• coillcam
    replied
    Loving the flair of these young Italian backs. It's like the French joue and keep it alive. Going in the right direction regardless of final score.

England are a very average team and we'll destroy them in a few weeks. This is like watching a game from 15 years ago.
    I would say they're in transition whereas we're riding the quest of a wave. Our squad and fringe players are playing this system interchangeably with confidence for quite a while. We shouldn't fear them but I'd expect a massive physical onslaught in the first half from England. They might well go 6+2 bench.

Leave a comment:

• dinekes
    replied
    Did Djouce today for a change.

Great day for it, fantastic views. I must get going earlier in future at the weekend (Didn't get started until 12) to avoid people.
    DIdn't like the boardwalks (most of the way up) Too many people and very little etiquette in terms of right of way

Leave a comment:

• coillcam
    replied

Dupont is great. The way he held your man back from scoring a try was unreal.
    If you could build the perfect 9. You'd go back and realise you should have just cloned Dupont. His all round skillet, Rugby IQ, speed, leadership and mentality are elite. He's a generational talent and a joy to watch.

If you take away Aaron Smith's passing I can't think of another 9 that is better in any category than Dupont.

(I'll exclude Faf De Klerk being an annoying little bollix as he's peerless in that regard.)

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Regardless of a try from the advantage. Should Itoje not get carded for a high tackle stopping a certain try?

Nice to see Farrell receive a thumping high but legal tackle. England using their impressive size and line speed well. Farrell at 10 is much better equipped to run that power game imo.
    England are a very average team and we'll destroy them in a few weeks. This is like watching a game from 15 years ago.

Leave a comment:

• coillcam
    replied
    Regardless of a try from the advantage. Should Itoje not get carded for a high tackle stopping a certain try?

Nice to see Farrell receive a thumping high but legal tackle. England using their impressive size and line speed well. Farrell at 10 is much better equipped to run that power game imo.

Leave a comment:

• pokerhand
    replied
    Watched the Ireland v France game in total at 12 am with a bottle of Vino. Havent enjoyed a half of Rugby so much in years . France added to it big time. Dupont has turned into a world class act. Great to watch. Pity to see Wales so limp .
    Dupont is great. The way he held your man back from scoring a try was unreal.

Leave a comment:

• Hectorjelly
    replied
    Great stuff HJ.

Do you get any stats on listeners on Spotify? (Like on Youtube, demographics, retention etc)
    They have a site called Spotify for artists that breaks down your listeners by location, gender and age, and also where the streams come from. They have two new sections called release engagement and audience engagement but I've barely looked at them yet.

Seeing the map of where all the listeners are is pretty cool

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    Watched the Ireland v France game in total at 12 am with a bottle of Vino. Havent enjoyed a half of Rugby so much in years . France added to it big time. Dupont has turned into a world class act. Great to watch. Pity to see Wales so limp .

Leave a comment:

• Iago
    replied
    was invited to a gig by a local band last night, completely unsure of what to expect but I enjoyed it. What I know about music could be written on the back of a box of matches but there are a fair few here with more knowledge and nous than me so in case anyone is interested there's a couple of links below. Don't think I've ever attached a video so it may or may not work but the youtube link code should come through at least.

obviously everything is in Spanish...every day is a school day

Last edited by Iago; 12-02-23, 09:42.

Leave a comment:

• Wombatman
    replied
    New Irish Movie about to be released. A must watch if you are interested in energy and the environment.

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    They finished strong with all the hits, as expected. Everyone up dancing and clapping for the encore with the cast making sure everyone stayed up instead of sitting down after each song.

Wings, shakes and hot dogs in eddie rockets after. Grand little night in the capital.

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied

I'm gonna guess I likely first saw The Commitments live either around the time or before you were born.

St. Enda's, Omagh circa 1991.

Full band from the movie before it splintered off into various revivals...

Enjoy - should be a lot of fun.

PS... oh wait... it's not the band, it's a play/musical right?
    Yeah, it's just a musical adaptation. It's better than I expected tbf and they've kept some of the famous lines from the film in. Few laughs and decent show so far.

Leave a comment:

• BennyHiFi
    replied

Not tonight. Off to see The Commitments in the Olympia
    I'm gonna guess I likely first saw The Commitments live either around the time or before you were born.

St. Enda's, Omagh circa 1991.

Full band from the movie before it splintered off into various revivals...

Enjoy - should be a lot of fun.

PS... oh wait... it's not the band, it's a play/musical right?
    Last edited by BennyHiFi; 11-02-23, 19:23.

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    The Guinness book of World record have accepted my ' most sandwiches eaten in 24 hours' record.

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied
    GAB might be along to tell me different but pound for euro I don't think you can get a better steak than this gear. Delicious : https://higginsbutchers.ie/shop/rare...ays-grain-fed/
    I've never gotten the love of steak. Gives me an annoying erection the morning afterwards every time, regardless of the quality of meat or how it was cooked. More lentils for me going forward.

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied
    GAB might be along to tell me different but pound for euro I don't think you can get a better steak than this gear. Delicious : https://higginsbutchers.ie/shop/rare...ays-grain-fed/

Leave a comment:

• pokerhand
    replied
    They usually get a couple of 1-2 cash tables on a Saturday too
    Cash league final today. So already two cash tables running. Good buzz around the place today.

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied

What time would that normally get going?....not for tonight but just for future reference. Though I'm not sure my GTO Wizard drilled approach would be much good in the Dublin 1/2 live scene.
    Usually just after late reg closes and people bust. So around 9.30 or so

Leave a comment:

• Goodluck2me
    replied

What time would that normally get going?....not for tonight but just for future reference. Though I'm not sure my GTO Wizard drilled approach would be much good in the Dublin 1/2 live scene.
    Move up levels.

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied

Sleeping on a stag is a bit unusual.
    Completely not my scene. Hate pubs. Just showed up to show up. It was a 2 dayer but no way I was committing to that.

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied

Might head out there so, are you going?
    Not tonight. Off to see The Commitments in the Olympia

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied
    Great stuff HJ.

Do you get any stats on listeners on Spotify? (Like on Youtube, demographics, retention etc)

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied
    Was at a stag in Westport last night...Seemingly arranging it so you just share a room with some other randomer on the stag is a thing? Fucking nightmare...He was raising the roof snoring all night...not one minute of sleep. Got up and fucked off back to Dublin on my todd at 7 am.
    Sleeping on a stag is a bit unusual.

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied
    The lads that I did know were talking about it on the train and I assumed they were just winding me up because they knew it would be anathema to me! Anyway, back home now to a Uruguayan rib-eye and a bottle of Chateau Lagrange, like a normal person.

Leave a comment:

• Goodluck2me
    replied
    Was at a stag in Westport last night...Seemingly arranging it so you just share a room with some other randomer on the stag is a thing? Fucking nightmare...He was raising the roof snoring all night...not one minute of sleep. Got up and fucked off back to Dublin on my todd at 7 am.
    Standard fare I’d say

Leave a comment:

• Goodluck2me
    replied

Popular Saturday deepstack in Bonnington, 6pm start. €120 in, 50k chips, 20min clock, late reg 9 levels. €5 league chips for 5k. Usually around 50-60 runners.
    Might head out there so, are you going?

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    Anyone know where would be best for a game this evening? Is SE running tourneys or cash? What about Bennington?
    Popular Saturday deepstack in Bonnington, 6pm start. €120 in, 50k chips, 20min clock, late reg 9 levels. €5 league chips for 5k. Usually around 50-60 runners.

Leave a comment:

• Goodluck2me
    replied
    Anyone know where would be best for a game this evening? Is SE running tourneys or cash? What about Bennington?

Leave a comment:

• MysteryGuest
    replied
    Rest of the world clearly playing for second place in the Autumn. Crazy times.
    yeah starting to get worried- have supplies bought in just on case though 133920AB-EC72-428E-935D-3D2F9D947967.jpeg

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied
    Have to think these guys literally enjoy rubbing money on their titties

Leave a comment:

• ArmaniJeans
    replied
    Rest of the world clearly playing for second place in the Autumn. Crazy times.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    France look oddly like a Warren Gatland team there. Maybe they are prioritising the WC though.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    We left at least 15 points out there too. 4 tries to 1 tells you everything you need to know.

Might seem like nitpicking but I think two of our starters have been poor in both games - Hansen and O'Mahony (whose engine is gone imo).

Leave a comment:

• pokerhand
    replied
    Brilliant match... Really superb to watch.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    That is the reddest red ever. Barnes such a prick.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Thought I had nailed the FTS bet there but we'll take that excellent try..

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    O'Mahony at 9 on the psycho-ometer.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Porter FTS pls. Nice day for it.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

I did go to see a Polish film last night if life through the eyes of a donkey - EO
    Did you go to Bray to watch it or did I get that assways?

Leave a comment:

• BennyHiFi
    replied
    I have a new song out, and this one has singing! https://open.spotify.com/track/4aIPv...e6317dd7a24b50
    Classy, as always!

Leave a comment:

• hotspur
    replied
    One for Hotspur, from Steward Lee.
    I did go to see a Polish film last night if life through the eyes of a donkey - EO

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied
    One for Hotspur, from Steward Lee.

Ever since I did material on stage about people illegally downloading my DVDs there has been a slow trickle of tenners sent to my agent by guilty cyber-pirates.
    It’s a bit late for that now. So if you’re feeling ashamed why not make a donation to…

The Sathya Sai Sanctuary Trust for Nature, in Co Sligo, EIRE.

It is a refuge for old, injured, unwanted, abandoned, neglected and abused donkeys, who no longer fit into a world geared for profit and productivity, and which is presently dominated by heavy agricultural machinery.
    www.donkeys.ie

Leave a comment:

• Mellor
    replied

It is spectacular. Easy enough to pop over whenever you're in Dublin, there must be 10-15 flights a day Dublin-Barcelona due to Vueling having a Dublin base. Costs pennies also.
    Yeah kinda strange I’ve never been, but the short time I have at home is usually full time home shit.

I always wondered about this but never bothered to look it up - what parts are not complete and WHY could they just not finish it? Like WHAT exactly was impossible or so hard they couldn't just throw resource at it?
    A few reasons. Money was limited. It started up based on private funding and donations. So resources were limited. Then there was the death of Gaudi, all the wars and chaos. But also the towers were not structurally possible to be built in early 20th. The stone was strong enough for the weight, but not the lateral loads. So the slow pace sort of worked for technology to catch up.

Now it’s self funded in that the construction is entirely funded by people coming to see it being built. It’s mostly the tallest towers that are left. Seems like they’ve resolved the construction. Just a case of time now, as it stays open as they build it.

Leave a comment:

• Hitchhiker's Guide To...
    replied
    The Apprentice

Seems the Scotsman who 'left for health reasons' actually got drunk on the free booze on the plane to Dubai. An admirable way to exit the process imo.
    Better than being the victim of another utterly incorrect firing, like happened to Joe tonight
    ha, that's great.

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied

Surely most things run in Families. I vaguely remember RD3 asking me how I became Marxist/ Trotskyist in 1980's Dublin, and had completely forgotten that my dad would routinely address me as Comrade or Brother when I was a child.
    Just to be clear: Comrade was a common and generally used word to address people in the Labour Party back then, and Brother was more used in Trade Unions. Like he wasn't signed up to any Internationale https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fourth_International

Leave a comment:

• MysteryGuest
    replied
    Lol irishtimes- preachiest paper in the country nominates the 2 whiteys in the octoroon cast their theatre awards- the other 8 cast members were POC

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    Does being a fraudster run in some families?
    Hearing alright.

Paywall, https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/...-42337254.html

non paywall,
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gar...a-29187739.amp
    Last edited by 6starpool; 13-02-23, 07:48.

Leave a comment:

• Dice75
    replied
    Anyone been to this place before or is the wife trying her usual hoodwinking to get me horse riding?

https://www.drumhiernyhideaway.ie/en/things-to-do/

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied
    Surely most things run in Families. I vaguely remember RD3 asking me how I became Marxist/ Trotskyist in 1980's Dublin, and had completely forgotten that my dad would routinely address me as Comrade or Brother when I was a child.

Leave a comment:

• MysteryGuest
    replied

Leave a comment:

• DeeBrown
    replied
    Everything's sweet, thanks for asking.
    Finals in May so Poker on the back burner.
    I'll be around for the festival so gl with that.

Last edited by DeeBrown; 10-02-23, 20:32.

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    It's truly a remarkable building,
    sort of flows in waves from one feature to the next.
    Loads of other Gaudi stuff around Barcelona too.
    Park Guell is a fantastic space as well.
    Had a fun interlude with a Spanish long jumper there back in my athletics days
    but herself banned from mentioning her name.
    Apparently if you say "Racquel" three times
    I'll spontaneously burst into flames.
    Haven't seen you around the club lately. All good?

Leave a comment:

• DeeBrown
    replied
    It's truly a remarkable building,
    sort of flows in waves from one feature to the next.
    Loads of other Gaudi stuff around Barcelona too.
    Park Guell is a fantastic space as well.
    Had a fun interlude with a Spanish long jumper there back in my athletics days
    but herself banned from mentioning her name.
    Apparently if you say "Racquel" three times
    I'll spontaneously burst into flames.

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    Selling % for the upcoming Dublin Poker Festival if anyone is interested in a sweat over 2 tourneys.

https://www.irishpokerboards.com/for...-festival-2023
    All sold. Ty for interest and GL us

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    Selling % for the upcoming Dublin Poker Festival if anyone is interested in a sweat over 2 tourneys.

https://www.irishpokerboards.com/for...-festival-2023

Leave a comment:

• Lazare
    replied
    There is a new, rather large, global project in work at the minute. It's being rolled out by the CEO and the board of directors so it has top level priority. Before Christmas, there was some talk about it and what would be involved, it seemed relatively OK so I approached my boss and volunteered to be a lead on it. I want to raise my profile a bit over the next few months in order to help get selected for a bigger programme which has serious uplift potential.

Everything then went quiet until last Friday when somewhat out of nowhere, the project starts to get rolled out at 4pm Irish time. We were basically given 5 days (4 for me due to the bank holiday) to get the entire project up and running globally (350 offices) and have the first set of results from it in and ready for auditing

Fuck.My.Life.

That'll well and truly learn me for trying to be clever and leaping before I look at the very detailed fine print
    Jesus. I'm stressed out reading that.

Tell you what, you're a real sound dude taking time out of that sort of day today to help me out. Fair play man.

Leave a comment: