Bad beat/Moaning/Venting thread - Wordle Gummidge
-
Cheltenham 2022 Tipping Comp now open for entries. Note the ADDED JUICE.
Hopefully Elbows won't be a bollix this year.
Standard discount applies for early entrants so book early to avail of this once-off offer."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by ComradeCollie View PostWent to the GP today for a check up, and the results of the blood tests I had done last week. First time ever that he was really happy with them, and his advice was to 'keep doing whatever you are doing'.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostCheltenham 2022 Tipping Comp now open for entries. Note the ADDED JUICE.
Hopefully Elbows won't be a bollix this year.
Standard discount applies for early entrants so book early to avail of this once-off offer.
the next Jeff Kidder. I’ll let you know if I find itHis rival it seems, had broken his dreams,By stealing the girl of his fancy.Her name was Magill, and she called herself Lil,But everyone knew her as Nancy.
- 1 like
-
I'm working the following morning so wont be a mad one by any means for myself. You can go and not get wrecked like lolPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 3 likes
-
Things come in 3 - do euromilly for later
Only got everything back an hour or so ago.
Hopefully that's the three done.People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 8 likes
-
Night out with the lads and being a little tired the next day. Or you could just stay at home like a big Mary.I hold silver in tit for tat, and I love you for that
- 4 likes
-
Tell me you haven't hit your forties yet without telling me you haven't hit your forties yet.
- 1 like
-
In fairness, I said he could go out and not get wrecked but he seems to think its pointless to go out and not get wrecked. The problem here isnt age relatedI hold silver in tit for tat, and I love you for that
- 1 like
-
Absolutely wild on Tibradden earlier..50km p/h wind with lashing rain..just did a 2 hour hike... rain was stinging the face offf me on the way back ..had the head down with the hood pulled low to keep it out. Waterproof jacket did just that..great piece of kit. New trail shoes are the business with decent traction. Need proper waterproof trousers...the golf ones I have were just utterly soaked.
Unsurprisingly had the mountain to myself bar a couple I met on their way down as I was starting out.
- 4 likes
-
Originally posted by dinekes View PostAbsolutely wild on Tibradden earlier..50km p/h wind with lashing rain..just did a 2 hour hike... rain was stinging the face offf me on the way back ..had the head down with the hood pulled low to keep it out. Waterproof jacket did just that..great piece of kit. New trail shoes are the business with decent traction. Need proper waterproof trousers...the golf ones I have were just utterly soaked.
Unsurprisingly had the mountain to myself bar a couple I met on their way down as I was starting out.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by dinekes View PostAbsolutely wild on Tibradden earlier..50km p/h wind with lashing rain..just did a 2 hour hike... rain was stinging the face offf me on the way back ..had the head down with the hood pulled low to keep it out. Waterproof jacket did just that..great piece of kit. New trail shoes are the business with decent traction. Need proper waterproof trousers...the golf ones I have were just utterly soaked.
We went up Lug last year and suddenly the clouds came down at the top . Zero visibility. . The brother took out the compass. This way...
- 1 like
-
Might be worth asking about the breakage fee on the fixed if you're going to make that big a saving on interest rate - it might be worth it.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by DeadParrot View PostOffer 1:
End date 10/06/2022
Statutory + 2 months ex gratia
if end date moves .5 month ex gratia per month extra
Just off a company zoom.
Receivers inPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 9 likes
-
[QUOTE=Solksjaer!;n1713327]
Sounds great . You can do the whole mountain survival course thing for 30 quid but id say you are experienced.
We went up Lug last year and suddenly the clouds came down at the top . Zero visibility. . The brother took out the compass. This way...
id be lost in that situation I'd say Solks I just stick to the trails mostly and take the odd foray through woods and gorse.
Havent done any courses yet in fairness. Going to do a mountain skills course when I can match days off with the lad who does the course. It's the mountain skills 1 course €140 for 2 days and 6 people. Seemed a reasonable price.
Today was a bit harsh weather wise as no break in it at all but still feel fantastic after it. Really is great excercise body and mind.
- 1 like
-
Hitch et al., off to Rome tomorrow with the kids. we all have our covid pass apps except the youngest, who although vaccinated twice, hasn't got the app as it's just been made available for under 16s, and his identity has still not been confirmed, which means he can't use it yet. Just wondering how strict they were in Italy, and if the vaccination card he was given might suffice? i know in France it would be a categorical no, but italy seems to allow paper documents. what was your experience out there like?
-
yikes. what does that mean?
Chunk of people put the door immediate effect. Company not paying redundancy need to apply from govt fund, no holidays or month to date salary.
So long, thanks for the cheese.
People the company needs in order to perform an orderly run off of the business (like me) won't get statutory from company, they'll need to go to govt as above. They will however be incentivized to stay with previously promised amounts. Holidays etc will be honoured. Riches will rain down on the true believers.
Or you could get what's in the mystery box
DP needs a new jobPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 9 likes
-
KPMG now running the show.
Chunk of people put the door immediate effect. Company not paying redundancy need to apply from govt fund, no holidays or month to date salary.
So long, thanks for the cheese.
People the company needs in order to perform an orderly run off of the business (like me) won't get statutory from company, they'll need to go to govt as above. They will however be incentivized to stay with previously promised amounts. Holidays etc will be honoured. Riches will rain down on the true believers.
Or you could get what's in the mystery box
Mostly this.
Have that conversation as soon as possible, demand shit loads (like something totally unreasonable) as your opening position."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 2 likes
-
I don't quite understand how the company can't afford to pay statutory but can afford incentives ex gratia to stay.
One of these things seems not like the other and I need convincing that it's not just a pile of smoke.
Have requested Friday pow wow. Let's see what happensPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by DeadParrot View PostI don't quite understand how the company can't afford to pay statutory but can afford incentives ex gratia to stay.
One of these things seems not like the other and I need convincing that it's not just a pile of smoke.
Have requested Friday pow wow. Let's see what happens
Jaysus, this is some stress. Keep well DP."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Originally posted by shrapnel View PostHitch et al., off to Rome tomorrow with the kids. we all have our covid pass apps except the youngest, who although vaccinated twice, hasn't got the app as it's just been made available for under 16s, and his identity has still not been confirmed, which means he can't use it yet. Just wondering how strict they were in Italy, and if the vaccination card he was given might suffice? i know in France it would be a categorical no, but italy seems to allow paper documents. what was your experience out there like?"We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostAs im a novice at having my own set of bins, am I right in thinking you don't put out bins if there's a storm coming overnight that might blow your bin into the next neighbourhood. As I write this, I feel I've worked out the correct answer.
- 2 likes
-
If you have the QR code, but just no access to the UK app, could you not just pop his cert on the Irish or French covid app - you don't have to be a citizen to use those national apps. They all read QR codes the same way, and I've used mine on the French, Irish, Italian apps. But maybe the issue is that you don't have the QR code? Thats a bit of a massive oversight by the Brits tbh, given 12+ need these. tbh the certs was checked absolutely everywhere, unfortunately. Except in the airport, where you would expect it to be checked most. Paper should be grand, saw a few people using paper over there.
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostAs im a novice at having my own set of bins, am I right in thinking you don't put out bins if there's a storm coming overnight that might blow your bin into the next neighbourhood. As I write this, I feel I've worked out the correct answer.“Blessed are the forgetful, for they get the better even of their blunders.”
-
Since when were 30km/h winds considered a storm? That yellow warning ( don't eat the yellow snow )from met eireann was only valid up till closing time tonight."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostAs im a novice at having my own set of bins, am I right in thinking you don't put out bins if there's a storm coming overnight that might blow your bin into the next neighbourhood. As I write this, I feel I've worked out the correct answer.
I see all the bins here this morning were lying down after collection so wp our bin men. Unless you have novice bin men, they'll be grand.
Also, storm. Heh.
- 1 like
-
Since when were 30km/h winds considered a storm? That yellow warning ( don't eat the yellow snow )from met eireann was only valid up till closing time tonight."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Originally posted by DeadParrot View PostI don't quite understand how the company can't afford to pay statutory but can afford incentives ex gratia to stay.
Have requested Friday pow wow. Let's see what happensHappiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
- 5 likes
-
Was pretty awful earlier, just assumed there would be more nastiness tonight!“Blessed are the forgetful, for they get the better even of their blunders.”
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostAn ex-colleague of mine sent me a job description.
It requires:
What is the impact space? How will I know it when I get there? Does V live there?
So many questions...
-
Originally posted by 6starpool View PostJust got a thing there about my deferred DB pension scheme, that they will be making more offers to people to move their pension with an Enhanced Transfer Value offer. V for Vendetta if you see this, is there any general formula or standard ETV that can be expected based on what the preserved benefit is? I might not get an offer, they made offers to some former colleagues a few years back but I didn't get one. I think they were doing the higher value ones then, might be moving onto the next batch of people soon, but I've no idea if I'll be in that group, but I'd like to know what to expect. Is enhanced typically something standard, like 10%/15% or whatever above the normal transfer value you'd get if doing it off your own bat?
Basically with a DB scheme your standard transfer value is prescribed via legislation (assuming a scheme can afford to pay the standard transfer value). The standard transfer value basis is optimistic for younger pension scheme members (6%pa returns and high interest rates assumed) which folk investing in a D.C. scheme will struggle to achieve between now and their NRA as in general folk invest more prudently with their D.C. assets as they get older.
The uplift or enhancement being offered will be bankrolled by the sponsoring employer in order to reduce the risk and potential future costs of honouring the pension costs of paying you a DB pension in retirement. Pension costs go up significantly from a funding perspective when active and deferred members become pensioners so the sponsor is heading off the challenge of pumping extra money into the scheme for folk who no longer work there. Also they generally extinguish a liability at less then the accounting balance sheet liability so they can pay out 10m and reduce pension liabilities (or increase the value of the business) by 20m.
A decent enhancement can be attractive if it’s reasonably generous and you don’t want a DB benefit in retirement but instead would prefer an ARF.
A reasonable uplift for someone aged 45 with an NRA of 65 would be 40-50% to give you a decent chance to invest the funds in a D.C. scheme and have a similar level of benefits at age 65. Some sponsors pay this much and others offer 10-15% because people only see the €€€ and don’t understand the economic value of their DB benefit.
Good luck getting a financial adviser to give you some decent advice on this as most haven’t a clue about all the things to consider and will just want to sell you a PRB/ARF to invest your formerly DB funds in where they can get their commission.
Kerry foods offered a 10/15% ETV irrespective of age which was a bad joke and run by an incentivised adviser. We’ve been involved in well run ETV programs where folk in their 30s got 100% uplifts and proper access to modelling tools to assist folk in making their decisions. Your mileage may vary.‘IF YOU had not committed great sins, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you.” Genghis Khan
- 3 likes
-
Good to see all the talk of uplifts and promotions. Mad to hear some of you are working 80/90 hour weeks though. Thats long term crazy imo. And fingers crossed DP you get a few quid and a new improved gig fairly soon. It’s got to be a good time to be looking and at least with KPMG in you’ll have a bit of certainty soon.
My own situation had been pretty good over the past two years and I’ll be made a partner in our UK business and a shareholder/partner in our Irish business over the next few months. So financially all good. However, I’ll have a 12 month notice period, and basically I’ve lashed the next 10+ years of my career to this business (that’s the only way to really make the partnership status pay off).
The business is going very well and I’ll make good money and have a decent “status” but it’s also left me with a weird hollow feeling. I need to reset my personal career goals and ambitions because I need something to chase or I get bored or self sabotage. I’m doing the Chartered Director program at the moment with the IMI and IOD and have to say I’m really enjoying it. Be interesting to see how things play out over the next few years…
- 15 likes
-
ETV offers vary massively. In ireland they can be offered with no requirement to take advice or have it properly explained. Stuff that is standard in the UK or you’ll get the ass sued off you is 100% allowed in ireland. So as a result some ETV programs are a very bad joke.
Basically with a DB scheme your standard transfer value is prescribed via legislation (assuming a scheme can afford to pay the standard transfer value). The standard transfer value basis is optimistic for younger pension scheme members (6%pa returns and high interest rates assumed) which folk investing in a D.C. scheme will struggle to achieve between now and their NRA as in general folk invest more prudently with their D.C. assets as they get older.
The uplift or enhancement being offered will be bankrolled by the sponsoring employer in order to reduce the risk and potential future costs of honouring the pension costs of paying you a DB pension in retirement. Pension costs go up significantly from a funding perspective when active and deferred members become pensioners so the sponsor is heading off the challenge of pumping extra money into the scheme for folk who no longer work there. Also they generally extinguish a liability at less then the accounting balance sheet liability so they can pay out 10m and reduce pension liabilities (or increase the value of the business) by 20m.
A decent enhancement can be attractive if it’s reasonably generous and you don’t want a DB benefit in retirement but instead would prefer an ARF.
A reasonable uplift for someone aged 45 with an NRA of 65 would be 40-50% to give you a decent chance to invest the funds in a D.C. scheme and have a similar level of benefits at age 65. Some sponsors pay this much and others offer 10-15% because people only see the €€€ and don’t understand the economic value of their DB benefit.
Good luck getting a financial adviser to give you some decent advice on this as most haven’t a clue about all the things to consider and will just want to sell you a PRB/ARF to invest your formerly DB funds in where they can get their commission.
Kerry foods offered a 10/15% ETV irrespective of age which was a bad joke and run by an incentivised adviser. We’ve been involved in well run ETV programs where folk in their 30s got 100% uplifts and proper access to modelling tools to assist folk in making their decisions. Your mileage may vary.
At this stage for pension lump sum contributions I deal directly but have to go through the hassle of assuring them I have no intermediary advisor. and knowning that I am paying the same fees and they allow for commission every time that in my recent cases is not sent anywhere, with no fee incentive for me to save them that. I guess if i was more important to them/or for v high net worth there is an arrangement but so far not.
I have an old DB pension and the transfer values offered to me (3 times now) have been laughable.
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by paul8200 View Post
There is so much conflict of interest here, it should not even be called financial advisor - the status quo here protects interest in the system and the commission flows.
At this stage for pension lump sum contributions I deal directly but have to go through the hassle of assuring them I have no intermediary advisor. and knowning that I am paying the same fees and they allow for commission every time that in my recent cases is not sent anywhere, with no fee incentive for me to save them that. I guess if i was more important to them/or for v high net worth there is an arrangement but so far not.
I have an old DB pension and the transfer values offered to me (3 times now) have been laughable.
Very little choice and loads of consolidation going on
so less choice all the time. Regulators and legislators haven’t a fucking clue.‘IF YOU had not committed great sins, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you.” Genghis Khan
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View Postso, what's the plan for the 4th of March HH?"We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by V for Vendetta View PostGood to see all the talk of uplifts and promotions. Mad to hear some of you are working 80/90 hour weeks though. Thats long term crazy imo. And fingers crossed DP you get a few quid and a new improved gig fairly soon. It’s got to be a good time to be looking and at least with KPMG in you’ll have a bit of certainty soon.
My own situation had been pretty good over the past two years and I’ll be made a partner in our UK business and a shareholder/partner in our Irish business over the next few months. So financially all good. However, I’ll have a 12 month notice period, and basically I’ve lashed the next 10+ years of my career to this business (that’s the only way to really make the partnership status pay off).
The business is going very well and I’ll make good money and have a decent “status” but it’s also left me with a weird hollow feeling. I need to reset my personal career goals and ambitions because I need something to chase or I get bored or self sabotage. I’m doing the Chartered Director program at the moment with the IMI and IOD and have to say I’m really enjoying it. Be interesting to see how things play out over the next few years…"We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Solksjaer! View PostDP how is the kid ?