Funny when you look back and think how many presidents actually came across as pretty shit communicators:

Bush Senior and Junior, Nixon, LBJ, Ford come to mind.
      You should like Mrs America, it's a very well done look at a specific aspect of the women's movement in the US from the late 60's. Some terrific acting in it.
      The lead character played by gloopy Cate is something else altogether.

If he didn't say 'as Gaeilge' tell him he's a prick. Tell him he's a prick anyway.
        "Sorry mate...I don't speak dead languages, waste of time, especially ones that were written in the 50's and aren't actually traditional in any real sense, personally I think we need to be a bit more outward looking as a small global nation, also...bit racist to the new Irish and all if you ask me"

Would get you a reaction

Might get you in trouble with the Dean but...

Some prick on the work indoctrination (that doesn't seem like the right word?) keeps asking in the Zoom chat 'is that software available in Gaeilge'. Has one of those fake sounding Irish names of someone born in the likes of Kildare to overzealous parents.
          There was a guy who started in a company I worked for who kept asking for all communications to be sent to him in Irish not just internal but from clients too.

It wasn’t even the most annoying thing about him. He didn’t pass probation surprisingly.

Had planned to meet up with HH at the IMMA on the 25th. Going on my tod tomorrow to beat the lockdown
            The art wasn't my bag at all. At least the gardens were nice.

When I was in the office (few mins walk from there) I'd spend a lot of lunches walking around that garden for an hour plus listening to audio books, very nice place.
              There’s a famous war horse buried there along the left wall. His name was Vonolel, was decorated by the Queen and buried with full military honours.
              I think I must have been there 100 times before I noticed it. He had multiple medals, here is the inscription on the tombstone:

There are men both good and wise
              Who hold that in a future state
              Dumb creatures we have cherished here below
              Shall give us joyous greeting when
              We pass the golden gate
              Is it folly that I hope it may be so?
              Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 18-09-20, 13:41.

Reminds me of the joke

WAR HORSE walked into the Bar
                BARMAN : Why the long film?

I see the encouraging idiots strategy has resulted in (minor) assault on the tanaiste. Almost 100% a SF supporter.
                      Can you tell how she votes by the way she ran away?

TikTok banned from the US app store by Trump right after the story of them planning to move 5000 jobs to Dublin yesterday.

Jebus I'd love a proper lockdown. I'm thinking of trying to catch it around December to avoid Christmas dinner. I've only previously avoided it in 1989 in Nicaragua, and 1990 in Berlin. Would love to never have xmas dinner again.
                          Spent the last four Christmases abroad looking forward to this one.

Plenty of footage of idiots attacking people with skateboards in the USA who are armed with glorious consequences. Leo should have security I know it’s quaint that he can walk around but scum bags should not be able to get so close.

I know there's a few Kerry folk in here. Spent a fair bit of the summer down there doing various hikes, beaches etc.

Decided to make the most of this WFH, moving down next week for the year. Up the kingdom!
                              Welcome

I see the encouraging idiots strategy has resulted in (minor) assault on the tanaiste. Almost 100% a SF supporter.
                                Talk me through how an idiot being an idiot is the result of some strategy?

I only loosely think it, but my serious answer for why I think it is:

My thinking is that the likes of SF or other populists, what they do is they encourage simplistic thinking and therefore simplistic solutions. The easiest simplistic thinking is to blame an actual person - to point at them and go 'thats the reason why everything about something is wrong'. So it encourages extremity in how we treat people. Hence why those same idiots thought locking Joan Burton in her car for an afternoon was a fine solution to the financial crisis, or blockading Simon Harris in his house with his newborn kid was a solution to something to do with healthcare.
                                      Yeah plenty of gobshites have that train of thought for sure.

Not sure I could stretch to SF encouraging it though.
                                      Paul Murphy on the other hand was actually there for the Joan thing wasn't he?

Dont think I'm cut out for this US Open punting. Must have half the field covered at this stage and still counting lol. Fun though.

I take it our lotto syndicate has clicked and ye all are spending my share of the loots? Haven't seen an update in a while .

Some prick on the work indoctrination (that doesn't seem like the right word?) keeps asking in the Zoom chat 'is that software available in Gaeilge'. Has one of those fake sounding Irish names of someone born in the likes of Kildare to overzealous parents.
                                            Is mise an fear

Yeah plenty of gobshites have that train of thought for sure.

Not sure I could stretch to SF encouraging it though.
                                              Paul Murphy on the other hand was actually there for the Joan thing wasn't he?
                                              Had a funny one with Paul Murphy a couple years ago. Was having dinner pre my old usual game of poker in JPs on a Thursday in the restaurant/bar next door with another lad and saw him looking at me a couple of times beofre he sauntered over and said hi. Sat down for a quick drink with the usual chat of hows business etc etc.

Now the thing was I hadnt copped who he was even though he obv looked so familiar & I'm guessing he had me confused with someone else. Anyway, fun couple of confusing minutes lol.

Trouble Brewing 'VIETNOW' IPA is a really cracking beer.

A White Hag Little Fawn is hard bet for me in that category

Haven't tried any of the White Hag stuff. Have heard good stuff though, mostly in here.

I'm a big fan of American IPA, as in a beer type rather than brewed there. Dungarvan 'Mine Head' is the absolute top of the class there, consistently gorgeous.

I take it our lotto syndicate has clicked and ye all are spending my share of the loots? Haven't seen an update in a while .
                                                      ...I assumed you had gone to Greece so support Slab head, so the 15 of us voted to spend your winnings on brazzers, sorry...
                                                      ... Still going, and updated every draw... Link below just incase you can't find it, and the spreadsheet still in post 1... you're still in the green for another week or so...

Free online screening tonight (optional charity donation) of Notes on Rave in Dublin film from a couple of years ago as part of Culture Night.

What times. As the man often says, 'I guess you had to be there'.

Will we ever see the likes again?

Lots of old heads from the scene in this including a 'blink and you miss me' cameo of yours truly sitting on a wall, mashed, with my girl and some randomers at 6am in a forest in the Wicklow mountains 18 or 20 years ago (or so I'm told).

...I assumed you had gone to Greece so support Slab head, so the 15 of us voted to spend your winnings on brazzers, sorry...
                                                          ... Still going, and updated every draw... Link below just incase you can't find it, and the spreadsheet still in post 1... you're still in the green for another week or so...

https://www.irishpokerboards.com/for...otto-syndicate
                                                          Was wondering as I hadn't been asked to donate in a while . Thought ye were all doing coke and hookers and laughing at me . Cool . Still going so

Lol Dublin- curtain of steel on the M50 please

Hopefully we’ll move on to stage 6 for Dublin pretty quickly

Last edited by Guest; 18-09-20, 19:58.

I assumed an incorporeal meeting was a fancy name for a zoom \ skype \ teams meeting, but it seems it has a technical meaning from a government perspective.

I'm still going to be calling virtual meetings incorporeal meetings from here on out.

PSV be a great man for board failte. The Blue buck banned from keeping the culchie business afloat is lauded. A Turkey praying for Christmas

Hanging in there with Dark ?

I had replied but dont think you saw it, half way through S2 and still loving it.

Hanging in there with Dark ?

I had replied but dont think you saw it, half way through S2 and still loving it.
                                                                      Yeah I'm at season 2 now it's very good . Still a big Martha fan . :-) . I love that its German . .

11/10/2020 @ 10:00 am - 12:30 pm - Foraging involves searching for, identifying and collecting naturally occurring, wild food. On this introductory workshop, you will explore the hedgerows in Airfield Estate to learn how to identify wild plants and forage for wild food.

Denise Chaila pretty impressive on the late late
                                                                            ​​

Free online screening tonight (optional charity donation) of Notes on Rave in Dublin film from a couple of years ago as part of Culture Night.

Lots of old heads from the scene in this including a 'blink and you miss me' cameo of yours truly sitting on a wall, mashed, with my girl and some randomers at 6am in a forest in the Wicklow mountains 18 or 20 years ago (or so I'm told).

Nice one for that, missed a screening of it before!

Screenshot_20200918_233023.jpg Screenshot_20200918_233100.jpg Tried kid Goat tonight first tine. Was pleasantly surprised to find it taste like lamb.

Need to digest it now with a nicely made bloody Mary ​​​​

I make an appearance too..looking rather worse for wear.

The good news is that you can still join me on a foraging course, a useful survival skill in these difficult times, as organised outdoor events are allowed.

The Mrs mate was here earlier, think she's on that too. Probably foraging for something similar to you in the woods too.

I make an appearance too..looking rather worse for wear.
                                                                                      Give us a hint where...

Ruth Bader Ginsburg dead at 87. Some innings, some woman.

Should be very interesting now watching McConnell turn heel on his previous stance of no SCJ in an election year. A heavy republican leaning SC means the upcoming election being challenged and some sketchy goings on happening is increasing.

Interesting times ahead for the yanks.

The good news is that you can still join me on a foraging course, a useful survival skill in these difficult times, as organised outdoor events are allowed.
                                                                                          It's a fair bit of a walk to go for a walk.

The Mrs mate was here earlier, think she's on that too. Probably foraging for something similar to you in the woods too.
                                                                                            Liberty cap season, good idea with the pubs closed

I guess that's a probably gonna cause a bump for Trump if they don't nominate before the election?​​​​​​

I doubt any Senator up for re-election wants to spend the next 6 weeks in DC...

I'd say the most likely short-term impact would be if it's a repeat of Florida 2020 and it ends up in the SC.

Which is now split 5-3 conservative-liberal....

Trump already holding the majority in SCOTUS since he some how got his frat boy pal in place, ,RBG's vote being out of aqction will be enough for him if he's willing to gamble the military will stand back while he suspends democracy.

This won't help though

Trump already holding the majority in SCOTUS since he some how got his frat boy pal in place, ,RBG's vote being out of aqction will be enough for him if he's willing to gamble the military will stand back while he suspends democracy.

This won't help though

A (still warm) Almond croissant from Bread 41 and a hot chocolate for breakfast is a great way to start a five day weekend.

Does anyone use Roam Research?

I doubt any Senator up for re-election wants to spend the next 6 weeks in DC...
                                                                                                                They can appoint the new SC judge at their leisure from November to January,. Everyone retains their seat/position until then, regardless of the pres/senate results in November.
                                                                                                                Quiet archaic really, presumably harks back to a time when you had to take a wagon train from Oregon to DC to take up your new role.

They can appoint the new SC judge at their leisure from November to January,. Everyone retains their seat/position until then, regardless of the pres/senate results in November.
                                                                                                                  Quiet archaic really, presumably harks back to a time when you had to take a wagon train from Oregon to DC to take up your new role.
                                                                                                                  They could try but it would be filibustered to death.

And that two month hiatus looks pretty dynamic compared to the four months we staggered on with a phantom government.

If they nominate now they might get some backlash from voters especially after all that was said during Obama’s term and the whole Merrick Garland fiasco.

If it happens it’ll be after Election Day before the mail votes are counted I’d say.

this is not looking good, Leinster playing right into the cheating scum's hands

Getting seriously bullied so far nonetheless