. They then get a teacher in two hours a week for a month who trains him in how to write well. Problem solved. bish-bash-bosh. He's back on top again. Think its a cool idea.

Things are very much better, but still a lot of frustration involved, especially if you have to rely on public sector help.

My 2 kids are diagnosed autistic, although literally at opposite ends of things. My eldest was for all intents and purposes 'typical' and walked, talked, interacted as normal, but has the attention span of a gnat and can get hyper and disruptive but not out of malice of any sort. Very bright though, basically taught himself how to read before he started school, and has the memory of an elephant. In preschool they recognised he needed extra help and someone got assigned to him to help calm him and keep him constructively busy. He is in junior infants and this has carried on. Local health services guy though refused to countenance that there was anything he needed help with so wouldn't refer him on anywhere, so we had to get a private assessment which allows him to get the extra resources and time he needs in class now, otherwise he'd often be disruptive to others. With a bit of extra help to focus and channel his energy, he'll be fine, and I'd imagine will be substantially similar to other kids experiences. We can see the differences with the private occupational therapy sessions and extra help in school. He'd likely have coped, but with increasing difficulty as the years went by and would as you say have been ignored when we were kids.

My youngest has from about 14 months been far more obviously autistic in more severe ways. He has just turned 3 and doesn't speak, among other things. Thankfully locally there are decent private services we can avail of, and he is in a special ASD unit preschool, which from the day he turned 3 is fully covered by a grant as it doesn't come under the ECCE scheme. Again, we had to get him privately assessed, and private speech and language and occupational therapy. We have been assured that he is 'top of the list' for public speech and language for the last year, but it could be another year before anything like that actually becomes available to him. Thankfully (and with help from good cover under health insurance) we are able to fund these things privately for him. We'd still be waiting for a public assessment too if we weren't able to afford the private one (not cheap and not covered by health insurance).

Outcomes are much improved by early intervention and we are really hoping that'll be the case for him too. He's a sweet boy with an even temperament generally, but there are some frustrations with his lack of ability to communicate. He has (covered by the medical card he was granted after getting a specific government grant only made possible because he had a diagnosis we'd still be waiting for if relying on public route) a tablet to essentially allow him to communicate once he understands how to use it, but that will be a long and slow process to get to, and hopefully he will develop speech in the mean time, but if not, this will hopefully allow him to tell us things. He can make himself understood in a non-verbal way, but it is obviously limited. The point being that while the grants and supports are there, getting to them without resorting to private diagnoses and interventions is a very slow and laboured process. Things are better, but still a lot of room for improvement.

More academic. A book called 'Understanding NFTs'. Which is a bit of a bet on NFTs actually recovering and becoming a thing. I've always being a general researcher - flitting about from area to area - so this is a first attempt to narrow down to an area of expertise and deepen it. After this, and with some earlier publications, I'd be able to reasonably claim to be 'the' expert in the area.

Now, as zuut will attest, academics tend to frequently get offers to write books, as the main effort is on the part of the author while the publishing house only has the upside. But felt this was the one area for writing a book that actually made sense to do, and with a high-status publishing house.
                                                                                                                    That does seem to be the one of the main reasons for writing a book, getting to be known as the expert in that particular area

On a side note, I didn't realise how many best selling books are ghost written. Does explain why do much non-fiction reads the same.

That does seem to be the one of the main reasons for writing a book, getting to be known as the expert in that particular area

On a side note, I didn't realise how many best selling books are ghost written. Does explain why do much non-fiction reads the same.
                                                                                                                      It's been the same thing in pop music since the rise of the algorithm.

A handful of 'go-to' producers with the 'Midas touch' (ie. expert at the algo-friendly tropes) dominate and thus it all sounds very samey and safe with originality throttled at the expense of consistency.

Plane currently over Devon on the way to it's new home in France. Quite a relief to not have to fret over it anymore. Warranty ended when the wheels left the ground!
                                                                                                                        IMG_20221122_111747.jpeg

Hitchhiker's Guide To... zuutroy todays IT phishing email was a fair effort on their part