Great to see Australia getting through the World Cup finals- helps keep the boot on the head of the drowning man that is rugby Union in that country- every bit helps
Bad beat/Moaning/Venting thread - Wordle Gummidge
-
Originally posted by coillcam View PostPoland is en route to knockout stages based on "indiscipline points" as they're locked on points, goal difference, goals scored and head-to-head with Mexico. I make that they have 3 fewer yellow cards than Mexico. If they end up on the same number of cards/points (yellow=1, red=3), it will be a drawing of lots like when we knocked out the Dutch.
Plenty of time for goals, cards and drama galore.
-
right now live, SBF first interview since FTX collapse. Sponsored by the NYT. If only Bernie Madholf got such a gentle shakedown
https://youtu.be/0ik497cvvcE
edit, to add: in Poker terms he gives off a lot of live tellsLast edited by paul8200; 30-11-22, 21:52.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Cuchulainn1 View Post
I'd say he is getting set up for a big fall in Wednesday night.
The Wife is some weapon, horrible nasty yoke, wallowing even deeper in the self pity than him. I thought you might have seen Quinn's mask slip a bit on the Lunny thing when he goes into that spiel of 'Why would I do that, and here are the reasons I should have'.
-
Still letting him off very light.
The Wife is some weapon, horrible nasty yoke, wallowing even deeper in the self pity than him. I thought you might have seen Quinn's mask slip a bit on the Lunny thing when he goes into that spiel of 'Why would I do that, and here are the reasons I should have'.
Dukes' comment about border folk turning to violence quicker than the rest of us angels is causing quite a stir!
I thought it was a decent bit of TV from RTE over the last 3 nights. Been a while since I thought that.
- 2 likes
-
Ah I thought it made Quinn out to be as delusional and pathetic it could have. If your man didn't die when the police kicked in the door in England I'd imagine there'd have been a different ending.
Dukes' comment about border folk turning to violence quicker than the rest of us angels is causing quite a stir!
I thought it was a decent bit of TV from RTE over the last 3 nights. Been a while since I thought that.
Fair play to Dukes for being unequivocal about the Quinns having stashed away loads of money.
Ah yeah overall it was a well made doc and obviously they were having to negotiate some tricky legal routes between what they could and couldn't say.
- 1 like
-
Wife came off very badly, here's a plot twist- maybe she's the paymaster!
Although if she was I'd say the priest would have force fed his own Communion hosts.
-
Can someone explain why he Anglo had to lend him money to support the position he had in the CFDs? If he didn't keep funding them would his position not have just been liquidated and he'd lose whatever he'd put in? I understand that he didn't want to cut his losses and he thought it could turn around, but why was that Anglo's problem? Did he already have huge loans with them that he wouldn't be able to repay?
Also, I didn't really understand the Maple 10 aspect of it. Quinn didn't actually own any shares in the bank, so how did him gambling on CFDs affect the share price?
Cheers!
-
Originally posted by coillcam View PostPoland is en route to knockout stages based on "indiscipline points" as they're locked on points, goal difference, goals scored and head-to-head with Mexico. I make that they have 3 fewer yellow cards than Mexico. If they end up on the same number of cards/points (yellow=1, red=3), it will be a drawing of lots like when we knocked out the Dutch.
Plenty of time for goals, cards and drama galore.
In before AJ, can retire happy now.
- 3 likes
-
The Wife is some weapon, horrible nasty yoke, wallowing even deeper in the self pity than him. I thought you might have seen Quinn's mask slip a bit on the Lunny thing when he goes into that spiel of 'Why would I do that, and here are the reasons I should have'."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Gonna be great craic in 2026 when it's 16 groups of 3 and half the groups are decided on that rule.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Degag View Post12 groups of 4 would work someway decently but 16 of 3 just sounds terrible
12 of 4 is more complicated. If you go from 48 to 32 after the groups then its 8 games for the four semi-finalists.
If you go from 48 straight down to 16 (say the 12 group winners and four best runners-up) then you risk a lot of the final group games being dead rubbers.
There's no ideal solution (obviously keeping it at 32 teams but that ship has sailed).
- 1 like
-
- 2 likes
-
One vaguely interesting thing in the Mexico game which no-one on the pitch or commentary realised.
The Saudi goal in the 94rd minute didn't affect Mexico chances at all.
In fact, it was arguably better to concede the goal there and have immediate possession at the half-way line rather than start making tackles and conceding corners.
Because at 2-0 Mexico were tied with Poland on goal diff and goals scored, and losing on yellow cards. Hence, they needed 1 more goal.
But a 3-1 win would have put them ahead of Poland on goals scored. Therefore, despite the Saudi goal nothing had changed for Mexico and they just needed one more goal.
Clearly Mexico didn't realise this either and there was a bit of a heads dropped, lack of intensity feel to their play then as they thought they needed two goals.
- 4 likes
-
Originally posted by ArmaniJeans View PostOne vaguely interesting thing in the Mexico game which no-one on the pitch or commentary realised.
The Saudi goal in the 94rd minute didn't affect Mexico chances at all.
In fact, it was arguably better to concede the goal there and have immediate possession at the half-way line rather than start making tackles and conceding corners.
Because at 2-0 Mexico were tied with Poland on goal diff and goals scored, and losing on yellow cards. Hence, they needed 1 more goal.
But a 3-1 win would have put them ahead of Poland on goals scored. Therefore, despite the Saudi goal nothing had changed for Mexico and they just needed one more goal.
Clearly Mexico didn't realise this either and there was a bit of a heads dropped, lack of intensity feel to their play then as they thought they needed two goals.
Only saw the end of the Mexico game and they did look a bit lacklustre. I don’t know how attacking they were prior to the SA goal but they should have been going gung ho seeing as it wouldn’t have mattered a jot if they scored!
- 1 like
-
This was a good read
https://www.tbray.org/ongoing/When/2...AWS-BlockchainPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 1 like
-
Yep, was rather amazed the commentary didn’t realise this. Thought it’d have been fairly obvious.
Its more that they take actual pride in not knowing what's happening or what the ramification of each goal is, and start talking about 'leaving it to the people with the calculators to sort out'.
So you had Danny Murphy who clearly didn't have a scooby what was going on winding up Steve Bower who wasn't much better but was at least making some effort with a gibbering moron beside him.
But really it's the sort of stuff they should have been on top of with a tiny bit of research pre-match.
Originally posted by Degag View PostOnly saw the end of the Mexico game and they did look a bit lacklustre. I don’t know how attacking they were prior to the SA goal but they should have been going gung ho seeing as it wouldn’t have mattered a jot if they scored!
- 1 like
-
The drawing of lots is pathetic way to decide a game. Yellows cards is also not great. I think a better way to decide is a questionnaire filled in pre-tournament.
Questions like
who is better Ronaldo or Messi - Obviously those who vote Ronaldo should be awarded a yellow card for not taking the whole questionnaire thing seriously.
Klopp or Pep? Etc. Then at the end of the Tournament all the players who voted Klopp or Ronaldo should appear on the big screen before the final and publicly ridiculed.
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by ArmaniJeans View PostSo you had Danny Murphy who clearly didn't have a scooby what was going on winding up Steve Bower who wasn't much better but was at least making some effort with a gibbering moron beside him.
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by KK82 View PostCan someone explain why he Anglo had to lend him money to support the position he had in the CFDs? If he didn't keep funding them would his position not have just been liquidated and he'd lose whatever he'd put in? I understand that he didn't want to cut his losses and he thought it could turn around, but why was that Anglo's problem? Did he already have huge loans with them that he wouldn't be able to repay?
Also, I didn't really understand the Maple 10 aspect of it. Quinn didn't actually own any shares in the bank, so how did him gambling on CFDs affect the share price?
Cheers!
- 6 likes
-
We didnt knock the Dutch out, both had qualified. Lots were drawn to see who would be sceond and third. We ended up with Romania instead of West Germans.
-
We didnt knock the Dutch out, both had qualified. Lots were drawn to see who would be sceond and third. We ended up with Romania instead of West Germans.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by ArmaniJeans View PostHow different could it have been if only they'd played him from the start? Possibly would have had double figures of missed chances."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Originally posted by Gimmeabreakbtw that would make them the best performing online sportsbook, by margin, in the entire world. It would also leave them some way clear of the next best performer.
Amazing performance for such a low profile business. I don't have an account with them and have never even seen an ad outside them having a show on oddschecker and that's despite me being about as visible to SEO as a mug punter as it's possible to be
-
Do we know anyone who ever got a bet on with them?
Amazing performance for such a low profile business. I don't have an account with them and have never even seen an ad outside them having a show on oddschecker and that's despite me being about as visible to SEO as a mug punter as it's possible to be"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by balfejohn View Post1st time in a long time agreeing with Boyd Barrett today in the Dáil
Giving Ursula a bit of a grilling on Israeli constant brutality with the palatine (who are no angels themselves) people
crazy stuff going on
too much power in them lads thru out the world
Sounds like usual fascist deflection tactic of 'look, over there!' that clowns like Wallace and Daly like to indulge in. Except they're paid for it."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
What's VDL's responsibility for Israel?
Sounds like usual fascist deflection tactic of 'look, over there!' that clowns like Wallace and Daly like to indulge in. Except they're paid for it.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Tar.Aldarion View PostGreat start to the house, here since Saturday and heating doesn't work yet - guy coming to look at it tomorrow that the developer neighbour sorted with them. Then today I notice water damage in the ceiling downstairs below the shower, so I call around but there is just the younger lad there, a foreman, to ask them is that water damage from the shower above? They say for sure the pipe is leaking and as this is a new build it's untested, so it often happens and that the developer will fix it for free. Call shortly afterwards from said developer pissed off saying he's not our landlord and we have to pay for it. I didn't ask them to pay, and also they told all and sundry that they'd fix any issues lol? Neighbour relations down the drain.
We had a few teething issues and the builder even fixed stuff for us 4/5 months later without any question otherwise.
-
As our esteemed leader in Europe she could propose sanctions against these shower of gimps for the atrocities they are carrying out but will stay silent due to the control these people seem to have over most of the 1st world countries
Gotcha"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Official Europe has looked the other way as Israel has committed brutal atrocities for decades. When it is one of the few political regions in the world that has the moral and economic sway to strongly encourage Israel to change. Its a scumbag country that gets a free ride."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 2 likes
-
no snagger who went through all this stuff?
We had a few teething issues and the builder even fixed stuff for us 4/5 months later without any question otherwise.
Was an amendment brought in in 2018 to allow commercial property to be changed to residential.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by hotspur View PostI have a friend who for many years has vocally based his evaluation of German players on how well they would look in an SS uniform. Once you start it doesn't leave you.I hold silver in tit for tat, and I love you for that
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostOfficial Europe has looked the other way as Israel has committed brutal atrocities for decades. When it is one of the few political regions in the world that has the moral and economic sway to strongly encourage Israel to change. Its a scumbag country that gets a free ride."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."