Absolute borefest

Shrap likes da wimmins game now . Lovely arses etc .

That game was played at the intensity of a competitive WC game, tough stuff.

That's all SA can bring though. Physicality . Shocking selections by them and god awful kicking.

Proper physicality and intensity there, genuinely thought we'd be ground to a pulp late in the game. Good win albeit with the caveat of SA having no one in the 23 who can kick. 10 a problem for any team but when your #1 & #2 are out it makes a big difference. Different game if we have to stick Crowley/Healy/Burns/Madigan in there. Not including Carty as I'd personally have him ahead of Carberry.
            Still its a good performance and I actually feel there's another gear in the squad. Hopefully they can find it for the world cup and keep Sexton/JGP fully fit.

Credit to Farrell and management for developing more depth in the squad as well as an adaptable expansive game. It's nice evolution from Schmidt's structured phases and set plays with a smaller unchanged squad that depended on no injuries.

That's all SA can bring though. Physicality . Shocking selections by them and god awful kicking.
              They do have some power!
              Would have taken very little for the result to have gone the other way.

Allez le bleu

Amazing half time try there. The whole pack got there so quickly for the turnover. Impressive

Watching back some of the big hands from last night's Hustler stream. This one is very good. The guy who loses this hand has some sort of gimmick where after he puts a beat on people he gives them some sort of greeting card to rub salt in the wound. He has put some awful beats on people, one where he calls 50k preflop off 100k stack flops a pair, and an open ender, it goes in and he wins both runs outs after they agree to run it twice. Along with the greeting card nonsense, he doesn't let the other whale who lost the AA straddle the next hand

So towards the very end of the night, this hand happens .......

https://youtu.be/Fodi3A-yLc0?t=29693

Interesting side note. This MrDrBatman guy playing in this hand claims that he was a nurse who gave it up due to stress during covid and went into the fence-making business of some sort and is now playing in these games.

I went to a Nathan Carter concert by mistake. I don't understand what happened to me.

Last night my (30F) friend (30F) and I were looking for something to do in Aberdeen. A quick Google search told us a guy called Nathan Carter was playing at the music hall. An even quicker Google search told us he was an "Irish folk singer".

"Oh," we said, "that sounds lovely" and bought tickets.

Our first clue that the vibe had been misinterpreted came as we entered the venue. They were selling...cowboy hats. Pink cowboy hats. "Hmm" we said.

Our second clue came when we found our seats and sat down. The stage was adorned with the name NATHAN in taller-than-a-human lights. And several drumkits. And a glitter piano. And a saxophone. We were not expecting a saxophone.

We looked around us to try and get a feel for the target demographic. An 18-yr-old girl in lingerie and a cowboy hat walked past us, as did a group of women in their 30s in cowboy hats, as did several elderly people with zimmer frames, as did a bunch of middle aged rowdy men, also in cowboy hats. We were none the wiser.

The show began. A wee blonde irish lady in a blue sequin-and-feather mini dress sang a mixture of Elvis covers, Dolly Parton covers, and her own song which, as far as we could tell, was basically "Jolene" if "Jolene" were sung by Jolene. After half an hour of this, there was an interval, and ice creams were sold. Everyone seemed to be buzzing.

Then came... Nathan. Nathan, as far as we can tell, is what happens when the lead of the local panto cast (the one who is actually quite good, you know) goes viral on YouTube? He exudes the sort of tame, contained, sterile sexual energy that your nan goes wild for. He sang a few rapid-fire country music covers that sounded so similar I barely noticed the song changing. He sang his own song, the only context for which was "in the music video I slept with a granny". Sometimes a man would carry a microphone to the front of the stage, play 5 bars on a tin whistle, and then carry it off again. Sometimes Nathan would do a wee kick to the side and the audience were very impressed. He sat down at the piano and read birthday and anniversary messages from a big card like a Cbeebies presenter. His own gran came up on stage. He took his jacket off and someone threw their pants at him. He put the pants down the saxophone. He told the crowd to get their phones out and turn the flashlights on and wave them (a thing that I kind of thought was meant to happen spontaneously or not at all, you know?). Halfway through the show, he sang "how great thou art", Definite Jesus Song, under a spotlight with his eyes closed, and the crowd went wild. The couple sitting next to us, who were already wearing cowboy hats, left mid-song and then returned with ADDITIONAL hats.

The show ended with an unhinged mashup of Loch Lomond, Wagon Wheel, Shut Up and Dance, and In The Jungle (I could not detect any thematic link). And the audience... absolutely loved it. We looked around us and saw happy, adoring, delighted faces. This is exactly what they were expecting; what they WANTED. THEY WANTED NATHAN.

Honestly, we had a great time. We found the whole thing absolutely hilarious. I have no idea what his vibe is meant to be, it was chaotic and gaudy and cheesy and bizarre and a fascinating anthropological study. He needs someone to rewrite his Wiki intro, though.

Enjoyed this!

This is a great comment from the reddit post

"I'm still trying to imagine the chorus for that cover of Jolene but sang by Jolene...

"Meeee Meeeeee Meeeeeeee MeeeeeEEEEE""

I went to two talks yesterday in Kilkenny. One on climate change with Sony Kapoor, Eric Lonergan, Sarah Cullen & Andrea Binder with Dylan Moran as MC.

That was quite good, Sarah Cullen was pretty exceptional. Big on nuclear energy, pretty scathing on Ryan & The Greens.
                        You’d come away thinking there must be a senior role for her as a politician or some government body on climate change.

The second was on China which largely turned into a back & forth between Hugh Hendry & Angelica Oung on one side and Yanis Varoufakis. The other two guests were probably the best when they got to speak.

Eric Lonergan ended up sitting beside me for the China talk so chatting to him for a few minutes. Seems like a nice fella.

Climate Change was worth it but China not so much. Tbh, I think the format of 1hr slots is just too short.

Tactical error only letting the kids out for one hour at Haloween. Treats Supply at critical levels. Stock out on the monster munches

Watching back some of the big hands from last night's Hustler stream. This one is very good. The guy who loses this hand has some sort of gimmick where after he puts a beat on people he gives them some sort of greeting card to rub salt in the wound. He has put some awful beats on people, one where he calls 50k preflop off 100k stack flops a pair, and an open ender, it goes in and he wins both runs outs after they agree to run it twice. Along with the greeting card nonsense, he doesn't let the other whale who lost the AA straddle the next hand

So towards the very end of the night, this hand happens .......

https://youtu.be/Fodi3A-yLc0?t=29693

Interesting side note. This MrDrBatman guy playing in this hand claims that he was a nurse who gave it up due to stress during covid and went into the fence-making business of some sort and is now playing in these games.
                            Wow on the call . The shittalking retribution was enjoyable.
                            missed a trick though. Should have said. Nurse for Batman.

Went into town to meet lads after the game and from chatting to SA fans after the game, they seemed pretty confident they will turn that around in Paris.

I suspect that a narrow loss is the best possible outcome for both coaching teams there.

Went into town to meet lads after the game and from chatting to SA fans after the game, they seemed pretty confident they will turn that around in Paris.

I suspect that a narrow loss is the best possible outcome for both coaching teams there.
                                SA can and will improve more overall. They will also kick a few points next time. Still, I would fancy our chances with some improvement also and we've never been as resilient as a team IMO. We can beat any of the top teams on the day in the WC. The game plan is way less rigid and dependent on fewer players than in the past (eg Mike Ross out, no scrum). Nonetheless, Sexton is still the linchpin and we drastically need 1 or 2 of our 10's to up their game as cover. Carberry has regressed somewhat and injuries stopped his development.

France is the real deal though. I think they will go unbeaten and win their first WC at home. It's the perfect combination of pure brawn, chaos, imagination, and finesse. They've added a sprinkle of cohesion and belief in recent years. Danger from every part of the pitch and a joy to watch.

SA can and will improve more overall. They will also kick a few points next time. Still, I would fancy our chances with some improvement also and we've never been as resilient as a team IMO. We can beat any of the top teams on the day in the WC. The game plan is way less rigid and dependent on fewer players than in the past (eg Mike Ross out, no scrum). Nonetheless, Sexton is still the linchpin and we drastically need 1 or 2 of our 10's to up their game as cover. Carberry has regressed somewhat and injuries stopped his development.

France is the real deal though. I think they will go unbeaten and win their first WC at home. It's the perfect combination of pure brawn, chaos, imagination, and finesse. They've added a sprinkle of cohesion and belief in recent years. Danger from every part of the pitch and a joy to watch.
                                  nervy game last night for us. the team as a whole (similar to Ireland) was a bit rusty. We gave away too many penalties. We should have lost that game, but there is now a belief in the team that we can pull anything out of the bag, even when not playing our best football. Ntamack though was poor (probably the worst player on the field), andJalibert when he came on started moving the ball around with a lot more speed and purpose. Having Ollivon back is also a huge boost to the team, and i'd rather he was captain than dupont if i'm honest.

Enjoyed this!

This is a great comment from the reddit post

"I'm still trying to imagine the chorus for that cover of Jolene but sang by Jolene...

"Meeee Meeeeee Meeeeeeee MeeeeeEEEEE""
                                    Reading through the comments on reddit threads is generally the best part about them. This one is my favorite

"He exudes the sort of tame, contained, sterile sexual energy that your nan goes wild for."

He's the 21st Century mash up of our Daniel and Eoin McLove. Which is a bit mad considering one was a satire of the other but here we are.

Fiona Hill on Lex Fridman's pod is well worth a listen

Great listen, she is one impressive lady.

This whole stick that Lex is doing where he intimates that there is a chance he can get Putin on the podcast is mad. Someone needs to pull the plug on the simulation if this ever happens as it will have completely jumped the shark

nervy game last night for us. the team as a whole (similar to Ireland) was a bit rusty. We gave away too many penalties. We should have lost that game, but there is now a belief in the team that we can pull anything out of the bag, even when not playing our best football. Ntamack though was poor (probably the worst player on the field), andJalibert when he came on started moving the ball around with a lot more speed and purpose. Having Ollivon back is also a huge boost to the team, and i'd rather he was captain than dupont if i'm honest.
                                          Don't worry everything will come together for the WC. Same as 98 in the football. I wouldn't get too hung up on this window of games. It's too disjointed to have a meaningful camp early in the season. NZ/Aus on a different cycle of the season too.

Had dinner in Six by Nico this evening for their Alice in Wonderland inspired tasting menu. And despite the food being good and the girl looking after us being absolutely top class I can't help feeling there are better restaurants to spend €180 in. The missus wanted to go so she's happy but not sure I'd return.

Ate in Library Street for the first time recently and it was one of the best meals I’ve had in Dublin. Highly recommend.

I want to do a short (6-8 weeks) course preferably online covering an intro to coding/programming. No idea what specific terms I should be looking for, complete beginner looking to upskill/broaden knowledge (I work in tech but in Sales). I get an annual education fund through work so happy to pay a few €k for this.

Can anyone a) tell me what I should be looking for and b) point me towards a couple of suitable options?
                                                Thanks in advance

Ate in Library Street for the first time recently and it was one of the best meals I’ve had in Dublin. Highly recommend.
                                                  Thanks for that. We walked past it last night and liked the look of the menu. Will give it a spin at some stage

I want to do a short (6-8 weeks) course preferably online covering an intro to coding/programming. No idea what specific terms I should be looking for, complete beginner looking to upskill/broaden knowledge (I work in tech but in Sales). I get an annual education fund through work so happy to pay a few €k for this.

Can anyone a) tell me what I should be looking for and b) point me towards a couple of suitable options?
                                                    Thanks in advance
                                                    ICTSkillnet & Springboard would be my first port of call. They are easily the best bang for your buck given the level of accreditation obtained.

If you actually want to learn a language then I’d say the Data Analyst pathway via DataCamp might be a good option. You do the coding in the browser, most of it is via SQL

Standard COP doom warnings this week. Seem to be pissing against the wind on achieving anything significant right?

I propose a global climate federation (like the US or EU but at a global level) with a standing army ready to rain down shite on those states not achieving targets. No crazier than the path we are on at present.

Thanks in advance
                                                        I guess if you want to keep it relevant, what area of tech is the sales focused on?
                                                        hardware/software/cloud
                                                        Data driven? Automation? Web facing?
                                                        6-8 weeks isn't a long time for a course but something like an intro to python or some database query fundementals might be eye opening and pique your interest.

Atlanta is some show.
                                                          The way it shows social commentary is unreal.

Standard COP doom warnings this week. Seem to be pissing against the wind on achieving anything significant right?

I propose a global climate federation (like the US or EU but at a global level) with a standing army ready to rain down shite on those states not achieving targets. No crazier than the path we are on at present.

Few from the EPA going to this.
                                                            Waste of aviation fuel seems to be the general consensus, it's just not a priority in terms of global issues. Ironic I know.

Apparently all the politicians show up for the second half of the week/ conference. Few TV spots, agree nothing, the only thing that worked was working from home and stopping air traffic.
                                                            Just need another pandemic, be grand.

I guess if you want to keep it relevant, what area of tech is the sales focused on?
                                                              hardware/software/cloud
                                                              Data driven? Automation? Web facing?
                                                              6-8 weeks isn't a long time for a course but something like an intro to python or some database query fundementals might be eye opening and pique your interest.
                                                              Thanks for the reply. The interest isn’t actually related to my current role. More focussed on if I move to a startup or onto something else where I’d be working closer with Product, I want to have a decent grasp of coding/programming(?)/app development, etc. Basically a solid foundation/intro/101 course. Does that change the advice or offer more info for better steer?

I had found this free course offered by Harvard and it seemed a good starting point - https://cs50.harvard.edu/business/2017/

or maybe something more comprehensive like this - https://pll.harvard.edu/course/cs50-...mputer-science

thoughts?

Atlanta is some show.
                                                                The way it shows social commentary is unreal.
                                                                "Teddy Perkins" is some episode. I don't know how to describe without spoilers but it's quite something. Outstanding cast as well. The main four characters are brilliantly portrayed.

Sorry about that little snafu. In trying to fix the site, I made it more broken. I hate when that happens!

Another day in the world of technology.

Thanks in advance
                                                                      I'm pretty sure it's illegal to work in Tech sales and actually know anything technical.

Unusual for the RuSSians to admit electoral interference this brazenly. Guess they don't care any more.

Eric Idle accuses Elon Musk of stealing MPs idea.

More like COPOUT27
                                                                            need to see someone get absolutely twisted and barrell on to stage to tell the truth- we are fucked, it’s too late
                                                                            everything else is a children’s fairytale

still searching the history books for examples of a society that voluntarily decided to drastically reduce their standard of living in order to fix a problem that isn’t yet affecting them. That’s what needs to happen on a global scale- yesterday- so good luck with it I guess

cant even blame the politicians- anyone who advocated what actually needs to be done (as opposed to magical thinking which allows us to keep living current lifestyles) would be strung from a lamppost
                                                                            Last edited by MysteryGuest; 07-11-22, 18:16.

It really is. Unsettling but plenty of dark humour.

A good vehicle for the secondary cast members too, all of whom were great.
                                                                              Just back from it. Wow.
                                                                              “Blessed are the forgetful, for they get the better even of their blunders.”

What happened? Don't know if it's causing a problem I'm having the last 24 hours.
                                                                                50% of the time when I go to this site I'm getting sent to what looks like a list of links to gaming sites, slots/casinos etc.
                                                                                Sort of thing you see when a website has lapsed.

Eric Idle accuses Elon Musk of stealing MPs idea.
                                                                                  Enjoyed that

Thanks for the reply. The interest isn’t actually related to my current role. More focussed on if I move to a startup or onto something else where I’d be working closer with Product, I want to have a decent grasp of coding/programming(?)/app development, etc. Basically a solid foundation/intro/101 course. Does that change the advice or offer more info for better steer?

I had found this free course offered by Harvard and it seemed a good starting point - https://cs50.harvard.edu/business/2017/

or maybe something more comprehensive like this - https://pll.harvard.edu/course/cs50-...mputer-science

thoughts?
                                                                                    Something like this maybe?
                                                                                    https://www.coursera.org/learn/python/home/week/1

Harvard course is good as well, seems to crop up all the time for intro ideas

What happened? Don't know if it's causing a problem I'm having the last 24 hours.
                                                                                      50% of the time when I go to this site I'm getting sent to what looks like a list of links to gaming sites, slots/casinos etc.
                                                                                      Sort of thing you see when a website has lapsed.
                                                                                      Ya, it was that. In order to get the dangerous site warning fixed (which will hopefully be gone in the next few days) I needed to do something, but I could only do that by changing the site dns settings back to default instead of the custom ones it needed to be, and I forgot to change them back for a few hours, by which time the weird page thing you saw was happening.

​​​I changed the dns settings back but it took another few hours to right that to get it back the way it was. That thing should be fixed everywhere now hopefully, so just that dangerous site thing to clear, which I'm 99% sure was caused by the tapatalk plugin, which is why that is disabled now too. Hopefully it'll all be OK in a few days.

Until the next thing.

+ 1 for Library St - I stuck a review for it up in the restaurant thread a few months back.

I ate in Locks on Saturday night and was disappointed. The starters were both nice, albeit fairly simple. However, the main was very bland (we both got the same main of Sika Deer) plus we ordered a side of spuds which was the driest thing I have ever eaten, it was like eating sand. It was like the chef had ran out of butter just before he cooked them.

The shared cheese board we ordered for dessert was also a bit meh.

213 quid for 2 glasses of Sancerre (14 quid a glass), a bottle of red (58 quid), two starters, two mains, a side portion of spuds and a cheese board between two.

I've seen several chefs rave about their Sunday lunch option as they dine there on their day off so not sure what went wrong on Saturday night but it was definitely below par.

Today mortgage funds released, anniversary with gf and she got a raise today too. What evil shall befall us all due to this turn of events.

Can't count how many times I've seen Dylan play but last night was the standout gig of all of them. Quite something to be at the top of your game banging out your best ever two set at the end of a months long European tour at 81 years of age.

Today mortgage funds released, anniversary with gf and she got a raise today too. What evil shall befall us all due to this turn of events.
                                                                                              At least someone is getting laid tonight

Watched the Weird Al biopic last night.
                                                                                                Would highly recommend if, though it helps if you are already a fan

Originally posted by limpwhacker View Post

At least someone is getting laid tonight
                                                                                                  Did you not hear him. She got a raise already.

Leg update.

After the original date of early october, it was initially pushed back to the 14th november due to regulatory sign off etc. i got a call yesterday to tell me the implant is not even fucking ready, and we're now postponing until it's ready, but they don't know when that'll be. probably some time in january.

in my mind, it seems pretty straight forward. what do we need for surgery? a surgeon? check. An implant? obviously fucking not. it's really hard to understand how they can even consider scheduling something like that and telling me about it.

this is soul destroying. they've no idea how high i was when they told me surgery was early october, and whilst disappointed it was moved to next monday, i could live with it. who the fuck thinks it's ok to treat patients this way? i 've genuinely had enough. I'm just broken at this stage, and don't know what to do. Absolute cunts!!!!!!!!!

/Rant over

Bad break Shrap. Only consolation., time is flying along be january very soon. , sure be Paddy days in 15 weeks .

CS50 course is absolutely excellent. Literally far too good to be free. I push any of my new starters to take it on - decent commitment needed though to stick it out and finish it properly

Don't just audit it - take the accreditation. Regardless of whether it's 200 quid for "just a piece of paper".

That's lousy Shrap, chin up, head down and keep on as best you can.

Brother in law has been struggling with various pains since he had a bad leg break a couple of years ago. Latest was being treated for maybe gallstones and then they said it was a gut problem that they were going to do some surgery on. He went in yesterday purportedly to talk to surgeon and set a date. Came out with a diagnoses of stage 4 cancer in at least two places, too far gone for any surgery that they will try to contain with chemo. Couldn't happen to a nicer or sounder lad, what an absolute cunt of a disease.

That's lousy Shrap, chin up, head down and keep on as best you can.

Brother in law has been struggling with various pains since he had a bad leg break a couple of years ago. Latest was being treated for maybe gallstones and then they said it was a gut problem that they were going to do some surgery on. He went in yesterday purportedly to talk to surgeon and set a date. Came out with a diagnoses of stage 4 cancer in at least two places, too far gone for any surgery that they will try to contain with chemo. Couldn't happen to a nicer or sounder lad, what an absolute cunt of a disease.
                                                                                                            Hope you are not thinking Shrap has cancer

Have a bad feeling about my sisters. She had ovarian cancer 7 years ago, and had some pretty serious surgery followed by about a year of chemo and whatnot. It's colorectal cancer this time, and just seems too physically close to be not related.

I guess most people don't get to do a David Bowie.
                                                                                                            “Blessed are the forgetful, for they get the better even of their blunders.”

CS50 course is absolutely excellent. Literally far too good to be free. I push any of my new starters to take it on - decent commitment needed though to stick it out and finish it properly

Don't just audit it - take the accreditation. Regardless of whether it's 200 quid for "just a piece of paper".
                                                                                                              I had a look at that course today expecting to be cynical about it but it does seem to be very well put together.

Should hope Ivy leagues are good, my brother just started his research at one this week that has fees of $82k per year but the all you can eat buffet is $10
                                                                                                                Must have a look at that course.

crypto lol

One of the largest exchanges and its related hedge fund used a made up coin as collateral and it all went pop in the night.

Crypto isn't a new way of finance, it's just a modern way to recreate all of the bailouts and blow ups in an even faster way.

https://www.reuters.com/article/cana...-idCAL1N30F1M1
                                                                                                                  Last edited by Denny Crane; 09-11-22, 03:44.

Went on a food tour first day in Vietnam (I don't expect to ever be able to manage the correct intonation to say Phò)

Guide was very political. It's not Ho Chi Minh, it's Saigon.

"And the Russians are our friends. They protected us from the Chinese. And give us cheap oil. "

Explains the % of travelers here who are Russian. Probably one of the few options they have left at this point.

We accidently went into a Russian bar in Nha Trang. And were intimidated out after the first round of drinks by some very intense and very drunk Russians.

Ironically it was a South Park themed bar, and they were singing along to Green Day and Limp Bizkit (reason enough to leave)

​​​​

crypto lol

One of the largest exchanges and its related hedge fund used a made up coin as collateral and it all went pop in the night.

Crypto isn't a new way of finance, it's just a modern way to recreate all of the bailouts and blow ups in an even faster way.

https://www.reuters.com/article/cana...-idCAL1N30F1M1
                                                                                                                      State of the cunt that ran that- people should have seen a slob like this coming
                                                                                                                      great to see cunts like this and Zuck humbled - time to dress like adults now lads

Crossmaglen rangers must be the unluckiest GAA club in Ireland- players and associates keep getting unlucky with the law.
                                                                                                                        either that or they are the scummiest sports club on the island.
                                                                                                                        funny nobody ever asks Oisin mconville about the culture there

Short video on the state of the midterms. Not looking like the disaster Democrats feared.
                                                                                                                          Last edited by Murdrum; 09-11-22, 06:50.