Wasn't until I spent two years in Preston, drinking with the locals, that I fully understood what poverty is like in the UK for people at the lower extremes. It is grindingly awful. No escape from it either. The rise in the minimum wage over there though must be doing some good, as its quite decent now.
Bad beat/Moaning/Venting thread - Wordle Gummidge
-
Why are sockets so far up walls in houses now? Each room has this. I'm guessing my Cat5 is behind the blank panels and I'll have to replace the panel etc and wire it up. It'll look silly to have all the wires coming down in rooms?!
AUWc1ZGl.jpg
-
Geneva! boring i know, but at the same time we've become very outdoorsy people in our middle age. i'm in to Golf and wind surfing (i love to ski also but sadly with my leg, it's just not an option anymore), wife's into open water swimming and skiing, and the son is into rock climbing, mountain biking, and although he's never tried it yet, i have no doubt he'll absolutely love skiing/snowboarding, so being less then 30 minutes from the nearest ski lift, and 10 minutes from the nearest lake access point, is going to be pretty cool!
Good luck with the leg, I’d say the added annoyance of that is tempering the excitement in living in a new City. Well timed too, the UK is imploding . They Brexecuted themselves.
Yer man Farage looks like a rejected Spitting Image Puppet.
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by Tar.Aldarion View PostWhy are sockets so far up walls in houses now? Each room has this. I'm guessing my Cat5 is behind the blank panels and I'll have to replace the panel etc and wire it up. It'll look silly to have all the wires coming down in rooms?!
AUWc1ZGl.jpg"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Tar.Aldarion View PostWhy are sockets so far up walls in houses now? Each room has this. I'm guessing my Cat5 is behind the blank panels and I'll have to replace the panel etc and wire it up. It'll look silly to have all the wires coming down in rooms?!
AUWc1ZGl.jpg
- 2 likes
-
We got one like that in extension purely for wall hung TV so no wires visible, hardly that?
Tar.Aldarion - It wouldn't be normal for the gaff to come cat6. Did you get the house re-wired and ask for Cat6 in it?
-
That's it. My mate had a new build like this. Coax behind the blank plates for living room, kitchen and master bedroom.
Tar.Aldarion - It wouldn't be normal for the gaff to come cat6. Did you get the house re-wired and ask for Cat6 in it?
Now to try and find couches and beds and stuff. All furniture is gone but pleasantly surprised that the washing machine and the dryer stayed, thought they were for show too.Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 17-11-22, 16:53.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostWasn't until I spent two years in Preston, drinking with the locals, that I fully understood what poverty is like in the UK for people at the lower extremes. It is grindingly awful. No escape from it either. The rise in the minimum wage over there though must be doing some good, as its quite decent now.Turning millions into thousands
- 1 like
-
The lifestyle of the working poor in the UK seems to be especially grim and devoid of craic all the more so since the destruction of the mining and industrial communities since the '80s
https://youtu.be/TvS7wbEbdCc
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Strewelpeter View Post99.9% that's a fake 'Doing a Tobin'
Unless it's some other TobinI hold silver in tit for tat, and I love you for that
- 1 like
-
Please clarify for others that 'Doing a Tobin' doesn't mean wanking on zoom, or any form of guy getting caught wanking.
Unless it's some other Tobin
https://www.theguardian.com/media/20...rker-zoom-call
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by Strewelpeter View Post"We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Liked him too on Anderson Cooper..I hold silver in tit for tat, and I love you for that
-
It can’t be that bad - these working class lads had the coin to fly over to quatar a few days early to support their team
https://youtu.be/TvS7wbEbdCcPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
-
I didn't ask for anything no, I just saw a new house a few hundred metres from me in town and was like oh yes. The developer built his own house next door at the same time and has a similar setup, so probably did it for both. I'd say both houses have the same materials and just a wall down the middle. I asked about internet and he said all rooms are wired with cat, I don't know if it is cat 5/5e or 6 so need to ask/check! I guess 5 since most people wouldn't have a clue or at least not care. Wonder what it would cost to upgrade it all to at least 5e if that was the case.
Now to try and find couches and beds and stuff. All furniture is gone but pleasantly surprised that the washing machine and the dryer stayed, thought they were for show too.
- 1 like
-
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostThe whole Twitter thing is just mad. It's almost like he's engaged in some ludicrous prop bet to see how fast he can destroy $40bn.
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostYou really would have to wonder about anyone who has decided to stay at Twitter. He's like a cross between David Brent, Trump and Ronaldo.
I'd say there are a few reasonsPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 2 likes
-
Nothing will happen to it though? So many people are nothing without Twitter. Anyone that is very active and has > 4k followers thinks the whole world is listening to them spout shite."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
That doesn't mean that (a) the platform will magically stay operational with no organisation to keep it alive, and (b), hordes of users won't just leave if it becomes an unmoderated cesspit."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
I don't know. As Silver-Tiger says there is a whole lot of stickiness to that place, plus it is largely a news source for many people. I'd be much more of the perspective that it will trundle along regardless, unless they end up with a lot of outages. It is already an unmoderated cesspit."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Originally posted by Dice75 View PostFor someone who hasnt a clue despite being on Twitter intermittently, how does it make money? I've never seeen any ads on it unless I'm completely immune at this stage.
Full business development plans here.
Meh, not sure about the whole thing. I would say its far more likely that twitter looks approximately the same in 2030 as it does now, than it either collapses or grows dramatically. Meaning the guy will have lost a fortune."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
There's probably five solid social media 'pillars': private social networks, video, pictures, dating, news. They will probably stay as solid categories until things like metaverses start becoming serious in a few years and launch the next evolution of social media:- WhatsApp for private social networks
- TikTok / YouTube for video content
- Insta for pictures
- Tinder for dating
- ...what is there for news? I guess it needs to be twitter as there isn't a realistic alternative out there?
-
Originally posted by Dice75 View PostFor someone who hasnt a clue despite being on Twitter intermittently, how does it make money? I've never seeen any ads on it unless I'm completely immune at this stage.
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostThere's probably five solid social media 'pillars': private social networks, video, pictures, dating, news. They will probably stay as solid categories until things like metaverses start becoming serious in a few years and launch the next evolution of social media:- WhatsApp for private social networks
- TikTok / YouTube for video content
- Insta for pictures
- Tinder for dating
- ...what is there for news? I guess it needs to be twitter as there isn't a realistic alternative out there?
I do think that Discord is quite good in the WhatsApp kind of space. I use that quite a lot now, mainly for Poker
- 1 like
-
And they ALL like vindaloo"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 3 likes
-
David Squires in really going to town on this joke of a World Cup. And he's right."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 3 likes
-
I thought some of the numbers here are pretty striking but not surprising.
Another headline of it was Ireland has 6 navy vessels which can’t be deployed together due to staffing constraints that is also getting worse as more people are moving to private sector.
Those vessels are responsible for managing 16% of EU territorial waters.
Also, can’t help but lol at him calling himself Dr DreaLast edited by Murdrum; 18-11-22, 13:13.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Murdrum View PostI thought some of the numbers here are pretty striking but not surprising.
Another headline of it was Ireland has 6 navy vessels which can’t be deployed together due to staffing constraints that is also getting worse as more people are moving to private sector.
Those vessels are responsible for managing 16% of EU territorial waters.
Also, can’t help but lol at him calling himself Dr Drea
Think we're the only sane ones out there. Not to be wasting e.g. 2% of GDP (hmm at him using GDP as a comparison tool for Ireland) every fucking year like other countries on something essentially pointless. We instead spend the money on quality of life. Those deepsea cables are all highly monitored by 5-eyes in any case, as per the wikileaks leaks documents a few years ago. I can't imagine a fish could touch them without an alarm bell going off somewhere in the NSA."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Couple more vids where Swingtweaks makes an appearance if anyone is interested. If ye could comment on the vid it'd be awesome for the algo to push them. or give them a like, it'd be appreciated.
First one is a video creator from Leeds who is gonna be using the app to try an improve over the next little while.
Promo in this one is very well done imo.
Second one is myself and the channel owner narrating a match we played in a Member Guest tournament.
You get to hear me talk all sorts of shite in this one.
- 5 likes
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostThink we're the only sane ones out there. Not to be wasting e.g. 2% of GDP (hmm at him using GDP as a comparison tool for Ireland) every fucking year like other countries on something essentially pointless. We instead spend the money on quality of life. Those deepsea cables are all highly monitored by 5-eyes in any case, as per the wikileaks leaks documents a few years ago. I can't imagine a fish could touch them without an alarm bell going off somewhere in the NSA."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
You don't think recent events would point to a clear need to have a functioning military?
At best we would be nuked. Theres no logical route to invasion. Plus - and this is the key point - you want to live in a nice area, send your kids to nice schools, have a social protection network, and spending an extra €5bn a year on military equipment to rust away stops that happening. Our spending priorities are correct.
The one exception is the pay of people currently in the armed forces. Pay is ridiculously low. Everyone should have a decent wage, so would be delighted to see some sacrifices to make that happen out of societal fairness. But lets leave the big boy toys to the waster countries."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostTheres no logical route to invasion. Plus - and this is the key point - you want to live in a nice area, send your kids to nice schools, have a social protection network, and spending an extra €5bn a year on military equipment to rust away stops that happening. Our spending priorities are correct.
Also, if we have it - we can always do as our fellow EU countries are doing and give it to the country that is actually being invaded by a brutal fascist regime. One for all, and all for one...if you think states whose arms donations are literally stopping Ukrainians from being murdered in their tens of thousands are 'wasting' resources, I suggest you rethink."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
I don't think anyone is talking about invasion. It's more the asymmetrical warfare that we need a deterrent for (just look at the pipelines Mad Vlad blew up off the Swedish coast).
Also, if we have it - we can always do as our fellow EU countries are doing and give it to the country that is actually being invaded by a brutal fascist regime. One for all, and all for one...if you think states whose arms donations are literally stopping Ukrainians from being murdered in their tens of thousands are 'wasting' resources, I suggest you rethink."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
And there are real costs to military spending. The UK has had to cut back on foreign aid to fund its military. Ireland proportionally gives far more foreign aid than the UK, vastly more than the US. We are doing our bit in our way - helping people to get back on their feet after disasters, intervening in the poorest countries to prevent poverty. Military spending is a choice, we've chosen a nicer approach with our resources that benefits more people."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
That's odd. The crypto ads were infuriating for a long time. I wonder what audience bucket they have me in? Well i don't wonder. Based on my follows you'd come to an easy conclusion that i like to punt so i'd be in a gambling audience. Never purchased Crypto, followed any crypto accounts or even strayed on to any crypto dedicated websites. Not surprised Crypto marketeers are going after that audience. Makes sense.
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostThink we're the only sane ones out there. Not to be wasting e.g. 2% of GDP (hmm at him using GDP as a comparison tool for Ireland) every fucking year like other countries on something essentially pointless.
As Murdrum says, we control 16% of the EU's territorial waters and yet we do not have over-the-horizon capabilities or even proper radar capabilities. Our air defence is entirely outsourced to the RAF, meaning we are in no sense neutral as our air space is open to military aircraft of another state. On that basis, in international law, we would have no grounds to deny Russia, China etc. equal access to our airspace.
But leaving all of that aside, we need massive investment in Cyber Security in the armed forces to protect vital infrastructure (see: HSE hack), a properly paid army (their wages are actually shocking), a navy that can reasonably patrol our territorial waters against smuggling, people trafficking etc. Within that we need sub-marine capabilities (not subs, just below water capabilities) to monitor internet and gas/oil pipelines. Even if you operate on the basis that we should never even consider defending ourselves against a nation-state level aggressor, surely we can all agree the need to properly maintain our sovereign territory in these ways? That requires a pretty substantial investment and it's one we should make.
It's also important to keep in mind that your argument about spending the money elsewhere is the equivalent of saying that nobody should have car insurance because they can spend the money better elsewhere. The whole point of an armed forces is to hope that you have it never need it rather than need it and not have it.You are technically correct...the best kind of correct
- 10 likes
-
Went and looked there out of curiosity and nothing, maybe its because i use desktop rather than App, I dunno.
Can you find any winners in Dundalk?
-
It's also important to keep in mind that your argument about spending the money elsewhere is the equivalent of saying that nobody should have car insurance because they can spend the money better elsewhere. The whole point of an armed forces is to hope that you have it never need it rather than need it and not have it.
The spending you outlined sounds good. As in, you have expressed it in terms of the personal benefit to us, rather than Raoul wanting to stockpile stuff in case there's another war. There is, I guess, a balance we need to strike between this and the other spending needs of the population. It has probably been too far down the list in the past and needs to rise to around medium importance. I struggle though to think of what new spending in the last budget (as the military spending would come from new spending) would have been better allocated to the navy. Definitely not the rise in child care support, the social welfare increases were needed for social protection. Maybe the increase in the tax bands as its more in a 'nice to have' category than a necessity. Will the 'squeezed middle' (hate that term) support non-inflationary band increases in return for a better military? Maybe.
Thats separate, of course, to military pay, which should be fair, and is shockingly low at the moment. Thats not a choice, more an obligation."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Went and looked there out of curiosity and nothing, maybe its because i use desktop rather than App, I dunno.
-
The third tweet is always an ad? They are native ads. There's also an ad a piece in the 'What's Happening' and 'Who to Follow' segments at the side.
Can you find any winners in Dundalk?