Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To...
View Post
Bad beat/Moaning/Venting thread - Wordle Gummidge
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostWatching some odd show called The Butcher at the moment also. Where amateur butchers compete to be the best butcher. I shit you not. Its an actual show.This too shall pass.
- 1 like
-
Netanyahu is indeed out the door.
Fairly mental that the new PM's party has a mere 7 of the 120 seats in the Knesset. There's hope for Alan Kelly yet."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
The Oysters?People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 1 like
-
The Oysters?
Taking the back and freezing it for stock is an awful idea.
That's a post roast carcasses jobPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
-
https://www.reuters.com/world/russia...us-2021-06-02/
How is that a headline in 2021. It's nuts.
Read Bill Browder's Red Notice. I loved the first half where he documents Hermitage Capital's ascent to success. Some of the early deals in Russia were insane.
The second half read like a waaay too long Eulogy to his mate Sergei Magnetsky. Suppose he had to feel like he was doing him justice. However it did highlight how fucked Navalny is and not looking too good for Protasevich that he's still in custody. Can't see Navalny ever getting out of Jail and the rest of the world hasn't been much help to the other chap so far.
Russia is absolutely fucking mental.
- 1 like
-
Yup.
Taking the back and freezing it for stock is an awful idea.
That's a post roast carcasses job
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Silver-Tiger View Posthttps://www.reuters.com/world/russia...us-2021-06-02/
How is that a headline in 2021. It's nuts.
Read Bill Browder's Red Notice. I loved the first half where he documents Hermitage Capital's ascent to success. Some of the early deals in Russia were insane.
The second half read like a waaay too long Eulogy to his mate Sergei Magnetsky. Suppose he had to feel like he was doing him justice. However it did highlight how fucked Navalny is and not looking too good for Protasevich that he's still in custody. Can't see Navalny ever getting out of Jail and the rest of the world hasn't been much help to the other chap so far.
Russia is absolutely fucking mental.
-
Remember that what triggered this escalation of the campaign against Navalny was not his politicking, but rather that he exposed some of Putin's corruption to the people by detailing the scale of the palace he has built for himself down on the Black Sea.
Since then he's been poisoned with Novichok, thrown in jail for no reason and is now being tortured.
Vlad doesn't like his own image being tarnished."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Lazare View PostHaven't read this yet, but looks good..
download (2).jpeg
required
- 4 likes
-
Originally posted by pokerhand View PostWhat info needed for the self reg for the vaccination? Just email address, phone number and dob? They don't need PSS number?To register online you need:- a mobile phone number
- an email address
- your PPS number – here's how to find your PPS number
- your Eircode – you can find your Eircode here or you can enter your address in the registration system
If you do not have these things, call the COVID-19 helpline to register by phone instead.Gone full 'Glinner' since June 2022.
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Silver-Tiger View PostThe oysters being the "Nicest" part of a chicken is bullshit. I'm not having that. People want that to be true so much.
Even so, fucking it in a bag for stock is a terrible way to do it.People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 1 like
-
They DO need PPS #
All I want is the secret to the KFC gravy. Please send recipe anyone ? And dont get pedantic. I want the real thing.
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostRemember that what triggered this escalation of the campaign against Navalny was not his politicking, but rather that he exposed some of Putin's corruption to the people by detailing the scale of the palace he has built for himself down on the Black Sea.
Since then he's been poisoned with Novichok, thrown in jail for no reason and is now being tortured.
Vlad doesn't like his own image being tarnished.
I think we need to check to see if Hitch is OK.
You posted this almost an hour and a half ago and he hasn't been on yet to defend the Motherland - Must be a record?
- 9 likes
-
Originally posted by pokerhand View PostWhat info needed for the self reg for the vaccination? Just email address, phone number and dob? They don't need PSS number?"I can’t find anyone who agrees with what I write or think these days, so I guess I must be getting closer to the truth." - Hunter S. Thompson
-
You posted this almost an hour and a half ago and he hasn't been on yet to defend the Motherland - Must be a record?
Ha.
I feel we already established that Navalny is a very odd person to support given he is a rather abhorent ethnic nationalist.
I asked the wife to listen to one of his speeches before and she was appalled that there was people like that in Russia, and thought that's why I asked her to listen to the speech. She was speechless when I mentioned that this was who Trump (and Raoul) were pushing as a saviour. Not least because many of her friends there are from the countries that he wants to cleanse Russia of.
He's speaks for a very nasty rural set of Russians who hark back to the days when the USSR was all powerful. Its a horrible ideology. And shows how little the US understood or cared when they express support for him.
The world does not need more racists in power.
Whether Putin is good for Russia is another story.
He has stolen wealth on a scale never before seen. But he has also, quite objectively, vastly improved Russia. For example, he has paid off the national debt and built up a huge capital reserve. That gives a huge amount of flexibility and ability to invest in new ideas. Economically he's probably a minor positive.
On the other hand, he seems to delight in overt killing of enemies. He has raised the profile of the (not very nice) Orthodox Church from the dead with its horrible traditional ideas. Related to that, he has encouraged the prosecution of the gay community. He seems to have broadly been extremely negative in this sense, and that should be the deciding factor.
I'm not sure though how replacing him with a racist is the solution. The problem is that he has suppressed all serious opposition figures, so only the cartoon characters remain. Like Navalny, or previously Kasparov (not a bad person, but with no idea what is happening in Russia).Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 03-06-21, 13:47."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
- 5 likes
-
edit; thar he blows! It's like clockwork really."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostGoing to take a week off next week. Brainfog is a real thing. Shockingly unproductive. Everyone seems to be like it at the moment, wonder if its the weather?
I'm heading West tomorrow for the long weekend and have three days booked in Kinsale for the week after next that will give me a four day weekend.
Cannot wait to switch off and just chill.
- 3 likes
-
not to worry, I'm sure he'll be along shortly to blame the victim with the well-worn Kremlin talking points.
edit; thar he blows! It's like clockwork really.
I'm delighted to accept both are scumbags, you seem stuck on defending the most racist of the two as the amiable hero. This isn't some David vs Goliath story, its George Smiley vs Peter Guillam."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
I feel like you forgot to look up anything about Navalny before promoting him and now pride makes you feel you need to still defend his leadership capabilities.
I'm delighted to accept both are scumbags, you seem stuck on defending the most racist of the two as the amiable hero. This isn't some David vs Goliath story, its George Smiley vs Peter Guillam.
It's not about whatever views he may or may not hold."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostGoing to take a week off next week. Brainfog is a real thing. Shockingly unproductive. Everyone seems to be like it at the moment, wonder if its the weather?
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View Postits George Smiley vs Peter Guillam.
- 1 like
-
I watched the original BBC series of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy in the last week on BBC4. I found it fascinating because while imo it was at no point actually good it was compelling. I found that a very unusual combination and experience."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
I'm actually exactly the same this week, shockingly un (or under) productive.
Luckily I remain razor sharp at all times. Probably responsible for 90% of GDP all by myself."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 4 likes
-
Originally posted by Dice75 View PostDecent match this Andorra game.People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
-
'summer brain' is definitely a thing, especially when working from home.
Luckily I remain razor sharp at all times. Probably responsible for 90% of GDP all by myself.
We're 110% up on last year through to end of May which is fairness wasn't a great year to compare to but also 40% up on 2019 volumes plus we haven't got into the peak shipping period yet for Asian imports, that usually kicks off end of June/start of July.
- 3 likes
-
The sheer volume of freight that we are bringing in is staggering. Vast majority of it is retail, that literally goes on the shelves for a nano second before it sells out.
We're 110% up on last year through to end of May which is fairness wasn't a great year to compare to but also 40% up on 2019 volumes plus we haven't got into the peak shipping period yet for Asian imports, that usually kicks off end of June/start of July.
-
I watched the original BBC series of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy in the last week on BBC4. I found it fascinating because while imo it was at no point actually good it was compelling. I found that a very unusual combination and experience.
-
Originally posted by horatio1 View PostGot the second dose . Mentioned to the nurse that I had trouble sleeping due to a sore arm after the first one. She said to take 2 panadol straight after ( Before if you can) and two every four hours. Got a much better nights sleep last night.Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
-
Heard a nice urban myth yesterday. Get someone to give you several light punches in the arm before getting the shot. It softens up the area for the jab and primes it for repair................. either that or you end up with jab pain plus punch pain
-
I pity the IT staff in the HSE right now. Must be under so much pressure. Hard not to succumb to guilt or being guilt tripped into working crazy hours.
"It completely wiped out over 2,000 systems, which are all having to be rebuilt."Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
-
Whats the economic driver behind that? That this stuff used to land in Belfast and then be driven down? Presumably inherent demand hasn't risen 40%.
People have been buying shite, mainly household stuff, garden furniture, etc to beat the band.
Eventually, when things settle down and people go back to spending on services, a lot of places will still need to top up their stock inventories as they will be so low so this surge will probably go on into Q3 or even Q4.
While we are bad here in Europe, the US is waaaaay worse. They've been spending like there is no tomorrow and it caused complete and utter chaos throughout the entire supply chain as a result.
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Wombatman View PostI pity the IT staff in the HSE right now. Must be under so much pressure. Hard not to succumb to guilt or being guilt tripped into working crazy hours.
https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2021...-cyber-attack/
There's plenty of infastructure firms rubbing their hands I imaginePeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 1 like
-
Speaking of databases, these maps are going to become really important to people as they tentatively plan trips abroad.
Saying "*Data for Sweden and Ireland are not available for week 21, 2021 due to a disruption to the national databases."
https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/covid-...-free-movement
-
The LPT guide valuations from Revenue seem way off in my area, like totally undervalued.
https://lpt.revenue.ie/lpt-web/valua...uide/index.htmHappiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
-
Originally posted by Wombatman View PostThe LPT guide valuations from Revenue seem way off in my area, like totally undervalued.
https://lpt.revenue.ie/lpt-web/valua...uide/index.htm
-
Originally posted by Lazare View PostCan attest to the absolute frenzy in consumer spending on 'do up the house' products.
They let all their part-timers and temp workers go in January after the Xmas rush. January turned out to be even busier as you could do fuck all bar DIY/gardening at home. Was bedlam due to lack of staff apparently.
- 4 likes
-
Originally posted by ComradeCollie View PostAll vacced up in citywest
@HH; still awaiting text and nothing doing on the portal either. From looking at AJ's boards thread, seems to be a similar situation all over de Nortsoide (while my younger brother and sister are being done this weekend in the Aviva, discrimination so it is). We may yet go down to the wire on this."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Lazare View PostCan attest to the absolute frenzy in consumer spending on 'do up the house' products.
We're going to fire out tender docs to a few builders but not expecting much back really in terms of availability. Also braced for cost."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 3 likes
-
We talked to our architect Tuesday and he said demand is insane but also that steel is up 30% and timber 40%.
We're going to fire out tender docs to a few builders but not expecting much back really in terms of availability. Also braced for cost.Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
- 6 likes
-
Madigans Solicitors seem to be handy at the compo claims. Sean, Sean, Sean......
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/irel...shap-1.4583444
- 1 like
-
We talked to our architect Tuesday and he said demand is insane but also that steel is up 30% and timber 40%.
We're going to fire out tender docs to a few builders but not expecting much back really in terms of availability. Also braced for cost.His rival it seems, had broken his dreams,By stealing the girl of his fancy.Her name was Magill, and she called herself Lil,But everyone knew her as Nancy.
- 1 like
-
It's SSIA maturity date for builders all over again."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Same here. Be interesting who get the call 1st if we both regged today.His rival it seems, had broken his dreams,By stealing the girl of his fancy.Her name was Magill, and she called herself Lil,But everyone knew her as Nancy.
- 3 likes
-
We're going to fire out tender docs to a few builders but not expecting much back really in terms of availability. Also braced for cost.
Well I completely BBVd myself as the process has begun for him to no longer be my brother in law and he is no longer our builder.
FU BBV costing me an extra €60k
- 20 likes