Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To...View Post
Just booked Kimchi Hophouse today as a coincidence. Was meeting up with a few folks in work next week, two new to the parish, and we were thinking there's no real point going to our workplace, when we could be exploring Dublin's finer establishments. What are the go-to dishes there? I saw something about beef sizzling something.
Ya I booked it myself for Saturday.
The sushi is good but I'm all about the bibimbap or bokkumbap when I'm there. And some dumplings.
The menu is pretty big so I could be missing a trick!
Aren't equal in what respects? Obviously all creatures are both different and similar in many respects in our minds. I would consider killing an elephant worse than killing a bluebottle, but it isn't easy to justify that if you consider that every creature has a right not to be deprived of their own life. I actually think that making those distinctions ties you in an ethical bind as much as not.
Are not equal in the innate value of their existence. The idea that all creatures are equal is flawed.
I don’t see what ethical bind that ties me in. As for example you have agreed that killing an elephant is worse than a bluebottle.
I disagree that every creature has a right to not be deprived of life. At times they do, but I can thing of many examples where we kill animals according to our implied hierarchy. As the quote goes:
“All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others"
So since you feel strongly about it. Questions of suffering of methods aside, immediate kill, why is it worse to deprive a more complex creature their one and only life than a less complex one? And does this mean one should get less jail time for murdering a miserable idiot?
Where did I mention complexity? I don’t see how that’s a factor really.
A rat and and elephant are more or less equally complex, yet a shooting an elephant is seen as much worse as catching a rodent in a trap.
Some microscopic fleas are many times genetically complex than humans, but we barely acknowledge their existence let alone value them above humans.
Not sure how a miserable idiot could be worth less?
Maybe by complexity you meant intelligence. But that also falls apart. Octopuses are probably my the most intelligent creatures other than humans. Yet, they aren’t as protected or revered in the way seals, dolphins, and whales are.
Ive seen you mention the vaccine boosters a few times now?
What is it about them that you think is objectionable?
I find it amazing being honest that people willingly accept that we have to keep getting injected with an experimental vaccine. I got my two jabs pzizer not been sick since 2003 had a viral thing roaring temp missed the Christmas dinner. How many boosters are needed any other vaccine is a one off finito. If I don’t get a booster do I then get relegated into the division of unvaccinated. The abortion lobbyists were hooping abs Hollering when it became lawful to suck and scrape a living healthy human out of a woman her body her choice they said. People who choose not to get the vaccine because of scientific evidence of adverse reactions which get very little publicity yet an unvaccinated mother who died after giving birth is plastered over every paper every social media outlet with her husband to get jabbed. Think people jabbing there kids and boasting about it are a disgrace. Very little harm to children studies science has shown. Vaccine reactions are a thing bit of heart inflammation. The goalposts narrative keeps changing like how exactly are deaths from covid reported ? I have friends who work in hospitals not the janitors who have great stories afraid to speak publicly or they will be out of a job. The mental damage this has done is huge have some friends wives and partners afraid to leave the house full on brainwashed complient will do anything that is advised keep jabbing me till I’m a pin cushion fuck off.
exactly these types of comments I would want to have to avoid on a daily basis.
If someone doesn’t want the jab but keeps that to themselves then fair enough - they tend to be very vocal about their reasons and fairly relentless on educating you.
Obv just based on the 2 people who I have told my wife that I am not going to meet up with again and she is on her own if she wants to go to meet them again.
Wasted a Saturday afternoon getting lectured about a vaccine I have already taken anyway and the guy isn’t even a good bbq cook and we had the kids and the car so didn’t even have a beer to dull the pain.
This experience may have biased my opinion.
Could the wife not drive there’s two sides both as boring as each other. Both sides tend to think they know it all when both sides clearly do not. People who have been jabbed can have a smugness abs oh you can still get Covid but won’t be as sick spoken like they are a world authority on the bloody thing. It’s been in our faces 18 months now bombarded so people have strong opinions it’s not a great topic to discuss. Hitting Connemara family have a holiday home last of the good weather fishing as the sun rises pillage a few lobster
Could the wife not drive there’s two sides both as boring as each other. Both sides tend to think they know it all when both sides clearly do not. People who have been jabbed can have a smugness abs oh you can still get Covid but won’t be as sick spoken like they are a world authority on the bloody thing. It’s been in our faces 18 months now bombarded so people have strong opinions it’s not a great topic to discuss. Hitting Connemara family have a holiday home last of the good weather fishing as the sun rises pillage a few lobster pots.
Mellor I was asking about your ethical opinions, not whether people have a hierarchy or not of valuing creatures. They do, and it tells you nothing about the reasons that they do.
Why do you think it's okay to kill some creatures and not others? I'm asking an ethical question, not wondering if you or others do or don't hold that view.
When you say that creatures have different innate values of existence, what does that mean? If the sense of the value of their existence resides in a human mind, then in what way is it innate to the creature itself?
I mentioned complexity as I imagined you might think that the quality of life a more complex being could have would make an ethical difference to depriving them of that life. To quote John Stuart Mill:
It is better to be a human being dissatisfied than a pig satisfied; better to be Socrates dissatisfied than a fool satisfied. And if the fool, or the pig, are a different opinion, it is because they only know their own side of the question
But if you really did just mean that bigger animals are more worthy of living absent their emotional, intellectual, and social complexity then why do you hold that view?
About 80% of the taxi drivers I've had have insisted that I don't need to wear a mask in their car, and in fact they'd prefer if I didn't. They're the few times I've worn one by choice rather than out of politeness.
I was in the fair capital a couple months ago and one particular driver wasn't wearing one. He was coughing, sneezing and spluttering the whole of the (short) journey. He quipped to me, "It's ok, i don't have it"
I didn't say anything, and probably should have and/or exited the vehicle and/or reported him..... but what kind of moron thinks its ok to do that in these times regardless of whether he has "it" or not?
Just on the booster shots thing. I get a flu shot every year, and a tetanus shot every 10 years. If my GP recommends getting this one every 6 months I'll be happy to get that too.
Could the wife not drive there’s two sides both as boring as each other. Both sides tend to think they know it all when both sides clearly do not. People who have been jabbed can have a smugness abs oh you can still get Covid but won’t be as sick spoken like they are a world authority on the bloody thing. It’s been in our faces 18 months now bombarded so people have strong opinions it’s not a great topic to discuss. Hitting Connemara family have a holiday home last of the good weather fishing as the sun rises pillage a few lobster pots.
Your right on it being now the most tedious discussion topic and the sooner it stops being the main story in the media the better.
Long standing unwritten deal with the misses is that whoever the main friend is gets to drink and if it’s a proper 50-50 it’s probably going to selfishly be me.
10000s of thousands at the gates of the airport no screening or security at all. Think Biden has got an easy ride on this one imagine Trump was still president and this was happening he would be called every derogatory name under the sun but sleepy joe is a great lad. I don’t know what they could have done in the eyes of ordinary Americans evough service men and women have been killed or maimed.
Just on the booster shots thing. I get a flu shot every year, and a tetanus shot every 10 years. If my GP recommends getting this one every 6 months I'll be happy to get that too.
Yeah this. Why can't we just trust experts anymore?
Fucking Facebook.
It's a losing battle
ive given up . No point , people have their own precious minds made up
Reminds me of the old time racist Engerlish joke where a PADDY was captured by a tribe in Africa who told him his skin would be used to make a canoe after they'd eaten him . He starts stabbing himself. Nobody's making a canoe out of me.
10000s of thousands at the gates of the airport no screening or security at all. Think Biden has got an easy ride on this one imagine Trump was still president and this was happening he would be called every derogatory name under the sun but sleepy joe is a great lad. I don’t know what they could have done in the eyes of ordinary Americans evough service men and women have been killed or maimed.
The US military are the ones doing the screening.
It's not entirely fair but clearly Biden has to take the political fallout.
It's a losing battle
ive given up . No point , people have their own precious minds made up
Reminds me of the old time racist Engerlish joke where a PADDY was captured by a tribe in Africa who told him his skin would be used to make a canoe after they'd eaten him . He starts stabbing himself. Nobody's making a canoe out of me.
Dont know why either side bothers arguing with the other at this stage. People are going to do what they want to do. Some randomer isnt going to change their minds.
Should be added to the pub banned list alongside Politics and Religion, although plenty will now tell you how to vote aswell.
Dont know why either side bothers arguing with the other at this stage. People are going to do what they want to do. Some randomer isnt going to change their minds.
Should be added to the pub banned list alongside Politics and Religion, although plenty will now tell you how to vote aswell.
I feel that's what happens in too many countries, like the UK, people just letting people be gobshites. While you are often doing a society a favour by questionning them. These people are a fucking virus, they need to be knocked back. Or else they'll keep on growing until they elect a Trump.
Boosters are only for immunity from infection with Delta variant, which appears to wane faster depending on the time between 1st and 2nd doses. Protection against hospitalisation is still steady at ~95% for Pfizer/Moderna/AZ. Given the situation with variants and the 3rd world we'd be mad to waste doses on boosters for anyone who isn't immunocompromised. Best strat right now is to give up on prevention and just let Covid go endemic. This means we're all going to get it, only a matter of time.
GL to those who aren't planning to get vaxed. Reminder of the common symptom list for people who are vaccinated but still got a breakthrough infection:
Runny nose, sneezing
Mild headache
Loss of smell or taste
Mild fatigue
Typically lasting 2-5 days
Compare to common symptom list for unvaccinated:
Fever
Headache
Loss of smell or taste
Fatigue
Aches and pains
Difficulty breathing
Typically lasting 1-3 weeks
~10% of patients experiencing symptoms lasting 6 weeks or more (running definition of long covid)
Contrast with common symptom list for vaccination:
Pain at injection site
Fatigue typically lasting 48 hours (2nd dose)
Happy to correct the above if I've missed anything, can provide citations if anyone wants to be anal about it. Understand I'm mostly preaching to the choir here but if anyone's still on the fence, it seems like a massive no-brainer to me.
Strange first time checking in here in around 10 days as on retreat in the most beautiful and profound place in France.
Literally wrote this a few hours ago. Coincidence.
Anywho, enjoy. Very rough draft.
I have always felt poetry simply presents.
Appearing as a manifestation of the divine, a snap shot of truth whispering in eternity.
Glimpses of Nirvana itself.
This one was different.
It hid.
Disappeared and dissolved.
Transcended its body to become light.
Transparent.
Real Magic.
Just like the mosquito that came to live in my room.
I promised him; if you should ever meet death it shall be when you are fat and old.
And fat he became.
So fat his miraculous mosquito wings could barely carry him.
Sustained by midnight feast after midnight feast.
Undisturbed in his gorging.
Yet, he remained suspicious. Aloof, never to meet me with trust.
He escaped cups and glasses, and all manner of circular objects.
Time itself perhaps.
Until one day I met him,
in the full light of his sentience.
Life force.
He was scared.
That was all.
He had ever reason to be.
Two days later, awaking from somewhere other than the bed of awareness I kissed his cheek in return for 40 pieces of sleep.
Extinguished, just like that.
Returning me to a sleep, I remain desperate to wake up from.
I feel that's what happens in too many countries, like the UK, people just letting people be gobshites. While you are often doing a society a favour by questionning them. These people are a fucking virus, they need to be knocked back. Or else they'll keep on growing until they elect a Trump.
It's not entirely fair but clearly Biden has to take the political fallout.
Oops thought was a kind of free for all. But to get near the crowds that many people packed together a few pounds of explosives would do horrible damage as it has.
Fucking Facebook.
I agree trust every expert no matter what do you blindly trust every builder estate agent solicitor all experts in there chosen fields ? It’s all facebooks fault if people have different opinions on things Jesus all that jogging might be damaging your brain as well as your joints.
Strange first time checking in here in around 10 days as on retreat in the most beautiful and profound place in France.
Appearing as a manifestation of the divine, a snap shot of truth whispering in eternity.
This one was different.
It hid.
Transparent.
Real Magic.
I promised him; if you should ever meet death it shall be when you are fat and old.
And fat he became.
Time itself perhaps.
Until one day I met him,
Life force.
He was scared.
That was all.
Two days later, awaking from somewhere other than the bed of awareness I kissed his cheek in return for 40 pieces of sleep.
That's marvellous.
I agree trust every expert no matter what do you blindly trust every builder estate agent solicitor all experts in there chosen fields ? It’s all facebooks fault if people have different opinions on things Jesus all that jogging might be damaging your brain as well as your joints.
If a builder said I needed an RSJ I wouldn't say no it's my gaff my choice.
You are probably right but the quality of the food there is undeniable TBF.
My current list of places I'll never return to is Fire, that's it, that's the list. A lovely room but the food and service was absolutely shocking. Either they have upped their game massively since I was in or you haven't been to FXB recently. I've never felt robbed leaving a restaurant but paying the bill in Fire left a sting.
I got the steak when I was in and saying its better than FXB is some statement to make. It was so bad I didnt even finish it, i just couldnt wait to get out of there.
My current list of places I'll never return to is Fire, that's it, that's the list. A lovely room but the food and service was absolutely shocking. Either they have upped their game massively since I was in or you haven't been to FXB recently. I've never felt robbed leaving a restaurant but paying the bill in Fire left a sting.
I got the steak when I was in and saying its better than FXB is some statement to make. It was so bad I didnt even finish it, i just couldnt wait to get out of there.
Yeah I feel the same about Fire. Overpriced and service was never good. My Mrs family always seemed to book dinners there for about a 5 year period. Haven’t been in a good few years in fairness but wouldn’t go back now. (So many great places to eat in the city)
I was going for a walk on the beach last night in meditative mood, and was reflecting on the the conversations people were having as they passed. Not the details of them, but just the fact of the seemingly unceasing compulsion people have to talk. Why is this? Is it just an extension of thinking which then turns into talking when with others? It seemed rather ridiculous to me, but then I was in a particularly insufferable meditative space.
You could extrapolate that into writing eg Twitter etc
I am a lover of accents. Some culchie females talk and I just melt. Sarah Mcinearney for example . Not that interested in what they say but love hearing it. I was at a meeting once and the Mayo girls accent had me transfixed. Keep talking girl.
The curse of 'bothsidesism'. e.g. a debate between a normal person and a QAnon adherent. Or the Taliban and the EU.
As you say, sometimes there isn't two equally valid sides and people, especially the media, shouldn't represent that there are. Unfortunately the internet amplifies the nonsense.
Some culchie females talk and I just melt. Sarah Mcinearney for example . Not that interested in what they say but love hearing it.
Really
Asides from her being a pisspoor 'journalist' (above average by the current standards in RTE) her whiney 'I talka da baba talk' voice has me reaching for the magic Lyric FM button everytime.
Originally posted by jbravadoView Post
This one was different.
It hid.
Transparent.
Real Magic.
And fat he became.
Time itself perhaps.
Until one day I met him,
Life force.
He was scared.
That was all.
That's marvellous.
Asides from her being a pisspoor 'journalist' (above average by the current standards in RTE) her whiney 'I talka da baba talk' voice has me reaching for the magic Lyric FM button everytime.
Yep . Really. Nor is she pisspoor. Get offa my cloud
Is there a good accrobranche (I refuse to believe the English translation is 'tree climbing' in English), park in Dublin. Where you climb between trees using what seems like rock climbing equipment.
Make sure you hit up Dogs Bay and Gurteen if the weather is good and/or head to Manin - All lovely spots and the water is a nice temperature at the minute.
Is there a good accrobranche (I refuse to believe the English translation is 'tree climbing' in English), park in Dublin. Where you climb between trees using what seems like rock climbing equipment.
asador on the short list
We got Saba in kildare village not too long ago.
Get a shiny metal Revolut card! And a free tenner! https://revolut.com/referral/jamesb8!G10D21
Asador really is one of the finest restaurants. DP would do well to get a spot there for Saturday i would think!
actually for tonight
Is it that good? I'm way out of the restaurant game. No idea what is a good place or not when one of the current things I look for is plastic glasses for kids
edit:
Sorry, Asador has no booking slots available for your time and number of people, nor within 3 hours either side of your requested time.
lol, snooty responses from a website, felt like it was smirking at my request
Get a shiny metal Revolut card! And a free tenner! https://revolut.com/referral/jamesb8!G10D21
actually for tonight
Is it that good? I'm way out of the restaurant game. No idea what is a good place or not when one of the current things I look for is plastic glasses for kids
It is good (far from Chapter 1 good) but nice setting and good food. Nice outside area too.
Re Saba -this Baggot Street branch is a really nice setting with a good vibe
If I get a better laugh than Hitch posting the kind of pics you see in a Turkish barbers and thinking about how his hair should look this week I'll be doing well. Proper LOL
FX Buckley's on Pembroke St and The Old Spot on Bath Ave aren't a million miles away - Decent boozers close by for a pre/post tipple as well.
Opinions on Matt the thresers?
Have never been (been to both above)
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.