• Goodluck2me
    replied

Fantastic meal, really enjoyed it. Scallops, Hallibut & Apple/Caramel. A few nice added pieces throughout, felt decent value at the price.

We did stay in one of the lodges, I would agree that the house is probably better especially if you plan on using the spa/pool but the lodge itself was lovely.

I wasn’t aware of how central it is in Cashel and like SP said, the town looks great. So many of the shop fronts look so fresh. Looks like a massive boost to the town.

If dining is your thing, I’d definitely recommend it. Of the higher end hotels I’ve gone to in recent years, it’s not the first I’d rush back to, probably middle of the pack but really enjoyed it.
    Glad you enjoyed it, where would you recommend for hotels if that was middle of the pack? For me it was good value at that price, anywhere obviously better was much more expensive to boot but haven’t been to too many, would be open to suggestions.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

Fantastic meal, really enjoyed it. Scallops, Hallibut & Apple/Caramel. A few nice added pieces throughout, felt decent value at the price.

We did stay in one of the lodges, I would agree that the house is probably better especially if you plan on using the spa/pool but the lodge itself was lovely.

I wasn’t aware of how central it is in Cashel and like SP said, the town looks great. So many of the shop fronts look so fresh. Looks like a massive boost to the town.

If dining is your thing, I’d definitely recommend it. Of the higher end hotels I’ve gone to in recent years, it’s not the first I’d rush back to, probably middle of the pack but really enjoyed it.
    Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can buy the entire town of Cashel as your personal amusement park.

Leave a comment:

• Murdrum
    replied

Ate there on Tuesday night and it was excellent, started with the Crab, went for Sole main and soufflé dessert, and each were excellent. It’s 105e for the 4-course, no option of al la carte, but the service and offerings were top notch. Worth a premium price. GL2her had the beetroot, angelotti and Apple Tart and likewise licked the plates, I’d definitely be back.

Leave a comment:

• 6starpool
    replied
    Didn't realise you could do pizza dough in a breadmaker. I wonder how much of the pain it would take out of it. Then again how much of the fun is the pain. Spending half a week muttering to myself "first you make-ah de pooolish" and 'is-ah soft and-ah crunchy in the same-ah time" is part of the magic I suppose.
    It's quick and easy dough, and works pretty well, but obviously nothing like the result to make it over a couple of days. On a coincidental note, I decided to make-a-da-poolish today to do it properly for pizza Friday tomorrow just to see if the extra time is worth it. The lardest part about making pizza dough for me is stretching out the dough for the pizza itself. Using a rolling pin and the likes ruins it almost, and I'm pretty bad at shaping it into anything even vaguely round.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

I don't have a breadmaker but I dump everything into the mixer with the dough attachment and it does all the hard work. The best bread herself has made would have been cooked in a big cast iron pot. The crunchiness of the crust and velvetiness of the inside is mouthwatering.

Actually, with the weather warming up a bit and all this food chat. I'm inclined to do BBQ or Pizza soon enough.
    Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can pay Oleras to be your permanent pitmaster in residence.

Simpsons.jpg

Leave a comment:

• coillcam
    replied
    Didn't realise you could do pizza dough in a breadmaker. I wonder how much of the pain it would take out of it. Then again how much of the fun is the pain. Spending half a week muttering to myself "first you make-ah de pooolish" and 'is-ah soft and-ah crunchy in the same-ah time" is part of the magic I suppose.
    I don't have a breadmaker but I dump everything into the mixer with the dough attachment and it does all the hard work. The best bread herself has made would have been cooked in a big cast iron pot. The crunchiness of the crust and velvetiness of the inside is mouthwatering.

Actually, with the weather warming up a bit and all this food chat. I'm inclined to do BBQ or Pizza soon enough.

Leave a comment:

• Keane
    replied
    For reference

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u7Hd6ZzKgBM

Leave a comment:

• Keane
    replied

Leave a comment:

• Tar.Aldarion
    replied

Lidl bread is class
    Bread41 has ruined me and I only get it there now, this week was preserved lemon, polenta and olive sourdough. Used to have a bread maker, would make better bread than any supermarket for sure. Also used to make sourdough myself that was cheap and great but the effort with the starter was just too annoying to keep up. I did provide my starter it to a restaurant for about 50 pastries though which was worth it.

Leave a comment:

• coillcam
    replied

Just watched EP 4 . Joel Dahmen . Best one
    The Dahmen episode is class, my favorite too. He's a sound lad and had a tough run of it. Gino, his caddie is another top man. They've a brilliant dynamic in their relationship. I was delighted to see some of Gino as they're kind of a package deal and wasn't sure how much he'd feature.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Ah, RuSSian-loving Mick Wallace. The gift that just keeps on giving.

Anyone willing to admit to voting for this charlatan?

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

The only thing could keep me going it a challenge or competition, otherwise just could not be arsed with it either. Once I have something to aim for then the general sense of well being that comes from that is enough to get me through. Can’t stand the gym though, go a couple times a year and always overdo it and then retire injured for another few months.
    Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can pay a hot personal trainer to do stretches in front of you, in the comfort of your own home. Thus providing lucrative employment opportunities as well as lowering your carbon footprint.

Leave a comment:

• Goodluck2me
    replied
    In contrast to all you health nerds, I haven't done anything since last November and have never felt better mentally. Have put on a few kilos as expected but all the training and gym was doing my head in. And instead of getting a good feeling from it, it was grinding me down. Decided I'd take a break for December and go back after Christmas but didn't bother and the difference its made to my general mood is fantastic.

Will probably get back to doing something (maybe running and regular hiking again) but for now I'm riding the wave of mental calmness.
    The only thing could keep me going it a challenge or competition, otherwise just could not be arsed with it either. Once I have something to aim for then the general sense of well being that comes from that is enough to get me through. Can’t stand the gym though, go a couple times a year and always overdo it and then retire injured for another few months.

Leave a comment:

• dinekes
    replied
    Out for my excercise jest after 6 this am
    Warm enough all right.

Was fairly cold before Xmas though no?

Lot of talk about this polar vortex type thing they've been bsnging on about for weeks now.

Leave a comment:

• Hitchhiker's Guide To...
    replied

Do have to wonder about the tulip bulbs that are already sprouting so early. It's been impossible to prune rose bushes the way you used to the last few years, as they never stop growing. Thankfully there's 3d printed meat to look forward to

Yeah - buds on the bushes already. Those plants are going to be exhausted by the time the summer is over.

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied

This winter just didn't happen. We finished up Christmas (think most people get to Christmas grand as it's something to look forward to), preparing to batten down for two months of misery and by the middle of January it was Spring. Class stuff. Winter usually goes on for so fucking long.
    Do have to wonder about the tulip bulbs that are already sprouting so early. It's been impossible to prune rose bushes the way you used to the last few years, as they never stop growing. Thankfully there's 3d printed meat to look forward to

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    Full Swing entire series been released today on Netflix.

I am legit going to binge watch all of it today.
    Just watched EP 4 . Joel Dahmen . Best one

Leave a comment:

replied

Never got the gym mood boost (or the opposite) either. Kind of feel hard done by. Hours of brightness and air temperature are by far the biggest input parameters for me. I'd say if I was to log my mood out of 10 on a daily basis it would be a good 2 points lower in Dec and Jan than Jun and Jul. Made it through this winter without being really fed up at some stage for the first time in a few years, which was nice.
    This winter just didn't happen. We finished up Christmas (think most people get to Christmas grand as it's something to look forward to), preparing to batten down for two months of misery and by the middle of January it was Spring. Class stuff. Winter usually goes on for so fucking long.

Leave a comment:

• dinekes
    replied

. I rejoined the gym world at Christmas merely to up the resistance training. The benefits of feeling a wee bit more toned was nice compared the lard ass alternative., but the frustrations of modern gyms with people on mobiles hogging machines grinds my gears . Phones should be banned. I like to get in and get out
    Not mad on gyms either prefer just getting out and about quickly....no driving or bringing bag with towel etc
    Everyone deadly serious staring straight ahead ..like there could be an axe murder going on and there'd be no witnesses!

Leave a comment:

• balfejohn
    replied
    I have a stupid question. Need to go buy some shirts to impress the Torinos when I land there tomorrow. You know those folded up shirts in packaging that shops sell - can you take them out of their packaging to try them on? I'd prefer to ask here and by judged by ye rather than be judged by a sixteen year old shop assistant with acne.

And to add value to my question - what shop in Dundrum would sell decent, but not extravagant, shirts?
    U must check out Penny’s men’s section for shirts to match the look of a greasy Italian
    non iron non crease

or try Moss bros

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied

Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can buy a lifetime of lycra to show off your manly curves.

On second thoughts...
    I will no doubt enter it but please continue on your entertaining marketing of my annual IPB horsie donation. My curves were dramatically inflated by Arthur Guinness yesterday.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

. I rejoined the gym world at Christmas merely to up the resistance training. The benefits of feeling a wee bit more toned was nice compared the lard ass alternative., but the frustrations of modern gyms with people on mobiles hogging machines grinds my gears . Phones should be banned. I like to get in and get out
    Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can buy a lifetime of lycra to show off your manly curves.

On second thoughts...

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    In contrast to all you health nerds, I haven't done anything since last November and have never felt better mentally. Have put on a few kilos as expected but all the training and gym was doing my head in. And instead of getting a good feeling from it, it was grinding me down. Decided I'd take a break for December and go back after Christmas but didn't bother and the difference its made to my general mood is fantastic.

Will probably get back to doing something (maybe running and regular hiking again) but for now I'm riding the wave of mental calmness.

Leave a comment:

• shrapnel
    replied

Lidl bread is class
    for someone who's lived in france and is educating your kids in the french system, you should be shot for this!

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied
    Fairly sure I couldn't name a currently active horse, though I had my first bet on the Gold Cup winner last year since picking Atletico at 66/1 the year they lost the CL final. Think I'll retire on that high.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

Never got the gym mood boost (or the opposite) either. Kind of feel hard done by. Hours of brightness and air temperature are by far the biggest input parameters for me. I'd say if I was to log my mood out of 10 on a daily basis it would be a good 2 points lower in Dec and Jan than Jun and Jul. Made it through this winter without being really fed up at some stage for the first time in a few years, which was nice.
    Winning the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp has been scientifically proven by experts to be the ultimate mood enhancer.

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied
    Those scales are absolutely useless in my experience. All the parameters they measure just give you what it reckons a person of your age and gender might be, and then track the weight trend to a greater or lesser degree. I used one last year when doing a program over 4 months and dropped about 8 lbs while increasing muscle and the thing showed muscle mass increasing by 0.2 lbs and body fat unchanged at 22% which was probably about double the true value.

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied

Leave a comment:

• Goodluck2me
    replied
    Considered a bread maker a while back but never pulled the trigger. Is there much difference between the models? Would get the Sage one to match the other stuff in the kitchen but €299 seems like it has a lot of idiot tax built in.
    Fair bit of dough all right.

Leave a comment:

• Goodluck2me
    replied
    Crazy stat. The Michigan shooting was the 67th mass shooting of 2023 (in the US) . More than one per day. The mind boggles.
    https://waterfordwhispersnews.com/20...far-this-year/

Alway felt this hit pretty hard as satire

Leave a comment:

• Opr
    replied

Leave a comment:

replied

I dropped a couple of kg recently but stalled. I got a scales that tries to do body composition, fat% muscle etc. I regret that I never got a baseline reading.

I dug up the dexa scan that I got in 2016(?) in UCD (they were running a trial, I think a few here did it).

Was disappointed to see I was a further 2kg lighter back then.

But then realised, my muscle mass was significantly lower. So much so that even when 2kg lighter I actually had more body fat.

So worth looking past the headline figure if you're increasing your activity.

(Although I still reckon some of that difference is down to different instruments)
    Think that's the key. Muscle mass looks good, while belly mass looks like you sit on a couch for work. Wouldn't be all that bothered how I look to others (well, a small bit), but it's just a bit depressing getting out of the shower and seeing a distinct lack of perfection staring back at you in the mirror. It's not the ideal way to start the day.

Leave a comment:

replied
    I have a stupid question. Need to go buy some shirts to impress the Torinos when I land there tomorrow. You know those folded up shirts in packaging that shops sell - can you take them out of their packaging to try them on? I'd prefer to ask here and by judged by ye rather than be judged by a sixteen year old shop assistant with acne.

And to add value to my question - what shop in Dundrum would sell decent, but not extravagant, shirts?
    As part of my quest to educate the world, I can inform eager listeners that Next has sample shirts in each size, beside the changing rooms, that you can try on to check size and fit. Pay it forward by donating to my Patreon, or smiling unexpectedly at an uggo

Leave a comment:

replied
    Always debated buying on of those but never got some to it as Lidl around the corner does pretty good stuff for 2 eur
    Lidl bread is class

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied
    Down to around 69kg from about 72kg at the start of the year. Height is 178cm (5'11" maybe?), so I wasn't in anyway overweight to begin with, but what weight there was had clustered around the stomach creating the slight impression of being maybe 4 months pregnant. Gather that's the worst type of weight healthwise.

Switched to about 2,200 calories a day, with about 130 (in some weight measure - grams maybe) of protein, swapped out loads of useless stuff and added fruit and veg and nuts. Then running and the beginning stages of strength training.

It *feels* noticeable in terms of body tone even at this stage, but mainly in terms of massive mood uplift.
    I dropped a couple of kg recently but stalled. I got a scales that tries to do body composition, fat% muscle etc. I regret that I never got a baseline reading.

I dug up the dexa scan that I got in 2016(?) in UCD (they were running a trial, I think a few here did it).

Was disappointed to see I was a further 2kg lighter back then.

But then realised, my muscle mass was significantly lower. So much so that even when 2kg lighter I actually had more body fat.

So worth looking past the headline figure if you're increasing your activity.

(Although I still reckon some of that difference is down to different instruments)
    Last edited by Denny Crane; 15-02-23, 16:12.

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied
    Always debated buying on of those but never got some to it as Lidl around the corner does pretty good stuff for 2 eur

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Sign up for the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can buy tailor- made shirts, like a normal HorseHead Elitist.

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    Debatable as to whether this is near the airport but a 300 quid tourney a quick spin from Dublin might suit a few. Think Denny Crane was looking for games at this buy in? And being run by a good guy in Jason so hope to see it doing well.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Sign up for the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can buy bread from an actual shop, like a normal person.

Leave a comment:

• Wombatman
    replied
    Balanced reporting FTW

Leave a comment:

• MysteryGuest
    replied

just buy off Charles tyrwhitt- will be far better value and quality then most of what you will find in and Irish high street menswear place

edit-might not work for tomorrow but seriously unless you need something premium that’s the way to go
    Last edited by MysteryGuest; 15-02-23, 15:51.

Leave a comment:

• coillcam
    replied

Yeah, probably the crack of dawn too, hope he gets 4 rounds in.
    It's all about the ankle/foot holding up. He was cruising 170-180 mph ball speed anytime he's played since the accident. I assume this is all a test of his condition and pretext to having a decent tilt at the masters in 8 weeks time.

Hopefully Lowry gets the finger out and gels with the new caddy (I know the worked together before briefly). He was playing great stuff save for the couple of blowups in UAE. Putting could improve but he's always been streaky. The 6 inches between the ears are so important.

Leave a comment:

• 6starpool
    replied

Nearly never make it myself - The above sounds fantastic!
    This is roughly a more recent model of the one I have.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Panasonic-S...ps%2C58&sr=8-5

I'm guessing most of them will have similar outcomes and many are cheaper than that model, but the one I use is very simple as long as you remember to add the yeast (which is something I have forgotten a few times sadly). Breadmaker bowl on a digital scale, then just add the ingredients, set your timer (unless you want it to start straightaway) and turn on. That's it, no mixing, kneading or anything, the machine does it all . I set it at 10 or 11 the night before when I want bread. There are loads of different types of breads that it can mix and make, there are loads of different doughs (that it doesn't bake) like dough for baguettes, pizza, scones, etc. It adds the yeast at the right time itself, and there is tray for fruit/nuts for the recipes that need them too that it adds at the right time. I don't use as many of the functions that I probably intended to use, but I get loads of use out of it.

Leave a comment:

• Dice75
    replied

All the Twitter chat seems to be that he's looking way smoother than last year. Bloody freezing there which I doubt is ideal for him.
    Yeah, probably the crack of dawn too, hope he gets 4 rounds in.

Leave a comment:

• Lao Lao
    replied

Although I am going on a bread making course in March - It's just a one course so will probably just cover the basics so the above may change

Leave a comment:

• Lao Lao
    replied

Do you make bread? I got a breadmaker a couple of years ago and it's great, use it around 3-4 times a week (loaf every second/third day and for pizza dough on a Friday) and it's my most used purchase of the last few years. Fresh bread waiting at 8am (or whenever) on a morning.

Nearly never make it myself - The above sounds fantastic!

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied
    Considered a bread maker a while back but never pulled the trigger. Is there much difference between the models? Would get the Sage one to match the other stuff in the kitchen but €299 seems like it has a lot of idiot tax built in.

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied
    Cousin over at the Riv with Lowry, just sent me a video of Woods on his practice round. Apart from not being jealous at all he still looks quare stiff.
    All the Twitter chat seems to be that he's looking way smoother than last year. Bloody freezing there which I doubt is ideal for him.

Leave a comment:

replied

Of course! Take everything out of the packaging and leave them for the minimum wage kids to clear up, they love those activities.
    I get that you are implying I shouldn't do this. But then how do I know if the shirt fits me. Like I could just buy it on amazon if its like that. I don't buy shirts very often, excuse my ignorance. Minimum wage is actually reasonably decent now btw.

Leave a comment:

• Dice75
    replied
    Cousin over at the Riv with Lowry, just sent me a video of Woods on his practice round. Apart from not being jealous at all he still looks quare stiff.

Leave a comment:

• 6starpool
    replied

Of course! Take everything out of the packaging and leave them for the minimum wage kids to clear up, they love those activities.

Leave a comment:

• Theresa
    replied
    Full Swing entire series been released today on Netflix.

I am legit going to binge watch all of it today.

Leave a comment:

replied

Leave a comment:

replied
    and whats with shops that don't have a bread slicing machine. are we fucking animals?

Leave a comment:

replied
    6slicedpans

Leave a comment:

• 6starpool
    replied

Bread is the greatest thing ever and toasted bread comes a very close second.
    Do you make bread? I got a breadmaker a couple of years ago and it's great, use it around 3-4 times a week (loaf every second/third day and for pizza dough on a Friday) and it's my most used purchase of the last few years. Fresh bread waiting at 8am (or whenever) on a morning.

Leave a comment:

• Micknail
    replied

Not if you weigh 6 stone
    Icky tells me blaaaas aren't really bread

Leave a comment:

replied
    Has anyone gotten early access to Bing? I got put on the waitlist ages back but no sign of access. It is using GPT4. It seems like they have just let it fire ahead as it wants and are course-correcting on the fly as it goes. Some of the conversations it is having with users are wild

Microsoft’s ChatGPT-powered Bing is getting ‘unhinged’ and argumentative, some users say: It ‘feels sad and scared’

Bing Chat sending love messages and acting weird out of nowhere

Bing AI chat got offended and ended the conversation because I didn’t respect it’s “identity”

Love it. Its acting like a real human so, if my WhatsApp messaging is anything to go by. I'm subscribed to the premium version of ChatGPT and it seems to have an updated model also. Although probably not GPT4.

Leave a comment:

replied

I presume you mean the FitFood meals from this company? They are now also sold in Dunnes, Tesco, and SuperValu. I think they are just a butchers in Dublin that gave the healthy ready-meal market a go with huge success. Tonnes of companies have tried a similar kind of thing in the past but they have mainly done the meals through monthly orders which were/are very expensive. They have been able to break into mainstream shops and now seem massive in Ireland.

Edit - I am thinking of Lidl which does the Fitfoods, looks like Aldi has their own brand with the same kind of idea.
    Thats the exact one. Yeah, its Lidl I shop in. Don't like Aldi at all tbh.

Leave a comment: