I'm sick of Mary Black and Ronaldo. They both need to go quietly into the night.
Bad beat/Moaning/Venting thread - Wordle Gummidge
-
Originally posted by Solksjaer! View PostI'm sick of Mary Black and Ronaldo. They both need to go quietly into the night.
- 1 like
-
Who wants to own potentially worthless NFT's for no cost and with the chance to win a signed Messi jersey?
You do!
Here's the jist, it's basically FPL but a 5 a side.
8 players within a budget of 100 points. You must select two players for each position (Goalkeeper, Defender, Midfielder, Forward) with no more than two players from the same national team.
Each Matchday, Managers select five players from their eight-player squad and compose their Sorare Global Cup lineup.
During the Global Cup, you have the opportunity to add four new player cards to your initial squad of 8 on the following dates:
Before the Round of 16: Nov 29 — Dec 3
Before the Quarter finals: Dec 3 — Dec 9
Before the Semi finals: Dec 9 — Dec 13
Managers strengthen their squad by winning National Team Common cards in the Matchday competitions.
Each Matchday the following prizes are up for grabs.
The private IPB League means bonus prizes and potential free swag.
https://sorare.com/invite/pl/GPVPIS?referrer=deadparrot
It's a free shot to nothing and might give this journey the the next few weeks a little interest instead of filling your sitting room full of sand.People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
-
Originally posted by DeadParrot View PostWho wants to own potentially worthless NFT's for no cost and with the chance to win a signed Messi jersey?
You do!
Here's the jist, it's basically FPL but a 5 a side.
8 players within a budget of 100 points. You must select two players for each position (Goalkeeper, Defender, Midfielder, Forward) with no more than two players from the same national team.
Each Matchday, Managers select five players from their eight-player squad and compose their Sorare Global Cup lineup.
During the Global Cup, you have the opportunity to add four new player cards to your initial squad of 8 on the following dates:
Before the Round of 16: Nov 29 — Dec 3
Before the Quarter finals: Dec 3 — Dec 9
Before the Semi finals: Dec 9 — Dec 13
Managers strengthen their squad by winning National Team Common cards in the Matchday competitions.
Each Matchday the following prizes are up for grabs.
The private IPB League means bonus prizes and potential free swag.
https://sorare.com/invite/pl/GPVPIS?referrer=deadparrot
It's a free shot to nothing and might give this journey the the next few weeks a little interest instead of filling your sitting room full of sand.
- 2 likes
-
Jaysus what is he up to. I mean everyone knows about the ego, but I cant imagine what good he thought would come out of this for him. I guess thats how narcissism works, you don't pull the trigger thinking about your own good, you just pull it cos someone might be hurt.
It's not even an important soccer story either. Have a read of the one about the non-existent betting company that "sponsors" City. Teddy Sheringham is the sponsored ambassador. The signing up picture of him is with a London based model (supposed exec/enployee). It's like some 13 year old pretended to make a gaming company using stock photos and paying a few duds to stand in on LinkedIn.
- 1 like
-
Glad everyone, even the blind Man U fans, have come around to my way of thinking on Ronaldo.
My fav top 5/6 is still
Maradona
Messi
Ronaldo
Ronaldo (the fat)
Ronaldinho
Best
- 1 like
-
Been away for about two weeks for various reasons. So missed the US election coverage - did ye all take a moment to acknowledge my Ron de Sanctimonious for Republican nominee bet turning seriously green?
Have significant doubts about the bet still, despite the favourable turn. Was listening to some analysis that said that it still all turns on whether Trump actually decides to be a nominee or not. That a nominee needs about 33% of the primary votes to be nominated and there's zero chance that Trump can't muster that. Indeed, his ability to muster primary voters for even the craziest of crazies being the reason for the disastrous election results last week. Even if he ultimately, clearly, has no chance of being elected.
Which really makes the 'Trump at 3.1 to be nominee' odds on Betfair a pretty phenomenal bet on whether he simply decides to run or not. Something that he is going to do tomorrow, seemingly. Can't touch it myself, but that's some bet. Endless liquidity on it too."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostBeen away for about two weeks for various reasons. So missed the US election coverage - did ye all take a moment to acknowledge my Ron de Sanctimonious for Republican nominee bet turning seriously green?
Have significant doubts about the bet still, despite the favourable turn. Was listening to some analysis that said that it still all turns on whether Trump actually decides to be a nominee or not. That a nominee needs about 33% of the primary votes to be nominated and there's zero chance that Trump can't muster that. Indeed, his ability to muster primary voters for even the craziest of crazies being the reason for the disastrous election results last week. Even if he ultimately, clearly, has no chance of being elected.
Which really makes the 'Trump at 3.1 to be nominee' odds on Betfair a pretty phenomenal bet on whether he simply decides to run or not. Something that he is going to do tomorrow, seemingly. Can't touch it myself, but that's some bet. Endless liquidity on it too.
So Trump would have to be officially nominated into the GOP primary to scoop on the above? which won't be until Q1 2024."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Iran going full genocidal regime. this should be getting more coverage - not the rapper per se, but the underlying atrocity. Only selecting this as article as it’s a mainstreamed source.
It’s pretty grime, particularly systematic rape of virgin female prisoners so they won’t get into heaven.
https://www.theguardian.com/global-d...cution-in-iran
- 2 likes
-
Ron got a few mentions, although your strategic betting brilliance was tragically overlooked.
So Trump would have to be officially nominated into the GOP primary to scoop on the above? which won't be until Q1 2024."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Realistically it would be trading at pennies well below then depending on how the first few primaries play out."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
I think the real action will take place over the next six months. In my view, De Santis certainly has the momentum and probable support of most of the GOP hierarchy. However though Trump does have his loyal band of lunatics...
-
We saw how useful support of the GOP hierarchy was 8 years ago."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
DeSantis has been able to refine the Trump rhetoric so that he can appeal to the base, perhaps appeal to some undecideds while also being someone that the party elites can work with(control).
Like Silver said, the recent result was the near perfect DeSantis outcome.
On the Republicans more generally, came across a great segment in FP called “Shadow Government” which is a balanced view of Republican/Conservative positions and criticism of the Democrats.
- 2 likes
-
We saw how useful support of the GOP hierarchy was 8 years ago.
Trump V DeSantis debates will be outrageous in the truest meaning of the word.
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by RichieM View PostDeSantis is also a lying prick. Bush got killed by trump because he tried to use facts so a different situation.
Trump V DeSantis debates will be outrageous in the truest meaning of the word.
'We fight the woke mob' (like WTF)."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
We saw how useful support of the GOP hierarchy was 8 years ago.
The issue is that Trump has widened the primaries base, through his popularity with oddballs, that means he is probably a deadcert to get the 33% (approximately what it has taken in the past due to the remaining votes being divided amongst many other candidates) or so needed to triumph for the primaries.
His lunatic acolytes in the recent election sailed through Republican primaries with the same principle. The primaries voters almost seem not to care about whether the person they are voting for has any electability. They are 'making a statement', and thats enough for them.
So, if Trump sticks with it, despite the probable high certainty that he has no chance of eventually being elected, then he nails the nomination. I guess though he must surely know that he will lose again, and how will that play against his ego when he actually thinks about it.
The other factor I didn't correctly consider is that De Santis is only 44. Maybe he's thinking: pfft - lets let Trump blow up another one and then I come in as a saviour for 2028 when I'll still be a young whipper-snapper of a lad. Thats a bit of a risky game though as who knows who else might emerge as a new saviour in the intervening four years. From what I read on it, history is littered with current hot-things that decided to bide their time and then when their time comes it turns out their time was in the past. He should ride the momentum.
On the 'pro-de-Santis' side of the bet:
1. Maybe they both decide to run and the party mechanism strongly dissuades any other candidates, meaning the threshold for nomination success will be a real 50% rather than the 33% or so in a many-candidates nomination race. Or maybe the voters work this out themselves and turn it straightaway into a two horse race. That would be a much harder hurdle for Trump as surely 50%+1 of them would be reasonably convinced that a vote for Trump is a vote for four more years of Democrat rule.
2. Maybe de Santis can see a reasonable route through some of the bigger states in the primaries. He has Florida. Texas seems a state that votes with a financial hat on. California probably quite reasonable?
-
Originally posted by RichieM View PostDeSantis is also a lying prick. Bush got killed by trump because he tried to use facts so a different situation.
Trump V DeSantis debates will be outrageous in the truest meaning of the word."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
I'd like to see him (DeSantis) thinking on his feet in a debate, he comes across pretty wooden in his prescripted speeches.
'We fight the woke mob' (like WTF)."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Enjoying WRL Final Shrap.
Engs no 7 is fine. Then number 5, things turn dark after that.
its a semi (ironically)Last edited by Solksjaer!; 14-11-22, 19:42.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Murdrum View PostThe Ronaldo stuff is just a bit pathetic now. I haven’t really followed soccer since around the time he was first at Utd.
Obviously asking Piers Morgan to do the interview is a red flag but the piece about Rooney is awfully petty.
You can skip to around 1.20 here
-
Famous narcissist doesn't like not being the centre of the universe. Shock horror. He's gone full Ted Crilly."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
On the topic of football and the World Cup, this really hits home just how appalling the decision to base the WC in Qatar is. (and the one in Russia before that)Last edited by Raoul Duke III; 15-11-22, 12:40."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostHorse racing question: why are Gigginstown still running and buying young horses if O'Leary is pulling out?
- 3 likes
-
It was never expected that he would really pull out. I guess he recognised that buoyed by success he had let the operation get too big and he wanted to right size it. There were elements of family dynamic involved in that decision at the time as well. With the passage of time his son is now mad keen on the industry.
He is lucky that he is managed by his brother, Eddie, who is one of the very best practitioners in the industry.
- 2 likes
-
World is really fucked up and the poorest get fucked the worst.
If we are in a version of the Matrix () about time somebody pressed the 'game over' button.....oh wait!
- 1 like
-
Something like 6,000 migrant workers died working over there since they were awarded the WC. One guy had to pay the recruitment agency over €3000 just to get the poxy job.
If we are in a version of the Matrix () about time somebody pressed the 'game over' button.....oh wait!
Seriously though you are right.
- 1 like
-
Something like 6,000 migrant workers died working over there since they were awarded the WC. One guy had to pay the recruitment agency over €3000 just to get the poxy job.
The €3000 person what job title did he get for paying a hefty fee
is nobody running an auld World Cup sweep to help us get over Qatar been given this tournament
-
Is that an official report or where you reading from the Irish Mirror
The €3000 person what job title did he get for paying a hefty fee
is nobody running an auld World Cup sweep to help us get over Qatar been given this tournament
It was a Guardian article, referenced later in an Amnesty International report which went into more details re employment conditions, rights , the long hours in extreme heat, poor health and safety, lack of information or autopsies on deaths (natural causes mostly is the official line) and the fees workers had to pay to get over there.
Sure easy enough to Google it
-
- 2 likes
-
It was a Guardian article, referenced later in an Amnesty International report which went into more details re employment conditions, rights , the long hours in extreme heat, poor health and safety, lack of information or autopsies on deaths (natural causes mostly is the official line) and the fees workers had to pay to get over there.
Sure easy enough to Google it
thanks for that
enjoy the football if u get a chance to watch any of it
-
Fair play James Browne- now keep the boot pressed on that industries neck
No more Ladbrokes lads or “hilarious” paddy power banter watching super Sunday in this country
about fucking timeLast edited by MysteryGuest; 15-11-22, 19:35.
- 7 likes
-
Originally posted by MysteryGuest View PostFair play James Browne- now keep the boot pressed on that industries neck
No more Ladbrokes lads or “hilarious” paddy power banter watching super Sunday in this country
about fucking time
but where will the shortfall in sponsorship revenue come from now?
The Crypto sponsorship of F1 and MotoGP will surely blow up eventually too.﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿
-
-
I'm certainly not advocating gambling advertisement especially when encompassing an impressionable youth demographic indiscriminately, such as tv ads at halftime, Shirt sponsorship etc,
but where will the shortfall in sponsorship revenue come from now?
The Crypto sponsorship of F1 and MotoGP will surely blow up eventually too.
It seems there's always a slightly shady industry around the corner who will have need of sport to get their message out.
- 2 likes
-
Nice to wake up to hear Russia has potentially attacked a NATO country. At least markets are saying it's nothing.
Originally posted by MysteryGuest View PostFair play James Browne- now keep the boot pressed on that industries neck
about fucking timeLast edited by Denny Crane; 15-11-22, 23:48.
-
LOL. Here we go again.This may or may not be an original thought of my own.