Bad beat/Moaning/Venting thread - Wordle Gummidge
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostOur house hunting journey seems to have finished today with the vendors signing on the dotted line. A somewhat unimaginative journey given that we bought a house we saw on the very first day.
Quite an interesting situation on the close though, which I have to thank my car driving instructor for. The basic situation is that we agreed to pay €610,000 for a bog standard council house measuring a grand total of 80sqm, and everything was going grand until the bank valuer came back and said its not worth a penny over €550,000 - so the mortgage was stuck to that amount.
That left us with a €60,000 hole to fill as we genuinely like the place and the vibe it gives off, despite me dismissing it above as a small run-down council house.
How we did that was first to get the mortgage valuer to increase his valuation. We tried to get him to go half the distance, but he would only reluctantly go up €10,000. And that was just a favour to the broker. €10,000 down and €50,000 to go. We were going to give up and then I decided to give it a last push remembering what my driving instructor said about him and his siblings selling their parents house. He said the broker, when they were selling, had implored him to wait another another month or two before closing and there might be an extra €20,000 in it. He said - well whats €20,000 to me - it will be divided four ways with the rest of the family and what if the sale falls through. Grab the duck in hand not the 20k richer duck in the bush.
And that's what our situation was, approximately. Three siblings selling for their father who had lived there happily since 1959 and was now in assisted living. I sold €30,000 of my precious crypto, narrowing the remaining gap to €20,000, and we went back and said - look we can close tomorrow, everything is ready to sign. The bank has the mortgage ready to pay out. Except that we can't go over €590,000. Really sorry, we'd love to pay you what we initially promised, but we physically can't due to that darned valuer. They came back the next day saying no bother, let's sign. Everyones happy. And I get to write about how I negotiated 20k off a house at the height of the boomiest boom in boomtimes. (leaving unquestioned the idea that maybe we agreed to overpay so much, that even the seller felt sorry for our cluelessness).
Just can't get over 590k for a 80sqm gaff in Deansgrange.Jayzus, Sheila! I forgot me feckin' trousers
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostWhat we need to do in Ireland is everytime there's a news story about a ramshackle building being knocked down for apartments is to personally hand deliver a letter to the journalist who wrote about it saying: fuck off and do some actual journalism. It doesn't matter. We've been made to believe it matters, but it simply doesn't. There's going to be loads more city centre hotels as tourism is maybe 50,000 jobs in Dublin alone, there's going to be hundreds of thousands of more apartments, over the next few decades, as we modernise the city making it capable of handling almost double the population. That's the way it is. We fit the city around who we are now, not who we were in the past. The fabric of the city will change. Things will turn into memories.
We do not need more hotels, we have a shit ton of them already.
- 2 likes
-
The wrist was perfect and I knew that going in. It's just a bit knobbly looking (but well within knobbly bone parameters)where the forearm meets hand on the outside edge.He didnt even think the thumb was broken!! I was basically just wanting a referral letter so I could get it treated quicker in ER
On the Crypto dont know if he had to swallow and pay it and hes protecting future earnings. Either way he made a chunk and if be was into Cardano then another chunk.
as for the crypto, he probably just pissed office without paying. No idea who actively they police or chase these guys
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Strewelpeter View PostIf the Cobblestone wasn't a rancid shithole tourist trap it wouldn't be up for replacement by something better.
FFS! it wouldn't make it onto any reasonable persons list of 50 Dublin pubs worth preserving and you can be certain that the overall quality of traditional music in Ireland will increase when the filthy kip is expunged from history."I can’t find anyone who agrees with what I write or think these days, so I guess I must be getting closer to the truth." - Hunter S. Thompson
- 1 like
-
This is a terrible take - People aren't against progress. People are against the cleansing of the city of all cultural centers. We've lost so many venues over the last few years, it absolutely ridiculous. Will the Cobblestone be knocked down, no, but it will be structurally altered, reducing the size of it and changing the character of it. Putting a building that is donkey's years old into a brand new shiny building isn't a good idea. I saw them do it in Singapore with an old Chinese market and the place was just sterile as fuck.
We do not need more hotels, we have a shit ton of them already."I can’t find anyone who agrees with what I write or think these days, so I guess I must be getting closer to the truth." - Hunter S. Thompson
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostOur house hunting journey seems to have finished today with the vendors signing on the dotted line. A somewhat unimaginative journey given that we bought a house we saw on the very first day.
Quite an interesting situation on the close though, which I have to thank my car driving instructor for. The basic situation is that we agreed to pay €610,000 for a bog standard council house measuring a grand total of 80sqm, and everything was going grand until the bank valuer came back and said its not worth a penny over €550,000 - so the mortgage was stuck to that amount.
That left us with a €60,000 hole to fill as we genuinely like the place and the vibe it gives off, despite me dismissing it above as a small run-down council house.
How we did that was first to get the mortgage valuer to increase his valuation. We tried to get him to go half the distance, but he would only reluctantly go up €10,000. And that was just a favour to the broker. €10,000 down and €50,000 to go. We were going to give up and then I decided to give it a last push remembering what my driving instructor said about him and his siblings selling their parents house. He said the broker, when they were selling, had implored him to wait another another month or two before closing and there might be an extra €20,000 in it. He said - well whats €20,000 to me - it will be divided four ways with the rest of the family and what if the sale falls through. Grab the duck in hand not the 20k richer duck in the bush.
And that's what our situation was, approximately. Three siblings selling for their father who had lived there happily since 1959 and was now in assisted living. I sold €30,000 of my precious crypto, narrowing the remaining gap to €20,000, and we went back and said - look we can close tomorrow, everything is ready to sign. The bank has the mortgage ready to pay out. Except that we can't go over €590,000. Really sorry, we'd love to pay you what we initially promised, but we physically can't due to that darned valuer. They came back the next day saying no bother, let's sign. Everyones happy. And I get to write about how I negotiated 20k off a house at the height of the boomiest boom in boomtimes. (leaving unquestioned the idea that maybe we agreed to overpay so much, that even the seller felt sorry for our cluelessness).
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostWhat we need to do in Ireland is everytime there's a news story about a ramshackle building being knocked down for apartments is to personally hand deliver a letter to the journalist who wrote about it saying: fuck off and do some actual journalism. It doesn't matter. We've been made to believe it matters, but it simply doesn't. There's going to be loads more city centre hotels as tourism is maybe 50,000 jobs in Dublin alone, there's going to be hundreds of thousands of more apartments, over the next few decades, as we modernise the city making it capable of handling almost double the population. That's the way it is. We fit the city around who we are now, not who we were in the past. The fabric of the city will change. Things will turn into memories.
The tivoli, andrews lane, Jigsaw, The bernard shaw, Ri Ra, the globe, Jam Park, the pod, the red box, the metropolitan, the belvedere, rogue, hanger to the progress of more hotels in the last few years. Vicar street & merchants arch are other places on the chopping block
I'm sure I'm missing loads more. Whether you personally value them as culturally important, we seem to be in a habit of destroying or replacing large parts of what attracts people to visit Dublin or venues that are important to people living in Dublin in order to house people who visit Dublin for a short time.Last edited by DeadParrot; 07-10-21, 14:55.People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 4 likes
-
It's literally the worst part of the pub being removed. Nothing of value will be lost. Yes there is a pattern of cultural hubs being replaced by sterile, modren buildings. This is not one of them.
.People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Tar.Aldarion View PostCongrats! Is that the one you wanted to renovate/expand? Thought it was ~100m^2. A friend sent me a house in Stoneybatter that put up a for sale sign the other day, they put up a sold sign the next day haha."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 1 like
-
the firestick is IN the tv and I'm paying for the TV on tick?
This futuristic model of renting tvs is inspiring
Now the yearly call to get a better deal can be answer with, ok we'll be around monday to pick up the tv.People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostThere is a certain type of Roman lady that drops you dead with a Godfather style lightning bolt of pure love and lust. The perfect beauty. Poised and perfect. We've all seen her.
if you want to see her future look at the mother.
-
Off the top of my head, we've lost;
The tivoli, andrews lane, Jigsaw, The bernard shaw, Ri Ra, the globe, Jam Park, the pod, the red box, the metropolitan, the belvedere, rogue, hanger to the progress of more hotels in the last few years. Vicar street & merchants arch are other places on the chopping block
I'm sure I'm missing loads more. Whether you personally value them as culturally important, we seem to be in a habit of destroying or replacing large parts of what attracts people to visit Dublin or venues that are important to people living in Dublin in order to house people who visit Dublin for a short time.
-
1200 users for *B u m p* now, 800 of which are active weekly. Which, in the grand scheme of things, is .01% of what I'd like to get too. But its some going for literally zero marketing, and 5 golf courses using it.
There is a disproportionate amount of women using it....
Way more than the proportion of women playing golf v men.
I figured, hey maybe women are just smarted and more patient about getting tee times.
nope.
It's because it sits amongst all the pregnancy apps.
I used to make fun of devs for naming things horrendously. Looks who's laughing now.
- 11 likes
-
But what you are describing there is just a bit of history progressing as to specific location. I would wager that there's far more concerts happening now (covid effects aside) than happened in e.g. these venues heyday of the early 2000s. So it's not stopping the flow of concerts. We're just changing the location. Culture isn't actually being destroyed.
'Cause Dublin keeps on changing and nothing seems the same.
The tivoli and the Pod have gone, the Cobblestone long since pulled down
As a hundred thousand hotels makes a theme park of my Town.People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 5 likes
-
But what you are describing there is just a bit of history progressing as to specific location. I would wager that there's far more concerts happening now (covid effects aside) than happened in e.g. these venues heyday of the early 2000s. So it's not stopping the flow of concerts. We're just changing the location. Culture isn't actually being destroyed.
- 1 like
-
It's literally the worst part of the pub being removed. Nothing of value will be lost. Yes there is a pattern of cultural hubs being replaced by sterile, modren buildings. This is not one of them.
The market and pricing indicate the exact opposite of this is true.
The back room is the gig venue. It'll only be left with the front bar which is used for sessions and can fit what, 50 max?
Upstairs will also be gone which held music and Irish classes.
If this goes ahead as planned, it will become a hotel lobby bar and will have all the character, soul and atmosphere of one too.
- 1 like
-
The years have made me bitter, the gargle dims me brain
'Cause Dublin keeps on changing and nothing seems the same.
The tivoli and the Pod have gone, the Cobblestone long since pulled down
As a hundred thousand hotels makes a theme park of my Town."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Originally posted by Strewelpeter View PostIf the Cobblestone wasn't a rancid shithole tourist trap it wouldn't be up for replacement by something better.
FFS! it wouldn't make it onto any reasonable persons list of 50 Dublin pubs worth preserving and you can be certain that the overall quality of traditional music in Ireland will increase when the filthy kip is expunged from history.
Give us your top 50 Dublin pubs there worth preserving?
Your beloved Lankum think very differently about The Cobblestone...
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Lao Lao View PostYour beloved Lankum think very differently about The Cobblestone...
For me it was 1996, and I only used it as an early house. Doubt I was ever in it past 11am. Tried going in October 2019 and it wasn't even open at 4pm.Gone full 'Glinner' since June 2022.
- 1 like
-
Got some Njuda. Spread it on some rice cakes. It was fine. Then I sprinkled some Henderson's Relish on it and it was fucking whopper. Unbelievable combo."I can’t find anyone who agrees with what I write or think these days, so I guess I must be getting closer to the truth." - Hunter S. Thompson
-
It reminds me of the JJ Smyths debate. When was the last time anyone was actually there?
For me it was 1996, and I only used it as an early house. Doubt I was ever in it past 11am. Tried going in October 2019 and it wasn't even open at 4pm.
The Sunday afternoon session upstairs was phenomenal.I hold silver in tit for tat, and I love you for that
- 1 like
-
One of the best gigs I've ever been to was in there one Sunday afternoon. My first time there.
A band called Raindogs. The lead singer was a rough looking Dublin oul lad, sinking pints and growling out his take on Astral Weeks.
Sitting there drinking Budvar by candlelight in the middle of the afternoon.
We stumbled upon it too.
- 2 likes
-
It reminds me of the JJ Smyths debate. When was the last time anyone was actually there?
For me it was 1996, and I only used it as an early house. Doubt I was ever in it past 11am. Tried going in October 2019 and it wasn't even open at 4pm.
Mate lived in Smithfield so it was always a good option. I do remember getting a few funny looks early one Sunday afternoon, before the music session started for the day, when four of us pulled out two chess boards and started playing a few games while sinking pints.
I'd have no problem stating that Trad music isn't my number 1 go to genre but I've had some great nights at Trad sessions and The Cobblestone is a huge focal point & hub for that element of culture. I don't think we can just stick up for/fight for one element that we like the most, we need to fight for it all as otherwise, it'll only be a heap of sterile shite in the city.
- 2 likes
-
I think the real culture of Dublin is happening on the likes of Capel Street. A street built from the ground up by a ragtag collection of eccentrics and foreigners, and its brilliant as a result. Thats what culture is - as in that's what the current generation of out and abouters are up to. Old places crumble and get mashed up and new places emerge and they are blends of cool new ideas. The lads in Smithfield obv weren't making a bomb if this is the situation - the people had moved on. To Capel Street, or *wherever*. The new culture is kimchi mayo korean bbq chicken, not auld lads thinking they are in the wilds of Kerry in the centre of dublin. Maybe, maybe not."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 1 like
-
If you ever go to a traditional session , the inner circle are the regulars, the supposed best musicians and less so on the outer circles ( normally) a kind of clannish seniority. We had a professional Finnish musician who was visiting with his friend travelling Ireland and taking his squeeze box on tour.
we went to the Cobblestone one night. He unpacked and requested to play . Him and his friend were head and shoulder the supreme musicians in the room. He upped the game and the standard. However , one or two asked him to opt out of one or two tunes. I was mortified. We left . He continued on his tour of Ireland and made great memories. To this day the reaction we got that night sticks in my craw.
- 6 likes
-
Someones on their third glass of vino.
In all seriousness though, it is an amazing city just to chill out in. Been 25 years since I was last here, but with flights only 2.5 hours, seems mad I haven't be going over more often... Plan to remedy that though.
- 4 likes
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostI think the real culture of Dublin is happening on the likes of Capel Street. A street built from the ground up by a ragtag collection of eccentrics and foreigners, and its brilliant as a result. Thats what culture is - as in that's what the current generation of out and abouters are up to. Old places crumble and get mashed up and new places emerge and they are blends of cool new ideas. The lads in Smithfield obv weren't making a bomb if this is the situation - the people had moved on. To Capel Street, or *wherever*. The new culture is kimchi mayo korean bbq chicken, not auld lads thinking they are in the wilds of Kerry in the centre of dublin. Maybe, maybe not.
I meant tradition .Last edited by Solksjaer!; 08-10-21, 09:54.
- 5 likes
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostI would wager that there's far more concerts happening now (covid effects aside) than happened in e.g. these venues heyday of the early 2000s. So it's not stopping the flow of concerts. We're just changing the location. Culture isn't actually being destroyed.
Places change. I get that. Musical trends change too and venues fall in and out of fashion as promoters move on, management want to maximise profit and change use etc... Places get developed and that's generally ok too. I agree that creative people usually find a way to keep the music and arts alive.
But what's happening now is different and there's a palpable anger and fear at the destruction of genuinely valuable cultural spaces, especially places with "character" (whether it fits with SPs version or not).
There's no doubt that corporate cultural appropriators like Press Up (buy up a bar, tip out the 'locals',rip its insides out, take the insides from another bar and shoehorn that in then and sell it back to tourists as authentic - JJ Smyths being the perfect example, or John's Haberdashery or any of a dozen others in the city centre in recent time), lifestyle aparthotel developers, and small picture, planning jobsworth don't care and don't get it.
Yes there may still be gigs to go to but not everyone wants to go and see Garth Brooks at e150 a ticket or be virtually strip search on the way into the The Point.
Not much culture or authenticity in any of that if you ask me and many others huddling on the edge of a rapidly evaporating landscape of basements and backrooms where we largely (and happily) entertain ourselves free from the gaze of the normies who'll never get unless they see a buck to be made.
- 10 likes
-
I remember comparing NFT's to star naming registries here some time ago, this guy gets it:
Also GL with getting out of this solvent
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/featu...&sref=qpbhckVU
Last edited by Strewelpeter; 07-10-21, 21:01.Turning millions into thousands
- 2 likes
-
I'd have Jazz<<<<<Trad<<<<<Baroque. Don't get to experience much live ever.
That's me at the back on the left obvs"I can’t find anyone who agrees with what I write or think these days, so I guess I must be getting closer to the truth." - Hunter S. Thompson
- 8 likes
-
Sorry m8 am gluten intolerant tha knows
Savory treat. Rice cakes. Anchovies. Pesto.
Sweet treat. Rice cakes and lashings of honey.
They were made for whacking on a fried egg with some, greens and a nice sauce or salsa.
- 1 like
-
Ethan Hawke has made some great movies. I love the Before Trilogy, Training Day and Boyhood.
Anyway seeing as Jazz popped up, why not give his Chet Baker biopic Born to Be Blue a spin. You don't have to be a Jazz aficionado to enjoy.
Sure while we are at it the Ken Burns Jazz documentary is well worth the watch.
- 2 likes
-
We did some Baroque with the choir in the beforetime m9. Would have invited you if I'd known. Your Monteverdis, your Purcell's. Some serious bangers:Gone full 'Glinner' since June 2022.
- 1 like
-
No offence but Culture isnt so easily defined or dismissed ."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Degag View PostThere is nothing wrong with tradition. In fact it's super important. Odd to not agree IMO."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Originally posted by Degag View PostThere is nothing wrong with tradition. In fact it's super important. Odd to not agree IMO.Gone full 'Glinner' since June 2022.
- 1 like
-
Who's disagreeing with it? Just pointing out that tradition isn't tied to a physical building. And turning a city centre building into something that will actually be used is not a bleedin attack on tradition.We fit the city around who we are now, not who we were in the past. The fabric of the city will change. Things will turn into memories.
I've no connection to this pub- never been in it. Know nothing about it really. Could be a shithole for all i know. Maybe it should be replaced. But there seems to be genuine dismay about it so maybe it's the wrong decision?
-
I'd have Jazz<<<<<Trad<<<<<Baroque. Don't get to experience much live ever.
Not sure what happened when I tried replying last time.
I grew up with Jazz. My Dad was a huge into it and we'd regularly head somewhere on a Sunday afternoon to listen to a band. I bizarrely remember that the airport hotel nearly always had a jazz band on a Sunday. I've always loved it since, but don't get to experience it live. Must try to route out some good live sessions.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostI think the real culture of Dublin is happening on the likes of Capel Street. A street built from the ground up by a ragtag collection of eccentrics and foreigners, and its brilliant as a result. Thats what culture is - as in that's what the current generation of out and abouters are up to. Old places crumble and get mashed up and new places emerge and they are blends of cool new ideas. The lads in Smithfield obv weren't making a bomb if this is the situation - the people had moved on. To Capel Street, or *wherever*. The new culture is kimchi mayo korean bbq chicken, not auld lads thinking they are in the wilds of Kerry in the centre of dublin. Maybe, maybe not.
You also get that lots of different types of culture can exist at the same time and that if anything, they help to support and breath life into each other, right?
How many of those ragtag eccentrics and foreigners on Capel St do you reckon own their own premises. What happens when the landlord discovers a more profitable trick and turfs them out regardless of whether people have 'moved on' or not?
The lads in Smithfield, i.e. The Cobblestone, don't own the building. The pub is operated by Tom Mulligan but the building is owned by Peter Marron of Marron Estates Ltd. The planning application is being made by the building owners as they feel that a hotel will make them more cash and obviously don't give a fuck about anything else.
Hotels aren't culture.
-
Insanely good theatrical experience this evening. To back up the shit one from last week.
Eight audience members sent down to the Pump House in Dublin Port. Then divided into two groups of four. Followed by a performance that took place around, and occasionally on top of, we audience members as we were whisked through various indoor and outdoor locations while the script unfolded. The actors included us in the play, both physically and emotionally. I volunteered myself to be shot at one stage.
The play is The Book of Names. Still buzzing after quite a few post-show sharpeners.100% strongly recommend.
- 6 likes
-
You do know that there are many forms of culture - food, music, film, theatre, literature, etc, etc?
You also get that lots of different types of culture can exist at the same time and that if anything, they help to support and breath life into each other, right?
How many of those ragtag eccentrics and foreigners on Capel St do you reckon own their own premises. What happens when the landlord discovers a more profitable trick and turfs them out regardless of whether people have 'moved on' or not?
The lads in Smithfield, i.e. The Cobblestone, don't own the building. The pub is operated by Tom Mulligan but the building is owned by Peter Marron of Marron Estates Ltd. The planning application is being made by the building owners as they feel that a hotel will make them more cash and obviously don't give a fuck about anything else.
Hotels aren't culture.
I'm sure none of us would want to look at another sector and declare their jobs, being created out of largely a set of buildings that are derelict, as disposable.
And the whole point about a fluid city culture is that it keeps on moving around, adapting and flowing into new forms. Maybe premise insecurity is a good thing. The people who own their own premises are Costa and Weatherspoons. Maybe new forms of culture are meant to be precarious. If you can't handle change get out of the city perhaps. I'd say Dingle is wonderfully consistent."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostInsanely good theatrical experience this evening. To back up the shit one from last week.
Eight audience members sent down to the Pump House in Dublin Port. Then divided into two groups of four. Followed by a performance that took place around, and occasionally on top of, we audience members as we were whisked through various indoor and outdoor locations while the script unfolded. The actors included us in the play, both physically and emotionally. I volunteered myself to be shot at one stage.
The play is The Book of Names. Still buzzing after quite a few post-show sharpeners.100% strongly recommend.
And I won't lessen your experience by noting that you managed to have a cultural experience without any premises at all, and most certainly didn't need to rely on a dastardly Finland-hating establishment."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil