I want to do a short (6-8 weeks) course preferably online covering an intro to coding/programming. No idea what specific terms I should be looking for, complete beginner looking to upskill/broaden knowledge (I work in tech but in Sales). I get an annual education fund through work so happy to pay a few €k for this.

Can anyone a) tell me what I should be looking for and b) point me towards a couple of suitable options?
    Thanks in advance

Ate in Library Street for the first time recently and it was one of the best meals I’ve had in Dublin. Highly recommend.
      Thanks for that. We walked past it last night and liked the look of the menu. Will give it a spin at some stage

I want to do a short (6-8 weeks) course preferably online covering an intro to coding/programming. No idea what specific terms I should be looking for, complete beginner looking to upskill/broaden knowledge (I work in tech but in Sales). I get an annual education fund through work so happy to pay a few €k for this.

Can anyone a) tell me what I should be looking for and b) point me towards a couple of suitable options?
        Thanks in advance
        ICTSkillnet & Springboard would be my first port of call. They are easily the best bang for your buck given the level of accreditation obtained.

If you actually want to learn a language then I’d say the Data Analyst pathway via DataCamp might be a good option. You do the coding in the browser, most of it is via SQL

Standard COP doom warnings this week. Seem to be pissing against the wind on achieving anything significant right?

I propose a global climate federation (like the US or EU but at a global level) with a standing army ready to rain down shite on those states not achieving targets. No crazier than the path we are on at present.

Thanks in advance
            I guess if you want to keep it relevant, what area of tech is the sales focused on?
            hardware/software/cloud
            Data driven? Automation? Web facing?
            6-8 weeks isn't a long time for a course but something like an intro to python or some database query fundementals might be eye opening and pique your interest.

Atlanta is some show.
              The way it shows social commentary is unreal.

Standard COP doom warnings this week. Seem to be pissing against the wind on achieving anything significant right?

I propose a global climate federation (like the US or EU but at a global level) with a standing army ready to rain down shite on those states not achieving targets. No crazier than the path we are on at present.

Few from the EPA going to this.
                Waste of aviation fuel seems to be the general consensus, it's just not a priority in terms of global issues. Ironic I know.

Apparently all the politicians show up for the second half of the week/ conference. Few TV spots, agree nothing, the only thing that worked was working from home and stopping air traffic.
                Just need another pandemic, be grand.

I guess if you want to keep it relevant, what area of tech is the sales focused on?
                  hardware/software/cloud
                  Data driven? Automation? Web facing?
                  6-8 weeks isn't a long time for a course but something like an intro to python or some database query fundementals might be eye opening and pique your interest.
                  Thanks for the reply. The interest isn’t actually related to my current role. More focussed on if I move to a startup or onto something else where I’d be working closer with Product, I want to have a decent grasp of coding/programming(?)/app development, etc. Basically a solid foundation/intro/101 course. Does that change the advice or offer more info for better steer?

I had found this free course offered by Harvard and it seemed a good starting point - https://cs50.harvard.edu/business/2017/

or maybe something more comprehensive like this - https://pll.harvard.edu/course/cs50-...mputer-science

thoughts?

Atlanta is some show.
                    The way it shows social commentary is unreal.
                    "Teddy Perkins" is some episode. I don't know how to describe without spoilers but it's quite something. Outstanding cast as well. The main four characters are brilliantly portrayed.

Sorry about that little snafu. In trying to fix the site, I made it more broken. I hate when that happens!

Another day in the world of technology.

Thanks in advance
                          I'm pretty sure it's illegal to work in Tech sales and actually know anything technical.

Unusual for the RuSSians to admit electoral interference this brazenly. Guess they don't care any more.

Eric Idle accuses Elon Musk of stealing MPs idea.

More like COPOUT27
                                need to see someone get absolutely twisted and barrell on to stage to tell the truth- we are fucked, it’s too late
                                everything else is a children’s fairytale

still searching the history books for examples of a society that voluntarily decided to drastically reduce their standard of living in order to fix a problem that isn’t yet affecting them. That’s what needs to happen on a global scale- yesterday- so good luck with it I guess

cant even blame the politicians- anyone who advocated what actually needs to be done (as opposed to magical thinking which allows us to keep living current lifestyles) would be strung from a lamppost
                                Last edited by MysteryGuest; 07-11-22, 19:16.

It really is. Unsettling but plenty of dark humour.

A good vehicle for the secondary cast members too, all of whom were great.
                                  Just back from it. Wow.

What happened? Don't know if it's causing a problem I'm having the last 24 hours.
                                    50% of the time when I go to this site I'm getting sent to what looks like a list of links to gaming sites, slots/casinos etc.
                                    Sort of thing you see when a website has lapsed.

Eric Idle accuses Elon Musk of stealing MPs idea.
                                      Enjoyed that

Thanks for the reply. The interest isn’t actually related to my current role. More focussed on if I move to a startup or onto something else where I’d be working closer with Product, I want to have a decent grasp of coding/programming(?)/app development, etc. Basically a solid foundation/intro/101 course. Does that change the advice or offer more info for better steer?

I had found this free course offered by Harvard and it seemed a good starting point - https://cs50.harvard.edu/business/2017/

or maybe something more comprehensive like this - https://pll.harvard.edu/course/cs50-...mputer-science

thoughts?
                                        Something like this maybe?
                                        Learn online and earn valuable credentials from top universities like Yale, Michigan, Stanford, and leading companies like Google and IBM. Join Coursera for free and transform your career with degrees, certificates, Specializations, & MOOCs in data science, computer science, business, and dozens of other topics.

Harvard course is good as well, seems to crop up all the time for intro ideas

What happened? Don't know if it's causing a problem I'm having the last 24 hours.
                                          50% of the time when I go to this site I'm getting sent to what looks like a list of links to gaming sites, slots/casinos etc.
                                          Sort of thing you see when a website has lapsed.
                                          Ya, it was that. In order to get the dangerous site warning fixed (which will hopefully be gone in the next few days) I needed to do something, but I could only do that by changing the site dns settings back to default instead of the custom ones it needed to be, and I forgot to change them back for a few hours, by which time the weird page thing you saw was happening.

​​​I changed the dns settings back but it took another few hours to right that to get it back the way it was. That thing should be fixed everywhere now hopefully, so just that dangerous site thing to clear, which I'm 99% sure was caused by the tapatalk plugin, which is why that is disabled now too. Hopefully it'll all be OK in a few days.

Until the next thing.

Ate in Library Street for the first time recently and it was one of the best meals I’ve had in Dublin. Highly recommend.
                                            + 1 for Library St - I stuck a review for it up in the restaurant thread a few months back.

I ate in Locks on Saturday night and was disappointed. The starters were both nice, albeit fairly simple. However, the main was very bland (we both got the same main of Sika Deer) plus we ordered a side of spuds which was the driest thing I have ever eaten, it was like eating sand. It was like the chef had ran out of butter just before he cooked them.

The shared cheese board we ordered for dessert was also a bit meh.

213 quid for 2 glasses of Sancerre (14 quid a glass), a bottle of red (58 quid), two starters, two mains, a side portion of spuds and a cheese board between two.

I've seen several chefs rave about their Sunday lunch option as they dine there on their day off so not sure what went wrong on Saturday night but it was definitely below par.

Today mortgage funds released, anniversary with gf and she got a raise today too. What evil shall befall us all due to this turn of events.

Can't count how many times I've seen Dylan play but last night was the standout gig of all of them. Quite something to be at the top of your game banging out your best ever two set at the end of a months long European tour at 81 years of age.

Today mortgage funds released, anniversary with gf and she got a raise today too. What evil shall befall us all due to this turn of events.
                                                  At least someone is getting laid tonight

Watched the Weird Al biopic last night.
                                                    Would highly recommend if, though it helps if you are already a fan

Originally posted by limpwhacker View Post

At least someone is getting laid tonight
                                                      Did you not hear him. She got a raise already.

Leg update.

After the original date of early october, it was initially pushed back to the 14th november due to regulatory sign off etc. i got a call yesterday to tell me the implant is not even fucking ready, and we're now postponing until it's ready, but they don't know when that'll be. probably some time in january.

in my mind, it seems pretty straight forward. what do we need for surgery? a surgeon? check. An implant? obviously fucking not. it's really hard to understand how they can even consider scheduling something like that and telling me about it.

this is soul destroying. they've no idea how high i was when they told me surgery was early october, and whilst disappointed it was moved to next monday, i could live with it. who the fuck thinks it's ok to treat patients this way? i 've genuinely had enough. I'm just broken at this stage, and don't know what to do. Absolute cunts!!!!!!!!!

/Rant over

Bad break Shrap. Only consolation., time is flying along be january very soon. , sure be Paddy days in 15 weeks .

CS50 course is absolutely excellent. Literally far too good to be free. I push any of my new starters to take it on - decent commitment needed though to stick it out and finish it properly

Don't just audit it - take the accreditation. Regardless of whether it's 200 quid for "just a piece of paper".

That's lousy Shrap, chin up, head down and keep on as best you can.

Brother in law has been struggling with various pains since he had a bad leg break a couple of years ago. Latest was being treated for maybe gallstones and then they said it was a gut problem that they were going to do some surgery on. He went in yesterday purportedly to talk to surgeon and set a date. Came out with a diagnoses of stage 4 cancer in at least two places, too far gone for any surgery that they will try to contain with chemo. Couldn't happen to a nicer or sounder lad, what an absolute cunt of a disease.

That's lousy Shrap, chin up, head down and keep on as best you can.

Brother in law has been struggling with various pains since he had a bad leg break a couple of years ago. Latest was being treated for maybe gallstones and then they said it was a gut problem that they were going to do some surgery on. He went in yesterday purportedly to talk to surgeon and set a date. Came out with a diagnoses of stage 4 cancer in at least two places, too far gone for any surgery that they will try to contain with chemo. Couldn't happen to a nicer or sounder lad, what an absolute cunt of a disease.
                                                                Hope you are not thinking Shrap has cancer

Have a bad feeling about my sisters. She had ovarian cancer 7 years ago, and had some pretty serious surgery followed by about a year of chemo and whatnot. It's colorectal cancer this time, and just seems too physically close to be not related.

I guess most people don't get to do a David Bowie.

CS50 course is absolutely excellent. Literally far too good to be free. I push any of my new starters to take it on - decent commitment needed though to stick it out and finish it properly

Don't just audit it - take the accreditation. Regardless of whether it's 200 quid for "just a piece of paper".
                                                                  I had a look at that course today expecting to be cynical about it but it does seem to be very well put together.

Should hope Ivy leagues are good, my brother just started his research at one this week that has fees of $82k per year but the all you can eat buffet is $10
                                                                    Must have a look at that course.

crypto lol

One of the largest exchanges and its related hedge fund used a made up coin as collateral and it all went pop in the night.

Crypto isn't a new way of finance, it's just a modern way to recreate all of the bailouts and blow ups in an even faster way.

https://www.reuters.com/article/cana...-idCAL1N30F1M1
                                                                      Last edited by Denny Crane; 09-11-22, 04:44.

Went on a food tour first day in Vietnam (I don't expect to ever be able to manage the correct intonation to say Phò)

Guide was very political. It's not Ho Chi Minh, it's Saigon.

"And the Russians are our friends. They protected us from the Chinese. And give us cheap oil. "

Explains the % of travelers here who are Russian. Probably one of the few options they have left at this point.

We accidently went into a Russian bar in Nha Trang. And were intimidated out after the first round of drinks by some very intense and very drunk Russians.

Ironically it was a South Park themed bar, and they were singing along to Green Day and Limp Bizkit (reason enough to leave)

​​​​

crypto lol

One of the largest exchanges and its related hedge fund used a made up coin as collateral and it all went pop in the night.

Crypto isn't a new way of finance, it's just a modern way to recreate all of the bailouts and blow ups in an even faster way.

State of the cunt that ran that- people should have seen a slob like this coming
                                                                          great to see cunts like this and Zuck humbled - time to dress like adults now lads

Crossmaglen rangers must be the unluckiest GAA club in Ireland- players and associates keep getting unlucky with the law.
                                                                            either that or they are the scummiest sports club on the island.
                                                                            funny nobody ever asks Oisin mconville about the culture there

Short video on the state of the midterms. Not looking like the disaster Democrats feared.
                                                                              Last edited by Murdrum; 09-11-22, 07:50.

filedata/fetch?id=1727001&d=1667980913&type=thumb The Beatles defending a free kick. Ahead of their time .

Hope you are not thinking Shrap has cancer

Have a bad feeling about my sisters. She had ovarian cancer 7 years ago, and had some pretty serious surgery followed by about a year of chemo and whatnot. It's colorectal cancer this time, and just seems too physically close to be not related.

I guess most people don't get to do a David Bowie.
                                                                                  sadly, that's how this all started. I had a bone tumour about 20 years ago, which is why most of my tibia was replaced with titanium, so this all still falls under the sarcoma unit. Spend a week in that ward, and i promise, you'll never feel sorry for yourself ever again. having a tibia replaced is nothing compared to some of the people there, who've been in the ward for 6 months, who'll never leave a wheelchair ever again, have to learn how to self catheterise every time they need a piss, etc. i'm one of the lucky ones.

Short video on the state of the midterms. Not looking like the disaster Democrats feared.
                                                                                    I had been looking at these races a lot and genuinely could not get a fixed view on it, so didn't have a penny on.

If it remains the way it's looking, it's a great result for the Dems. GOP was always going to take the House but holding the Senate is some outcome.
                                                                                    The key races (looking to 2024) are probably state-level where if some of the loonier election deniers get in, Jan 6th might look like a toddlers party.

One thing for sure imo. This is a bad set of results for Trump overall and will weaken his claim to unopposed nomination.

I had been looking at these races a lot and genuinely could not get a fixed view on it, so didn't have a penny on.

If it remains the way it's looking, it's a great result for the Dems. GOP was always going to take the House but holding the Senate is some outcome.
                                                                                        The key races (looking to 2024) are probably state-level where if some of the loonier election deniers get in, Jan 6th might look like a toddlers party.
                                                                                        I think there’s a sense of people being very unsure. 538 is the only thing I follow consistently on it but even during their final “model talk” episode, the predictions were very sensitive to shifts with swings during the pod.

You definitely get a sense that the questions regarding the accuracy of models and underestimating Republican performance in recent elections has them worried.

It’ll be interesting to see what Trump’s response is now. Will he or won’t he

Ah Shrap, that's really shit. Sorry to hear man.

One thing for sure imo. This is a bad set of results for Trump overall and will weaken his claim to unopposed nomination.
                                                                                            Why? Surely a Rep sweep would be a better endorsement for the status quo, or do you think he represents the status quo now, and a poor performance demands change?

He endorsed a bunch of nutty candidates in both Senate and statewide races, most of whom are going down to defeat.

Picking less crazy\more moderate candidates would have guaranteed them both given the macro environment. The failure to capitalise on that rests with Trump and eats into his political capital. De Santis the big GOP winner here imo.

Silver would agree with you. He seems to think that this result is a 99th percentile result for DeSantis.

Also, a little bit of a scary one is that if the turnout figures are correct, is Florida now a deep red state?

crypto lol

I think you meant to link this? Agree all the above and sharing the schadenfreude.

Just finished the series The Watcher on Netflix, based on a true story - spoiler link below - it was pretty unsettling to watch, would be such an utter nightmare to live through, with that perfect balance of being shady to stress you out but not shady for other people to take you seriously.
                                                                                                    A New Jersey family bought their ideal home. But according to the creepy letters they started to get, they weren’t the only ones interested in it.

He endorsed a bunch of nutty candidates in both Senate and statewide races, most of whom are going down to defeat.

Picking less crazy\more moderate candidates would have guaranteed them both given the macro environment. The failure to capitalise on that rests with Trump and eats into his political capital. De Santis the big GOP winner here imo.
                                                                                                      De Santis needs not to get into a primary race with Trump though. Hold fire for another cycle, he's plenty young enough. Trump would just poison everything and sling so much crap de Santis' way that it could ruin him. That would be a good thing for the world though, but for his own sake he should hold off going against Trump and his bullying tactics.

What?!

When you have political capital, you spend it. Who knows WTF the world looks like in 2028!

It's 3/1 both Trump and de Santis for 2024. The former lengthening, the latter shortening.

I'd be happy to take my De S vs anyone else's Trump to be the GOP nominee.

I wouldn't want to back either for 2024 outright at this stage. I think Trump will flame out as the GOP digests the results of this race, and who knows what skeletons de Santis has in his closet.
                                                                                                          Last edited by Raoul Duke III; 09-11-22, 10:32.

Looking like 50-49 GOP in the Senate with Georgia (again!) going to a runoff

What?!

When you have political capital, you spend it. Who knows WTF the world looks like in 2028!
                                                                                                              So you think de Santis vs Trump in a primary with all associated name calling and the likes would be good for de Santis? It'd be amusing (in a horrifying way) for the rest of us, but even if de Santis beat Trump in a primary, Trump would be so bitter he'd be sniping at him throughout the presidential campaign too.

The thing is I doubt the dems will run anyone strong enough to beat either. Biden is too old and frail, Harris is not going to win either.

So you think de Santis vs Trump in a primary with all associated name calling and the likes would be good for de Santis?
                                                                                                                It's all about the Mo'. de Santis is now the guy who has it, Trump is correspondingly vulnerable.

Watching these two jockeying for position over the next year will be a lot of fun.

It'd be amusing (in a horrifying way) for the rest of us, but even if de Santis beat Trump in a primary, Trump would be so bitter he'd be sniping at him throughout the presidential campaign too.
                                                                                                                That would be a good thing.

The thing is I doubt the dems will run anyone strong enough to beat either. Biden is too old and frail, Harris is not going to win either.
                                                                                                                Why wouldn't they win? By that logic, Trump should have won last time.

If Biden is the candidate he will genuinely be very frail. He looks a lot more old man like than he did 2 years ago, and in 2 more years it'll be worse. I can't see it being a vote getter, although vs Trump again it might work.

Harris won't win a presidential election I'd say.

Maybe there is someone else that will come from the pack if Biden decides not to run, who knows.

America is fucked if Trump is even in the conversation. It beggars belief . He's as stable as Michael J fox cycling down Cork st with a box of Nitroglycerin on the back carrier.

Biden is ready to be dropped off to a nursing home though
                                                                                                                    Lol 'merica - are these really all you got

America is fucked if Trump is even in the conversation. It beggars belief . He's as stable as Michael J fox cycling down Cork st with a box of Nitroglycerin on the back carrier.

Biden is ready to be dropped off to a nursing home though
                                                                                                                      Lol 'merica - are these really all you got
                                                                                                                      It seems to be a theme across the world though - geriatric leaders.

Maybe there is someone else that will come from the pack if Biden decides not to run, who knows.
                                                                                                                        time for an IPB darling of primaries past to step up

Down a bit if a sci-fi rabbit hole. Looking for a short story or novel

…Shortly after, Uncle Jim dies, and Daniel inherits a "Time-belt" from him that allows the wearer to easily travel through time. Daniel quickly learns how to use the Time-belt and makes a few short jumps into his own future. He meets an alternate version of himself, who goes by "Don", who accompanies him to a race-track where the pair make a fortune betting on horse racing.
                                                                                                                          Sure, that’s how most of use would test it out.

The following day, Daniel realises that it is his turn to act as Don and guide his younger self through the previous day at the races;
                                                                                                                          Of course, seems a given. A la Biff on Back to the Future.

Daniel repeatedly encounters alternate versions of himself, sometimes known as Don, and enjoys his own company, ultimately having sex with himself

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR8E2o_qc-u3Dn58Aq3DyCOE8mWqLCitMFEOw&usqp=CAU.jpg