Best use of 'Astral Weeks' in a movie soundtrack ever? BennyHiFi might be able to remember other ones
    Looking forward to seeing it now. Nearly bought the original The Sopranos cassette the other day. Was only a tenner. Hmmmm... might have to go back and get it.

Gig tickets have been steadily rising for a while now and €100 yo yo's is pretty standard for an established band now. And will probably continue to rise. Elton John is charging a minimum of something like €160 to stand at the back of a field in Cork to see him.

Don't know a whole lot about Tool ( have a couple songs on a couple playlists) but they are a big band with a huge following while still being rather niche.
      Yeah I suppose. Hadn't factored 'arena' into it. Most of my gigs are in the 15-40e euro bracket. Probably 50-500 people.

I could count on one hand the number of arena-sized shows I've been to in the last decade. I've no problem paying an artist for a show but big is not usually better in my world.

Just bought tickets to see The Orb for e30 on a cold Tuesday night in November - small crowd, big sound system and maybe some interplanetary mid-week head swirlies!

A Perfect Circle > Tool

I thought it was amazeballs. Only downside was leaving the cinema wanting to buy a pack of cigarettes and use the n word.
          I blew my first post Covid cinema outing on The Green Knight. Boy was that a big mistake. I can do surrealism, but not jumbled incoherent nonsense.

I'm off to the Civic tonight to see Heart of a Dog, based on a Russian novella, about the experiences of a dog turned into a human by a scientist. Saw a read through of the first scene or act a few years ago and it was good.

Don't fancy yours much.
            Bulgakov? Of Master and the Margarita fame. Loved that book when I read it recently (Heart of a Dog).

Any recommendations for a decent wallet? Or cardholder i guess these days.

I blew my first post Covid cinema outing on The Green Knight. Boy was that a big mistake. I can do surrealism, but not jumbled incoherent nonsense.
                Try being a United fan .

FFS.

That's what happens when you ask an environmental consultant to book something.
                  Fuck me. Top two in 'worst plays ever'.

Still not recovered after several recuperative libations in Mulligans.

Bored out of your tree?

got up at 5am to get some petrol today. ah the joys of living in the UK!!!

Bored out of your tree?
                        There wasn't even that much mention of trees. The actors didn't really play any parts bar having some very boring conversations with themselves, about uneventful shit that had happened in their lives. The desultory claps at the end were very much of the sympathy variety and most people just got the fuck outta there as fast as they could.

I think it was meant to be some meditation on the timelessness of nature and our own insignificance, but it just didn't work at all. I'm not kidding when I say my daughter and her friends could put on a better show (and we're talking the younger daughter here).

got up at 5am to get some petrol today. ah the joys of living in the UK!!!
                          Could be worse, at least you don’t have trucks drivers also draining the pumps on you.

Petrol for a car?

plebs

Thats surely the problem right there - living in London and driving a car around.

So Tar if I had to start with a Tool album which one would you recommend? (100e a ticket? Seriously? For what exactly?)
                                For the best musical experience around They are my favourite band, flew to Lisbon to see them 2 years ago, amazing.
                                'Everyone will have different opinions, because the albums all have different vibes and people enjoy them in different orders.

Here is an easy break down (that is subjective, and largely my own interpretation. Grain of salt needed). Choose what you think you'd enjoy most and perhaps start there.

Opiate: Earliest work. Very rough around the edges, and not a good point of entry. It's good, of course, but not where you should begin in my opinion. The theme mostly centers around resentment toward religion and ideology.

Undertow: The first major release, recorded at Sound City (a legendary studio if you aren't familiar). Not as musically complex as later works, which has a lot to do with having the original bass player on this album. He was replaced with our beloved Justin, who really did bring a new dimension to the music. This album focuses on pain, abuse, anger, and sort of wallowing in the muck of it all. It's about acknowledging issues and bringing them to the surface. Notable tracks are Bottom, 4 degrees, and Prison Sex. There is an incredible duet between Maynard and Henry Rollins in Bottom.

Aenima: From this point forward, Tool has really developed and favorite albums can range from any of these going forward for most people. Their talent in Aenima on, musically, is (arguably) unmatched in their own way. Aenima is about purging the inner demons brought up in Undertow, and then some. It's full of Jungian psychology and acknowledging the need for inner growth. Songs like Pushit, Jimmy, H, and 46+2 specifically tackle these issues beautifully. They are some of Tool's best work (again, in my opinion). This album is absolutely a prime starting point, and my recommendation.

Lateralus: The spiritual album. This is after the inner work, and the realizations that came of it. This is the awakening. Songs like Lateralus, the Grudge, Parabola - just incredible masterpieces. Most fans that I've spoken to consider this their greatest album and work to date. I can't say I disagree. This entire album is a masterpiece.

10,000 Days: The album of reflection and healing, and the most mature of the albums. Incorporating all of what the others went through, which are direct reflections of Maynard's journey and mental state. That's why he hides on stage. He has said that he is only 1 of 4 instruments, and not a focal point or a front man in the traditional sense, but also that these songs are incredibly personal and raw for him. They are not frivolous. They're personal. Through his albums, we've watched him evolve, grow, and heal, and he helped many of us to do it alongside him through interpreting of the songs in a way that works for you. a TOOL for your own growth, if you will.

Notable songs on 10,000 Days (a reference to how long his mother suffered in her condition following an aneurysm that occurred when he was 11 years old - also referenced in a handful of other songs, like Jimmy, "Judith" by A Perfect Circle, etc.) are Wings for Marie 1+2 (listen to them back to back as it's intended), Reflection, Rosetta Stoned, and Vicarious.

Salival is a live album, with some variation on past songs. Notably, Pushit is amazing on this short, live album. Not a good starting point, but Tool porn for fans.'
                                Fear Inoculum is their new album, acquired taste, maybe not the place to start but might be your favourite album at a guess.
                                Aenima/lateralus and 10,000 days might be a good start.
                                Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 30-09-21, 09:55.

A Perfect Circle > Tool
                                  Seen them a few times, love them, even went on a first date to one, adore them, but still nowhere near as good to me.

Thats surely the problem right there - living in London and driving a car around.
                                    we use it on the weekends only. me mainly for golf, but also doing the shopping, running errands etc (itwas essential when the kids were smaller and you had to get them to their sports/parties...). We still have the same car we had in Ireland, and good chance we won't get a new one when this one's decided it's had enough.

Main miles are done in the summer though when we drive over to France and do a few thousand miles at a time.

Just trying to put you on edge shrap

Very remiss of rounders not to be on with the latest updates on the Monk's extradition and SCC hearing. Poor show.

Just trying to put you on edge shrap
                                          How is your own foray into the world of car ownership going?

Great! Its a very nice car and loving the newfound freedom of choice. I'd imagine it gets old soon as you don't see many drivers sitting in their cars with a look on their face of 'I can't believe I'm driving a car' - which is my current look for driving, every single time.

Drove a model 3 yesterday. Only a short spin for a few km down a rural regional road. Good craic using the self drive mode. The acceleration is ridiculous and it was very comfy. Can't imagine what a model S/X is like when you floor it.

guy at my golf club got a bit drunk the other day. He'd got dropped off on the way in, but to get home he pinged his Tesla, which self drove all the way out to the golf course, picked him up and drove him home. highly illegal still but it works great

Whatever about the drink driving bit, is the bolded piece legal?

Technically this is obviously possible, but are you allowed to unleash an empty self-driving vehicle onto public roads?

That is illegal. Even manufacturers couldn't test on public roads here until recently.

Yeah, I was reading that thinking 'he is potentially way more fucked for that than the drink driving'

Illegal or not it’s great that the tech can do it.

I had presumed that the option to do it would be disabled.

Illegal or not it’s great that the tech can do it.

I had presumed that the option to do it would be disabled.
                                                          This is going to upset PSV no end

I think Shrapnel has been spun a line, Teslas are not able to fully self drive yet they are quite a bit away from being able to do so

Whatever about the drink driving bit, is the bolded piece legal?

Technically this is obviously possible, but are you allowed to unleash an empty self-driving vehicle onto public roads?
                                                              he didn't drink drive. his car drove to pick him up and then drove him home.

it's completely illegal and he can get in serious trouble doing it but the functionality is there

I think Shrapnel has been spun a line, Teslas are not able to fully self drive yet they are quite a bit away from being able to do so
                                                                rubbish. the future is now

Wow. I didn't think that was currently possible. Thought it was a disabled feature.

Fucking awesome though.

Wow. I didn't think that was currently possible. Thought it was a disabled feature.
                                                                      It is disabled, you have to have hands on the wheel, some people have managed to override it but involves sequence of steps which include having a weight hanging of wheel. The reason it’s disabled is because it’s not safe so if this guy did manage to do this he’s a reckless dickhead

Answers to PSV… WELCOME BACK, or as you would say… why are contributing to the data centre crisis by wasting out time on this

shrapnel either you or him is on the windup. There is smart summon mode. This can retrieve the car if you are close by. It's limited to 200ft proximity and the speed is very slow. So there's pretty much a 100% chance of shenanigans in this case.

It is disabled, you have to have hands on the wheel, some people have managed to override it but involves sequence of steps which include having a weight hanging of wheel. The reason it’s disabled is because it’s not safe so if this guy did manage to do this he’s a reckless dickhead
                                                                            I wasn't there, i'd already left but plenty of people i know saw him do it and watched the car arrive. he only lives a mile away from the club

shrapnel either you or him is on the windup. There is smart summon mode. This can retrieve the car if you are close by. It's limited to 200ft proximity and the speed is very slow. So there's pretty much a 100% chance of shenanigans in this case.
                                                                              definitely not me on a wind up. As i said, plenty of people saw the car arrive so maybe the car was parked outside the club and he used that (or the range is a little more than advertised as he lives within a mile of the club). no idea tbh. he's genuinely not a wind up merchant
                                                                              Last edited by shrapnel; 30-09-21, 12:39.

he didn't drink drive. his car drove to pick him up and then drove him home.

it's completely illegal and he can get in serious trouble doing it but the functionality is there
                                                                                He did drink drive on the way how. If was stopped and breathalyzed he would have been prosecuted.

Calling BS on the story in any case. Urban legend type stuff. At first the car drove "all the way out the golf course". By the end you didn't actually witness it and it was only a mile.

Cnut should have walked home if it was only a mile.

Lazy bollix should have walked.

Can we all not just agree that everybody in Shrap's golf club was shitfaced?

As an aside truly self driving cars are decades away, that’s the verdict of any sober analysis out there.
                                                                                      mad how badly people want to believe Elon musks self serving bullshit and actually believe we are just on the cusp of it.

He did drink drive on the way how. If was stopped and breathalyzed he would have been prosecuted.

Calling BS on the story in any case. Urban legend type stuff. At first the car drove "all the way out the golf course". By the end you didn't actually witness it and it was only a mile.

Cnut should have walked home if it was only a mile.
                                                                                        did i ever say i'd witnessed it? it was a fun story i heard which i believed, so thought i'd share.

BTW, these 2 statements "the car drove all the way out the golf course, and "it was only a mile" are not mutually exclusive.

Also just saw that a new series if Dexter is out early november

Can we all not just agree that everybody in Shrap's golf club was shitfaced?
                                                                                            Or just teasing the foreign lad.

They'll be sending him for a sky hook next.

The "auto pilot" isn't even safe with people in the driver seat.

Try being a United fan .
                                                                                                What are your thoughts on the squad/how things are going this season?

I've always been very much in the Ole camp and want him to be given a proper chance at it and to succeed but I have to admit, I'm starting to wane a bit. I'm not part of the #OleOut brigade but recent performances has me worried, not necessarily the results but more the performances.

For the talent in the squad, we don't seem to be clicking right. I thought that the tactics when we went a man down to Young Boys was wrong and cost us the game. The win in the league over West Ham wasn't great (I know West Ham are a decent outfit and in good form, but we still should be able to beat them easier than we did) and the way the players celebrated after the game was like we'd just won the league, just didn't sit right with me for some reason.

The loss to West Ham in the mickey mouse cup was also bad, there was no young players playing (U21's) - Everybody was 2nd choice so they should have been busting their gut to fight for a place in the starting 11 for the next premiership game - It would suggest that we have a very shallow squad in terms of talent but the players picked should be a lot more capable.

The loss to Villa was woeful - Regardless of what's going on, Utd should be comfortably beating these lads at home and away.

And then last night, while it was great to see us come back, I can't help but feel that the win slightly papers over some cracks?

All that said, it's very early days - We're only six games in and we're joint second in the league, we still have knockout CL in our own hands, two wins at home and a point away from the two other games should see us through.

I hope I'm wrong and maybe the squad is just adjusting to the new additions but I just can't help feel like something isn't quite right at the minute.

Or just teasing the foreign lad.

They'll be sending him for a sky hook next.
                                                                                                  My favourite is from years ago when I was a lounge boy and the bar staff wound up the new hire (also a lounge boy) and told him he had to go down to the cellar and shine the kegs as Arthur Guinness was coming in later to inspect them. Poor fucker headed down and made a start on it before everyone cracked up.

Nice to see even the teachers are embarrassed at their unions antics re pandemic bonus.
                                                                                                    civil servants on the other hand…

The "auto pilot" isn't even safe with people in the driver seat.
                                                                                                      All of the physical tech is probably close to being there or already sufficient: cameras, sensors, radar etc. Meanwhile, the software engineering and ai/modelling required is immensely difficult. Especially when it has to decide on something unknown or a the edge of what's known.

It's one thing running autopilot on a large highway with loads of space and clearly defined road markings or boundaries. Try country roads with weird verges, hedges, walls, tractors etc. The owner of where I work won't use the self-drive features. He's had a few occasions of breaks being slammed on randomly while driving. Could only put it down to the car erroneously detecting the ditch or verge as dangerous.

Delicious headline......

The Brexit campaigner said he tried seven petrol stations but was unable to fill up, before having a car crash while sat stationary in his car

What are your thoughts on the squad/how things are going this season?

I've always been very much in the Ole camp and want him to be given a proper chance at it and to succeed but I have to admit, I'm starting to wane a bit. I'm not part of the #OleOut brigade but recent performances has me worried, not necessarily the results but more the performances.

For the talent in the squad, we don't seem to be clicking right. I thought that the tactics when we went a man down to Young Boys was wrong and cost us the game. The win in the league over West Ham wasn't great (I know West Ham are a decent outfit and in good form, but we still should be able to beat them easier than we did) and the way the players celebrated after the game was like we'd just won the league, just didn't sit right with me for some reason.

The loss to West Ham in the mickey mouse cup was also bad, there was no young players playing (U21's) - Everybody was 2nd choice so they should have been busting their gut to fight for a place in the starting 11 for the next premiership game - It would suggest that we have a very shallow squad in terms of talent but the players picked should be a lot more capable.

The loss to Villa was woeful - Regardless of what's going on, Utd should be comfortably beating these lads at home and away.

And then last night, while it was great to see us come back, I can't help but feel that the win slightly papers over some cracks?

All that said, it's very early days - We're only six games in and we're joint second in the league, we still have knockout CL in our own hands, two wins at home and a point away from the two other games should see us through.

I hope I'm wrong and maybe the squad is just adjusting to the new additions but I just can't help feel like something isn't quite right at the minute.

more than slightly.
                                                                                                          The talent that the UTD squad have is immense, it's the coaching that is terrible.
                                                                                                          There seems to be little there bar "get out and play lads"
                                                                                                          Relying on moments of individual magic, penos and the ability of high level professionals to dig you out is a recipe for disaster.
                                                                                                          It's telling they only seem to play when they concede.

My favourite is from years ago when I was a lounge boy and the bar staff wound up the new hire (also a lounge boy) and told him he had to go down to the cellar and shine the kegs as Arthur Guinness was coming in later to inspect them. Poor fucker headed down and made a start on it before everyone cracked up.
                                                                                                            and then go down to the hardware store for stripy paint

They should have had Hitch on.

filedata/fetch?id=1703271&d=1633009448&type=thumb Take me home Kit I'm drunk

LAO LAO .
                                                                                                                  Some random thoughts.
                                                                                                                  Despite his legendary status and his almost guarantee of goals, I wasn’t that mad on Ronaldo coming back. I don’t think Ole is strong enough to handle the personality. Greenwood is suffering a bit. Oles treatment of VDB is criminal ; There is no argument for it. I’m a bit worried by MCfred partnerships reason for being -> TO break up play???? WHY? It’s Newcastle, West Ham Villa etc? . Id slot VDB in midfield and give him a few games when the other 10 starters are decent, not the odd cameo role. OLes interviews disappoint me also - if that’s his thinking, it’s not that of a winner. My big concern is Phelan and Carrick? The whole backroom needs a rehaul. Ole’s big mistake is trying to recapture the ‘Fergie days’ Impossible to recreate that, especially if you are going to pander to the likes of Pogba . Fergie only really pandered to 1 player and it was Cantona. If I was the manager I’d get a proper defensive midfielder , play 3 across the middle and support the attack. The back 4 when fit are decent . Just Weak weak easy to bipass Midfield.

As to the season so far, we seem to be reliant on Pogba too much . He has been bang average and is a luxury player. Cavani showed everyone how to apply yourself and chase down last night. He’s in his 30s. They should show a video of the Cavani appearance last night and ask . WTF are the rest of you doing.

Dettori in the 3.05 at Bellewstown isnt something you'd see too often

Good spot - perfect record at the track now!

Nice price as well
                                                                                                                        bout time u helped us small time punters out Dice
                                                                                                                        u might get the house tiled for nothing yet

Ah, the race was in honour of Barney Curley - who was a mentor to the young Dettori. Makes more sense now than Dettori popping over to Bellewstown on the Thursday before the Arc for a single ride in a handicap!