Bad beat/Moaning/Venting thread - Wordle Gummidge
-
Im done with the fancy 72 hour 70% hydration lark...keeps biting my ass, just going to stick with the simple dough in future.
Et voila:
20220605_182824.jpg"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 6 likes
-
This outrage over golfers taking Saudi sportswashing loot seems somewhat hypocritical when you look at how soccer has willingly prostituted itself?
I don't really care either way but there seems to be a clear case of double standards at play."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Surprised to see Johnson exit date in 2022 holding hard at 1/1
Thinking seems to be that unlike all previous Tory leaders who scrape through a confidence vote he will refuse to move as long as he has a majority of even one.
I can't see how he can ever be anything but an election liability, but I guess in the world of Trump the game has changed and it doesn't matter what you do or how bare faced you lie about it the only thing that matters is the marketing campaign you run in the immediate run up to an election.Turning millions into thousands
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostThis outrage over golfers taking Saudi sportswashing loot seems somewhat hypocritical when you look at how soccer has willingly prostituted itself?
I don't really care either way but there seems to be a clear case of double standards at play.﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿
- 2 likes
-
Saw a post somewhere of there only being 300 tickets sold for a leopardstown meet recently, and the suggestion to bump up numbers was to go into the high end gym near the track and drum up some footfall.
Honestly, how is horse racing even marketed for new 'fans' (let's be real, it's new punters they really want) these days?
College organised piss ups for a day out?
-
Originally posted by Ed View PostHad a hell of a time at Primavera. First festival in 3 years in the sun with 6am finishes has absolutely broken me.
If any of you get the chance to see Tyler, The Creator live, grab it
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Micknail View PostSaw a post somewhere of there only being 300 tickets sold for a leopardstown meet recently, and the suggestion to bump up numbers was to go into the high end gym near the track and drum up some footfall.
Honestly, how is horse racing even marketed for new 'fans' (let's be real, it's new punters they really want) these days?
-
Originally posted by Strewelpeter View PostSurprised to see Johnson exit date in 2022 holding hard at 1/1
Thinking seems to be that unlike all previous Tory leaders who scrape through a confidence vote he will refuse to move as long as he has a majority of even one.
I can't see how he can ever be anything but an election liability, but I guess in the world of Trump the game has changed and it doesn't matter what you do or how bare faced you lie about it the only thing that matters is the marketing campaign you run in the immediate run up to an election.
The minute that changes, he's toast. These bye-elections should be a whitewash for the Tories but I don't know that Boris will take the blame.
Happy to have a friendly bet with you at evens if you like.
-
Originally posted by Micknail View PostSaw a post somewhere of there only being 300 tickets sold for a leopardstown meet recently, and the suggestion to bump up numbers was to go into the high end gym near the track and drum up some footfall.
The blind eye that gets turned to 10 year olds doing a €2 bet on the Tote (not sure if this is still the case)
College piss-up events.
'Music after racing' events.
(Although I think Leopardstown have fucked up the price-point this year, bumping it to €25 from a pre-pandemic €15. It's a shock price to the racing fan used to paying €15 for an egg-and-spoon meeting, whilst not really enticing for a music fan to see a no-mark band do a 45 minute set)
- 2 likes
-
Thought racing followed by a gig was the tried and tested formula now? Went to school with the guy who organises the events and entertainment side of things at Leopardstown. Must tell him he's doing a shite job next time I see him
I'd go to the dogs before the horses.﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿
-
Ah no he could well be onto a good one.
I'd go to the dogs before the horses.
(Actually, I wonder what the etymology of that is...turns out to not be what we would expect. More akin to our 'outside the pale'.)"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
-
Originally posted by Ed View PostHad a hell of a time at Primavera. First festival in 3 years in the sun with 6am finishes has absolutely broken me.
If any of you get the chance to see Tyler, The Creator live, grab it
Can.Not.Wait.
I'm not sure the group I'm going with (me included) will last to 6am. I'll say we'll be more of a 2 or 3am semi respectable time frame.
Have a few days booked down the Douro for some R&R afterwards
- 1 like
-
Happy to have a friendly bet with you at evens if you like.Turning millions into thousands
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Lao Lao View PostI'm heading to the Porto version of Primavera on Wednesday. Tickets are still valid from 2020 after it was cancelled twice.
Can.Not.Wait.
I'm not sure the group I'm going with (me included) will last to 6am. I'll say we'll be more of a 2 or 3am semi respectable time frame.
Have a few days booked down the Douro for some R&R afterwards
- 1 like
-
Cheers, I'm grand, was on at the fancy prices ages ago, greened up and now freerolling a '22 Exit. Given my record he's probably safe, can't even remember the last time I collected off a politics bet"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by Strewelpeter View Post148 against Johnson, if he had any moral backbone he's resign tonight but he doesn't so he'll hang on grimly.
Nadine Dorries was on fire again today for anyone who didn’t see the video
- 1 like
-
I'd say its a weak 148 against him. The votes against May seemed a lot more meaningful. While this was maybe more intended as a warning signal rather than a shove. He's a gobshite of the highest order, but he's probably the gobshite that the public want, while May had no connection to the public."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostI'd say its a weak 148 against him. The votes against May seemed a lot more meaningful. While this was maybe more intended as a warning signal rather than a shove. He's a gobshite of the highest order, but he's probably the gobshite that the public want, while May had no connection to the public.
- 2 likes
-
they have their playbookPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 1 like
-
Laid bare like this, it's amazing he got where he isPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 8 likes
-
Originally posted by 6starpool View PostGreat to see the EU standardising charging cables, so that from 2024 most new devices (including phones, tablets, ereaders, wireless buds, etc) will use USB-C, and laptops to follow a few years later it seems.No beast so fierce but knows some touch of pity, but I know none, therefore am no beast.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by 6starpool View PostGreat to see the EU standardising charging cables, so that from 2024 most new devices (including phones, tablets, ereaders, wireless buds, etc) will use USB-C, and laptops to follow a few years later it seems.Turning millions into thousands
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by 6starpool View PostGreat to see the EU standardising charging cables, so that from 2024 most new devices (including phones, tablets, ereaders, wireless buds, etc) will use USB-C, and laptops to follow a few years later it seems."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
That's a downside of the Nissan Leaf, that they use a charger called Chademo which appears to have rapidly become the betamax of the car charging world. It's grand now, as the Leaf is so popular, but going to have quite the destructive impact on resale value.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by 6starpool View PostGreat to see the EU standardising charging cables, so that from 2024 most new devices (including phones, tablets, ereaders, wireless buds, etc) will use USB-C, and laptops to follow a few years later it seems.Gone full 'Glinner' since June 2022.
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostI'll defend Nandos to the hilt as the best fast food out there, but jesus €20 for a bit of chicken, chips and a drink would break your heart. Inflation has run amok.
Now actively trying to make my fortune in another way. Relocation offer has finally landed."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 11 likes
-
Originally posted by Solksjaer! View PostPISTOLS on Disney Plus . Brilliant so far
We've not been allowed to hear any non-linear linear narrative on this story before.
Steve Jones voice is just as powerful as Lydon/McLaren/Matlock and TBH I probably wouldn't want to work with Lydon either, such a grumpy basterd he is.
Here his is ... I quite like the fact that someone else gets their chance to tell the story... three of the pistols minus McLaren and Rotten? Fine by me. Iv heard their stories a million times.
If you don't know or care much for the Sex Pistols and their impact on music then this easy to watch six-parter is a brilliant place to start. The sights and sound of 70s London are captured brillaintly.
Last edited by BennyHiFi; 07-06-22, 19:29.
- 5 likes
-
I need Irish Times to win the last in Chelmsford for a 2k score/place 400 quid mark. I know BBV curse and all that. Degen Tuesdays.. felt a bit robbed after the weekend as had my biggest best in a long time (since GDC @ Cheltenham)on derby winner but chickened out last minute and reduced stake by 50%..Jayzus, Sheila! I forgot me feckin' trousers
- 2 likes
-
I should have taken up that offer to be the lead franchisee for Nandos in Ireland all those years ago. We'd be millionaires now Rodney. Half price meals to HH Elitists.
Now actively trying to make my fortune in another way. Relocation offer has finally landed.airport, lol
-
Originally posted by Pat Mustard View PostI need Irish Times to win the last in Chelmsford for a 2k score/place 400 quid mark. I know BBV curse and all that. Degen Tuesdays.. felt a bit robbed after the weekend as had my biggest best in a long time (since GDC @ Cheltenham)on derby winner but chickened out last minute and reduced stake by 50%.."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Never felt like nandos kicked off here? And the trend has died well down at this stage anyway. Give me a good hillbilly's over it anyday
This South African lady I worked with was a real entrepreneur, always looking out for her next piece of action and proposed that I would be the man to introduce Nandos to Ireland. Despite having eaten many Nandos meals, I didn't feel this qualified me and so I politely turned her down.
I may yet be asking 'do you want fries with that?' but I won't be doing it Gus Fring style. That was the chance.
latest?cb=20170418095625.jpg"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 5 likes
-
I should have taken up that offer to be the lead franchisee for Nandos in Ireland all those years ago. We'd be millionaires now Rodney. Half price meals to HH Elitists.
Now actively trying to make my fortune in another way. Relocation offer has finally landed.‘IF YOU had not committed great sins, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you.” Genghis Khan
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostThat's a downside of the Nissan Leaf, that they use a charger called Chademo which appears to have rapidly become the betamax of the car charging world. It's grand now, as the Leaf is so popular, but going to have quite the destructive impact on resale value.
Interestingly the technology does make it easier to store and release solar power so if you find yourself in need of a mobile battery storage solution having a Nissan Leaf has certain advantages too.
I’m planning on selling mine and upgrading to an MG ZS EV over the next while. Be interesting to see what I can get for the Leaf.‘IF YOU had not committed great sins, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you.” Genghis Khan
- 1 like
-
This was pointed out to you before you bought. Basically in a few years time charging a Leaf out and about will be a serious pain in the ass.
Interestingly the technology does make it easier to store and release solar power so if you find yourself in need of a mobile battery storage solution having a Nissan Leaf has certain advantages too.
I’m planning on selling mine and upgrading to an MG ZS EV over the next while. Be interesting to see what I can get for the Leaf."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Yes to the first and the rest all TBC. Negotiations underway.‘IF YOU had not committed great sins, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you.” Genghis Khan
- 1 like
-
I only listen to bad news after I've made a mistake. Meh, we paid the car off, so if we get five-six years out of it, it'll turn out to have been a bargain. I guess lethargy will keep the chads in motorway stops running for a decade, and we only charge it once a week at home anyway and that's enough for all normal use.‘IF YOU had not committed great sins, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you.” Genghis Khan
- 1 like
-
The veggie garden is absolutely exploding. Only downside is that we might now need to eat the veg.Tucked in there at the back, and in the greenhouse, are the finely curated veg and tomatoes (the crimea tomatoes were a nice touch
) donated by strewel, who came up with loads of cool veg and dropped words of wisdom all over the garden.
MVCEFIQl.jpg"We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 17 likes
-
Yes to the first and the rest all TBC. Negotiations underway.Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 07-06-22, 22:23."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 1 like
-
Definitely really well made, certainly one vital 'version' of the story. It's Danny Boyle producing so it was always gonna look, feel and sound awesome. A homage with dramatic realism running though its veins.
We've not been allowed to hear any non-linear linear narrative on this story before.
Steve Jones voice is just as powerful as Lydon/McLaren/Matlock and TBH I probably wouldn't want to work with Lydon either, such a grumpy basterd he is.
Here his is ... I quite like the fact that someone else gets their chance to tell the story... three of the pistols minus McLaren and Rotten? Fine by me. Iv heard their stories a million times.
If you don't know or care much for the Sex Pistols and their impact on music then this easy to watch six-parter is a brilliant place to start. The sights and sound of 70s London are captured brillaintly.
-
Originally posted by Pat Mustard View PostI need Irish Times to win the last in Chelmsford for a 2k score/place 400 quid mark. I know BBV curse and all that. Degen Tuesdays.. felt a bit robbed after the weekend as had my biggest best in a long time (since GDC @ Cheltenham)on derby winner but chickened out last minute and reduced stake by 50%..
- 1 like
-
First trip to the cinema in a long long time. Only 10 people there (no noisy neighbours) the main screen there was a projector issue and we ended up getting free pass next time. Top Gun was the perfect mix of nostalgia and action. Very enjoyable. 4 Bows out of 5.His rival it seems, had broken his dreams,By stealing the girl of his fancy.Her name was Magill, and she called herself Lil,But everyone knew her as Nancy.
- 10 likes